S-33, r. 1 - Tariff of fees for the recording and transcription of depositions of witnesses

Full text
chapter S-33, r. 1
Tariff of fees for the recording and transcription of depositions of witnesses
STENOGRAPHERS — TARIFF OF FEES — DEPOSITIONS OF WITNESSES
Stenographers’ Act
(chapter S-33, s. 4)
S-33
Courts of Justice Act
(chapter T-16, s. 224)
T-16
Act respecting legal aid and the provision of certain other legal services
(chapter A-14, s. 81)
A-14
January 1 2016
The fees prescribed in the Regulation have been indexed as of 1 January 2017 pursuant to the notice published in Part 1 (French) of the Gazette officielle du Québec of 17 December 2016, page 1290. (s. 10)
1. This Tariff applies to the recording of depositions by a stenographer in stenotypy, stenography or by means of a device known by the name “stenomask”. It also applies to the recording of depositions by means of sound only or sound and picture recording apparatus where the recording is done by a stenographer.
The Tariff also applies to the transcription of depositions recorded as described in the first paragraph and to depositions recorded by means of sound only or sound and picture recording apparatus supplied by the Ministère de la Justice.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 1.
2. A stenographer is entitled to fees of $70 per hour for the recording of depositions. The fees are calculated taking into account any period of time during which the stenographer remains available to record depositions. Any fractions of an hour are calculated in proportion to a full hour. In all cases, a stenographer is entitled to the minimum fees equal to the fees payable for 1 hour.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 2.
3. Depositions must be transcribed as provided in Schedule I.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 3.
4. Subject to sections 5 and 6, a stenographer is entitled to fees of $2.90 per page for the transcription of depositions in the case of an ordinary witness and $3.50 per page in the case of an expert witness. In all cases, a stenographer is entitled to minimum fees of $17.
The fees for the transcription of depositions of expert witnesses apply to the transcription of pleadings and judgments.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 4.
5. Subject to section 6, a stenographer is entitled to fees of $3.70 per page for the transcription of depositions when the recording is done by means of sound only or sound and picture recording apparatus supplied by the Ministère de la Justice and the stenographer did not record the depositions.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 5.
6. When a transcription is required within 5 working days, a stenographer is entitled to one and one-half times the amount of fees provided for in section 4 or 5, as the case may be.
When a transcription is required within 24 hours of the recording of depositions, a stenographer is entitled to twice the amount of fees provided for in section 4 or 5, as the case may be.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 6.
7. A stenographer is entitled to fees of $2.00 for the preparation of each of the following when they are required:
(1)  a title page;
(2)  a table of contents;
(3)  a list of exhibits;
(4)  a list of witnesses;
(5)  a list of objections; and
(6)  a list of commitments.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 7.
8. A person who pays transcription fees may obtain a copy of the transcription, in addition to the original, at a cost of $0.30 per page. On payment of that cost, the person may also obtain a copy of the transcription in an information technology-based medium at a cost of $6 per unit.
Any other person may obtain a copy of a transcription at a cost of $15 plus $0.60 per page beginning with the twenty-sixth page of the copy. On payment of the cost, the person may also obtain a copy of the transcription in an information technology-based medium at a cost of $11 per unit.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 8.
9. Nothing in this Tariff prevents an agreement between a stenographer and the party retaining the services of the stenographer that relates to travel expenses, the retaining of services or any services not referred to in this Tariff. The amounts paid to stenographers pursuant to such an agreement cannot, however, be claimed from the opposing party.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 9; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
10. When depositions are recorded by means of sound only or sound and picture recording apparatus supplied by the Ministère de la Justice, the court office fees payable for a recording extract, including the technical recording medium, are $8.85 and $0.30 per minute beginning with the twenty-sixth minute of recording. The duration is calculated on the basis of the minutes of the hearing.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 10.
11. The fees and costs relating to the transcription of the depositions provided for in sections 4 to 8 apply to transcriptions required as of 1 May 2006.
O.C. 239-2006, s. 11.
12. This Tariff replaces the Regulation respecting the tariff of fees for the taking down and transcription of depositions of witnesses (O.C. 2253-83, 83-11-01).
O.C. 239-2006, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 239-2006, s. 13.
