C-13 - Colonization Roads Act

Full text
chapter C-13
Colonization Roads Act
COLONIZATION ROADSDecember 18 1992April 1 1993
Repealed, 1992, c. 54, s. 56.
1992, c. 54, s. 56.
1. The Minister of Transport shall have charge of the carrying out of this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 1; 1972, c. 54, s. 17.
The Minister for Transport exercises, under the authority of the Minister of Transport, the functions with respect to the application of this Act. O.C. 1622-89 of 89.10.11, (1989) 121 G.O. 2 (French), 5556.
DIVISION I
CLASSIFICATION OF ROADS
2. The Government may, from time to time, designate as colonization roads such lines of road or projected road as it may be deemed advisable to open or improve, wholly or in part, at the expense of Québec.
It may also declare any existing roads which have been opened or improved, in whole or in part, at the expense of Québec, to be colonization roads.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 2.
3. The Minister of Transport may authorize the carrying out of all construction, repair, improvement or maintenance work on colonization roads.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 3; 1972, c. 54, s. 18.
4. The Government may declare that a road or a part of a road is no longer a colonization road.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 4.
DIVISION II
PROTECTION OF COLONIZATION ROADS
5. Whenever work is being carried out on a colonization road, the Minister may prohibit or restrict the circulation of vehicles on such road.
He may also, in order to protect such road during the thawing period or during a rainy period, prohibit, for such time as he may deem necessary, the circulation of any vehicle having a total mass, load included, of over 1 000 kg.
Any person making use of a vehicle in contravention of a prohibition enacted under this section commits an infringement and renders himself liable to a fine not exceeding $50.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 5; 1984, c. 47, s. 213; 1990, c. 4, s. 135.
6. It is forbidden, at all times of the year, to obstruct a colonization road or the ditches bordering the same or to deposit wood or rubbish on any part of the right of way of such road, on penalty of a fine not exceeding $50.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 6; 1990, c. 4, s. 136.
DIVISION III
GENERAL PROVISIONS
7. Such colonization roads or parts thereof as are within a municipality shall not be deemed to be public works within the meaning of the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1) unless expressly so declared by Order-in-Council.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 7.
8. Every provision which may be so made by Order-in-Council for defining and assuring all requisite provincial superintendence of such roads, or for modifying—in respect thereof or of any part thereof or of bridges thereon—any rule or law applicable to roads and bridges generally, or for declaring any of them to be otherwise county works or local works, or front roads or by-roads, as the case may require, shall have force of law.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 8.
DIVISION IV
COLONIZATION WORKS
9. The Minister, and any person employed to make colonization roads and bridges under his direction by means of grants of public money, or in part by such grants and in part by local grants, may lay out and construct, on any lands to whomsoever belonging, roads and bridges and other works which they may deem necessary for the development of colonization.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 9; 1972, c. 54, s. 19.
10. Roads and bridges in a municipality, built wholly or in part or subsidized by the Government, shall be colonization roads and bridges in the sense of this act, and shall be kept by such municipality, or by the county municipality, in the same manner as all other roads and bridges.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 10; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
11. Every municipality may regulate, by procès-verbal, any colonization road or bridge partly or altogether built by the Government within the boundaries of its territory; but may not order it to be closed without an order of the Minister of Transport to that effect.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 11; 1972, c. 54, s. 20; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
12. The lands through which such colonization roads have been traced and built shall be the property of the Crown, and, whenever such lands are situated in a township, no indemnity shall be payable for the ground.
Seigniories acquired by Québec, in whole or in part, and subsequently conceded by location ticket, shall be considered as townships for the purposes of this act.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 12.
13. The Minister or his agents may take from any lot of land in the vicinity of such colonization roads or bridges all timber, stone, earth, gravel and sand required for their construction, and may cut down all trees for 9 m from each side of such road or bridge, without being bound to pay any indemnity, except for clearings on the line, if any.
After the opening of a road upon any of the lands Transferred to the Ministère des Transports, if any surplus timber remain, the Minister may dispose of the same either by sale or by making use of it for the works under his control.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 13; 1972, c. 54, s. 21; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1984, c. 47, s. 213.
14. So long as a colonization road is under the control of the Minister, the owners of lands adjoining such road shall have no right to exact, either from him or from the Government, any servitude, as between neighbors, such as fences, ditches and the like.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 14; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
15. All suits or contestations respecting the execution of colonization or other public works, or in relation to such works, shall be instituted and carried on by the Attorney General in the name of Her Majesty.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 15.
