S-6.01, r. 2.1 - Pilot project to promote taxi transportation services using electric taxis

Full text
chapter S-6.01, r. 2.1
Pilot project to promote taxi transportation services using electric taxis
TRANSPORTATION SERVICES BY TAXI — PILOT PROJECT — ELECTRIC TAXIS
Act respecting transportation services by taxi
(chapter S-6.01).
S-6.01
November 26 2015
Revoked, M.O. 2017-07, 2017 G.O. 2, 2215; eff. 2018-11-26.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The Pilot Project to promote transportation services using electric taxis (“Pilot Project”) is hereby authorized
(1)  to establish special rules allowing taxi transportation services to be offered using fully electric vehicles, and in doing so to experiment with the use of such vehicles for the purpose of fostering development of the taxi industry;
(2)  to authorize any sponsor referred to in the Schedule to the Pilot Project to offer transportation services using electric taxis in accordance with the special rules set out in the Pilot Project and the other rules that remain applicable under the Act respecting transportation services by taxi (chapter S-6.01) and its regulations; and
(3)  to collect information on the transportation services a sponsor provides using electric taxis, on the safety of users and on the ensuing consequences for the taxi industry.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 1.
2. To be authorized under the Pilot Project, a sponsor must send a project charter to the Minister of Transport describing the project, its objectives, the number of electric vehicles to be put in service and the project term.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 2.
3. Every project submitted by a sponsor in accordance with section 2 must be authorized by the Minister. An agreement between the sponsor and the Minister must be entered into and concern among other things information sharing, monitoring mechanisms and reporting requirements.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 3.
4. For the purposes of the Pilot Project, “sponsor” means any person or body that is the holder of a taxi owner’s permit issued under the Act respecting transportation services by taxi (chapter S-6.01) or a business partner of such a holder.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 4.
DIVISION II
AUTHORIZED ELECTRIC TAXIS
5. A sponsor authorized under the Pilot Project to offer transportation services using electric taxis must use an electric taxi of the sedan or station wagon type that
(1)  is fully powered by electricity;
(2)  has an electric motor and a battery that can be recharged using grid electricity;
(3)  is not more than 5 years old on the date of coming into force of the Pilot Project (2015-11-26);
(4)  has at least 4 seat belts installed by the manufacturer;
(5)  has at least 4 side doors;
(6)  has a hard top; and
(7)  has a wheelbase equal to or greater than 251 cm.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 5.
6. Every electric taxi must be registered in the same manner as any other taxi. It must have a registration plate bearing the prefix “T” as required by the Regulation respecting road vehicle registration (chapter C-24.2, r. 29).
M.O. 2015-14, s. 6.
DIVISION III
SPECIAL RULES
7. Every electric taxi used in connection with the Pilot Project must be driven by a holder of a taxi driver’s permit issued
(1)  by the Bureau du taxi de Montréal if the area served is Île-de-Montréal; or
(2)  by the Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec if the area served is not the area described in paragraph 1.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 7.
8. Despite section 5 of the Act respecting transportation services by taxi (chapter S-6.01), a sponsor whose project involves the leasing of taxi owner’s permits is authorized to lease, for the authorized term of the project which cannot exceed the term set for the Pilot Project, the maximum number of taxi owner’s permits (“regular permit”) set out in the Schedule to the Pilot Project in any of the areas described in the Schedule.
The sponsor must attach each regular permit to a single electric taxi.
The sponsor must immediately inform the Minister, the Commission des transports du Québec and the Bureau du taxi de Montréal of the regular permits involved in the leasing allowed under the first paragraph.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 8.
9. A holder of a taxi owner’s permit may not lease, to a sponsor, a permit to which a handicapped accessible taxi is attached on the date of coming into force of the Pilot Project indicated in the Gazette officielle du Québec(2015-11-26).
M.O. 2015-14, s. 9.
10. The holder of a taxi owner’s permit having entered into a leasing contract with a sponsor that has become a business partner of the holder must either have the vehicle properly registered if no longer in service as a result of the partnership or put the vehicle in storage.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 10.
11. Despite any inconsistent provision, a sponsor leasing a permit held by a taxi owner is deemed to be such a holder and assumes all the rights and obligations under the Act respecting transportation services by taxi (chapter S-6.01) and its regulations, with the necessary modifications.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 11.
12. Despite section 11 of the Taxi Transportation Regulation (chapter S-6.01, r. 3), a sponsor may possess or control more than 20 regular permits during the term of the Pilot Project.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 12.
