D-10 - Gas Distribution Act

Full text
chapter D-10
Gas Distribution Act
GAS DISTRIBUTIONJune 20 1985December 2 2003
Chapter D-10 is replaced by the Building Act (chapter B‐1.1). (1985, c. 34, s. 214).
1985, c. 34, s. 214.
1. In this Act, unless the context requires a different meaning, the following expressions have the meaning here given them, namely:
(a)  apparatus : any device, mechanism or instrument using gas to produce heat, light or power, including its connecting piping and its vent for carrying off the products of gas combustion;
(b)  pipe or gas pipe : any tubing or pipe used or intended for the conveyance or distribution of gas, except the connecting piping of an apparatus;
(c)  consumer : any person or partnership purchasing gas from a distributor;
(d)  distributor : any person operating an undertaking for the storage, conveyance, sale or distribution of gas in Québec in any capacity whatever;
(e)  gas : natural gas, manufactured gas, any variety or any mixture of either, liquefied petroleum gas or any mixture of liquefied petroleum gas and air, conveyed or distributed by tubing or otherwise;
(f)  person : besides its ordinary meaning, any partnership, syndicate or association;
(g)  Board : the Régie du bâtiment du Québec;
(h)  regulation : a regulation made under section 2 or section 3;
(i)  distribution network : the whole of the pipes, except those mentioned in paragraph k, and of the equipment, machines, structures, gasometers, meters and other devices and accessories installed in a given territory and used for the distribution of gas to consumers in such territory;
(j)  conveyance system : the whole of the pipes used for the conveyance of gas to the point of junction with a distribution network, including the equipment, machines, structures, gasometers, meters and other devices and accessories connected therewith;
(k)  piping : the whole of the gas pipes installed in, under and on the exterior face of a consumer’s house, works, building or other structure.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 1; 1970, c. 26, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1988, c. 23, s. 86; 1991, c. 74, s. 136; 1999, c. 40, s. 107.
2. The Board may make regulations respecting public safety and the prevention of accidents resulting from the conveyance, possession, distribution and use of gas in Québec.
Without restricting the scope of the aforesaid general regulatory power the Board may, in particular:
(a)  regulate the construction, repair, maintenance, replacement and inspection of any conveyance system, distribution network, pipe, apparatus and piping used for the conveyance, distribution and consumption of gas;
(b)  designate one or more organizations to test gas apparatus, to determine if it meets the conditions laid down by the Board and affix thereto their seal of approval if the test is satisfactory;
(c)  order that only gas apparatus approved by the Board or bearing the seal of approval of an organization referred to in the preceding paragraph may, from a specified date, be installed in Québec;
(d)  regulate the warehousing, storage, conveyance and handling of any gas otherwise than by means of pipes;
(e)  adopt in the premises any other measure calculated to contribute to public safety.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 2.
3. The Board may also, by regulation, adopt and render obligatory, in whole or in part, with such changes as it deems expedient, any code or technical standard which it may deem appropriate and consistent with the public interest, respecting gas apparatus and gas conveyance systems or distribution networks.
The Board may exercise itself or delegate the exercise of the powers of approval contemplated by such codes or technical standards.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 3.
4. The regulations made by the Board shall come into force only after they are authorized, with or without amendment, by the Government, and from their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec, unless another date, specified in such publication, has been fixed for such purpose by the Government.
In the event of incompatibility between a provision of such regulation and a provision of a municipal by-law, the former shall prevail.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 4; 1968, c. 23, s. 8.
5. It is forbidden for any person to install any gas apparatus not conforming to the requirements of the regulations.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 5.
6. It is forbidden for any distributor to supply gas to a consumer to be used
(a)  by means of any apparatus installed in violation of section 5 or since become defective;
(b)  in a building whereof the piping, to the distributors’ knowledge, presents a risk of accident.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 6.
7. No person shall install a gas apparatus without first informing the distributor concerned and advising him of the precise nature of the apparatus and the place where such installation is to be made.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 7.
