C-46 - Extra-Provincial Companies Act

Full text
chapter C-46
Extra-Provincial Companies Act
EXTRA-PROVINCIAL COMPANIESNovember 4 1993January 1 1994
Repealed, 1993, c. 48, s. 345.
1993, c. 48, s. 345.
1. Nothing in this act shall prevent the provisions of Division I of the Companies and Partnerships Declaration Act (chapter D-1) from applying to extra-provincial corporations.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 1.
2. Extra-provincial corporations, for the purposes of this act, include all commercial corporations and joint stock companies not incorporated by or in virtue of an act of the Legislature of Québec, or of the Parliament of Canada, of the Legislature of the late Province of Lower Canada, or that of the late Province of Canada, except:
(1)  Savings companies holding a licence under the Act respecting trust companies and savings companies (chapter S-29.01) and loan and savings societies registered in accordance with the Loan and Investment Societies Act (chapter S-30);
(2)  Insurance companies, mutual benefit societies and charitable societies, the same being governed by the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32);
(3)  Trust companies and savings companies incorporated in virtue of an Act of a province other than Québec or of a foreign country;
(4)  Corporations and companies incorporated under or in virtue of an act of a Legislature of another Province of Canada in which corporations and companies incorporated under and in virtue of the laws of Québec are authorized to do business without being obliged to take out a license therefor.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 2; 1968, c. 9, s. 90; 1974, c. 70, s. 473; 1987, c. 95, s. 377, s. 402.
3. No extra-provincial corporation shall carry on business in Québec unless a license under this act has been granted to it and unless such license is in force.
No company, firm, broker, agent or other person shall, as the representative or agent of or acting in any capacity other than as traveller taking orders for any such extra-provincial corporation, carry on any of its business in Québec unless such corporation has received such license and unless such license is in force.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 3.
4. The licence is granted by the Inspector General of Financial Institutions upon application by the extra-provincial corporation, provided that the corporation:
(1)  Deposits with the Inspector General a copy of its charter, articles of association or other deed constituting the corporation, certified by the officer having the custody of the original;
(2)  Establishes that it is so constituted as to carry out the obligations it may contract;
(3)  Deposits with the Inspector General a power of attorney constituting a chief agent in Québec for the purpose of receiving service in any suit or proceeding against it, and declaring where the principal office of the corporation is to be established;
(4)  Pays the fees that may be fixed for such license by the Government;
(5)  Where its corporate name does not comply with paragraph 6 of the first paragraph or is in a language other than French and where its charter, articles of association or deed of incorporation do not provide for a French version, it shall adopt, subject to the laws applicable thereto, a name other than its corporate name for the purposes contemplated in section 4.1;
(6)  Establishes that its corporate name or the French version of it mentioned in its charter, as the case may be, its articles of association or its deed of incorporation, or the name contemplated in paragraph 5 of the first paragraph, complies with the regulations of the Government, and is not reserved for a third person under the Companies Act (chapter C-38).
The Inspector General may refuse to grant a licence to or to maintain the licence of an extra-provincial corporation that does not comply with the requirements of paragraph 5 of the first paragraph or of which the corporate name, the French version of that name or the name contemplated in that paragraph does not comply with the law, the regulations applicable, made or approved by the Government or is reserved for a third person under the Companies Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 4; 1966-67, c. 72, s. 23; 1969, c. 26, s. 71; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1979, c. 31, s. 45; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 167.
4.1. The name contemplated in paragraph 5 of the first paragraph of section 4 must be indicated in the licence. The extra-provincial corporation shall then identify itself and be identified in Québec under that name and its designation in that manner is as valid as its designation under its corporate name.
1979, c. 31, s. 46.
4.2. The licence issued under this act must be issued under the corporate name of the extra-provincial corporation or under the French version of that name, as the case may be, indicated in its charter, its articles of association or other deed of incorporation.