DIVISION IV
SPECIAL RULES FOR ÎLE-DE-MONTRÉAL
13. To be able to offer transportation services using electric taxis under the Pilot Project on Île-de-Montréal, a sponsor must obtain authorization from the Bureau du taxi de Montréal and provide the Bureau with a copy of the project charter referred to in section 2.
A sponsor other than a holder of a taxi owner’s permit must also provide the Bureau with proof of the sponsor’s business partnership with such a holder.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 13.
14. A holder of a taxi owner’s permit having entered into a leasing agreement with a sponsor that has become a business partner of the holder must hand over the sticker of any vehicle that will no longer be in service because of the partnership to the Bureau du taxi de Montréal.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 14.
15. Despite the By-law concerning taxi transportation (RCG 10-009) of Ville de Montréal, the following rules apply:
(1)  the domelight on an electric taxi may have a display screen and be used to display advertising. Such a domelight may
(a)  be less than one cubic metre in volume;
(b)  have not more than 2 display screens having a total display surface that does not exceed one square metre; and
(c)  show the taxi’s availability status;
(2)  at a private stand having recharging facilities for electric taxis, the rules concerning vehicle priority and position set out in the By-law do not apply; and
(3)  public parking free of charge is permitted when an electric taxi ends its trip, except where the parking is situated less than 60 m from a public stand, in which case the taxi driver must proceed to the stand and get into position.
The domelight referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph cannot display animated advertising or advertising using any other process that creates an illusion of movement, or display more than one time-variable message. In addition, the domelight cannot have lighting, lamps, reflectors or any other effects likely to compromise road safety.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 15.
DIVISION V
SPECIAL PERMITS FOR ELECTRIC TAXIS
16. The Commission des transports du Québec is to issue to a sponsor the number of special permits for electric taxis set out in the Schedule to the Pilot Project, those additional vehicles being required solely to enable rotation of the electric taxis in service while their respective batteries are being recharged and the required scientific electrification monitoring is being conducted for the purposes of the Pilot Project.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 16.
17. The term of a special permit cannot exceed the term set for the Pilot Project.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 17.
18. A sponsor must provide the Minister, the Commission des transports du Québec, the Bureau du taxi de Montréal, if applicable, and Contrôle routier Québec with a list of the sponsor’s electric taxis and specify, for each taxi, the regular permit or special permit to which the taxi is attached.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 18.
19. The number of electric taxis put in service by a sponsor may at no time exceed the number of regular permits authorized and set out in the Schedule to the Pilot Project.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 19.
20. A sponsor must be able at all times to furnish the Minister, the Commission des transports du Québec, the Bureau du taxi de Montréal, if applicable, and Contrôle routier Québec with information concerning the number of taxis in service, being recharged, under scientific study or not in service.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 20.
DIVISION VI
OTHER PROVISIONS
21. Despite any inconsistent provision, a sponsor may equip electric taxis with a computerized taximeter having
(1)  a digital display that lights up when activated and allows the user of the taxi transportation service sitting in the back seat to read the information it displays from the back seat, including the fare as the trip progresses; and
(2)  a program designed to apply the rate fixed by the Commission des transports du Québec.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 21.
22. A driver of an electric taxi ending a trip in an area other than the area specified in the driver’s permit is authorized to make an additional trip outside the driver’s area on the condition that the trip is requested through a centralized dispatching system.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 22.
23. A driver of an electric taxi may refuse a trip if in the driver’s opinion the range of the vehicle’s battery is not sufficient to make the trip. In such as case, another taxi must immediately be made available to the user requesting the taxi transportation services.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 23.
DIVISION VII
OFFENCES
24. Every person who uses, or entrusts to a taxi driver the custody of, an automobile that does not meet the requirements of section 5 commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $700 to $2,100.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 24.
25. A person who drives an electric taxi in contravention of section 7 is liable to a fine of $200 to $500.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 25.
26. A holder of a taxi owner’s permit who contravenes section 9 is liable to a fine of $1,000 to $3,000.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 26.
27. A holder or sponsor whose electric taxi has a domelight that does not meet the requirements of section 15 commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $200 to $500.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 27.
28. Every person who allows the number of electric taxis in service to exceed the number of regular permits authorized by the Pilot Project under section 19 commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $1,000 to $3,000.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 28.
29. Every person who is unable to comply with section 20 as regards the furnishing of information on the person’s taxis in service, being recharged, under scientific study or not in service commits an offence and is liable to a fine of $1,000 to $3,000.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 29.
