C-52 - Physical Contests Act

Full text
chapter C-52
Physical Contests Act
PHYSICAL CONTESTSDecember 21 1979June 23 1987
Repealed, 1979, c. 86, s. 69.
1979, c. 86, s. 69.
1. Nothing in this act contained shall be interpreted as dispensing with the provisions respecting places of amusement enacted by Division II of the Licenses Act (chapter L-3).
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 1.
2. In this act,—
(1)  The words physical contest mean and include any contest between competitors wherein human physical endurance is put to test and which may become indecent, injurious to health or contrary to public order;
(2)  The word immoveable means and includes any edifice, building, house, premises, enclosed or unenclosed ground, in Québec, or any part of such edifice, building, house, premises or ground;
(3)  The words chief of police mean the Director-General of the Sûreté du Québec, the Deputy Directors General of the Police Force of the Sûreté du Québec, the person filling the office of superintendent, director or chief of police in any municipality, and if there be no such officer in a municipality they mean the mayor of the municipality;
(4)  The word person includes also corporation, partnership, firm or association.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 2; 1968, c. 17, s. 97; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
3. No person may hold a physical contest or allow one to be held, unless a permit for the purpose has been granted to him by the chief of police and unless such permit be in force. Such permit shall be granted gratuitously.
No permit shall be granted for a period of more than twelve months, but it is renewable at its expiration.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 3.
4. A permit granted under this act may be revoked at any time by the chief of police who issued it, if he considers that the physical contests being carried on are indecent, detrimental to health or contrary to public order, and the said chief of police must, in all cases, cancel the permit on the request of the Attorney General or of the mayor of the municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 4.
5. Whosoever,—
(1)  Holds physical contests or allows them to be held without a permit granted and in force in accordance with the provisions of this act;
(2)  Directly or indirectly aids in the organizing or carrying on of such physical contests,—
commits an infringement of this Act and shall be liable, in addition to the costs: in the case of a first infringement, to a fine not exceeding $100, and, in default of payment of such fine and costs, to an imprisonment of not more than one month; and, in the case of any subsequent infringement, to imprisonment for one month.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 5.
6. Whosoever,—
(1)  Having charge, in any way, of the carrying on of a physical contest, suffers such contest to be injurious to human health and life, or to morality or public order; or
(2)  Knowingly, participates in or attends a physical contest contemplated in the foregoing sub-paragraph 1; or
(3)  Holds or allows to be held a physical contest which, by its nature, endangers human health or life, or affords a spectacle contrary to morals or public order; or
(4)  Directly or indirectly aids in the organizing or carrying on of a physical contest as contemplated by the above sub-paragraph 3,—
commits an infringement of this Act and shall be liable, in addition to the costs: in the case of a first infringement, to a fine of not more than $200, and, in default of payment of such fine and costs, to an imprisonment not exceeding two months; and, in the case of any subsequent infringement, to an imprisonment of two months.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 6.
7. Any chief of police who, upon the request of the Attorney General or of the mayor of the municipality made under section 4, neglect to cancel a permit granted by him under this act, commits an infringement of this act and shall be liable, in addition to the costs, to a fine not exceeding $100 and, in default of payment of such fine and costs, to an imprisonment not exceeding one month.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 7.
8. Any member of the Sûreté du Québec or municipal police or any peace officer may enter, at any time, into or upon any immoveable, in order to ascertain whether an infringement of this act is being committed there, and every person who refuses him entrance into or upon the said immoveable, or hinders such entrance, in any way, shall be liable to the penalties prescribed by section 7.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 8; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
9. Any person knowing or having reason to believe that an immoveable is used for the carrying on of physical contests contrary to this act may send to the owner, lessor, lessee or occupant of such immoveable or their agent, a notice to that effect, by registered or certified letter to the last known address of the said owner, lessor, lessee, occupant or agent, as the case may be.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 9; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
10. If, two days after the mailing of such notice, the immoveable continues to be used for physical contests, contrary to the provisions of this act, any person may apply for and obtain an injunction directed against the owner, lessor, lessee or occupant of such immoveable or their agent, or against all such persons simultaneously, restraining them, their heirs, successors or assigns from using or permitting the use of such immoveable for the above purposes.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 10.
11. All the provisions of the Code of Civil Procedure respecting injunctions shall apply to the injunction referred to in section 10, unless expressly derogated from by this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 11.
12. The said injunction shall be issued upon a deposit or security not exceeding $200, fixed by the judge, and the service of such injunction and all proceedings preliminary to or in connection therewith must be made personally upon the owner or other person or persons against whom it is directed, if they can be found in the district. If they cannot be so found, a copy of the injunction shall be delivered to any reasonable person residing in the said building or the occupant, and to the agent of the owner. If no such reasonable person be found therein or if the owner has no agent or if such agent cannot be found, then service shall be made as the court shall direct.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 12.
