C-7 - Criminal Cases Recognizance Act

Full text
chapter C-7
Criminal Cases Recognizance Act
RECOGNIZANCEApril 11 1990October 1 1990
Repealed, 1990, c. 4, s. 126.
1990, c. 4, s. 126.
1. The word cognizor in this act shall include any number of cognizors in the same recognizance, whether as principals or sureties, unless such interpretation be inconsistent with the context.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 1.
DIVISION I
RECOGNIZANCES TAKEN IN OTHER DISTRICTS
2. When a person has been arrested in any district for a crime or offence committed within Québec, and a justice of the peace has taken recognizances from the witnesses heard before him or another justice of the peace, for their appearance, at the next term of the court before which such person is to undergo his trial, there to testify and give evidence on such trial, and such recognizances have been transmitted to the office of the clerk of such court, the said court may proceed on the said recognizances in the same manner as if they had been taken in the district in which such court is held.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PROCEEDINGS ON FORFEITED RECOGNIZANCES
3. Whenever default is made in the condition of any recognizances lawfully entered into or taken in any criminal case, proceeding or matter in Québec, so that the penal sum therein mentioned becomes forfeited and due to the Crown, such recognizance shall thereupon be extracted or withdrawn from any record or proceeding in which it then is, or a certificate or minute of such recognizance, under the seal of the court, shall be made from the records of such court, where the recognizance has been entered into orally in open court.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 3.
4. Such recognizance, certificate or minute (as the case may be), shall be transmitted by the court, municipal judge, judge of the Court of Québec, justice of the peace, magistrate or functionary before whom the cognizor (or the principal cognizor where there is a surety or sureties) was bound to appear or to do that by his default to do which the condition of the recognizance is broken, to the Superior Court in the district in which is situated, for civil purposes, the place where such default occurred, with the certificate of the court, municipal judge, judge of the Court of Québec, justice of the peace, magistrate or other functionary as aforesaid, of the breach of the condition of such recognizance, of which breach and of the forfeiture to the Crown of the penal sum therein mentioned, such certificate shall be conclusive evidence.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 4; 1988, c. 21, s. 70.
5. The date of the receipt of such recognizance, or of the minute or certificate by the prothonotary of the court, shall be endorsed thereon by him, and he shall enter judgment in favor of the Crown against the cognizor for the penal sum mentioned in such recognizance, and execution may issue therefor by seizure of the debtor’s moveable and immoveable property in the ordinary manner or by seizure by garnishment, after the same delay as in other cases, which shall be reckoned from the time when the judgment is entered by the prothonotary of the court.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 5.
6. Such execution shall issue upon the fiat or proecipe of the Attorney General, or of any person thereunto authorized in writing by him; and the Crown shall be entitled to the costs of execution and to costs on all proceedings in the case subsequent to execution, and to such costs for the entry of the judgment as may be fixed by any tariff.
Such execution may also be issued on the fiat or proecipe of any person to whom the Attorney General has given a general written authority to demand the execution of all judgments upon forfeited recognizances.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 6.
7. Nothing herein contained shall prevent the recovery of the sum forfeited by the breach of any recognizance from being recovered by suit in the manner provided by law, in any case where the same cannot for any reason be recovered in the manner provided in this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 7.
8. In such case the sum forfeited by the non-performance of the condition of such recognizance shall be recoverable with costs, by action in any court having jurisdiction in civil cases to the amount, at the suit of the Attorney General, or other party or officer authorized to sue for the Crown.
In every such action, it shall be presumed that the party suing for the Crown is duly empowered so to do, and that the conditions of the recognizance were not performed, and that the sum therein mentioned is, therefore, due to the Crown, unless the defendant prove the contrary.
R. S. 1964, c. 32, s. 8.
DIVISION III
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
9. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 32 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-7 of the Revised Statutes.

