E-13.1 - Act respecting the establishment and enlargement of certain waste elimination sites

Full text
chapter E-13.1
Act respecting the establishment and enlargement of certain waste elimination sites
WASTE ELIMINATION SITESDecember 6 2005January 19 2006
Repealed, 2005, c. 33, s. 5.
2005, c. 33, s. 5.
1. From 14 June 1993, no person may undertake any project to establish or enlarge a sanitary landfill site or dry materials disposal site within the meaning of the Regulation respecting solid waste (R.R.Q., 1981, chapter Q-2, r. 14) unless the procedure for assessing and examining the environmental impacts of the project, as provided for in Division IV.1 of Chapter I of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2), has been followed and unless that person holds the certificate referred to in section 54 of that Act and a certificate of authorization issued by the Government under section 31.5 of that Act. For the purposes of this paragraph, the enlargement of a sanitary landfill site or dry materials disposal site includes any change that leads to an increase in the landfill or disposal capacity of the site.
The first paragraph does not apply to any project in respect of which the Minister, before 14 June 1993, has issued the certificate referred to in section 54 of that Act.
1993, c. 44, s. 1.
2. The provisions of the first paragraph of section 1 apply to any project to establish or enlarge a sanitary landfill site or dry materials disposal site that is submitted to the Minister of the Environment before 14 June 1993 in order to obtain the certificate referred to in section 54 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q‐2), but in respect of which, on that date, no certificate has been issued by the Minister and no judgment replacing the certificate has been rendered. The application for the certificate shall replace the notice required under section 31.2 of that Act.
Where a project to which the first paragraph applies has, before 14 June 1993, been the subject of an inquiry and report by the Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement pursuant to section 6.3 of the Environment Quality Act, the proponent of the project shall not be required to prepare the impact assessment study provided for in section 31.2 of that Act. Furthermore, such a project shall not be the subject of other consultations or public hearings under section 31.3 of that Act. Finally, the inquiry report of the Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement shall, for the purposes of section 31.5 of that Act, replace the impact assessment study referred to in that section.
1993, c. 44, s. 2; 1994, c. 17, s. 75; 1999, c. 36, s. 158.
3. The Government, each time it issues a certificate of authorization under section 31.5 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q‐2) in respect of a project to which the first paragraph of section 1 or section 2 applies, may, if it considers it necessary for greater environmental protection, establish standards in the certificate other than those prescribed by the Regulation respecting solid waste (R.R.Q., 1981, chapter Q‐2, r. 14), in particular as regards the conditions on which the sanitary landfill site or dry materials disposal site with which the project is concerned may be established, enlarged or closed down.
The priority accorded by the fifth paragraph of section 124 of the Environment Quality Act to the regulations made under that Act also applies to the standards established by the Government pursuant to the first paragraph of this section.
The holder of a certificate of authorization issued in respect of a project referred to in the first paragraph of section 1 or in section 2 must, without delay, cause a notice setting out the standards established by the Government pursuant to this section and contained in the certificate to be published in a newspaper circulated in the regional territory in which the sanitary landfill site or dry materials disposal site with which the project is concerned is situated. For the purposes of this paragraph, “regional territory” means the territory of a metropolitan community or of a regional county municipality.
1993, c. 44, s. 3; 1996, c. 2, s. 673; 2000, c. 56, s. 218.
4. Any person who contravenes the provisions of this Act or the standards established by the Government pursuant to section 3 is liable to the penalties prescribed by section 106 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2).
The provisions of the first paragraph of section 109.1.1 and sections 109.1.2, 109.2, 110, 110.1, 112, 112.1, 114, 115, 116 and 116.1 of that Act are applicable.
1993, c. 44, s. 4.
5. (Repealed).
1993, c. 44, s. 5; 1994, c. 17, s. 75; 1995, c. 60, s. 6.
6. The provisions of this Act are not applicable to the territories referred to in the second paragraph of section 31.9 and in sections 133 and 168 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2).
1993, c. 44, s. 6.
7. (Omitted).
1993, c. 44, s. 7.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 44 of the statutes of 1993, in force on 1 September 1993, is repealed, except section 7, effective from the coming into force of chapter E-13.1 of the Revised Statutes.

