E-20.01 - Act respecting Nasdaq stock exchange activities in Québec

Full text
chapter E-20.01
Act respecting Nasdaq stock exchange activities in Québec
NASDAQ STOCK EXCHANGE ACTIVITIES IN QUÉBECJune 16 2000October 19 2000
The Minister of Finance is responsible for the administration of this Act. Order in Council 821-2019 dated 14 August 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 3788.
1. The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc., a company legally incorporated in the United States of America, is recognized as a self-regulatory organization within the meaning of section 169 of the Securities Act (chapter V‐1.1) to carry on business in Québec.
The provisions of the Securities Act relating to self-regulatory organizations do not apply to The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc.
The provisions of the Securities Act and the regulations thereunder that do not apply to dealers and dealer’s representatives who transact with The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc. shall be determined by the Government.
2000, c. 28, s. 1.
Not in force
2. Nasdaq Canada Inc., a company legally incorporated under the Canada Business Corporations Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter C-44), is recognized as a self-regulatory organization within the meaning of the second paragraph of section 170 of the Securities Act (chapter V-1.1) and is authorized to carry on its securities trading and clearing activities in Québec within the meaning of section 169 of the Securities Act (chapter V-1.1).
2000, c. 28, s. 2; 2002, c. 45, s. 503.
Not in force
3. Recognition is granted under section 2 subject to the condition that the constituting documents, by-laws and operating rules of Nasdaq Canada Inc. conform with those of The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc., with the modifications and amendments considered necessary by the Government.
2000, c. 28, s. 3.
Not in force
4. The Government shall determine the date from which Nasdaq Canada Inc. may pursue its activities.
2000, c. 28, s. 4.
Not in force
5. The Government may, on the conditions it determines, delegate to Nasdaq Canada Inc. the application of all or part of Title V of the Securities Act (chapter V‐1.1) and the regulations thereunder.
The Government may, similarly, delegate to Nasdaq Canada Inc. the powers provided for in sections 237 and 238 of the said Act, and the application of the regulatory provisions made under paragraph 32 of section 331.1 of the said Act.
The provisions of the Securities Act and the regulations thereunder that do not apply to dealers and dealer’s representatives who transact with Nasdaq Canada Inc. shall be determined by the Government.
2000, c. 28, s. 5; 2002, c. 45, s. 504.
Not in force
6. Nasdaq Canada Inc. may, with the prior approval of the Government, delegate some or all of its powers and of the powers delegated to it under section 5 to an organization recognized for that purpose by the Autorité des marchés financiers in accordance with the procedure for recognizing a self-regulatory organization provided in the Act respecting the regulation of the financial sector (chapter E-6.1) or, where applicable, to an organization recognized for that purpose by the Government.
2000, c. 28, s. 6; 2002, c. 45, s. 505; 2004, c. 37, s. 90; 2018, c. 23, s. 811.
Not in force
7. The Government shall exercise the supervisory powers of the Autorité des marchés financiers under sections 74 to 80 of the Act respecting the regulation of the financial sector (chapter E-6.1) with regard to Nasdaq Canada Inc. and with regard to any organization exercising powers delegated under section 6 of this Act, until the date determined by the Government, which shall not be later than six months after the date determined under section 4, unless the Authority requests an extension so that this Act may be carried out in full.
During the period referred to in the first paragraph, the Authority shall, at the request of the Minister of Finance and on behalf of the Government, exercise the power to make inspections under sections 73 and following of the Act respecting the regulation of the financial sector. The Authority shall report inspection results to the Minister without delay.
2000, c. 28, s. 7; 2002, c. 45, s. 506; 2004, c. 37, s. 90; 2018, c. 23, s. 811.
Not in force
8. From the end of the period referred to in the first paragraph of section 7, the Autorité des marchés financiers shall have full jurisdiction over the activities of Nasdaq Canada Inc. as a stock exchange and self-regulatory organization, over the exercise of powers delegated under section 5 and over the activities of any organization exercising powers delegated under section 6, in accordance with the provisions of the Securities Act (chapter V‐1.1) and of the Act respecting the regulation of the financial sector (chapter E-6.1).
2000, c. 28, s. 8; 2002, c. 45, s. 507; 2004, c. 37, s. 90; 2018, c. 23, s. 811.
9. The Government may, by regulation, make any provision to ensure the carrying out of this Act.
A regulation made under this section is not subject to the provisions of the Regulations Act (chapter R‐18.1).
2000, c. 28, s. 9.
10. (Omitted).
2000, c. 28, s. 10.
REPEAL SCHEDULE
In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R‐3), chapter 28 of the statutes of 2000, in force on 1 April 2001, is repealed, except section 10, effective from the coming into force of chapter E-20.01 of the Revised Statutes.

