G-1.01 - Geologists Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter G-1.01
Geologists Act
GEOLOGISTSJune 1 2001August 22 2001
The Minister of Justice is responsible for the application of this Act. Order in Council 919-2019 dated 4 September 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 3975.
DIVISION I
ORDRE PROFESSIONNEL DES GÉOLOGUES
1. All the persons qualified to practise the profession of geologist in Québec constitute a professional order called the “Ordre professionnel des géologues du Québec” or “Ordre des géologues du Québec”.
2001, c. 12, s. 1.
2. Subject to the provisions of this Act, the Order and its members shall be governed by the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
2001, c. 12, s. 2.
DIVISION II
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
2008, c. 11, s. 212.
3. The Order shall be governed by a board of directors constituted as prescribed in the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
2001, c. 12, s. 3; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
4. The board of directors shall, in addition to the regulations it is required to make under the Professional Code (chapter C-26), fix the terms and conditions relating to the seal of the Order, in particular its form and content, and the conditions and obligations attached to the use of the seal.
Section 95.2 of the Professional Code applies to the regulation.
2001, c. 12, s. 4; 2008, c. 11, s. 182, s. 212.
DIVISION III
PRACTICE OF THE PROFESSION
5. The practice of the profession of geologist includes such scientific activities as identifying, observing, characterizing, interpreting or modeling geological phenomena, including geophysical and hydrogeological phenomena.
2001, c. 12, s. 5.
6. Only a geologist may, within the framework of an activity referred to in section 5, give professional advice or an opinion or make a report in relation to mining, petroleum or gas resource exploration, development, operation or project assessment activities.
Nothing in this section shall affect
(1)  the rights and privileges granted by law to other professionals ;
(2)  acts that may be engaged in by a person in accordance with a regulation under paragraph h of section 94 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
2001, c. 12, s. 6.
7. A geologist must attest, authenticate by affixing his or her seal, certify or sign any opinion or report relating to an act referred to in the first paragraph of section 6 which was prepared by the geologist or under his or her immediate supervision.
2001, c. 12, s. 7.
8. No geologist may practise his or her profession under a name other than his or her own name.
Nevertheless, geologists are allowed to practise their profession under a firm name which may be the name of one, several or all of the partners. The firm name may also include the name of any partner who has ceased to practise, for a period not exceeding three years from the date on which the partner ceased to practise, provided the name of the partner was included in the firm name at the time the partner ceased to practise.
2001, c. 12, s. 8.
9. In the practice of the profession of geologist, no geologist may designate himself or herself otherwise than as a geologist.
2001, c. 12, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
ILLEGAL PRACTICE OF THE PROFESSION
10. Every person who contravenes the first paragraph of section 6 or who, without being a member in good standing of the Order, attests, authenticates by affixing a seal, certifies or signs an opinion or a report relating to an act referred to in the first paragraph of section 6 is guilty of an offence and is liable to the fine prescribed in section 188 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
2001, c. 12, s. 10.
11. The first paragraph of section 6 and sections 7 and 9 do not apply to members of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec.
2001, c. 12, s. 11.
DIVISION V
AMENDING PROVISIONS
PROFESSIONAL CODE
12. (Amendment integrated into c. C-26, s. 31).
2001, c. 12, s. 12.
13. (Amendment integrated into c. C-26, s. 32).
2001, c. 12, s. 13.
14. (Amendment integrated into c. C-26, Schedule I).
2001, c. 12, s. 14.
MINING ACT
15. (Amendment integrated into c. M-13.1, s. 101).
2001, c. 12, s. 15.
16. (Amendment integrated into c. M-13.1, s. 226).
2001, c. 12, s. 16.
17. (Amendment integrated into c. M-13.1, s. 306).
2001, c. 12, s. 17.
DIVISION VI
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
18. Notwithstanding section 3 of this Act, the first Bureau shall be composed of the following persons :
(1)  six directors appointed by the Office des professions du Québec and chosen from among the persons who, on 22 August 2001, are directors of the Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec ; they are deemed to be elected directors ;
(2)  two directors appointed by the Office des professions du Québec, in accordance with the first paragraph of section 78 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) ;
(3)  a president elected by secret ballot by the directors referred to in subparagraph 1 and chosen from among their number.
The president and the directors referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph shall remain in office until the first election of the members of the Bureau held in accordance with the provisions of the Professional Code.
2001, c. 12, s. 18.
19. For the purposes of section 75 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), the territory of Québec constitutes a single region until the date of coming into force of a regulation made pursuant to section 65 of the Code.
2001, c. 12, s. 19.
20. A person who, on 22 August 2001, is a regular member of the Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec is deemed to be qualified to practise the profession of geologist and shall be issued a permit by the Bureau to practise the profession of geologist.
