R-20, r. 1 - Regulation respecting the application of the Act respecting labour relations, vocational training and workforce management in the construction industry

Full text
chapter R-20, r. 1
Regulation respecting the application of the Act respecting labour relations, vocational training and workforce management in the construction industry
LABOUR RELATIONS — CONSTRUCTION — APPLICATION
Act respecting labour relations, vocational training and workforce management in the construction industry
(chapter R-20, s. 20).
R-20
December 30 1899
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1; O.C. 16-96, s. 1.
1. Machinery:
(a)  Definitions: For the purposes of this section,
i.  “production machinery” means any machinery and equipment other than the machinery of buildings;
ii.  “building’s machinery” means any machinery and equipment installed for the purposes of the building itself, namely, amongst others, a heating system, a ventilation system, a refrigeration system with a capacity of more than 200 W, the elevators or hoists.
This expression also includes any other refrigeration system with a capacity of more than 200 W installed inside a building.
(b)  Scope: The installation of building machinery is, in all cases, included in the word “construction” as defined in subparagraph f of the first paragraph of section 1 of the Act respecting labour relations, vocational training and workforce management in the construction industry (chapter R-20). However, the erection, repair, and the maintenance of building machinery are only included in the word “construction” when they are performed by construction employees in the employ of professional employers.
Notwithstanding the first paragraph of paragraph b, when reference is to elevators, freight-elevators, or escalators, the erection, repair, and maintenance are also included, in all cases, in the word “construction”.
Despite the first paragraph of paragraph b, when reference is to a refrigeration system as mentioned in paragraph a, the assembly, repair and maintenance are also included in the word “construction”. Such work, however, is not included in the word “construction” if performed:
(a)  by the habitual employees of the manufacturer or user of such systems;
(b)  inside a building having no more than 2 refrigeration systems with a maximum capacity of 600 W;
(c)  on a manufactured refrigeration unit, self-contained or plug-in type;
(d)  inside a residential building with less than 9 apartments.
The installation, repair and maintenance of production machinery are included in the word “construction” when they are carried out by construction employees in the employ of professional employers.
The installation of production machinery on the job site itself and vicinity during the construction phase of an electric power plant and related works involving such construction are also included in the word “construction”.
In addition, any part of the installation or repair of production machinery that is carried out on the job site itself and vicinity in the industrial sector or in the civil engineering and roads sector that requires the use of professional expertise mainly from the construction industry is also included in the word “construction” where,
(a)  in the case of an installation, the work is part of a project for the initial construction or structural alteration of a building, industrial complex or civil engineering work;
(b)  in the case of an installation or repair, the work is carried out on a production unit or line shut down for that purpose during regular operating hours, or is preparatory to such work, and it is anticipated that the work will involve at least 40 construction employees; and
(c)  in the case of an installation or repair, the work is carried out in an establishment where all production has stopped, and it is anticipated that the work will involve at least 40 construction employees.
The work referred to in the sixth paragraph of paragraph b is, however, not included in the word “construction” where
(a)  a decree made under section 2 of the Act respecting collective agreement decrees (chapter D-2) applies in respect of the work;
(b)  the work is carried out by regular employees of the user of the machinery or of an enterprise at least 40% of which is owned by the user;
(c)  the work is carried out by regular employees of the machinery manufacturer, of the machinery manufacturer’s successor or of a person whose main activity is to carry out such work, which is exclusively entrusted to that person by the manufacturer or the machinery manufacturer’s successor; or
(d)  the work is carried out by regular employees of an employer, other than a professional employer, where that employer regularly carries out work in an establishment of the user of the machinery pursuant to a repair or maintenance contract, subject, however, to the number of employees not exceeding the number that the employer usually assigns to those activities in the establishment.
The repair and maintenance of building machinery and equipment are included in the word “construction” where they are carried out by employees in the employ of a professional employer and Hydro-Québec on the job site itself and vicinity.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 1; O.C. 1688-82, s. 1; O.C. 1247-85, s. 1; O.C. 315-2003, s. 1.
1.1. Notwithstanding the first paragraph of paragraph b of section 1, the installation, assembly, repair and maintenance of a private underground water collection system with regard to a building reserved exclusively for residential use, having no more than 6 storeys above ground when seen from its full frontal view, are not included in the word “construction”.
