S-6.2, r. 1 - Regulation respecting the conditions for the registration of an ambulance technician in the national workforce registry

Full text
chapter S-6.2, r. 1
Regulation respecting the conditions for the registration of an ambulance technician in the national workforce registry
PRE-HOSPITAL EMERGENCY SERVICES — AMBULANCE TECHNICIAN — CONDITIONS FOR THE REGISTRATION — WORKFORCE REGISTRY
Act respecting pre-hospital emergency services
(chapter S-6.2, s. 64).
S-6.2
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
CONDITIONS FOR REGISTRATION
1. To be registered in the national workforce registry established by the Minister of Health and Social Services under subparagraph 10 of the second paragraph of section 3 of the Act respecting pre-hospital emergency services (chapter S-6.2), an ambulance technician must
(1)  hold a diploma of college studies (DEC) in pre-hospital emergency services;
(2)  have completed training recognized as equivalent by the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services;
(3)  hold a certificate or another form of official occupational recognition, issued in Canada, attesting that the ambulance technician is qualified and authorized to act as an ambulance technician and recognized as such by the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services;
(4)  (subparagraph revoked);
(5)  (subparagraph revoked);
(6)  (subparagraph revoked);
An ambulance technician must also hold a valid driver’s licence, other than a probationary licence, that allows the ambulance technician to drive an emergency vehicle in Québec under the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2).
In addition, an ambulance technician must not have been convicted of an offence under the Act or a regulation made thereunder or have been convicted of an indictable offence related to the carrying on of the activities in respect of which the ambulance technician would be registered in the registry, unless the ambulance technician has obtained a pardon.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 1; S.Q. 2013, c. 28, s. 204; O.C. 856-2015, s. 1.
2. An ambulance technician who satisfies the condition in subparagraph 1 or 2 of the first paragraph of section 1 must, within the time limits set out in section 6, have successfully completed the national clinical integration program established by the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 2.
3. An ambulance technician registers in the national workforce registry by making an application to the Minister using the form prescribed by the Minister.
The registration form must be signed by the ambulance technician and sent to the Minister together with documents proving that the ambulance technician satisfies the conditions in section 1, and with a statement attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided in the form and a certificate attesting to the absence of a criminal record.
An ambulance technician who satisfies the conditions in subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph of section 1 is not subject to this section in accordance with section 170 of the Act.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 3; O.C. 856-2015, s. 2; 965-2017O.C. 965-2017, s. 1.
4. An application for registration in the national workforce registry is deemed to be sent to the Minister on the date the Minister receives the form, duly completed and accompanied by the required documents. The application is then registered and examined.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 4.
5. An ambulance technician referred to in section 2 who meets the requirements of section 3 is admitted in the national clinical integration program established to ensure that the standards provided for in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 6 of the Act are implemented and complied with.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 5.
6. An ambulance technician in the national clinical integration program must successfully complete it
(a)  within 2 years of the date on which the diploma is awarded, in the case provided for in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 1; or
(b)  within 2 years of the date on which the ambulance technician’s training is recognized as equivalent by the national medical director, in the case provided for in subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 1.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 6; O.C. 856-2015, s. 3.
7. An application for registration in the national workforce registry is declared acceptable if it complies with all the provisions of this Regulation.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 7.
8. An ambulance technician whose application for registration is acceptable is registered in the national workforce registry.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 8.
8.1. An ambulance technician registered in the national workforce registry informs the Minister as soon as possible of any change of postal address or email address.
O.C. 856-2015, s. 4.
DIVISION II
AMBULANCE TECHNICIAN QUALIFICATION CARD AND INFORMATION IN THE REGISTRY
O.C. 507-2011, Div. II; O.C. 856-2015, s. 5.
9. As of registration in the national workforce registry, an ambulance technician is issued an active ambulance technician qualification card allowing him or her to carry on professional activities throughout Québec, subject to section 13.
The registry indicates that an ambulance technician is authorized to carry on either of the following care practice levels:
(1)  primary care practice level;
(2)  advanced care practice level.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 9; O.C. 856-2015, s. 6.
9.1. An inactive status is attributed to an ambulance technician registered in the national workforce registry who
(1)  has not completed all the mandatory continuing education activities within the 4-year period provided for in section 10, including a technician referred to in section 12;
(2)  has not sent the registration maintenance form in accordance with section 9.2;
(3)  has been temporarily suspended from all of his or her clinical duties under section 68 of the Act;
(4)  has been temporarily struck off by the review committee formed under section 70 of the Act.
