A-9 - Collecting Agents Act

Full text
chapter A-9
Collecting Agents Act
COLLECTING AGENTSDecember 21 1979July 1 1981
Chapter A-9 is replaced by the Act respecting the collection of certain debts (chapter R-2.2). (1979, c. 70, s. 64).
1979, c. 70, s. 64.
1. In this act, unless the context indicates a different meaning:
(1)  The words collecting agent mean a person whose business is the collecting, either by himself or through a representative, of debts owing to other persons;
(2)  The word person includes a partnership or a corporation.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 1.
2. Any person desirous of acting as a collecting agent in Québec must, before acting as such, give security in the sum of five thousand dollars to the prothonotary of the Superior Court of the district where such person has his domicile, guaranteeing to the mandator of such collecting agent the handing over of any sum collected by the latter for his mandator.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 2.
3. Such security must be furnished by means of a guarantee policy issued by a company authorized to act as surety in Québec, and such policy must contain a renunciation, by the surety, of the benefit of discussion.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 3.
4. No surety may terminate the suretyship before the last day of April following the date of issue of the guarantee policy, and the collecting agent must cease to act as such as soon as the suretyship ceases.
However, upon proof established to the satisfaction of the prothonotary of the Superior Court, who received the said security, that the collecting agent is no longer acting as such and has satisfied all his obligations to his mandators, the said prothonotary may shorten the period thereof determined by this section.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 4.
5. No person whose place of business is outside of Québec may act as a collecting agent within Québec without having previously complied with the provisions of the above sections 2 and 3.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 5.
6. Whenever a collecting agent refuses or neglects to hand over to his mandator the sums collected for the latter, after deducting the costs of collection, such mandator may require the surety to fulfil his obligations, and, if he fails to do so, may institute proceedings against the surety, under the guarantee policy.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 6.
7. No collecting agent shall, directly or indirectly:
(a)  undertake to bear the costs to be incurred in the collection of a claim;
(b)  sell, give or otherwise supply to any person form letters, either detached or bound together in booklets, capable of being sent, in the name of a collecting agent or any other third party, by a creditor to his debtor, and containing a notice or putting in default to pay.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 7.
8. Every person who contravenes any provision of this act may, in addition to any penalty enacted by law, be condemned by way of summary proceeding to a fine not exceeding two hundred dollars, and costs, and, in default of payment of such fine and costs, to imprisonment for not more than three months.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 8.
9. This act shall not apply to members of the Barreau du Québec, nor to notaries nor to persons employed exclusively by a business establishment, nor to banks, insurance companies or trust companies, nor to bailiffs, administrators of estates, public service companies, municipal or school corporations, nor to their employees in the performance of their duties.
R. S. 1964, c. 43, s. 9; 1977, c. 5, s. 229.
This act shall be replaced and repealed on the coming into force of section 51 of chapter 73 of the statutes of 1974, on the date to be fixed by proclamation of the Government.

A-9 - Loi sur les agents de recouvrement

Texte complet
chapitre A-9
Loi sur les agents de recouvrement
AGENTS DE RECOUVREMENT21 décembre 19791er juillet 1981
Le chapitre A-9 est remplacé par la Loi sur le recouvrement de certaines créances (chapitre R‐2.2). (1979, c. 70, a. 64).
1979, c. 70, a. 64.
1. Pour l’interprétation de la présente loi, à moins que le contexte ne comporte un sens différent:
1°  Les mots «agent de recouvrement» signifient une personne qui a pour occupation la perception, soit par elle-même ou par un représentant, des dettes dues à d’autres personnes;
2°  Le mot «personne» inclut une société ou une corporation.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 1.
2. Toute personne qui désire agir au Québec comme agent de recouvrement doit, avant d’agir comme tel, donner un cautionnement de cinq mille dollars au protonotaire de la Cour supérieure du district où elle est domiciliée, à l’effet de garantir au mandant de cet agent de recouvrement la remise de toute somme perçue par ce dernier pour son mandant.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 2.
3. Ce cautionnement est donné au moyen d’une police de garantie émise par une compagnie autorisée à se porter caution au Québec, et cette police doit contenir une renonciation au bénéfice de discussion de la part de la caution.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 3.
4. La caution ne peut mettre fin au cautionnement avant le dernier jour d’avril suivant la date de l’émission de la police de garantie, et l’agent de recouvrement doit cesser d’agir comme tel du moment que le cautionnement cesse d’exister.
Cependant, sur preuve établie à la satisfaction du protonotaire de la Cour supérieure qui a reçu le dit cautionnement, à l’effet que l’agent de recouvrement n’a plus cette qualité et qu’il a satisfait à toutes ses obligations envers les mandants, le dit protonotaire peut en abréger le terme décrété par le présent article.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 4.
5. Aucune personne dont la place d’affaires est en dehors du Québec ne peut agir comme agent de recouvrement dans cette province sans s’être préalablement conformée aux prescriptions des articles 2 et 3 ci-dessus.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 5.
6. Lorsqu’un agent de recouvrement refuse ou néglige de remettre à son mandant les sommes perçues pour ce dernier, déduction faite des frais de perception, ce mandant peut requérir la caution de remplir ses obligations, et, à son défaut, il peut intenter des procédures contre la caution, en vertu de la police de garantie.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 6.
7. Aucun agent de recouvrement ne peut, directement ou indirectement,
a)  s’engager à supporter les frais à encourir en raison du recouvrement d’une créance;
b)  vendre, donner ou autrement procurer à qui que ce soit des formules de lettres, détachées ou reliées en livret, pouvant être adressées, au nom d’un agent de recouvrement ou de toute autre tierce personne, par un créancier à son débiteur et comportant avis ou mise en demeure de paiement.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 7.
8. Quiconque enfreint quelques-unes des dispositions de la présente loi, peut, en sus de toute peine édictée par la loi, être condamné sur poursuite sommaire, en sus des frais, à une amende n’excédant pas deux cents dollars et, à défaut de paiement de l’amende et des frais, à un emprisonnement n’excédant pas trois mois.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 8.
9. La présente loi ne s’applique pas aux membres du Barreau, aux notaires, aux personnes qui sont à l’emploi exclusif d’une maison d’affaires, aux banques, aux compagnies d’assurances, aux compagnies de fiducie, aux huissiers, aux administrateurs de successions, aux compagnies de services publics, aux corporations municipales ou scolaires, ni à leurs employés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
S. R. 1964, c. 43, a. 9.
La présente loi sera remplacée et abrogée lors de l’entrée en vigueur de l’article 51 du chapitre 73 des lois de 1974, à la date qui sera fixée par proclamation du gouvernement.