E-20.01 - Loi sur l’exercice des activités de bourse au Québec par Nasdaq

Texte complet
chapitre E-20.01
Loi sur l’exercice des activités de bourse au Québec par Nasdaq
EXERCICE DES ACTIVITÉS DE BOURSE AU QUÉBEC PAR NASDAQ16 juin 200019 octobre 2000
Le ministre des Finances est responsable de l’application de la présente loi. Décret 821-2019 du 14 août 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2, 3788.
1. The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc., société légalement constituée aux États-Unis, est reconnue à titre d’organisme d’autoréglementation au sens de l’article 169 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V‐1.1) pour exercer son activité au Québec.
Les dispositions de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières relatives aux organismes d’autoréglementation ne s’appliquent pas à The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc.
Les dispositions de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières et des règlements pris pour son exécution qui ne s’appliquent pas aux courtiers et à leurs représentants qui transigent auprès de The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc. sont déterminées par le gouvernement.
2000, c. 28, a. 1.
Non en vigueur
2. La société Nasdaq Canada Inc., légalement constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés par actions (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre C-44), est reconnue à titre d’organisme d’autoréglementation au sens du deuxième alinéa de l’article 170 de la loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V-1.1) et est autorisée à exercer son activité de bourse au Québec au sens de l’article 169 de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V-1.1).
2000, c. 28, a. 2; 2002, c. 45, a. 503.
Non en vigueur
3. La reconnaissance établie par l’article 2 est sujette à la condition que les documents constitutifs, règlements internes et règles de fonctionnement de Nasdaq Canada Inc. soient conformes à ceux de The Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc., en y faisant les adaptations et amendements jugés nécessaires par le gouvernement.
2000, c. 28, a. 3.
Non en vigueur
4. Le gouvernement détermine la date à compter de laquelle Nasdaq Canada Inc. exerce ses activités.
2000, c. 28, a. 4.
Non en vigueur
5. Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, déléguer à Nasdaq Canada Inc. l’application de tout ou partie des dispositions du titre cinquième de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V‐1.1) et des règlements pris pour son exécution.
Il peut, de même, lui déléguer les pouvoirs prévus aux articles 237 et 238 et l’application des dispositions réglementaires prévues au paragraphe 32° de l’article 331.1 de cette loi.
Les dispositions de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières et des règlements pris pour son exécution qui ne s’appliquent pas aux courtiers et à leurs représentants qui transigent auprès de Nasdaq Canada Inc. sont déterminées par le gouvernement.
2000, c. 28, a. 5; 2002, c. 45, a. 504.
Non en vigueur
6. Nasdaq Canada Inc. peut, avec l’approbation préalable du gouvernement, déléguer tout ou partie de ses pouvoirs et de ceux qui lui ont été délégués conformément à l’article 5 à un organisme que l’Autorité des marchés financiers a reconnu à cette fin selon la procédure de reconnaissance d’un organisme d’autoréglementation prévue à la Loi sur l’encadrement du secteur financier (chapitre E-6.1) ou, le cas échéant, à un organisme que le gouvernement reconnaît à cette fin.
2000, c. 28, a. 6; 2002, c. 45, a. 505; 2004, c. 37, a. 90; 2018, c. 23, a. 811.
Non en vigueur
7. Le gouvernement exerce les pouvoirs de contrôle de l’Autorité des marchés financiers visés aux articles 74 à 80 de la Loi sur l’encadrement du secteur financier (chapitre E-6.1) relativement à Nasdaq Canada Inc. et à tout organisme qui exerce des pouvoirs qui lui ont été délégués conformément à l’article 6 de la présente loi, jusqu’à la date qu’il détermine, cette date ne pouvant excéder de six mois la date visée à l’article 4 sauf si l’Autorité demande une extension de ce délai afin d’assurer la pleine application de la présente loi.
Durant la période visée au premier alinéa, l’Autorité exerce, sur demande du ministre des Finances, pour le compte du gouvernement, les pouvoirs relatifs à l’inspection visés aux articles 73 et suivants de la Loi sur l’encadrement du secteur financier. Elle fait rapport dans les plus brefs délais au ministre des résultats de son inspection.
2000, c. 28, a. 7; 2002, c. 45, a. 506; 2004, c. 37, a. 90; 2018, c. 23, a. 811.
Non en vigueur
8. À compter de la fin de la période visée au premier alinéa de l’article 7, l’Autorité des marchés financiers a pleine juridiction sur l’exercice des activités de Nasdaq Canada Inc. à titre de bourse et d’organisme d’autoréglementation, sur l’exercice des pouvoirs délégués conformément à l’article 5 et sur l’exercice des activités de l’organisme qui exerce des pouvoirs qui lui ont été délégués en vertu de l’article 6, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V‐1.1) et de la Loi sur l’encadrement du secteur financier (chapitre E-6.1).
2000, c. 28, a. 8; 2002, c. 45, a. 507; 2004, c. 37, a. 90; 2018, c. 23, a. 811.
9. Le gouvernement peut, par règlement, prendre toutes les dispositions pour assurer la mise en application de la présente loi.
Un règlement pris en vertu du présent article n’est pas soumis à la Loi sur les règlements (chapitre R‐18.1).
2000, c. 28, a. 9.
10. (Omis).
2000, c. 28, a. 10.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE
Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 28 des lois de 2000, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er avril 2001, à l’exception de l’article 10, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre E-20.01 des Lois refondues.