An ambulance technician to whom an inactive status has been attributed may not carry on professional activities throughout Québec.
Subject to section 12 and paragraph 3 of section 13, an ambulance technician to whom an inactive status has been attributed for a reason provided for in subparagraph 1 or 2 of the first paragraph and who, since then, has not been permanently struck off may once again obtain an active status by remedying the failings due to which the inactive status was attributed to him or her.
O.C. 856-2015, s. 7; 965-2017O.C. 965-2017, s. 2.
9.2. Not later than 1 month before the end of the 4-year period provided for in section 10, an ambulance technician must, to maintain registration in the registry, file his or her application with the Minister using the registration maintenance form.
The form must be signed by the ambulance technician and accompanied by a statement attesting to the truthfulness of the information provided in the form.
Section 4 applies with the necessary modifications.
O.C. 856-2015, s. 8.
DIVISION III
REGISTRATION MAINTENANCE
10. To maintain registration in the national workforce registry, an ambulance technician must, within 4 years, complete all the mandatory continuing education activities that, pursuant to subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 6 of the Act, are established by the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services and provided by or under the responsibility of the latter, Corporation d’urgences-santé or an integrated health and social services centre in the territory where the ambulance technician works.
An ambulance technician must also agree to the assessment of his or her qualifications, when required, in accordance with the established process.
The first 4-year period provided for in the first paragraph is calculated from the date of registration in the registry of the ambulance technician and ends on the date of birth of the technician that follows the end of the 4-year period. The subsequent 4-year periods are calculated from the date of birth of the ambulance technician.
Any extension granted to an ambulance technician under section 12 does not extend the 4-year period.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 10; O.C. 856-2015, s. 9.
11. Continuing education activities are intended for the maintenance, updating and improvement of ambulance technicians’ qualifications and pertain mostly to clinical intervention protocols, socio-sanitary interventions, traumatic emergencies and the knowledge of legislation and regulations governing pre-hospital emergency services.
The continuing education activities that may vary depending on the care practice level consist of
(1)  practical or theoretical training;
(2)  scientific seminars or symposiums;
(3)  training periods; and
(4)  research.
They are recognized as completed where an ambulance technician receives a participation certificate or passes either the practical assessment, or the oral or written examination, in accordance with the terms and conditions prescribed.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 11; O.C. 856-2015, s. 10.
12. An ambulance technician who is unable to complete all the mandatory continuing education activities within the period set in section 10 for reasons of sickness, accident, pregnancy, exceptional circumstance or superior force must so inform the regional medical director of pre-hospital emergency services concerned and provide the director with every document justifying such inability.
The regional medical director of pre-hospital emergency services concerned grants the ambulance technician, after consulting the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services, a maximum period of 12 months from the end of the inability to meet the conditions to maintain registration in the registry.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 12; O.C. 856-2015, s. 11.
13. Assessment of the qualifications of an ambulance technician referred to in section 10 may be required by the regional medical director of pre-hospital emergency services according to the policies established by the national medical director of pre-hospital emergency services, particularly in the following cases:
(1)  the ambulance technician has not engaged in any clinical activity as an ambulance technician for more than 4 months, for any reason whatsoever;
(2)  the ambulance technician’s clinical qualification to make specific intervention on users was assessed as below the minimum level of qualification required for the quality of pre-hospital emergency services;
(3)  the ambulance technician’s inactive status was attributed more than 4 months previously and he or she wishes to once again obtain an active status in accordance with the third paragraph of section 9.1.
O.C. 507-2011, s. 13; 965-2017O.C. 965-2017, s. 3.
DIVISION IV
COMING INTO FORCE
14. (Omitted).
O.C. 507-2011, s. 14.
TRANSITIONAL
2017
(O.C. 965-2017) SECTION 4. Section 13 of the Regulation to amend the Regulation respecting the conditions for the registration of an ambulance technician in the national workforce registry (O.C. 856-2015, 2015-09-30) is revoked.
2015
(O.C. 856-2015) SECTION 12. An ambulance technician who, not later than 31 December 2015, has obtained an attestation of college studies (AEC) in ambulance techniques intended for the Canadian Forces may file, on the conditions provided for in the Regulation respecting the conditions for the registration of an ambulance technician in the national workforce registry (chapter S-6.2, r. 1), an application for registration in the national workforce registry.
