A-4 - Act respecting the acquisition of colonization lands

Full text
chapter A-4
Act respecting the acquisition of colonization lands
COLONIZATION EXPANSIONApril 8 1982July 1 1984
Repealed, 1982, c. 13, s. 65.
1982, c. 13, s. 65.
1. Without revoking or restricting the rights and powers provided for by sections 24 and 26 of the Lands and Forests Act (chapter T-9), whenever the interests of colonization may require, the Government may authorize the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food to acquire any territory, either by way of purchase or exchange or, failing agreement, by expropriation:
(a)  To develop or extend parishes or any territory where settlers are established;
(b)  To connect two or more territories where settlers are established and to colonize the intermediate and adjoining lands;
(c)  To open up any territory, near a centre or a parish, capable of immediately and advantageously serving for the establishing of the surplus population of such centre or parish;
(d)  To improve and drain certain uncultivable barren lands, or unused lands of the same nature, held in common or by private title.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 1; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
2. As soon as the Government has, under section 1, authorized the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food to acquire a certain territory, the latter must apply to the owner of the territory or the persons authorized to cede it and make such agreements and arrangements as may be arrived at with such persons.
Such agreements or arrangements shall have effect as soon as they are approved by the Government.
When the acquiring of the land is effected by exchange, the Minister of Energy and Resources is authorized to grant a title in favour of the persons concerned for the territory exchanged for that obtained for colonization purposes.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 2; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 81, s. 20; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
3. If no understanding has been arrived at under section 2 within such delay as the Minister deems reasonable, the Government may, after fifteen days’ notice to the owner, authorize the Minister to proceed with the expropriation of such territory, piece of ground or land.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 3.
4. For the carrying out of this act, the Minister or the officers of the Ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation whom he may delegate for the purpose and all persons accompanying them may enter upon, pass over and inquire into any property contemplated by section 1 of this act, but the owner or owners must be indemnified when material damage has been caused to him or them thereby.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 4; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
5. The Minister must report to the Government every award made under the authority of this act, and all expenses incurred for the carrying out of this act shall be paid out of the moneys voted annually, for that purpose, by the Legislature, upon the certificate of the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 5; 1973, c. 22, s. 22; 1979, c. 77, s. 21.
6. The expropriation shall in no case include the lakes and rivers and the lands bordering the rivers and lakes for a depth of three chains.
R. S. 1964, c. 103, s. 6.
7. This Act shall operate notwithstanding the provisions of sections 2 and 7 to 15 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (Schedule B of the Canada Act, chapter 11 in the 1982 volume of the Acts of the Parliament of the United Kingdom).
1982, c. 21, s. 1.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 103 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter A-4 of the Revised Statutes.

A-4 - Loi sur l’acquisition de certaines terres pour fins de colonisation

Texte complet
chapitre A-4
Loi sur l’acquisition de certaines terres pour fins de colonisation
EXPANSION DE LA COLONISATION8 avril 19821er juillet 1984
Abrogée, 1982, c. 13, a. 65.
1982, c. 13, a. 65.
1. Sans abroger ou restreindre les droits et pouvoirs prévus par les articles 24 et 26 de la Loi sur les terres et forêts (chapitre T‐9), lorsque l’intérêt de la colonisation l’exige, le gouvernement peut autoriser le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation à acquérir tout territoire, soit par voie d’achat ou d’échange et, à défaut d’entente, par voie d’expropriation:
a)  Pour développer ou étendre des paroisses ou tout territoire où des colons sont établis;
b)  Pour relier deux ou plusieurs territoires où des colons sont établis ainsi que pour coloniser les terres intermédiaires et adjacentes;
c)  Pour ouvrir tout territoire, à proximité d’un centre ou d’une paroisse, pouvant immédiatement et avantageusement servir à l’établissement du surplus de population de tel centre ou paroisse;
d)  Pour améliorer et assécher certaines terres incultes, improductives, ou terres inutilisées de même nature, possédées en commun ou à titre particulier.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 1; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
2. Dès que le gouvernement a, en vertu de l’article 1, autorisé le ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation à acquérir un territoire déterminé, ce dernier doit s’adresser au propriétaire du territoire ou aux personnes autorisées à le céder et faire tels accords et arrangements qui peuvent être convenus avec ces personnes.
Ces accords ou arrangements ont leur effet dès qu’ils ont été approuvés par le gouvernement.
Lorsque l’acquisition du terrain a lieu par voie d’échange, le ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources est autorisé à passer titre en faveur des intéressés pour le territoire donné en échange de celui obtenu pour fins de colonisation.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 2; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 81, a. 20; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
3. Si aucune entente n’a été conclue en vertu de l’article 2, dans un délai que le ministre juge raisonnable, le gouvernement peut, après avis de quinze jours au propriétaire, autoriser le ministre à procéder à l’expropriation de tel territoire, partie de terre ou terrain.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 3.
4. Pour la mise à exécution de la présente loi, le ministre ou les officiers du ministère de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation qu’il délègue à cette fin, et toutes personnes qui les accompagnent, peuvent entrer, passer et enquêter sur toutes propriétés visées par l’article 1 de la présente loi, mais le propriétaire ou les propriétaires doivent être indemnisés quand des dommages matériels lui ou leur sont causés de ce fait.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 4; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
5. Le ministre doit faire rapport au gouvernement de toute sentence rendue sous l’autorité de la présente loi, et les dépenses encourues pour la mise à exécution de ladite loi sont payées sur les deniers votés annuellement, à cette fin, par la Législature, sur le certificat du ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 5; 1973, c. 22, a. 22; 1979, c. 77, a. 21.
6. L’expropriation n’inclura en aucun cas les lacs et rivières et les terres bordant les rivières et lacs sur une profondeur de trois chaînes.
S. R. 1964, c. 103, a. 6.
7. La présente loi a effet indépendamment des dispositions des articles 2 et 7 à 15 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (annexe B de la Loi sur le Canada, chapitre 11 du recueil des lois du Parlement du Royaume-Uni pour l’année 1982).
1982, c. 21, a. 1.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 103 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre A-4 des Lois refondues.