DIVISION VIII
COLLECTION OF INFORMATION
30. The Minister of Transport is responsible for collecting information on the providing of transportation services using electric taxis in connection with the Pilot Project.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 30.
DIVISION XI
MISCELLANEOUS AND FINAL
31. The rules of the Pilot Project prevail over any inconsistent provision of the Act respecting transportation services by taxi (chapter S-6.01) and its regulations.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 31.
32. The Pilot Project comes into force on 26 November 2015, except sections 25 to 29, which come into force on 26 December 2015. The Pilot Project terminates on 26 November 2018.
M.O. 2015-14, s. 32; 2017-07M.O. 2017-07, s. 1.
Schedule
(sections 1, 8, 16 and 19)
     
 Authorized holder or business partnerAuthorized urban agglomeration for leasingNumber and type of permit authorized for project 
 Taxelco inc.A-5 – l’Est de Montréal350 leased regular permits 
  A-11 – Montréal70 special permits 
  A-12 – l’Ouest de Montréal  
     
M.O. 2015-14, Sch; 2017-07M.O. 2017-07, s. 2.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2015-14, 2015 G.O. 2, 2956A
M.O. 2017-07, 2017 G.O. 2, 2215

S-6.01, r. 2.1 - Projet pilote favorisant les services de transport par taxi électrique

Texte complet
chapitre S-6.01, r. 2.1
Projet pilote favorisant les services de transport par taxi électrique
SERVICES DE TRANSPORT PAR TAXI — PROJET PILOTE — TAXI ÉLECTRIQUE
Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi
(chapitre S-6.01).
S-6.01
26 novembre 2015
Abrogé, A.M. 2017-07, 2017 G.O. 2, 3529; eff. 2018-11-26.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Est autorisée la mise en oeuvre du Projet pilote favorisant les services de transport par taxi électrique («Projet pilote»), sur les bases suivantes:
1°  élaborer des règles particulières permettant d’offrir des services de transport par taxi à l’aide de véhicules entièrement mus par l’électricité et ainsi expérimenter l’usage de tels véhicules dans l’objectif de favoriser le développement de l’industrie du taxi;
2°  autoriser tout promoteur, mentionné à l’annexe du présent Projet pilote, à offrir des services de transport par taxi électrique, dans le respect des règles particulières prévues au Projet pilote et des autres règles qui demeurent par ailleurs applicables en vertu de la Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01) et ses règlements d’application;
3°  recueillir de l’information sur les services de transport par taxi électrique fournis par un promoteur, la sécurité des usagers et les impacts pour l’industrie du taxi.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 1.
2. Pour être autorisé en vertu du Projet pilote, un promoteur doit transmettre au ministre des Transports un protocole expliquant son projet, les objectifs visés par celui-ci, le nombre de véhicules électriques qu’il entend mettre en service ainsi que la durée de son projet.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 2.
3. Tout projet d’un promoteur présenté conformément à l’article 2 doit être autorisé par le ministre. Une entente entre ce promoteur et le ministre doit être conclue et elle doit porter notamment sur le partage de l’information, les mécanismes de suivi et la production de rapports.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 3.
4. Pour l’application du Projet pilote, on entend par «promoteur» toute personne ou tout organisme, titulaire d’un permis de propriétaire de taxi délivré en vertu de la Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01) ou partenaire d’affaires avec un tel titulaire.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 4.
SECTION II
TAXIS ÉLECTRIQUES AUTORISÉS
5. Un promoteur, autorisé à offrir des services de transport par taxi électrique dans le cadre du Projet pilote, doit utiliser comme taxi électrique une automobile de type berline ou familiale:
1°  se mouvant entièrement à l’électricité;
2°  équipée d’un moteur électrique et d’une batterie rechargeable à partir l’électricité du réseau;
3°  ayant, à la date d’entrée en vigueur du Projet pilote (2015-11-26), au plus 5 ans;
4°  équipée par le manufacturier d’au moins 4 ceintures de sécurité;
5°  équipée d’au moins 4 portières latérales;
6°  munie d’un toit rigide;
7°  ayant un empattement égal ou supérieur à 251 cm.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 5.
6. Tout taxi électrique doit être immatriculé comme tout autre taxi. Il doit être muni d’une plaque portant le préfixe «T» tel que le prévoit le Règlement sur l’immatriculation des véhicules routiers (chapitre C-24.2, r. 29).
A.M. 2015-14, a. 6.
