C-49 - Municipal Franchises Act

Full text
chapter C-49
Municipal Franchises Act
MUNICIPAL FRANCHISESDecember 23 1996December 23 1996
Repealed, 1996, c. 77, s. 46.
1996, c. 77, s. 46.
1. Notwithstanding any contrary or inconsistent provisions contained in any general or special Act, whenever a municipality, in the exercise of the powers conferred on it by its charter or by a general Act, does any one of the following acts, to wit:
(1)  Grants to any person, firm, corporation or syndicate the privilege, right or franchise, for more than ten years, of constructing and maintaining, in the roads or streets in the territory of the municipality, a tramway line, and of operating the same by running cars mechanically propelled, either by electricity, steam or other motive power, for the transportation of passengers or freight, or of both; or the right, privilege or franchise, for more than ten years, of running such cars on rails already laid for such purposes in the roads or streets in the territory of the municipality; or
(2)  Grants to any person, firm, corporation or syndicate the privilege, right or franchise, for more than ten years, of constructing, maintaining and operating, in the territory of the municipality, a lighting or heating system by gas or electricity or by gas and electricity, or an electric power distribution system, separate from or forming part of the lighting system and, accordingly, of erecting, laying and maintaining, in the roads, streets or public squares, electric power transmission lines or gas mains, or of supplying the public in the territory of the municipality with gas or electricity or both, for light, heat, motive power or traction purposes;
The by-law or resolution granting such privilege, right or franchise shall be submitted to the qualified voters for approval.
R. S. 1964, c. 184, s. 1; 1987, c. 57, s. 789; 1996, c. 2, s. 592.
2. The by-law or resolution shall be submitted for the approval of the qualified voters within the three months following the date on which it was passed by the council, in default whereof it shall be null and void.
R. S. 1964, c. 184, s. 2; 1987, c. 57, s. 790.
3. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 184, s. 3; 1987, c. 57, s. 791.
4. The privileges, rights and franchises provided by this act may be granted only to a corporation exclusively constituted under an act of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 184, s. 4.
5. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 184 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-49 of the Revised Statutes.

C-49 - Loi sur les concessions municipales

Texte complet
chapitre C-49
Loi sur les concessions municipales
CONCESSIONS MUNICIPALES23 décembre 199623 décembre 1996
Abrogée, 1996, c. 77, a. 46.
1996, c. 77, a. 46.
1. Nonobstant toute disposition contraire ou incompatible dans une loi générale ou spéciale, lorsqu’une municipalité, dans l’exercice d’un pouvoir qui lui est conféré par sa charte ou par une loi générale fait quelqu’un des actes suivants, savoir:
1°  Accorde à une personne, à une société, à une corporation ou à un syndicat le privilège, le droit ou la franchise, pour plus de dix années, de construire et maintenir dans les chemins ou les rues du territoire de la municipalité une ligne de tramways, et de l’exploiter en y faisant circuler des voitures à traction mécanique, actionnées par l’électricité, la vapeur ou autre force motrice, pour le transport des personnes ou des marchandises, ou pour ces deux objets; ou le droit, privilège ou franchise, pour plus de dix années, de faire circuler de telles voitures sur des voies ferrées déjà construites pour les mêmes fins dans les chemins et les rues du territoire de la municipalité;
2°  Accorde à une personne, à une société, à une corporation ou à un syndicat le privilège, le droit ou la franchise, pour plus de dix années, d’installer, de maintenir et d’exploiter, sur le territoire de la municipalité, un système d’éclairage ou de chauffage au gaz ou à l’électricité, ou l’un et l’autre, ou un système de distribution d’énergie électrique séparé ou faisant partie du système d’éclairage, et, en conséquence, de poser et maintenir, dans les chemins, les rues et les places publiques, des lignes de transmission d’énergie électrique ou des conduits de distribution du gaz, et de fournir au public, sur le territoire de la municipalité, le gaz ou l’électricité ou les deux, pour fins d’éclairage, de chauffage, de traction ou de force motrice;
Le règlement ou la résolution qui accorde ce droit, ce privilège ou cette franchise doit être soumis à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter.
S. R. 1964, c. 184, a. 1; 1987, c. 57, a. 789; 1996, c. 2, a. 592.
2. Le règlement ou la résolution doit être soumis à l’approbation des personnes habiles à voter dans les trois mois de sa passation par le conseil, faute de quoi il devient nul et sans effet.
S. R. 1964, c. 184, a. 2; 1987, c. 57, a. 790.
3. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 184, a. 3; 1987, c. 57, a. 791.
4. Les privilèges, droits et franchises prévus par la présente loi ne peuvent être accordés qu’à une corporation constituée exclusivement sous l’empire d’une loi du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 184, a. 4.
5. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 184 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-49 des Lois refondues.