E-13.1 - Loi sur l’établissement et l’agrandissement de certains lieux d’élimination de déchets

Texte complet
chapitre E-13.1
Loi sur l’établissement et l’agrandissement de certains lieux d’élimination de déchets
LIEUX D’ÉLIMINATION DE DÉCHETS6 décembre 200519 janvier 2006
Abrogée, 2005, c. 33, a. 5.
2005, c. 33, a. 5.
1. À compter du 14 juin 1993, nul ne peut entreprendre la réalisation d’un projet d’établissement ou d’agrandissement d’un lieu d’enfouissement sanitaire ou de dépôt de matériaux secs au sens du Règlement sur les déchets solides (R.R.Q., 1981, chapitre Q-2, r. 14) sans avoir suivi la procédure d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement prévue à la section IV.1 du chapitre I de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2) et sans être titulaire, en plus du certificat prévu à l’article 54 de cette loi, d’un certificat d’autorisation délivré par le gouvernement en application de l’article 31.5 de la même loi. Pour les fins du présent alinéa, l’agrandissement d’un lieu d’enfouissement sanitaire ou de dépôt de matériaux secs comprend toute modification ayant pour effet d’augmenter la capacité d’enfouissement ou de dépôt de ce lieu.
Le premier alinéa n’est pas applicable à un projet pour lequel le ministre a, avant le 14 juin 1993, délivré le certificat prévu à l’article 54 de la loi susmentionnée.
1993, c. 44, a. 1.
2. Les dispositions du premier alinéa de l’article 1 s’appliquent également à tout projet d’établissement ou d’agrandissement d’un lieu d’enfouissement sanitaire ou de dépôt de matériaux secs soumis avant le 14 juin 1993 au ministre de l’Environnement pour que soit délivré le certificat prévu à l’article 54 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2) et pour lequel il n’y a eu, à cette date, ni délivrance par le ministre d’un tel certificat ni jugement en tenant lieu. La demande visant à obtenir le certificat susmentionné tient lieu de l’avis prescrit par l’article 31.2 de la même loi.
Toutefois, lorsqu’un projet visé au premier alinéa a fait l’objet, avant le 14 juin 1993, d’une enquête et d’un rapport du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement en application de l’article 6.3 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement, l’initiateur de ce projet est soustrait à l’obligation de préparer l’étude d’impact prévue à l’article 31.2 de ladite loi. En outre, un tel projet ne peut être soumis à d’autres consultations ou audiences publiques en application de l’article 31.3 de la même loi. Enfin, pour l’application de l’article 31.5 de la même loi, le rapport d’enquête du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement tient lieu de l’étude d’impact dont il est fait mention audit article.
1993, c. 44, a. 2; 1994, c. 17, a. 75; 1999, c. 36, a. 158.
3. Chaque fois qu’il délivre un certificat d’autorisation en application de l’article 31.5 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2) relativement à un projet visé au premier alinéa de l’article 1 ou à l’article 2, le gouvernement peut, s’il le juge nécessaire pour assurer une protection accrue de l’environnement, fixer dans ce certificat des normes différentes de celles prescrites par le Règlement sur les déchets solides (R.R.Q., 1981, chapitre Q-2, r. 14), notamment en ce qui a trait aux conditions d’établissement, d’exploitation et de fermeture du lieu d’enfouissement sanitaire ou de dépôt de matériaux secs visé par ce projet.
La primauté reconnue par le cinquième alinéa de l’article 124 de la loi susmentionnée aux règlements pris en vertu de cette loi vaut pareillement pour les normes fixées par le gouvernement en application du premier alinéa du présent article.
Le titulaire d’un certificat d’autorisation délivré relativement à un projet visé au premier alinéa de l’article 1 ou à l’article 2 doit sans délai faire publier dans un journal distribué sur le territoire régional où est situé le lieu d’enfouissement sanitaire ou de dépôt de matériaux secs visé par ce projet, un avis faisant état des normes fixées par le gouvernement en application du présent article et contenues dans le certificat susmentionné. Pour l’application du présent alinéa, on entend par «territoire régional» le territoire d’une communauté métropolitaine ou d’une municipalité régionale de comté.
1993, c. 44, a. 3; 1996, c. 2, a. 673; 2000, c. 56, a. 218.
4. Quiconque contrevient aux dispositions de la présente loi ou aux normes fixées par le gouvernement en application de l’article 3 est passible des peines prévues à l’article 106 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2).
Les dispositions du premier alinéa de l’article 109.1.1 et des articles 109.1.2, 109.2, 110, 110.1, 112, 112.1, 114, 115, 116 et 116.1 de la loi susmentionnée sont applicables.
1993, c. 44, a. 4.
5. (Abrogé).
1993, c. 44, a. 5; 1994, c. 17, a. 75; 1995, c. 60, a. 6.
6. Les dispositions de la présente loi ne sont pas applicables aux territoires visés aux articles 31.9, deuxième alinéa, 133 et 168 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2).
1993, c. 44, a. 6.
7. (Omis).
1993, c. 44, a. 7.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 44 des lois de 1993, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er septembre 1993, à l’exception de l’article 7, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre E-13.1 des Lois refondues.