13. If the judge finds that such immoveable continues to be used in contravention of this act, he shall by his final judgment, in addition to all other orders he is empowered to make, order the closing of the said immoveable and prohibit its use for any purpose whatsoever, for a period of not more than one year from the date of judgment which must be registered against the immoveable.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 13.
14. After the judgment ordering the closing of the immoveable, the owner or the occupant under any title whatsoever, upon establishing his good faith and his ignorance that the immoveable had been used in contravention of this act, and upon furnishing cash security, determined by a judge of the Superior Court and deposited in court as a guarantee that the said immoveable will not again be used for the said purposes, may obtain an order suspending the carrying out of the said judgment.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 14.
15. Upon application by the interested parties, supported by evidence to the effect that notwithstanding the security furnished the said building is again being used in contravention of this act, the judge may cancel the said security and order the confiscation in favour of the Crown of the deposit, and again order the closing of the immoveable for the unexpired time, or for an additional period of not more than one year.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 15.
16. Should it appear to the judge, upon application of the owner or of the occupant of the closed immoveable, at any time, that the said immoveable or its contents is or are likely to suffer damage by reason of its closing, the judge, under such conditions and limitations as he may see fit to impose, may permit the occupation of the said immoveable in so far as it may be necessary to prevent it or its contents from deteriorating; and where in any proceedings the owner or the occupant is not represented, the judge may attach such conditions to the closing order or reclosing order as he considers will serve to protect the said immoveable or its contents from damage.
R. S. 1964, c. 52, s. 16.
17. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 52 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-52 of the Revised Statutes.

C-52 - Loi sur les concours physiques

Texte complet
chapitre C-52
Loi sur les concours physiques
CONCOURS PHYSIQUES21 décembre 197923 juin 1987
Abrogée, 1979, c. 86, a. 69.
1979, c. 86, a. 69.
1. Rien dans la présente loi ne saurait être interprété comme libératoire des prescriptions concernant les lieux d’amusements édictées par la section II de la Loi sur les licences (chapitre L‐3).
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 1.
2. Dans la présente loi,—
1°  Les mots «concours physiques» signifient et comprennent toutes luttes de concurrents où l’endurance physique humaine est mise à l’épreuve et qui peuvent devenir indécentes, pernicieuses à la santé ou contraires à l’ordre public;
2°  Le mot «immeuble» signifie et comprend tout édifice, bâtisse, maison, local, ou terrain clos ou non, au Québec, ou toute partie de tel édifice, bâtisse, maison, local ou terrain;
3°  Les mots «chef de police» désignent le directeur général de la Sûreté du Québec, les directeurs généraux adjoints de la Sûreté du Québec, la personne qui remplit les fonctions de surintendant, de directeur ou chef de police dans une municipalité, et, dans le cas où il n’y a pas, dans une municipalité, tel officier, ils désignent le maire de la municipalité;
4°  Le mot «personne» comprend également une corporation, une société, une raison sociale ou une association.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 2; 1968, c. 17, a. 97.
3. Personne ne peut tenir ou permettre de tenir un concours physique, à moins qu’un permis à cette fin ne lui ait été octroyé gratuitement par le chef de police, et que ce permis ne soit en vigueur.
Nul permis n’est accordé pour une période de plus de douze mois, mais il est renouvelable à son expiration.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 3.
4. Un permis octroyé en vertu de la présente loi peut être révoqué en tout temps par le chef de police qui l’a émis, s’il juge que les concours physiques mis en action sont indécents, pernicieux à la santé ou contraires à l’ordre public, et le dit chef de police doit, dans tous les cas, l’annuler sur la demande du procureur général ou du maire de la municipalité.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 4.
5. Quiconque,—
1°  Tient ou permet de tenir des concours physiques sans un permis décerné et en vigueur conformément aux prescriptions de la présente loi;
2°  Aide, directement ou indirectement, dans l’organisation ou la mise en action de ces concours physiques,—
commet une infraction à la présente loi et se rend passible, en sus des frais: au cas d’une première infraction, d’une amende n’excédant pas 100 $ et, à défaut de paiement de l’amende et des frais, d’un emprisonnement n’excédant pas un mois; et au cas d’une infraction subséquente, d’un emprisonnement d’un mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 5.
6. Quiconque,—
1°  Étant en charge, de quelque manière que ce soit, de la mise en action d’un concours physique, tolère que ce concours soit pernicieux à la santé et à la vie humaines, ou aux bonnes moeurs ou à l’ordre public; ou
2°  En connaissance de cause, participe ou assiste à un concours physique visé par le paragraphe 1° ci-dessus; ou
3°  Tient ou permet de tenir un concours physique qui, dans sa nature, met en danger la santé ou la vie humaines, ou offre un spectacle contraire à la morale ou à l’ordre public; ou
4°  Prête son aide, directement ou indirectement, dans l’organisation ou la mise en action d’un concours physique visé par le paragraphe 3° ci-dessus,—
commet une infraction à la présente loi et se rend passible, en sus des frais: au cas d’une première offense, d’une amende n’excédant pas 200 $, et, à défaut de paiement de l’amende et des frais, d’un emprisonnement n’excédant pas deux mois; et, au cas d’une infraction subséquente, d’un emprisonnement de deux mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 6.