(O.C. 856-2015) SECTION 13. An ambulance technician registered in the national workforce registry whose first 4-year period provided for in section 10 of the Regulation respecting the conditions for the registration of an ambulance technician in the national workforce registry (chapter S-6.2, r. 1) ends not later than 29 October 2016 and referred to in subparagraph 1 or 2 of the first paragraph of section 9.1, except an ambulance technician referred to in section 12, may, within 3 months following the end of the first 4-year period provided for in section 10 of the Regulation, obtain a new active qualification card provided that the technician meets the conditions to maintain registration in the registry.
REFERENCES
O.C. 507-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 1159
S.Q. 2013, c. 28, s. 204
O.C. 856-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 2770
O.C. 965-2017, 2017 G.O. 2, 3245

S-6.2, r. 1 - Règlement sur les conditions d’inscription d’un technicien ambulancier au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre

Texte complet
chapitre S-6.2, r. 1
Règlement sur les conditions d’inscription d’un technicien ambulancier au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre
SERVICES PRÉHOSPITALIERS D’URGENCE — TECHNICIEN AMBULANCIER — CONDITIONS D’INSCRIPTION — REGISTRE NATIONAL
Loi sur les services préhospitaliers d’urgence
(chapitre S-6.2, a. 64).
S-6.2
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
CONDITIONS D’INSCRIPTION
1. Pour être inscrit au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre constitué par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux en vertu du paragraphe 10 du deuxième alinéa de l’article 3 de la Loi sur les services préhospitaliers d’urgence (chapitre S-6.2), un technicien ambulancier doit remplir l’une ou l’autre des conditions suivantes:
1°  être titulaire d’un diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) en soins préhospitaliers d’urgence;
2°  avoir complété une formation reconnue équivalente par le directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence;
3°  être titulaire d’un certificat ou d’une autre forme de reconnaissance professionnelle officielle, délivré au Canada, attestant qu’il est qualifié et autorisé à agir comme technicien ambulancier et reconnu à ce titre par le directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence;
4°  (paragraphe abrogé);
5°  (paragraphe abrogé);
6°  (paragraphe abrogé);
Un technicien ambulancier doit également être titulaire d’un permis de conduire valide, autre qu’un permis probatoire qui, conformément au Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), l’autorise à conduire un véhicule d’urgence au Québec.
De plus, un technicien ambulancier ne doit pas avoir été déclaré coupable d’une infraction à la Loi ou à un règlement pris en vertu de celle-ci, ou avoir été déclaré coupable d’un acte criminel qui est relié à l’exercice des activités pour lesquelles il serait inscrit au registre, à moins qu’il en ait obtenu le pardon.
D. 507-2011, a. 1; L.Q. 2013, c. 28, a. 204; D. 856-2015, a. 1.
2. De plus, un technicien ambulancier qui remplit la condition prévue aux paragraphes 1 ou 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 1 doit, dans les délais prévus à l’article 6, avoir suivi et réussi le programme national d’intégration clinique établi par le directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence.
D. 507-2011, a. 2.
3. Un technicien ambulancier s’inscrit au registre national de la main d’oeuvre en soumettant sa demande au ministre, au moyen du formulaire prescrit par celui-ci.
Le formulaire d’inscription doit être signé par le technicien ambulancier et transmis au ministre accompagné des documents démontrant qu’il satisfait aux conditions prévues à l’article 1 de même que d’une déclaration attestant la véracité des renseignements qu’il contient et d’une attestation d’absence d’antécédents judiciaires.
Le technicien ambulancier qui remplit la condition prévue au paragraphe 4 du premier alinéa de l’article 1 n’est pas soumis au présent article conformément à l’article 170 de la Loi.
D. 507-2011, a. 3; D. 856-2015, a. 2; 965-2017D. 965-2017, a. 1.
4. La demande d’inscription au registre national de la main d’oeuvre est réputée avoir été transmise au ministre à la date de réception par lui du formulaire dûment complété et accompagné des documents exigés. Elle est alors enregistrée et analysée.
D. 507-2011, a. 4.
5. Le technicien ambulancier visé à l’article 2 qui satisfait aux exigences de l’article 3 est admis au programme national d’intégration clinique établi afin de veiller à l’application et à l’utilisation des normes prévues au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 6 de la Loi.