16. The Public Works Act (chapter T-15) and sections 11.1, 11.3 and 11.4 of the Act respecting the Ministère des Transports (chapter M-28) apply, mutatis mutandis, to colonization works mentioned in this Act, where applicable.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Minister, by ministerial order, in the cases and on the conditions he determines, may assign to any municipality or any other person the ownership of colonization roads and bridges, and the ownership of lands contemplated in section 12, subject to the following:
(1)  the roads must have been the subject of the declaration contemplated in section 4;
(2)  in the case of an assignment to a municipality, the roads, bridges and lands must be situated inside the limits of the municipality;
(3)  in the case of an assignment to another person, the roads, bridges and lands must be adjacent to the lands that are the property of the person.
The ministerial order constitutes the deed of assignment. It may be registered by deposit. Where the order is registered, it must be entered in the index of immovables in respect of the lots mentioned in the order. The roads, bridges and lands must be described in accordance with article 2168 of the Civil Code of Lower Canada.
R. S. 1964, c. 105, s. 16; 1983, c. 40, s. 67; 1983, c. 54, s. 13.
DIVISION V
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
17. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 105 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter C-13 of the Revised Statutes.

C-13 - Loi sur les chemins de colonisation

Texte complet
chapitre C-13
Loi sur les chemins de colonisation
CHEMINS DE COLONISATION18 décembre 19921er avril 1993
Abrogée, 1992, c. 54, a. 56.
1992, c. 54, a. 56.
1. Le ministre des Transports est chargé de l’exécution de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 1; 1972, c. 54, a. 17.
Le ministre délégué aux Transports exerce, sous la direction du ministre des Transports, les fonctions relatives à l’application de la présente loi. D. 1622-89 du 89.10.11, (1989) 121 G.O. 2, 5556.
SECTION I
DE LA CLASSIFICATION DES CHEMINS DE COLONISATION
2. Le gouvernement peut, en tout temps et à différentes reprises, indiquer comme chemins de colonisation, les lignes de chemin ou de chemins projetés qu’il est jugé opportun d’ouvrir ou d’améliorer, en tout ou en partie, aux frais du Québec.
Il peut aussi déclarer chemins de colonisation tous chemins existants qui ont été ouverts ou améliorés, en tout ou en partie, aux frais du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 2.
3. Le ministre des Transports peut autoriser l’exécution, dans les chemins de colonisation, de tous travaux de construction, réparation, amélioration ou entretien.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 3; 1972, c. 54, a. 18.
4. Le gouvernement peut déclarer qu’un chemin ou partie de chemin n’est plus un chemin de colonisation.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 4.
SECTION II
DE LA PROTECTION DES CHEMINS DE COLONISATION
5. Lorsque des travaux sont exécutés dans un chemin de colonisation, le ministre peut y interdire ou restreindre la circulation des véhicules.
Il peut aussi, pour protéger tel chemin à l’époque du dégel ou pendant une période de pluie, y interdire, pendant le temps qu’il juge nécessaire, la circulation de tout véhicule d’une masse totale, charge comprise, excédant 1 000 kg.
Quiconque fait usage d’un véhicule en violation d’une interdiction décrétée en vertu du présent article commet une infraction et se rend passible d’une amende n’excédant pas 50 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 5; 1984, c. 47, a. 213; 1990, c. 4, a. 135.
6. Il est interdit, en tout temps de l’année, d’obstruer un chemin de colonisation ou les fossés qui le bordent, ou de déposer du bois ou des déchets sur une partie quelconque de l’emprise d’un tel chemin, sous peine d’une amende maximale de 50 $.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 6; 1990, c. 4, a. 136.
SECTION III
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
7. Les chemins de colonisation ou partie de ces chemins, qui sont compris dans les limites d’une municipalité, ne sont réputés être des travaux publics visés par le Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1), qu’à condition qu’ils soient expressément déclarés l’être par arrêté en conseil.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 7.
8. Les dispositions qui peuvent être ainsi faites par arrêté en conseil, pour en définir et en assurer la surintendance provinciale requise ou pour changer, à l’égard de tous ou partie de ces chemins, ou à l’égard des ponts construits sur ces chemins, une règle ou loi applicable généralement aux chemins et ponts, ou pour déclarer que quelques-uns d’entre eux sont, à d’autres égards, des travaux de comté ou des travaux locaux, ou des chemins de front ou des routes, suivant le cas, ont force de loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 8.