C-7 - Loi sur les cautionnements dans les causes criminelles

Texte complet
chapitre C-7
Loi sur les cautionnements dans les causes criminelles
CAUTIONNEMENTS11 avril 19901er octobre 1990
Abrogée, 1990, c. 4, a. 126.
1990, c. 4, a. 126.
1. Le terme «obligé» , dans la présente loi, comprend tout nombre d’obligés dans le même cautionnement, comme principaux ou cautions, à moins que cette interprétation ne soit incompatible avec le contexte.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 1.
SECTION I
DES CAUTIONNEMENTS REÇUS DANS UN AUTRE DISTRICT
2. Lorsqu’une personne est arrêtée dans un district pour avoir commis un crime ou une infraction dans les limites du Québec, et qu’un juge de paix de ce district a reçu les cautionnements des témoins entendus devant lui ou devant un autre juge de paix, pour leur comparution au prochain terme de la cour devant laquelle cette personne doit subir son procès, pour y rendre témoignage, et que ces cautionnements ont été transmis au bureau du greffier de la cour, ce tribunal peut procéder sur ces cautionnements de la même manière que s’ils avaient été reçus dans le district où la cour est tenue.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 2.
SECTION II
DES PROCÉDURES SUR LES CAUTIONNEMENTS FORFAITS
3. Chaque fois que les conditions d’un cautionnement légalement consenti ou pris dans une cause, procédure ou affaire criminelle, au Québec, n’ont pas été remplies de manière que la somme pénale y mentionnée devient confisquée et due à la couronne, alors ce cautionnement est extrait et retiré du dossier ou de la procédure dans laquelle il se trouve, ou bien un certificat ou une minute du cautionnement, sous le sceau du tribunal, est fait d’après les pièces du dossier du tribunal devant lequel le cautionnement a été donné de vive voix séance tenante.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 3.
4. Ce cautionnement, ce certificat ou cette minute, suivant le cas, est, par le tribunal, le juge municipal, les juges de la Cour du Québec, le juge de paix, le magistrat, ou le fonctionnaire devant lequel l’obligé (ou le principal obligé quand il y a une caution ou des cautions) était tenu de comparaître, ou de faire un acte dont l’omission constitue la violation des conditions de son cautionnement, transmis à la Cour supérieure de son district dans lequel est compris, pour les fins civiles, l’endroit où le défaut a été commis, avec le certificat du tribunal, du juge municipal, des juges de la Cour du Québec, du juge de paix, du magistrat ou autre fonctionnaire comme susdit, constatant l’inaccomplissement de la condition du cautionnement, et ce certificat est une preuve conclusive de la violation du cautionnement et de sa confiscation en faveur de la couronne.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 4; 1988, c. 21, a. 70.
5. La date de la réception du cautionnement, du certificat ou de la minute par le protonotaire de la cour est par lui inscrite sur le dos de ce document; jugement est entré en faveur de la couronne contre l’obligé pour la somme pénale mentionnée dans le cautionnement, et exécution par voie de saisie-exécution des biens meubles ou des biens immeubles, conformément aux règles ordinaires, ou par voie de saisie-arrêt en mains tierces, est émise en conséquence après le même délai qu’en toute autre cause, ce délai étant compté de la date de l’entrée du jugement par le protonotaire.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 5.
6. Cette exécution est émise sur l’ordre ou la réquisition du procureur général ou de toute personne à ce autorisée par un écrit du procureur général; la couronne a droit aux frais d’exécution et aux frais sur toutes les procédures subséquentes à l’exécution, et à tels frais pour l’entrée du jugement qui peuvent être fixés par un tarif.
Cette exécution peut aussi être émise sur la réquisition de toute personne que le procureur général peut autoriser, par écrit et d’une façon générale, à requérir l’exécution de tous jugements sur les cautionnements forfaits.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 6.
7. Rien ne doit empêcher de recouvrer la somme confisquée à raison de la violation du cautionnement, par poursuite en la manière prescrite par la loi, dans le cas où cette somme ne peut, pour quelque raison, être recouvrée en la manière prescrite par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 7.
8. En pareil cas, la somme sujette à confiscation à raison du défaut d’exécution des conditions du cautionnement est recouvrable avec dépens par action devant tout tribunal de juridiction civile au même montant, à la poursuite du procureur général ou autre personne ou officier autorisé à poursuivre pour la couronne.
Dans toute action de ce genre, la partie poursuivant pour la couronne est censée dûment autorisée à poursuivre, et les conditions de l’acte de cautionnement sont censées n’avoir pas été remplies, et la somme y mentionnée est censée être en conséquence due à la couronne, à moins que le défendeur ne prouve le contraire.
S. R. 1964, c. 32, a. 8.
SECTION III
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
9. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 32 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-7 des Lois refondues.