SECTION III
RÈGLES PARTICULIÈRES
7. Tout taxi électrique utilisé dans le cadre du Projet pilote doit être conduit par un titulaire de permis de chauffeur de taxi délivré:
1°  par le Bureau du taxi de Montréal lorsque le territoire desservi est l’Île-de-Montréal;
2°  par la Société de l’assurance automobile du Québec lorsque le territoire desservi n’est pas celui visé au paragraphe 1.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 7.
8. Malgré l’article 5 de la Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01), un promoteur dont le projet implique la location de permis de propriétaire de taxi est autorisé à louer, pour la durée autorisée de son projet n’excédant pas celle prévue pour le présent Projet pilote, le nombre maximal de permis de propriétaire de taxi («permis régulier») mentionné à l’annexe du Projet pilote dans la ou les agglomérations qui y sont indiquées.
Le promoteur doit rattacher chacun des permis réguliers à un seul taxi électrique.
Le promoteur doit informer sans délai le ministre, la Commission des transports du Québec et le Bureau du taxi de Montréal des permis réguliers visés par la location permise en vertu du premier alinéa.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 8.
9. Un titulaire de permis de propriétaire de taxi ne peut louer à un promoteur un permis auquel est attaché un taxi accessible aux personnes handicapées, à la date d’entrée en vigueur du Projet pilote indiquée à la Gazette officielle du Québec(2015-11-26).
A.M. 2015-14, a. 9.
10. Le titulaire du permis de propriétaire de taxi qui a conclu un contrat de location avec un promoteur, devenu son partenaire d’affaires, doit procéder à l’immatriculation adéquate du véhicule qui n’est plus en service en raison du partenariat ou, à son choix, le remiser.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 10.
11. Malgré toute disposition inconciliable, un promoteur qui loue un permis d’un titulaire de propriétaire de taxi est réputé être un tel titulaire et il en assume les droits et les obligations prévus à la Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01) et ses règlements d’application, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 11.
12. Malgré l’article 11 du Règlement sur les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01, r. 3), un promoteur peut posséder ou contrôler plus de 20 permis réguliers pendant la durée du Projet pilote.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 12.
SECTION IV
RÈGLES SPÉCIFIQUES AU TERRITOIRE DE L’ÎLE-DE-MONTRÉAL
13. Pour pouvoir offrir des services de transport par taxi électrique dans le cadre du Projet pilote sur le territoire de l’Île-de-Montréal, un promoteur doit obtenir l’autorisation du Bureau du taxi de Montréal et lui remettre une copie du protocole visé à l’article 2.
Le promoteur autre qu’un titulaire d’un permis de propriétaire de taxi doit également fournir à ce Bureau une preuve de son partenariat d’affaires avec un tel titulaire.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 13.
14. Le titulaire du permis de propriétaire de taxi qui a conclu un contrat de location avec un promoteur, devenu son partenaire d’affaires, doit remettre au Bureau du taxi de Montréal la vignette du véhicule de taxi qui ne sera plus en service en raison du partenariat.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 14.
15. Malgré le Règlement sur les services de transport par taxi numéro RCG 10-009 de la Ville de Montréal, les règles suivantes s’appliquent:
1°  le lanternon fixé sur un taxi électrique peut être muni d’un écran d’affichage et comporter des messages publicitaires. Un tel lanternon peut:
a)  avoir un volume inférieur à un mètre cube;
b)  présenter au maximum 2 surfaces d’affichage, lesquelles ne peuvent cumuler une superficie totale de plus d’un mètre carré;
c)  indiquer la disponibilité du taxi;
2°  au lieu d’un poste d’attente privé doté d’équipements de recharge destinés aux taxis électriques, les règles de priorités et de positionnement prévues à ce règlement ne s’appliquent pas;
3°  le stationnement grand public gratuit est permis lorsqu’un taxi électrique termine sa course, sauf s’il est situé à moins de 60 m d’un poste d’attente public auquel cas le chauffeur de taxi doit alors s’y rendre et s’y positionner.
Le lanternon visé au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa ne peut afficher de la publicité sous forme animée ou faisant appel à un autre procédé donnant l’illusion d’un mouvement, ni afficher plusieurs messages variables dans le temps. De plus, ce lanternon ne peut comporter un éclairage, des feux, des réflecteurs ou tout autre effet susceptible de nuire à la sécurité routière.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 15.
SECTION V
PERMIS SPÉCIAUX DE TAXIS ÉLECTRIQUES
16. La Commission des transports du Québec doit délivrer à un promoteur le nombre de permis spéciaux pour taxis électriques mentionné à l’annexe du Projet pilote, ces véhicules supplémentaires étant requis uniquement pour effectuer une rotation des taxis électriques mis en service, le temps de leur recharge respective et du suivi scientifique requis lié à l’électrification pour les fins du Projet pilote.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 16.