7. Un chef de police qui, sur la demande du procureur général ou du maire de la municipalité, faite suivant l’article 4, néglige d’annuler un permis qu’il a octroyé en vertu de la présente loi, commet une infraction à cette loi et se rend passible, en sus des frais, d’une amende n’excédant pas 100 $, et, à défaut de paiement de l’amende et des frais, d’un emprisonnement n’excédant pas un mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 7.
8. Tout membre de la Sûreté du Québec ou de la police municipale ou tout agent de la paix est autorisé à entrer, en tout temps, dans ou sur tout immeuble, afin de constater s’il s’y commet une infraction à la présente loi, et toute personne qui lui refuse l’entrée dans ou sur le dit immeuble, ou fait obstruction à cette entrée, de quelque manière que ce soit, est passible des pénalités prévues par l’article 7.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 8.
9. Toute personne qui sait ou a raison de croire qu’un immeuble sert à la mise en action de concours physiques en contravention à la présente loi, peut signifier au propriétaire de cet immeuble, locateur, locataire, occupant, ou agent d’iceux un avis à cet effet, sous pli recommandé ou certifié, à la dernière adresse connue du dit propriétaire, locateur, locataire ou occupant, ou agent d’iceux selon le cas.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 9; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
10. Si, deux jours après la mise à la poste de cet avis, l’immeuble continue d’être employé pour des fins de concours physiques, contrairement aux prescriptions de la présente loi, toute personne peut demander et obtenir une injonction dirigée contre le propriétaire du dit immeuble, le locateur, le locataire, l’occupant ou leur agent, ou contre toutes ces personnes simultanément, leur défendant, ainsi qu’à leurs héritiers, leurs successeurs ou ayants droit, de se servir ou de tolérer l’usage de cet immeuble pour les fins ci-dessus.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 10.
11. Toutes les dispositions du Code de procédure civile concernant les injonctions s’appliquent à l’injonction mentionnée dans l’article 10, à moins qu’il n’y soit expressément dérogé par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 11.
12. La dite injonction est émise sur un dépôt ou cautionnement n’excédant pas 200 $, déterminé par le juge, et la signification de cette injonction et de toutes les procédures qui la précèdent ou qui s’y rattachent, doit être faite personnellement au propriétaire, ou autres personnes ou personne contre lesquelles elle est dirigée, si ces derniers peuvent être trouvés dans le district. S’ils ne peuvent être trouvés, une copie de l’injonction doit être remise à toute personne raisonnable demeurant dans le dit immeuble ou l’occupant, et à l’agent du propriétaire. Si aucune personne raisonnable n’y peut être trouvée ou si le propriétaire n’a pas d’agent, ou si tel agent est introuvable, alors la signification est faite en la manière indiquée par le tribunal.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 12.
13. Si le juge constate que cet immeuble continue à être employé en contravention de la présente loi, il doit, par son jugement définitif, en sus de toutes ordonnances qu’il est autorisé à rendre, ordonner la fermeture du dit immeuble et en défendre l’usage pour toutes fins quelconques, pendant une période de temps n’excédant pas un an à compter de la date du jugement qui doit être enregistré contre l’immeuble.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 13.
14. Après le jugement ordonnant la fermeture de l’immeuble, le propriétaire ou l’occupant à quelque titre que ce soit, s’il prouve qu’il était de bonne foi et ignorait que l’immeuble fût employé en violation de la présente loi et qu’il fournit un cautionnement en argent, déterminé par un juge de la Cour supérieure, et le dépose en cour comme garantie que l’immeuble ne sera pas de nouveau employé aux dites fins, peut obtenir une ordonnance suspendant l’exécution du jugement.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 14.
15. Sur demande des parties intéressées, avec preuves à l’appui que, malgré le cautionnement fourni l’on continue de faire usage du dit immeuble en contravention de la présente loi, le juge peut annuler le dit cautionnement, ordonner la confiscation du dépôt en faveur de la couronne et réordonner la fermeture de l’immeuble pour le temps inexpiré ou pour une période additionnelle n’excédant pas un an.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 15.
16. Si le juge a lieu de croire, sur demande du propriétaire ou de l’occupant de l’immeuble fermé, en toute époque, que le dit immeuble ou les effets y contenus est ou sont exposés à subir des dommages en raison de fermeture, il peut, aux conditions et restrictions qu’il juge à propos d’imposer, permettre l’occupation de l’immeuble, autant qu’il sera nécessaire pour empêcher icelui ou son contenu de se détériorer; et quand, dans les procédures, le propriétaire ou l’occupant n’est pas représenté, le juge peut imposer, dans l’ordonnance ou la réordonnance de fermeture, telles conditions qu’il croit de nature à protéger les dits immeubles ou effets contre tous dommages.
S. R. 1964, c. 52, a. 16.
17. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 52 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-52 des Lois refondues.