D. 507-2011, a. 5.
6. Un technicien ambulancier qui suit le programme national d’intégration clinique doit l’avoir réussi dans les délais suivants:
a)  dans les 2 ans à compter de la date d’obtention du diplôme, s’il est visé par le paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 1; ou
b)  dans les 2 ans à compter de la date à laquelle le directeur médical national a reconnu comme étant équivalente sa formation, s’il est visé par le paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 1.
D. 507-2011, a. 6; D. 856-2015, a. 3.
7. La demande d’inscription au registre national de la main d’oeuvre est déclarée recevable lorsqu’elle satisfait à toutes les dispositions du présent règlement.
D. 507-2011, a. 7.
8. Un technicien ambulancier dont la demande d’inscription est recevable est inscrit au registre national de la main d’oeuvre.
D. 507-2011, a. 8.
8.1. Un technicien ambulancier inscrit au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre informe le ministre le plus tôt possible de tout changement d’adresse postale ou d’adresse courriel.
D. 856-2015, a. 4.
SECTION II
CARTE DE STATUT DE TECHNICIEN AMBULANCIER ET RENSEIGNEMENTS CONTENUS AU REGISTRE
D. 507-2011, sec. II; D. 856-2015, a. 5.
9. Dès son inscription au registre national de la main d’oeuvre, un technicien ambulancier obtient une carte de statut actif de technicien ambulancier qui lui permet d’exercer, sous réserve de l’article 13, ses activités professionnelles sur tout le territoire québécois.
Le registre indique qu’un technicien ambulancier est autorisé à exercer l’un ou l’autre des niveaux de pratique en soins suivants:
1°  niveau de pratique en soins primaires;
2°  niveau de pratique en soins avancés.
D. 507-2011, a. 9; D. 856-2015, a. 6.
9.1. Le statut inactif est attribué à un technicien ambulancier inscrit au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre qui:
1°  n’a pas suivi la totalité des activités obligatoires de formation continue à l’intérieur de la période de 4 ans prévue à l’article 10, y compris le technicien visé par l’article 12;
2°  n’a pas transmis son formulaire de maintien d’inscription au registre conformément à l’article 9.2;
3°  a été suspendu temporairement de façon totale de ses affectations cliniques en application de l’article 68 de la Loi;
4°  a fait l’objet d’une radiation temporaire par le comité d’examen formé en vertu de l’article 70 de la Loi.
Le technicien ambulancier à qui le statut inactif a été attribué ne peut pas exercer ses activités professionnelles sur tout le territoire québécois.
Sous réserve de l’article 12 et du paragraphe 3 de l’article 13, le technicien ambulancier à qui le statut inactif a été attribué pour un motif prévu au paragraphe 1 ou 2 du premier alinéa et qui, depuis, n’a pas fait l’objet d’une radiation permanente peut obtenir de nouveau son statut actif en remédiant aux défauts en raison desquels le statut inactif lui a été attribué.
D. 856-2015, a. 7; 965-2017D. 965-2017, a. 2.
9.2. Au plus tard 1 mois avant la fin de la période de 4 ans prévue à l’article 10, un technicien ambulancier doit, pour maintenir son inscription au registre, soumettre sa demande au ministre au moyen du formulaire de maintien d’inscription au registre.
Ce formulaire doit être signé par le technicien ambulancier et accompagné d’une déclaration attestant de la véracité des renseignements qu’il contient.
L’article 4 s’applique compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
D. 856-2015, a. 8.
SECTION III
MAINTIEN DE L’INSCRIPTION
10. Pour maintenir son inscription au registre national de la main d’oeuvre, un technicien ambulancier doit, à l’intérieur d’une période de 4 ans, suivre la totalité des activités obligatoires de formation continue qui, en application du paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 6 de la Loi, sont établies par le directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence et dispensées par ou sous la responsabilité de ce dernier, de la Corporation d’urgences-santé ou d’un centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux du territoire où il exerce.
Il doit de plus se soumettre, lorsque requis, à l’évaluation de ses compétences, suivant le processus établi.