8. Any member or inspector of the Board, and any other person authorized by it, may, for the purposes of sections 2 to 7 and the regulations, inspect any conveyance system, distribution network, pipe, apparatus and piping used for the conveyance, distribution or consumption of gas and, for such purposes,
(a)  enter upon any land and into any structure on all days except holidays, between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. and, in cases of emergency, at any time;
(b)  examine, test and verify any installation, apparatus and device hereinabove mentioned;
(c)  make any inquiry deemed necessary to satisfy himself as to the observance of this Act and the regulations.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 8.
9. Sections 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 18 of the Act respecting public inquiry commissions (chapter C-37), except the power to order imprisonment, shall apply, with the necessary modifications, to inquiries held under this Act. If the investigator is not a member of the Board he must take the oath provided for by section 2 of the said act.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 9; 1992, c. 61, s. 265.
10. The owner, lessee or occupant of any immoveable, as well as his agents and employees, must facilitate, by all reasonable means at their disposal, the exercise of the powers conferred upon every investigator by sections 8 and 9.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 10.
11. The Board may give to any owner or operator of a conveyance system, or any distributor, any consumer, and to any owner of an immovable in which there is piping, as well as to any person in charge of the installation or repair of gas pipes, piping or apparatus, any order which it deems expedient for greater safety. Whosoever has received such an order must comply with it, failing which the Board may itself cause it to be carried out by any means at its disposal, including the demolition, removal, confiscation and replacement of such defective apparatus, installation or device, and may recover from the offender the amount of the expenses incurred by it, the whole without prejudice to any other recourse provided by this Act.
A person to whom such an order is notified without prior notice because, in the opinion of the Board, urgent action is required or there is a danger of irreparable damage being caused, may, within the time specified in the order, present observations so that the order may be reviewed by the Board.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 11; 1970, c. 26, s. 2; 1997, c. 43, s. 225.
12. The Government, for the purposes of this act may,
(a)  appoint inspectors and other employees to form part of the regular staff of the Board, and authorize the Board to make use of the services of technicians and experts, and determine the remuneration of all;
(b)  make provision for the repayment, by the owners or operators of gas conveyance or distribution undertakings, or by both, of the expenses incurred by the Board in the carrying out of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 12.
13. Every owner or operator of a gas conveyance system or distribution network who infringes any provision of this Act or of a regulation, or any person who disobeys an order of the Board, shall be liable to a fine of not less than $1 400 nor more than $7 000 for the first offence and not less than $7 000 nor more than $35 225 in the case of a second or subsequent conviction.
Every other person who infringes any provision of this Act or a regulation or disobeys an order of the Board is liable to a fine of $325 to $700 for a first offence and to a fine of $700 to $1 400 in the case of a second or subsequent conviction.
R. S. 1964, c. 88, s. 13; 1986, c. 58, s. 33; 1990, c. 4, s. 387; 1991, c. 33, s. 36.
14. The provisions respecting the storage of gas shall apply subject to the Mining Act (chapter M-13.1).
1970, c. 26, s. 3; 1987, c. 64, s. 344.
14.1. The Minister of Labour is responsible for the administration of this Act.
1991, c. 74, s. 137; 1994, c. 12, s. 66; 1996, c. 29, s. 43.
15. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 88 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter D-10 of the Revised Statutes.

D-10 - Loi sur la distribution du gaz

Texte complet
chapitre D-10
Loi sur la distribution du gaz
DISTRIBUTION DU GAZ20 juin 19852 décembre 2003
Le chapitre D-10 est remplacé par la Loi sur le bâtiment (chapitre B‐1.1). (1985, c. 34, a. 214).
1985, c. 34, a. 214.
1. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’impose une interprétation différente, les expressions suivantes ont le sens qui leur est ici attribué, à savoir:
a)  «appareil» : tout dispositif, mécanisme ou instrument qui utilise le gaz pour produire de la chaleur, de la lumière ou de l’énergie, y compris ses conduites de raccordement et son tuyau d’évacuation du produit de la combustion du gaz;
b)  «conduit» ou «conduit à gaz» : toute canalisation ou tuyau servant ou destiné à servir au transport ou à la distribution du gaz, sauf les conduites de raccordement d’un appareil;
c)  «consommateur» : toute personne ou société qui achète du gaz d’un distributeur;
d)  «distributeur» : toute personne qui exploite une entreprise d’emmagasinage, de transport, de vente ou de distribution de gaz au Québec, à quelque titre que ce soit;
e)  «gaz» : le gaz naturel, le gaz manufacturé, toute variété ou tout mélange de l’un ou de l’autre, les gaz de pétrole liquéfiés ou tout mélange de gaz de pétrole liquéfiés et d’air, transportés ou distribués par canalisation ou autrement;
f)  «personne» : en outre de son sens ordinaire, une société, un syndicat et une association;
g)  «régie» : la Régie du bâtiment du Québec;
h)  «règlement» : un règlement adopté en vertu de l’article 2 ou de l’article 3;
i)  «réseau de distribution» : l’ensemble des conduits, excepté ceux mentionnés au paragraphe k, et des outillages, mécanismes, structures, gazomètres, compteurs et autres dispositifs et accessoires installés dans un territoire déterminé et servant à la distribution du gaz aux consommateurs de ce territoire;
j)  «système de transport» : l’ensemble des conduits servant au transport du gaz jusqu’au point de jonction avec un réseau de distribution, incluant les outillages, mécanismes, structures, gazomètres, compteurs et autres dispositifs et accessoires s’y rattachant;
k)  «tuyauterie» : l’ensemble des conduits à gaz installés à l’intérieur, en dessous et à la surface extérieure d’une maison, d’une usine, d’un édifice ou de tout autre bâtiment d’un consommateur.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 1; 1970, c. 26, a. 1; 1988, c. 23, a. 86; 1991, c. 74, a. 136; 1999, c. 40, a. 107.
2. La régie peut adopter des règlements relatifs à la sécurité publique et à la prévention des accidents pouvant résulter du transport, de la possession, de la distribution et de l’usage du gaz au Québec.
Sans restreindre la portée du pouvoir général de réglementation ci-dessus, la régie peut, en particulier:
a)  réglementer la construction, la réparation, l’entretien, le remplacement et l’inspection de tout système de transport, réseau de distribution, conduit, appareil et tuyauterie servant aux fins du transport, de la distribution et de la consommation du gaz;
b)  désigner une ou des organisations pour éprouver les appareils à gaz, vérifier s’ils rencontrent les conditions spécifiées par la régie et y apposer leur sceau d’approbation, si l’épreuve est favorable;
c)  décréter que seuls les appareils à gaz approuvés par la régie ou munis du sceau d’approbation d’une organisation visée au paragraphe précédent pourront, à compter d’une date spécifiée, être installés au Québec;
d)  réglementer l’entreposage, l’emmagasinage, le transport et la manutention de tout gaz autrement qu’au moyen de conduits;
e)  adopter, en cette matière, toute autre mesure susceptible de contribuer à la sécurité publique.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 2.
3. La régie peut aussi, par règlement, accepter et rendre obligatoires, en entier ou en partie, avec les changements qu’elle juge opportuns, tout code ou tous standards techniques qu’elle juge appropriés et conformes à l’intérêt public, relativement aux appareils à gaz et aux systèmes de transport ou réseaux de distribution de gaz.
La régie est autorisée à exercer elle-même ou à déléguer l’exercice des pouvoirs d’approbation prévus par ces codes ou standards techniques.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 3.
4. Les règlements adoptés par la régie n’entrent en vigueur qu’après avoir été autorisés, avec ou sans modification, par le gouvernement et à compter de leur publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec, à moins qu’une autre date, spécifiée dans cette publication, n’ait été fixée à cette fin par le gouvernement.
Au cas d’incompatibilité entre une disposition d’un tel règlement et une disposition d’un règlement municipal, la première prévaut.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 4; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
5. Il est interdit à toute personne d’installer un appareil à gaz non conforme aux prescriptions des règlements.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 5.
6. Il est interdit à tout distributeur de fournir du gaz à un consommateur pour être utilisé
a)  au moyen d’un appareil installé en violation de l’article 5 ou devenu par la suite défectueux;
b)  dans un bâtiment dont la tuyauterie, à la connaissance du distributeur, présente un risque d’accident.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 6.
7. Nul ne doit installer un appareil à gaz sans au préalable en informer le distributeur intéressé et lui indiquer avec précision la nature de l’appareil et l’endroit où doit se faire cette installation.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 7.