SECTION IV
DES TRAVAUX DE COLONISATION
9. Le ministre et toute personne employée à faire des chemins et ponts de colonisation sous sa direction au moyen d’octrois de deniers publics, ou en partie par ces octrois et en partie par des contributions locales, ont le pouvoir de construire sur toutes les terres, quels qu’en soient les propriétaires, les chemins et ponts ou autres travaux qu’ils jugent nécessaires au développement de la colonisation.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 9; 1972, c. 54, a. 19.
10. Les chemins et ponts, construits en tout ou en partie ou subventionnés par le gouvernement dans une municipalité, sont des chemins et ponts de colonisation aux termes de la présente loi et sont à la charge de cette municipalité, ou de la municipalité du comté, comme tous les autres chemins et ponts.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 10.
11. Les municipalités ont le droit de verbaliser tout chemin ou pont de colonisation fait en tout ou en partie dans les limites de leur territoire par le gouvernement, mais elles ne peuvent en ordonner la fermeture sans une ordonnance à cet effet du ministre des Transports.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 11; 1972, c. 54, a. 20.
12. Les terrains sur lesquels ces chemins de colonisation ont été tracés et construits deviennent la propriété de la couronne, et, lorsque ces terrains sont situés dans un canton, il n’est dû aucune indemnité pour le fonds.
Sont considérées comme cantons, aux fins de la présente loi, les seigneuries acquises, en tout ou en partie, par le Québec et concédées, par la suite, par billet de location.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 12.
13. Le ministre ou ses agents ont plein pouvoir et pleine autorité d’enlever des lots de terre situés dans le voisinage de ces ponts ou chemins de colonisation, le bois, la pierre, la terre, le gravier et le sable nécessaires à leur construction, et d’abattre tous les arbres à une distance de 9 m des deux côtés de ces ponts ou chemins, sans être tenus de payer aucune indemnité, excepté pour les défrichements, lorsqu’il s’en rencontre sur le tracé.
Lors de l’ouverture d’un chemin sur les terres assignées au ministère des Transports, s’il reste un surplus de bois, le ministre peut l’appliquer à d’autres travaux sous son contrôle ou le vendre.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 13; 1972, c. 54, a. 21; 1984, c. 47, a. 213.
14. Tant qu’un chemin de colonisation est sous le contrôle du ministre, les propriétaires des terrains contigus au chemin n’ont droit d’exiger de lui, ni du gouvernement, aucune servitude de voisinage, telle que clôtures, fossés et autres.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 14.
15. Les poursuites ou contestations concernant l’exécution des travaux de colonisation ou autres travaux publics, ou relatives à ces travaux, sont instruites et conduites par le procureur général, au nom de Sa Majesté.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 15.
16. La Loi sur les travaux publics (chapitre T‐15) et les articles 11.1, 11.3 et 11.4 de la Loi sur le ministère des Transports (chapitre M‐28) s’appliquent, en y faisant les changements nécessaires, aux travaux de colonisation mentionnés dans la présente loi, s’il y a lieu.
Cependant, le ministre peut, par arrêté ministériel, dans les cas et aux conditions qu’il détermine, céder à une municipalité ou à une autre personne la propriété des chemins et des ponts de colonisation, de même que la propriété des terrains visés à l’article 12, sous réserve de ce qui suit:
1°  les chemins doivent avoir fait l’objet de la déclaration prévue à l’article 4;
2°  dans le cas d’une cession à une municipalité, les chemins, les ponts et les terrains doivent être situés à l’intérieur des limites de la municipalité;
3°  dans le cas d’une cession à une autre personne, les chemins, les ponts et les terrains doivent être contigus aux terrains qui sont la propriété de cette personne.
L’arrêté ministériel constitue l’acte de cession. Il peut être enregistré par dépôt. Lorsqu’il est enregistré, l’inscription doit en être faite à l’index aux immeubles à l’égard des lots mentionnés à cet arrêté. Ces chemins, ces ponts et ces terrains doivent être décrits conformément à l’article 2168 du Code civil du Bas-Canada.
S. R. 1964, c. 105, a. 16; 1983, c. 40, a. 67; 1983, c. 54, a. 13.
SECTION V
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
17. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 105 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre C-13 des Lois refondues.