C-30 - Peddlers Act

Full text
chapter C-30
Peddlers Act
PEDDLERSMay 24 2005January 1 2006
Repealed, 2005, c. 6, s. 215.
2005, c. 6, s. 215.
1. Nothing herein contained shall discharge a peddler from the obligation to hold a permit under the authority of the Consumer Protection Act (chapter P-40.1), and to act in conformity with the provisions thereof.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 1; 1971, c. 74, s. 122; 1978, c. 9, s. 354.
2. The word peddler means any person who carries on his person or who transports with him goods, wares or merchandise, with intent to sell the same in the territory of a local municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 2; 1996, c. 2, s. 457.
3. The council of any local municipality which is not already authorized to the effect hereof, under a special Act, may, by mere resolution, levy, in the form of a license, a tax payable by every peddler in order to carry on his trade in the territory of such municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 3; 1996, c. 2, s. 458.
4. The amount of such license shall be not less than $5 nor more than $100, and may vary according to whether the peddler carries his bales of goods and merchandise on his person or uses a vehicle therefor.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 4.
5. Such license shall expire on the last day of April, following the date of its issue.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 5.
6. Every person who, in a territory where a tax is levied under the authority of this Act, peddles without a license to that effect, or who refuses to show his license to the persons entrusted with the enforcement of this Act, shall be guilty of an offence, and shall be liable, for each offence, to a fine of not over $200.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 6; 1990, c. 4, s. 267; 1996, c. 2, s. 459.
7. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 7; 1990, c. 4, s. 268.
8. The following persons need not take out a peddler’s license under this Act:
(1)  Persons peddling and selling temperance tracts or other moral or religious publications under the direction of a temperance society or a benevolent or religious society in Québec, and persons employed by any such society to peddle and sell such tracts or publications under the direction of such society;
(2)  Persons peddling and selling:
Acts of Québec;
Prayer books and catechisms;
Proclamations, gazettes, almanacs or other documents printed and published by authority;
Fish, fruit, fuel, firewood, coal, coal oil, lubricating oils, gasoline or provisions, excepting tea and coffee;
Goods, wares and merchandise other than drugs, medicines and patent medicines, when they are peddled and sold by the actual maker or worker, being a Canadian citizen or a citizen of the Commonwealth and a resident of Québec, or by his children, apprentices, agents or servants;
(3)  Tinkers, coopers, glaziers, harness repairers or other persons carrying on the trade of repairing kettles, casks, household furniture and utensils, to go along the highway and carry on their business;
(4)  Hucksters, or persons having stalls or stands on markets of a local municipality, for the sale of fish, fruits, victuals or goods, wares and merchandise, in such stalls or stands, on their complying with the police regulations in force in the locality.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 8; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, s. 31.
9. This Act shall not apply in a local municipal territory where business taxes or licences are imposed by by-law under the provisions of the Municipal Code of Québec (chapter C-27.1) or of the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C-19).
The licence imposed under the provisions of this Act shall not be issued nor its amount collected unless the peddler has previously obtained a permit in conformity with the Consumer Protection Act (chapter P-40.1), and unless such peddler has previously shown such permit to the municipal officer appointed to issue a licence under the provisions of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 190, s. 9; 1971, c. 74, s. 123; 1978, c. 9, s. 354; 1996, c. 2, s. 460.
10. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 190 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-30 of the Revised Statutes.

C-30 - Loi sur les colporteurs

Texte complet
chapitre C-30
Loi sur les colporteurs
COLPORTEURS24 mai 20051er janvier 2006
Abrogée, 2005, c. 6, a. 215.
2005, c. 6, a. 215.
1. Rien dans la présente loi ne libère un colporteur de l’obligation d’être titulaire d’un permis sous l’autorité de la Loi sur la protection du consommateur (chapitre P‐40.1), et de se conformer aux dispositions de cette loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 1; 1971, c. 74, a. 122; 1978, c. 9, a. 354; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
2. Le mot «colporteur» signifie toute personne qui porte elle-même ou transporte avec elle des objets, effets ou marchandises, avec l’intention de les vendre sur le territoire d’une municipalité locale.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 2; 1996, c. 2, a. 457.
3. Le conseil de toute municipalité locale qui n’est pas déjà autorisé à l’effet des présentes par une loi spéciale, peut, par simple résolution, imposer, sous forme de licence, une taxe payable par tout colporteur pour exercer son commerce sur le territoire de cette municipalité.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 3; 1996, c. 2, a. 458.
4. Le montant de cette licence ne peut être moindre que 5 $ ni dépasser 100 $, et peut varier selon que le colporteur porte ses ballots d’effets et marchandises ou se sert d’un véhicule.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 4.
5. Cette licence expire le dernier jour d’avril suivant la date de sa délivrance.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 5; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
6. Toute personne qui, sur un territoire où une taxe est imposée sous l’autorité de la présente loi, colporte sans licence à cet effet, ou qui refuse de faire voir sa licence aux personnes chargées de faire respecter la présente loi, est coupable d’une infraction et est passible, pour chaque infraction, d’une amende maximale de 200 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 6; 1990, c. 4, a. 267; 1996, c. 2, a. 459.
7. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 7; 1990, c. 4, a. 268.
8. Les personnes suivantes ne sont pas tenues de prendre une licence de colporteur en vertu de la présente loi:
1°  Celles qui vendent et colportent des brochures (tracts) de tempérance ou d’autres publications morales ou religieuses sous la direction d’une société de tempérance ou d’une société de bienfaisance ou religieuse du Québec, et les personnes employées par une de ces sociétés pour colporter et vendre ces brochures ou publications, sous la direction de cette société;
2°  Celles qui vendent et colportent:
Des actes du Parlement;
Des livres de prières ou des catéchismes;
Des proclamations, gazettes, almanachs ou autres documents imprimés et publiés par autorité;
Du poisson, des fruits, du combustible, du bois de chauffage, du charbon, des huiles de charbon ou lubrifiantes, de la gazoline, et des victuailles, excepté le thé et le café;
Des objets, effets et marchandises autres que des drogues, médecines ou remèdes brevetés, quand ces objets sont colportés et vendus par un fabricant ou un ouvrier, lequel est un citoyen canadien ou un citoyen du Commonwealth résidant au Québec, ou par ses enfants, apprentis, agents ou domestiques;
3°  Les chaudronniers, tonneliers, vitriers, raccommodeurs de harnais, ou autres personnes faisant métier de réparer des chaudières, cuves, ustensiles et meubles de ménage, pour aller par les chemins exercer leur industrie;
4°  Les revendeurs ou les personnes ayant des étaux ou bancs sur les marchés d’une municipalité locale, pour vendre, en se conformant aux règlements de police de la municipalité locale, du poisson, des fruits, des victuailles, des effets ou marchandises dans ces étaux ou sur ces bancs.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 8; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, a. 31.
9. La présente loi ne s’applique pas sur un territoire municipal local où il est imposé des licences ou taxes de commerce par règlement en vertu du Code municipal du Québec (chapitre C‐27.1), ou de la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19).
La licence imposée en vertu de la présente loi ne peut être délivrée et le montant ne peut en être perçu que si le colporteur a préalablement obtenu un permis conformément à la Loi sur la protection du consommateur (chapitre P‐40.1), et que si ce colporteur exhibe préalablement ce permis à l’officier municipal chargé de délivrer une licence en vertu de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 190, a. 9; 1971, c. 74, a. 123; 1978, c. 9, a. 354; 1996, c. 2, a. 460; 1997, c. 43, a. 875.
10. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 190 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-30 des Lois refondues.