17. La durée d’un permis spécial ne peut excéder celle prévue pour le Projet pilote.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 17.
18. Un promoteur doit fournir au ministre, à la Commission des transports du Québec, au Bureau du taxi de Montréal, le cas échéant, et à Contrôle routier Québec une liste de ses taxis électriques en précisant, pour chacun d’eux, le permis régulier ou le permis spécial, le cas échéant, auquel chaque taxi se rattache.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 18.
19. Le nombre de taxis électriques en service par un promoteur ne peut en aucun temps excéder le nombre de permis réguliers autorisés et mentionnés en annexe au Projet pilote.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 19.
20. À tout moment, un promoteur doit être en mesure d’informer le ministre, la Commission des Transports du Québec, le Bureau de taxi de Montréal, le cas échéant, ainsi que Contrôle routier Québec du nombre de taxis en service, en recharge, en suivi scientifique ou hors service.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 20.
SECTION VI
AUTRES DISPOSITIONS
21. Malgré toute disposition inconciliable, un promoteur peut munir ses taxis électriques d’un taximètre informatisé comportant:
1°  un dispositif d’affichage numérique s’éclairant lors de sa mise en fonction et permettant à l’usager des services de transport par taxi occupant le siège arrière de lire les renseignements à cette distance, notamment l’évolution du prix de la course;
2°  une programmation permettant d’appliquer le tarif fixé par la Commission des transports du Québec.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 21.
22. Un chauffeur de taxi électrique qui termine une course dans une agglomération autre que celle identifiée à son permis est autorisé à effectuer une course supplémentaire hors de son agglomération dans la mesure où il est réquisitionné par un système de répartition centralisé.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 22.
23. Un chauffeur de taxi électrique peut refuser une course lorsqu’il juge que la batterie électrique de son véhicule n’a pas l’autonomie suffisante. Dans un tel cas, un autre taxi doit être mis sans délai à la disposition de l’usager qui a demandé les services de transport par taxi.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 23.
SECTION VII
DISPOSITIONS PÉNALES
24. Commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 700 $ à 2 100 $, toute personne qui utilise ou confie la garde à un chauffeur de taxi, d’une automobile qui ne satisfait pas aux exigences de l’article 5.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 24.
25. En cas d’infraction à l’article 7, le chauffeur du taxi électrique concerné est passible d’une amende de 200 $ à 500 $.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 25.
26. En cas d’infraction à l’article 9, le titulaire d’un permis de propriétaire de taxi est passible d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 3 000 $.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 26.
27. Commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 200 $ à 500 $ le titulaire ou le promoteur dont le taxi électrique est muni d’un lanternon qui ne respecte pas l’article 15.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 27.
28. Commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 3 000 $, toute personne qui permet que le nombre de taxis électriques en service excède le nombre de permis réguliers que lui autorise le présent Projet pilote, conformément à l’article 19.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 28.
29. Commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 3 000 $, toute personne qui n’est pas en mesure d’informer quant à ses taxis en service, en recharge, en suivi scientifique ou hors service, conformément à l’article 20.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 29.
SECTION VIII
CUEILLETTE D’INFORMATION
30. Le ministre des Transports est chargé de recueillir l’information sur la fourniture de services de transport par taxi électrique en application du Projet pilote.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 30.
SECTION XI
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES ET FINALES
31. Les règles du présent Projet pilote ont préséance sur toute disposition inconciliable de la Loi concernant les services de transport par taxi (chapitre S-6.01) et de ses règlements d’application.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 31.
32. Le présent Projet pilote entre en vigueur le 26 novembre 2015, à l’exception des articles 25 à 29, qui entrent en vigueur le 26 décembre 2015. Il est abrogé le 26 novembre 2018.
A.M. 2015-14, a. 32; 2017-07A.M. 2017-07, a. 1.
Annexe
(articles 1, 8, 16 et 19)
     
 Titulaire ou partenaire d’affaires autoriséAgglomération de taxi autorisée pour la locationNombre et type de permis autorisés pour le projet 
 Taxelco inc.A-5 – l’Est de Montréal350 permis réguliers en location 
  A-11 – Montréal70 permis spéciaux 
  A-12 – l’Ouest de Montréal  
     
A.M. 2015-14, Ann; 2017-07A.M. 2017-07, a. 2.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2015-14, 2015 G.O. 2, 4224A
A.M. 2017-07, 2017 G.O. 2, 3529