1979, c. 31, s. 46.
5. Notice of the granting of such license shall be published by the Inspector General in the Gazette officielle du Québec, and from the date of such publication such extra-provincial corporation may commence business.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 5; 1966-67, c. 72, s. 23; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 168.
6. Whenever any extra-provincial corporation changes its chief agent or the location of its head office, it shall forward to the Inspector General a copy of the new power of attorney respecting the same, and notice thereof shall be given in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 6; 1966-67, c. 72, s. 23; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 168.
7. If an extra-provincial corporation licensed in virtue of this act changes its name, it shall send to the Inspector General a copy of the document establishing that such change has been legally effected, and such copy shall be certified by the officer who has charge of the original.
If any extra-provincial corporation changes the French version of its corporate name or wishes to change the name contemplated in paragraph 5 of the first paragraph of section 4, it must apply for a new licence. The new corporate name, the new French version or, as the case may be, the new name must comply with the regulations of the Government and not be reserved for a third person under the Companies Act (chapter C-38).
A new license may then be granted by the Inspector General, and notice thereof shall be given by the Inspector General in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 7; 1966-67, c. 72, s. 23; 1969, c. 26, s. 72; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1979, c. 31, s. 47; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 168.
8. Any extra-provincial corporation receiving a license under this act or exempted therefrom under paragraph 4 of section 2 may, subject to the limitations and conditions of the license and of the laws of Québec, and also subject to the provisions of its charter, acquire, hold, mortgage, alienate and otherwise dispose of immoveable property in Québec, to the same extent as if incorporated by letters patent issued under the Companies Act (chapter C-38), with power to carry on the business and exercise the powers embraced in the license.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 8; 1969, c. 26, s. 73.
9. If an extra-provincial corporation receiving a license under this act does not observe or comply with the limitations and conditions of such license, or the regulations respecting the appointment and continuance of a representative in Québec, the Government may suspend or revoke such license wholly or in part, and may remove such suspension or cancel such revocation and restore such license.
Notice of such suspension, revocation, removal or restoration shall be given by the Inspector General in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 9; 1966-67, c. 72, s. 23; 1975, c. 76, s. 11; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 52, s. 168.
10. The Government may, by regulation,
(a)  prescribe the forms of licences, powers of attorney, applications, notices, statements and other documents relating to applications and other procedures under this act;
(b)  establish the fees to be paid for the granting of licences and the publication of notices under this act, and fix the amount thereof;
(c)  prescribe standards, terms, conditions and requirements in respect of the corporate names of extra-provincial corporations, or of the French version of these names or of another name contemplated in paragraph 5 of the first paragraph of section 4;
(d)  generally prescribe whatever may be necessary for the carrying out of this act.
The Government may, instead of making regulations under this act, declare applicable the regulations made under sections 23 to 25 of the Companies Act (chapter C-38) with or without amendments.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 10; 1979, c. 31, s. 48.
11. Any person doing business for an extra-provincial corporation which has not compiled with the requirements of this Act shall be liable to a fine of not more than $100 for each offence.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 11; 1990, c. 4, s. 327.
12. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 12; 1990, c. 4, s. 328; 1992, c. 61, s. 223.
13. A statement showing the licenses issued under this act during the preceding fiscal year, and the authorized capital of the extra-provincial corporations licensed, and the fee paid for each license, must be included in the report of activities of the Inspector General.
R. S. 1964, c. 282, s. 13; 1982, c. 52, s. 169.
14. The Inspector General of Financial Institutions is responsible for carrying out the administration of this Act.
1982, c. 52, s. 170.
15. The Minister of Finance is responsible for the administration of this Act.
1982, c. 52, s. 170.
16. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULES

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 282 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-46 of the Revised Statutes.

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), sections 4-1, 4-2 and the second paragraph of section 7 of chapter 282 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1981, are repealed effective from the coming into force of the updating to 31 December 1981 of chapter C-46 of the Revised Statutes.

C-46 - Loi sur les compagnies étrangères

Texte complet
chapitre C-46
Loi sur les compagnies étrangères
COMPAGNIES ÉTRANGÈRES4 novembre 19931er janvier 1994
Abrogée, 1993, c. 48, a. 345.
1993, c. 48, a. 345.
1. Rien dans la présente loi ne soustrait les corporations étrangères à l’application de la section I de la Loi sur les déclarations des compagnies et sociétés (chapitre D‐1).
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 1.
2. Les corporations étrangères, au sens de la présente loi, comprennent toutes les corporations commerciales et les compagnies à fonds social non constituées par ou en vertu d’une loi de la Législature du Québec, du Parlement du Canada, de la Législature de l’ancienne province du Bas-Canada, ou de celle de l’ancienne province du Canada, excepté;
1°  Les sociétés d’épargne titulaires d’un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S‐29.01) et les sociétés de prêts et de placements enregistrées conformément à la Loi sur les sociétés de prêts et de placements (chapitre S‐30);
2°  Les compagnies d’assurance, les sociétés de secours mutuels et les sociétés charitables, lesquelles sont régies par les dispositions de la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32);
3°  Les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne constituées en vertu d’une loi d’une province autre que le Québec ou d’un pays étranger;
4°  Les corporations et compagnies constituées par ou en vertu d’une loi d’une Législature d’une autre province du Canada, dans laquelle les corporations et compagnies constituées par ou en vertu des lois du Québec sont autorisées à faire affaires sans être obligées de prendre des permis à cet effet.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 2; 1968, c. 9, a. 90; 1974, c. 70, a. 473; 1987, c. 95, a. 377, a. 402.
3. Aucune corporation étrangère ne peut faire affaires au Québec, à moins qu’elle n’ait obtenu un permis en vertu de la présente loi, et que ce permis ne soit en vigueur.
Aucune compagnie, société, courtier, agent ou autre personne, comme représentant ou agent d’une corporation étrangère, ou agissant en quelque qualité autre que celle de voyageur de commerce prenant des commandes pour cette corporation étrangère, ne peut faire affaires au Québec pour une corporation étrangère à moins qu’elle n’ait reçu ce permis et qu’il ne soit en vigueur.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 3.
4. Ce permis est accordé par l’inspecteur général des institutions financières sur requête de la corporation étrangère, pourvu que celle-ci:
1°  dépose chez l’inspecteur général une copie de sa charte, de ses articles d’association ou autre acte constitutif, certifiée par l’officier qui a la garde de l’original;
2°  établisse qu’elle est constituée de manière à remplir les obligations qu’elle peut contracter;
3°  dépose chez l’inspecteur général une procuration constituant un agent principal au Québec aux fins de recevoir les significations en toutes actions et procédures exercées contre elle, et déclarant où sera établi le bureau principal de la corporation;
4°  paye les honoraires qui peuvent être fixés par le gouvernement pour l’obtention de cette autorisation;
5°  Lorsque sa dénomination sociale n’est pas conforme au paragraphe 6° du premier alinéa ou est dans une langue autre que le français et que sa charte, ses articles d’association ou son acte constitutif n’en prévoit pas de version française, elle adopte, sous réserve des lois qui lui sont applicables, un nom autre que sa dénomination sociale pour les fins visées dans l’article 4.1.
6°  Établisse que sa dénomination sociale ou la version française de celle-ci mentionnée dans sa charte, selon le cas, ses articles d’association ou son acte constitutif, ou le nom visé dans le paragraphe 5° du premier alinéa, est conforme aux règlements du gouvernement et n’est pas réservé à un tiers en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38).
L’inspecteur général peut refuser d’accorder ou de maintenir un permis en faveur d’une corporation étrangère qui ne se conforme pas aux exigences du paragraphe 5° du premier alinéa ou dont la dénomination sociale, la version française de celle-ci ou le nom visé dans ce paragraphe ne se conforme pas à la loi, aux règlements applicables, adoptés ou approuvés par le gouvernement ou est réservé à un tiers en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 4; 1966-67, c. 72, a. 23; 1969, c. 26, a. 71; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1979, c. 31, a. 45; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 167.
4.1. Le nom visé dans le paragraphe 5° du premier alinéa de l’article 4 doit être mentionné dans le permis. La corporation étrangère doit alors s’identifier et être identifiée au Québec sous ce nom et elle est alors désignée de cette façon aussi validement que sous sa dénomination sociale.
1979, c. 31, a. 46.
4.2. Le permis émis en vertu de la présente loi doit être émis sous la dénomination sociale de la corporation étrangère ou sous la version française de celle-ci, selon le cas, mentionnée dans sa charte, ses articles d’association ou autre acte constitutif.
1979, c. 31, a. 46.