A person who, on 22 August 2001, is not a regular member of the Association must, to obtain a permit to practise the profession of geologist, satisfy the membership requirements of the Association in effect on 8 December 2000 until they are replaced by a regulation, made in accordance with the provisions of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), determining the diplomas and, if applicable, any other qualifications giving access to a permit.
2001, c. 12, s. 20.
21. Notwithstanding section 86 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), the first resolution passed by the Bureau for the purpose of fixing the first annual assessment need not, to come into force, be approved by a majority of the members of the Order, and may take into account the sums already paid as membership dues to the Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec.
2001, c. 12, s. 21.
22. The Bureau shall apply, in respect of the members of the Order, the rules applicable to the members of the Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec in force on 8 December 2000 until the effective date of a regulation concerning the same subject made in accordance with the provisions of the Professional Code (chapter C-26). However, the rules must be compatible with the provisions of the Professional Code and the regulations made thereunder.
2001, c. 12, s. 22.
23. Until the coming into force of a regulation made by the Bureau for the purposes of paragraph f of section 93 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), the head office of the Order shall be situated in the territory of Ville de Montréal.
2001, c. 12, s. 23.
24. A person legally authorized to practise outside Québec the same profession as the members of the Ordre des géologues is deemed to hold a special authorization to practise that profession in Québec for a period of 12 months from 22 August 2001.
The authorization may be renewed in accordance with the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
2001, c. 12, s. 24; 2008, c. 11, s. 183.
25. (Omitted).
2001, c. 12, s. 25.
REPEAL SCHEDULE
In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 12 of the statutes of 2001, in force on 1 April 2002, is repealed, except section 25, effective from the coming into force of chapter G-1.01 of the Revised Statutes.

G-1.01 - Loi sur les géologues

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre G-1.01
Loi sur les géologues
GÉOLOGUES1er juin 200122 août 2001
La ministre de la Justice est responsable de l’application de la présente loi. Décret 919-2019 du 4 septembre 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2, 3975.
SECTION I
ORDRE PROFESSIONNEL DES GÉOLOGUES
1. L’ensemble des personnes habilitées à exercer la profession de géologue au Québec constitue un ordre professionnel désigné sous le nom de « Ordre professionnel des géologues du Québec » ou « Ordre des géologues du Québec ».
2001, c. 12, a. 1.
2. Sous réserve des dispositions de la présente loi, l’Ordre et ses membres sont régis par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
2001, c. 12, a. 2.
SECTION II
CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
2008, c. 11, a. 212.
3. L’Ordre est administré par un Conseil d’administration formé de la manière prévue au Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
2001, c. 12, a. 3; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
4. Outre les règlements qu’il est tenu d’adopter conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C-26), le Conseil d’administration doit fixer les modalités relatives au sceau, notamment sa forme, son contenu, ainsi que les conditions et obligations rattachées à l’utilisation du sceau.
L’article 95.2 du Code des professions s’applique à ce règlement.
2001, c. 12, a. 4; 2008, c. 11, a. 182, a. 212.
SECTION III
EXERCICE DE LA PROFESSION
5. Agit dans l’exercice de sa profession, le géologue qui effectue une activité à caractère scientifique d’identification, d’observation, de caractérisation, d’interprétation ou de modélisation des phénomènes géologiques, dont les phénomènes géophysiques et hydrogéologiques.
2001, c. 12, a. 5.
6. Seul un géologue, dans le cadre d’une activité prévue à l’article 5, peut donner une consultation ou un avis ou faire un rapport en vue d’une activité d’exploration, de mise en valeur, d’exploitation ou d’évaluation de projets relative aux ressources minières, pétrolières ou gazières.
Rien au présent article ne doit porter atteinte :
1°  aux droits et privilèges accordés par la loi à d’autres professionnels ;
2°  aux actes posés par une personne en conformité avec les dispositions d’un règlement pris en application du paragraphe h de l’article 94 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
2001, c. 12, a. 6.
7. Le géologue doit attester, authentifier en y apposant son sceau, certifier ou signer un avis ou un rapport relatif à un acte prévu au premier alinéa de l’article 6 qui a été préparé par lui-même ou qui l’a été sous sa supervision immédiate.
2001, c. 12, a. 7.
8. Le géologue ne peut exercer sa profession sous un nom autre que le sien.
Il est toutefois permis à des géologues d’exercer leur profession sous un nom commun, lequel peut être celui d’un, de plusieurs ou de tous les associés. Ce nom commun peut aussi comprendre le nom de tout associé qui a cessé d’exercer sa profession, pendant une période d’au plus trois ans à compter du moment où il a cessé de l’exercer, pourvu que le nom de cet associé ait fait partie du nom commun au moment où il a cessé d’exercer.