La première période de 4 ans prévue au premier alinéa se calcule à compter de la date de l’inscription au registre du technicien ambulancier et se termine à la date d’anniversaire de naissance du technicien qui suit la fin de cette période de 4 ans. Les périodes suivantes de 4 ans se calculent à compter de la date d’anniversaire de naissance du technicien ambulancier.
Tout délai accordé à un technicien ambulancier en application de l’article 12 ne prolonge pas la période de 4 ans.
D. 507-2011, a. 10; D. 856-2015, a. 9.
11. Les activités de formation continue permettent le maintien, la mise à jour et le rehaussement des compétences du technicien ambulancier et elles portent principalement sur les protocoles d’intervention clinique, les interventions sociosanitaires, les urgences traumatiques ainsi que sur les lois et règlements qui régissent les services préhospitaliers d’urgence.
Ces activités de formation continue qui peuvent varier en fonction du niveau de pratique de soins se composent:
1°  de formation pratique ou théorique;
2°  de séminaires ou colloques scientifiques;
3°  de stages;
4°  de travaux de recherche.
Elles sont reconnues avoir été suivies lorsqu’un technicien ambulancier reçoit une attestation de participation ou qu’il réussit, selon les modalités prévues, soit l’évaluation pratique, soit l’examen oral ou écrit.
D. 507-2011, a. 11; D. 856-2015, a. 10.
12. Un technicien ambulancier qui est dans une situation d’impossibilité de suivre la totalité des activités obligatoires de formation continue dans le délai prévu à l’article 10 pour des raisons de maladie, d’accident, de grossesse, de circonstance exceptionnelle ou de force majeure, doit en aviser le directeur médical régional des services préhospitaliers d’urgence concerné et lui fournir tout document justifiant son impossibilité.
Le directeur médical régional des services préhospitaliers d’urgence concerné accorde, après consultation du directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence, au technicien ambulancier un délai maximal de 12 mois à compter de la fin de l’impossibilité pour satisfaire aux conditions pour maintenir son inscription au registre.
D. 507-2011, a. 12; D. 856-2015, a. 11.
13. L’évaluation des compétences d’un technicien ambulancier visé à l’article 10 peut être requise par le directeur médical régional des services préhospitaliers d’urgence selon les politiques établies par le directeur médical national des services préhospitaliers d’urgence, notamment dans les cas suivants:
1°  il n’a, pour quelque motif que ce soit et pendant une période de plus de 4 mois, effectué aucune activité clinique à titre de technicien ambulancier;
2°  sa compétence clinique à exercer des interventions particulières auprès d’un usager a été évaluée inférieure au niveau de compétence minimal requis en matière de qualité de soins préhospitaliers d’urgence;
3°  le statut inactif lui a été attribué depuis plus de 4 mois et il souhaite obtenir de nouveau un statut actif conformément au troisième alinéa de l’article 9.1.
D. 507-2011, a. 13; 965-2017D. 965-2017, a. 3.
SECTION IV
ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR
14. (Omis).
D. 507-2011, a. 14.
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES
2017
(D. 965-2017) ARTICLE 4. L’article 13 du Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur les conditions d’inscription d’un technicien ambulancier au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre (D. 856-2015, 2015-09-30), est abrogé.
2015
(D. 856-2015) ARTICLE 12. Un technicien ambulancier qui, au plus tard le 31 décembre 2015, a obtenu une attestation d’études collégiales (AEC) en techniques ambulancières destinée aux Forces canadiennes peut soumettre, aux conditions prévues au Règlement sur les conditions d’inscription d’un technicien ambulancier au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre (chapitre S-6.2, r. 1), une demande d’inscription au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre.
(D. 856-2015) ARTICLE 13. Un technicien ambulancier inscrit au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre dont la première période de 4 ans prévue à l’article 10 du Règlement sur les conditions d’inscription d’un technicien ambulancier au registre national de la main-d’oeuvre (chapitre S-6.2, r. 1) se termine au plus tard le 29 octobre 2016 et visé par le paragraphe 1 ou le paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 9.1, à l’exception de celui visé par l’article 12, peut, dans les 3 mois qui suivent la fin de la première période de 4 ans prévue à l’article 10 de ce règlement, obtenir de nouveau sa carte de statut actif à la condition qu’il satisfasse aux conditions pour maintenir son inscription au registre.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 507-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 1889
L.Q. 2013, c. 28, a. 204
D. 856-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 3920
D. 965-2017, 2017 G.O. 2, 4861