8. Tout membre et tout inspecteur de la régie, ainsi que toute autre personne par elle autorisée, peuvent, pour les fins des articles 2 à 7 et des règlements, inspecter tout système de transport, réseau de distribution, conduit, appareil et tuyauterie servant au transport, à la distribution ou à la consommation du gaz et, à ces fins,
a)  pénétrer sur tout terrain et dans toute construction tous les jours non fériés, entre 8 heures et 18 heures, et, au cas d’urgence, en n’importe quel temps;
b)  examiner, éprouver et vérifier toute installation, appareil et dispositif ci-dessus mentionnés;
c)  faire toute enquête jugée nécessaire pour se rendre compte de l’observance de la présente loi et des règlements.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 8.
9. Les articles 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16 et 18 de la Loi sur les commissions d’enquête (chapitre C‐37), sauf le pouvoir d’imposer une peine d’emprisonnement, s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, aux enquêtes tenues en vertu de la présente loi. Si l’enquêteur n’est pas un membre de la régie, il est tenu de prêter le serment prévu par l’article 2 de ladite loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 9; 1992, c. 61, a. 265.
10. Le propriétaire, locataire ou occupant de tout immeuble, ainsi que ses préposés et employés, sont tenus de faciliter, par tous les moyens raisonnables à leur disposition, l’exercice des pouvoirs conférés à tout enquêteur par les articles 8 et 9.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 10.
11. La régie peut donner à tout propriétaire ou exploitant d’un système de transport, à tout distributeur, à tout consommateur et à tout propriétaire d’immeuble où se trouve de la tuyauterie, ainsi qu’à toute personne en charge de l’installation ou de la réparation de conduits, de tuyauterie ou d’appareils à gaz, tout ordre qu’elle juge à propos pour fin de sécurité. Quiconque a reçu un tel ordre doit s’y conformer, à défaut de quoi la régie peut elle-même le faire exécuter par tous les moyens à sa disposition, y compris la démolition, l’enlèvement, la confiscation et le remplacement de tout appareil, installation ou dispositif défectueux, et recouvrer du contrevenant le montant des dépenses par elle encourues, le tout sans préjudice de toute autre sanction prévue par la présente loi.
La personne à qui un tel ordre est notifié sans qu’elle en ait été informée au préalable parce que, de l’avis de la régie, il y a urgence ou danger de causer un préjudice irréparable peut, dans le délai qui y est indiqué, présenter ses observations pour en permettre le réexamen par la régie.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 11; 1970, c. 26, a. 2; 1997, c. 43, a. 225.
12. Le gouvernement peut, pour les fins de la présente loi,
a)  nommer des inspecteurs et autres employés pour faire partie du personnel régulier de la régie, et autoriser celle-ci à utiliser les services de techniciens et d’experts, et déterminer la rémunération des uns et des autres;
b)  adopter des dispositions pour le remboursement, par les propriétaires ou exploitants d’entreprise de transport ou de distribution de gaz, ou par les uns et les autres, des dépenses occasionnées à la régie par l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 12.
13. Tout propriétaire ou exploitant d’un système de transport ou d’un réseau de distribution du gaz qui enfreint une disposition de la présente loi ou d’un règlement, ou qui contrevient à un ordre de la régie, est passible d’une amende d’au moins 1 400 $ et d’au plus 7 000 $ pour la première infraction et d’au moins 7 000 $ et d’au plus 35 225 $ pour toute récidive.
Toute autre personne qui contrevient à une disposition de la présente loi ou d’un règlement, ou contrevient à un ordre de la régie, est passible, pour la première infraction, d’une amende de 325 $ à 700 $ et, en cas de récidive, d’une amende de 700 $ à 1 400 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 88, a. 13; 1986, c. 58, a. 33; 1990, c. 4, a. 387; 1991, c. 33, a. 36.
14. Les dispositions relatives à l’emmagasinage du gaz s’appliquent sous réserve de la Loi sur les mines (chapitre M‐13.1).
1970, c. 26, a. 3; 1987, c. 64, a. 344.
14.1. Le ministre du Travail est responsable de l’application de la présente loi.
1991, c. 74, a. 137; 1994, c. 12, a. 66; 1996, c. 29, a. 43.
15. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 88 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre D-10 des Lois refondues.