2001, c. 12, a. 8.
9. Le géologue ne peut, relativement à l’exercice de sa profession, se désigner autrement que comme géologue.
2001, c. 12, a. 9.
SECTION IV
EXERCICE ILLÉGAL DE LA PROFESSION
10. Commet une infraction et est passible de l’amende prévue à l’article 188 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), quiconque contrevient aux dispositions du premier alinéa de l’article 6 ou, sans être membre en règle de l’Ordre, atteste, authentifie en y apposant un sceau, certifie ou signe un avis ou un rapport relatif à un acte prévu au premier alinéa de l’article 6.
2001, c. 12, a. 10.
11. Le premier alinéa de l’article 6, ainsi que les articles 7 et 9, ne s’appliquent pas à un membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec.
2001, c. 12, a. 11.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS MODIFICATIVES
CODE DES PROFESSIONS
12. (Modification intégrée au c. C-26, a. 31).
2001, c. 12, a. 12.
13. (Modification intégrée au c. C-26, a. 32).
2001, c. 12, a. 13.
14. (Modification inégrée au c. C-26, annexe I).
2001, c. 12, a. 14.
LOI SUR LES MINES
15. (Modification intégrée au c. M-13.1, a. 101).
2001, c. 12, a. 15.
16. (Modification intégrée au c. M-13.1, a. 226).
2001, c. 12, a. 16.
17. (Modification intégrée au c. M-13.1, a. 306).
2001, c. 12, a. 17.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
18. Malgré l’article 3 de la présente loi, le premier Bureau est formé des personnes suivantes :
1°  six administrateurs nommés par l’Office des professions du Québec et choisis parmi les personnes qui, le 22 août 2001, sont administrateurs de l’Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec ; ils sont réputés être des administrateurs élus ;
2°  deux administrateurs nommés par l’Office des professions du Québec, conformément au premier alinéa de l’article 78 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) ;
3°  un président élu par les administrateurs visés au paragraphe 1° et choisi parmi eux par scrutin secret.
Le président, ainsi que les administrateurs visés au paragraphe 1° du premier alinéa, demeurent en fonction jusqu’à la première élection des membres du Bureau tenue conformément aux dispositions du Code des professions.
2001, c. 12, a. 18.
19. Pour l’application de l’article 75 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), l’ensemble du territoire du Québec forme une seule région, jusqu’à la date de l’entrée en vigueur d’un règlement pris en application de l’article 65 de ce code.
2001, c. 12, a. 19.
20. La personne qui, le 22 août 2001, est membre régulier de l’Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec est réputée apte à exercer la profession de géologue et devient titulaire d’un permis d’exercice de la profession de géologue délivré par le Bureau.
La personne qui, le 22 août 2001, n’est pas membre régulier de l’Association doit, pour obtenir un permis d’exercice de la profession de géologue, se conformer aux conditions d’admission de l’Association en vigueur le 8 décembre 2000 et ce, jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient remplacées par un règlement adopté conformément aux dispositions du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) qui détermine les diplômes requis et, le cas échéant, les autres conditions donnant ouverture à ce permis.
2001, c. 12, a. 20.
21. Malgré l’article 86 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), la première résolution adoptée par le Bureau pour fixer la première cotisation annuelle n’a pas, pour entrer en vigueur, à être approuvée par la majorité des membres de l’Ordre et elle peut tenir compte des sommes déjà versées à titre de membre de l’Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec.
2001, c. 12, a. 21.
22. Le Bureau doit appliquer à ses membres les règles qui régissent les membres de l’Association professionnelle des géologues et des géophysiciens du Québec en vigueur le 8 décembre 2000 concernant l’objet visé par ces règles jusqu’à la prise d’effet d’un règlement adopté conformément aux dispositions du Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Toutefois, ces règles doivent être compatibles avec les dispositions du Code des professions et des règlements adoptés en vertu de celui-ci.
2001, c. 12, a. 22.
23. Jusqu’à l’entrée en vigueur d’un règlement du Bureau pris en application du paragraphe f de l’article 93 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), le siège de l’Ordre est situé sur le territoire de la Ville de Montréal.
2001, c. 12, a. 23.
24. Une personne qui est légalement autorisée à exercer hors du Québec la même profession que les membres de l’Ordre des géologues est réputée détenir une autorisation spéciale d’exercer cette profession au Québec pour une période de 12 mois à compter du 22 août 2001.
Cette autorisation peut être renouvelée conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
2001, c. 12, a. 24; 2008, c. 11, a. 183.
25. (Omis).
2001, c. 12, a. 25.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE
Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 12 des lois de 2001, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er avril 2002, à l’exception de l’article 25, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre G-1.01 des Lois refondues.