DESCRIPTION OF A STANDARD PAGE OF TRANSCRIPTION
(1) The transcription of depositions must be on Bond quality paper measuring 21.5 cm x 28 cm and weighing 60 or 75 g per square metre.
(2) Only one side of the sheet is to be used.
(3) A standard page of transcription must have one margin on the left-hand side measuring approximately 44 mm and one margin on the right-hand side measuring approximately 16 mm denoted by a vertical line and 25 double-spaced lines numbered consecutively in the left-hand or right-hand margin.
(4) The transcription of depositions must start at the right of the left-hand side vertical line and extend for 14 cm except for the last line of the deposition or where the meaning calls for a new line.
(5) A line of text is made up of words in 12-point type corresponding to “Courier” or “Courier New” type or the equivalent.
(6) The record number and the date of the examination are to be written in the space between the upper left corner of the page and the first line.
The name of the person examined is to be written in the space between the upper right corner of the page and the first line. Under the name of the person examined, the stenographer must specify whether it is an examination, a re-examination or a cross-examination and write the name of the examining party.
The pages are to be numbered consecutively. The page number must appear in the space before the first line or after the last line of the transcription.
(7) Questions are to be preceded by the letter Q and answers by the letter A.
O.C. 239-2006, Sch. I.
REFERENCES
O.C. 239-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1234

S-33, r. 1 - Tarif des honoraires pour la prise et la transcription des dépositions des témoins

Texte complet
chapitre S-33, r. 1
Tarif des honoraires pour la prise et la transcription des dépositions des témoins
STÉNOGRAPHES — TARIF D’HONORAIRES — DÉPOSITIONS DES TÉMOINS
Loi sur les sténographes
(chapitre S-33, a. 4)
S-33
Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires
(chapitre T-16, a. 224)
T-16
Loi sur l’aide juridique et sur la prestation de certains autres services juridiques
(chapitre A-14, a. 81)
A-14
1er janvier 2016
Les droits prévus au règlement ont été indexés à compter du 1er janvier 2017 selon l’avis publié à la Partie 1 de la Gazette officielle du Québec le 17 décembre 2016, page 1290. (a. 10)
1. Le présent tarif s’applique à la prise par un sténographe des dépositions en sténotypie, sténographie ou au moyen d’un appareil connu sous le nom de « sténomasque ». Il s’applique aussi à la prise des dépositions au moyen d’un appareil d’enregistrement du son uniquement ou du son et de l’image lorsqu’elle est effectuée par un sténographe.
Ce tarif s’applique également à la transcription des dépositions prises conformément au premier alinéa et à celles prises au moyen d’un appareil d’enregistrement du son uniquement ou du son et de l’image fourni par le ministère de la Justice.
D. 239-2006, a. 1.
2. Un sténographe a droit à des honoraires de 70 $ l’heure pour la prise des dépositions. Les honoraires sont calculés en tenant compte de toute période de temps pendant laquelle il demeure disponible pour effectuer la prise des dépositions. Les fractions d’heure sont calculées en proportion d’une heure complète. Dans tous les cas, il a droit à des honoraires minimaux équivalant aux honoraires exigibles pour 1 heure.
D. 239-2006, a. 2.
3. La transcription des dépositions s’effectue conformément à l’annexe I.
D. 239-2006, a. 3.
4. Sous réserve des articles 5 et 6, pour la transcription des dépositions, un sténographe a droit à des honoraires de 2,90 $ la page lorsqu’il s’agit d’un témoin ordinaire ou de 3,50 $ la page lorsqu’il s’agit d’un témoin expert. Dans tous les cas, il a droit à des honoraires minimaux de 17 $.
Les honoraires pour la transcription des dépositions des témoins experts s’appliquent à la transcription des plaidoiries et des jugements.
D. 239-2006, a. 4.
5. Sous réserve de l’article 6, un sténographe a droit à des honoraires de 3,70 $ la page pour la transcription des dépositions lorsque la prise est effectuée au moyen d’un appareil d’enregistrement du son uniquement ou du son et de l’image fourni par le ministère de la Justice et que le sténographe n’a pas procédé à la prise des dépositions.
D. 239-2006, a. 5.
6. Lorsqu’un sténographe est requis d’effectuer une transcription dans un délai inférieur à 5 jours ouvrables, il a droit à une fois et demie le montant des honoraires prévus à l’article 4 ou 5, selon le cas.