5. Avis que cette autorisation a été accordée doit être publié par l’inspecteur général dans la Gazette officielle du Québec, et, à compter de la publication de cet avis, la corporation étrangère peut se livrer à des opérations.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 5; 1966-67, c. 72, a. 23; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 168.
6. Chaque fois qu’une corporation étrangère change son agent principal ou le lieu de son siège social, elle doit transmettre à l’inspecteur général une copie de la nouvelle procuration s’y rapportant, et avis en doit être donné dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 6; 1966-67, c. 72, a. 23, 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 168.
7. Si une corporation étrangère autorisée en vertu de la présente loi change son nom, elle doit transmettre à l’inspecteur général une copie du document constatant que ce changement a été obtenu légalement, et cette copie doit être certifiée par l’officier qui a la garde de l’original.
Si une corporation étrangère change la version française de sa dénomination sociale ou désire changer le nom visé dans le paragraphe 5° du premier alinéa de l’article 4, elle doit demander un nouveau permis. La nouvelle dénomination sociale, la nouvelle version française ou, selon le cas, le nouveau nom doit être conforme aux règlements du gouvernement et ne pas être réservé à un tiers en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38).
Un nouveau permis peut alors être accordé par l’inspecteur général, et avis en doit être donné par lui dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 7; 1966-67, c. 72, a. 23; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 72; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1979, c. 31, a. 47; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 168.
8. Toute corporation étrangère, qui est munie d’un permis en vertu de la présente loi ou qui en est exemptée en vertu du paragraphe 4° de l’article 2 peut, sujet aux restrictions et conditions de ce permis et des lois du Québec, ainsi qu’aux dispositions de sa propre charte, acquérir, posséder, hypothéquer et aliéner des biens immobiliers au Québec, ou en disposer autrement, dans la même mesure que si elle avait été constituée en corporation par lettres patentes délivrées en vertu de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38), avec pouvoir de faire les affaires et d’exercer les pouvoirs que comporte ce permis.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 8; 1969, c. 26, a. 73.
9. Si une corporation étrangère qui est munie d’un permis en vertu de la présente loi omet d’observer les restrictions et conditions de ce permis, ou les règlements concernant la nomination et le maintien d’un représentant au Québec, ou de s’y conformer, le gouvernement peut suspendre ou révoquer ce permis, totalement ou en partie, et il peut lever cette suspension ou annuler cette révocation et remettre le permis en vigueur.
Avis de telle suspension, révocation, levée de suspension ou remise en vigueur doit être donné par l’inspecteur général dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 9; 1966-67, c. 72, a. 23; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1975, c. 76, a. 11; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 52, a. 168.
10. Le gouvernement peut, par règlement:
a)  prescrire les formules des permis, les procurations, les demandes, les avis, les états et autres documents concernant les demandes et autres procédures en vertu de la présente loi;
b)  établir des droits à payer et fixer le montant pour l’octroi des permis et la publication des avis, en vertu de la présente loi;
c)  déterminer des normes, modalités et exigences concernant les dénominations sociales des corporations étrangères ainsi que leur version française ou un autre nom visé dans le paragraphe 5° du premier alinéa de l’article 4;
d)  prescrire en général tout ce qui peut être nécessaire pour la mise à exécution de la présente loi.
Le gouvernement peut, au lieu d’adopter des règlements en vertu de la présente loi, déclarer applicables les règlements adoptés en vertu des articles 23 à 25 de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38) avec ou sans modifications.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 10; 1979, c. 31, a. 48.
11. Toute personne faisant affaires pour une corporation étrangère qui ne s’est pas conformée aux exigences de la présente loi, est passible d’une amende n’excédant pas 100 $ pour chaque infraction.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 11; 1990, c. 4, a. 327.
12. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 12; 1990, c. 4, a. 328; 1992, c. 61, a. 223.
13. Un état indiquant les permis accordés en vertu de la présente loi dans le cours de l’année financière précédente, et le fonds social autorisé des corporations étrangères munies de permis, ainsi que l’honoraire payé pour chaque permis, doit être inclus dans le rapport d’activités de l’inspecteur général.
S. R. 1964, c. 282, a. 13; 1982, c. 52, a. 169.
14. L’inspecteur général des institutions financières est chargé de l’administration de la présente loi.
1982, c. 52, a. 170.
15. Le ministre des Finances est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1982, c. 52, a. 170.
16. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXES ABROGATIVES

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 282 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-46 des Lois refondues.

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), les articles 4-1, 4-2 et le deuxième alinéa de l’article 7 du chapitre 282 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tels qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1981, sont abrogés à compter de l’entrée en vigueur de la mise à jour au 31 décembre 1981 du chapitre C-46 des Lois refondues.