Toutefois, pour une transcription requise dans un délai inférieur à 24 heures de la prise des dépositions, un sténographe a droit au double du montant des honoraires prévus à l’article 4 ou 5, selon le cas.
D. 239-2006, a. 6.
7. Un sténographe a droit à des honoraires de 2 $ pour la préparation de chacun des éléments suivants lorsqu’ils sont requis:
1°  une page titre;
2°  une table des matières;
3°  une liste des pièces;
4°  une liste des témoins;
5°  une liste des objections;
6°  une liste des engagements.
D. 239-2006, a. 7.
8. La personne qui paie les honoraires de transcription peut obtenir une copie de cette transcription, en plus de l’original, pour 0,30 $ la page. Sur paiement des frais exigibles pour une copie de la transcription, elle peut également obtenir une copie de celle-ci sur un support faisant appel aux technologies de l’information pour 6 $ l’unité.
Toute autre personne peut obtenir la copie d’une transcription pour 15 $ et 0,60 $ la page à compter de la vingt-sixième page de la copie. Sur paiement des frais exigibles pour une copie de la transcription, elle peut également obtenir une copie de celle-ci sur un support faisant appel aux technologies de l’information pour 11 $ l’unité.
D. 239-2006, a. 8.
9. Le présent tarif n’interdit pas une entente entre un sténographe et la partie qui retient ses services pour des frais de déplacement, pour la réservation de services ainsi que pour des services non mentionnés au présent tarif. Toutefois, les montants payés au sténographe en application de telles ententes ne peuvent être réclamés à la partie adverse.
D. 239-2006, a. 9; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. Lorsque la prise des dépositions est effectuée au moyen d’un appareil d’enregistrement du son uniquement ou du son et de l’image fourni par le ministère de la Justice, les droits de greffe exigibles pour un extrait d’enregistrement, incluant le support technique d’enregistrement, sont de 8,85 $ et de 0,30 $ la minute à compter de la vingt-sixième minute d’enregistrement. La durée est calculée à partir du procès-verbal d’audience.
D. 239-2006, a. 10.
11. Les honoraires et les frais relatifs à la transcription des dépositions prévus par les articles 4 à 8 s’appliquent aux transcriptions requises à compter du 1er mai 2006.
D. 239-2006, a. 11.
12. Le présent tarif remplace le Règlement sur le Tarif des honoraires pour la prise et la transcription des dépositions des témoins (D. 2253-83, 83-11-01).
D. 239-2006, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 239-2006, a. 13.
ANNEXE I
(a. 3)
DESCRIPTION DE LA PAGE TYPE DE TRANSCRIPTION
1. La transcription des dépositions est faite sur du papier de format 21,5 cm sur 28 cm de qualité Bond et d’un poids de 60 ou de 75 g au mètre carré.
2. Un seul côté de la feuille est utilisé.
3. La page type de transcription comporte une marge à gauche mesurant environ 44 mm et une marge à droite mesurant environ 16 mm délimitées par une ligne verticale ainsi que 25 lignes séparées d’un double interligne et numérotées consécutivement dans la marge gauche ou droite.
4. La transcription des dépositions commence à la droite de la ligne verticale de gauche et se poursuit sur 14 cm à moins qu’il s’agisse de la dernière ligne de la déposition ou que le sens ne nécessite un changement de ligne.
5. Une ligne de texte est constituée de mots avec un caractère de 12 points correspondant au type «Courier», «Courier New» ou équivalent.
6. Le numéro de dossier et la date de l’interrogatoire sont inscrits dans l’espace situé entre le coin supérieur gauche de la page et la première ligne.
Le nom de la personne interrogée est inscrit dans l’espace situé entre le coin supérieur droit de la page et la première ligne. Sous le nom de la personne interrogée, le sténographe doit indiquer s’il s’agit d’un interrogatoire, réinterrogatoire ou contre-interrogatoire. Sous cette dernière indication, doit apparaître le nom de la personne qui procède à l’interrogatoire.
Les pages sont numérotées consécutivement. Le numéro de page apparaît dans l’espace situé avant la première ou après la dernière ligne de la transcription.
7. Les questions sont précédées de la lettre Q et les réponses de la lettre R.
D. 239-2006, Ann. I.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 239-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1520