O.C. 16-96, s. 2.
2. Cutting and trimming of trees and bushes: The cutting and trimming of trees and bushes to clear distribution lines as well the spraying of chemical products carried out for the same purpose shall be comprised in the scope of the Act only if such operations are carried out, on the occasion of construction or maintenance of circuits and supports of distribution lines, by the employees of a professional employer.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 2.
3. Shop-work: Any employee of a construction industry professional employer occasionally called upon to perform in the workshop any work pertaining to the work he currently performs at a construction job-site remains subject to the provisions of the Act and to those of the Construction Decree (R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 5).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 3.
4. Crane operator: Any crane operator who is usually called upon by his employer to do construction work and occasionally called upon as a crane operator to do work other than construction work remains governed by the Act.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 4.
5. Casual employee:
(a)  Definitions: For the purposes of this section,
i.  “casual employee” means any employee who holds a card such as mentioned in subparagraph ii of paragraph b and who usually performs work other than construction work but who may be called upon, in the carrying out of his usual work, to perform work within or outside the scope of the Act, either occasionally or periodically;
ii.  “casual employer” means an employer of the employee mentioned in subparagraph i of paragraph a.
(b)  Control:
i.  Despite any other regulation, the Commission de la construction du Québec may issue identification cards for casual employees on the conditions mentioned hereunder:
(A)  the employee must usually work for the employer mentioned on the card and belong to the employer’s active workforce when submitting his application for a card;
(B)  the employee must hold a qualification or service certificate when such certificate is compulsory to work for his employer beyond the scope of the Act or Decree;
(C)  the request must be made by both the employer and the certified labour association or by the employer and the employee if there is no certified labour association;
(D)  applicants must prove that the employee usually works outside the scope of the Act and of the Decree;
(E)  within the 30 days following acceptance of his application, the employee must notify the Commission of the name of the representative association chosen by him or, as the case may be, of the syndicate, union or certified local affiliated to a representative association of which he is a member.
The Commission may refuse to issue the card if the employee does not notify it of his union allegiance, within the prescribed time.
ii.  Identification card: The following details shall appear on the card of the casual employee:
(A)  the term “casual employee” in bold type and the name of the region for which the card was issued;
(B)  the period covered by the card;
(C)  the name and address of the employee;
(D)  the trade or occupation of the employee;
(E)  the name and address of the employer;
(F)  the date of birth and social insurance number of the employee;
(G)  the precise description of the work that may be performed by the employee;
(H)  the name of the association as notified to the Commission by the employee under subparagraph E of subparagraph i of paragraph b.
iii.  Access to job-site: The employee who holds such card shall have access to a job-site only to carry out such work as specified on his identification card.
The employee shall, upon request, show his card to an inspector from the Commission de la construction du Québec or to any person authorized to this effect by the Commission.
iv.  Revocation: Any card may be revoked at all times.
v.  Additional information: The Commission may, at all times, request from the casual employer any information that it considers advisable concerning the utilization of such card.
vi.  Decree: Subject to the second paragraph, only clauses of the decree concerning remuneration, working hours, overtime, general holidays and union security shall apply.
However, the clauses of the decree concerning union security shall not apply to the casual employee when the latter is a member of a syndicate, a union or a certified local affiliated to a representative association.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 5; O.C. 1259-84, s. 1; O.C. 768-85, s. 1.
6. Transportation of employees: The decree may determine travelling expenses as well as time spent travelling to be reimbursed to construction industry employees for all travelling from the dwelling-place of the employee to the job-site and for all travelling from one job-site to another within Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, s. 6.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1
O.C. 1688-82, 1982 G.O. 2, 1933; Suppl. 1140
O.C. 1259-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 2026
O.C. 768-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 1570
O.C. 1247-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 2153
S.Q. 1986, c. 89, s. 50
O.C. 16-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 507
O.C. 315-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 1183
S.Q. 2007, c. 3, s. 72

R-20, r. 1 - Règlement d’application de la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction

Texte complet
chapitre R-20, r. 1
Règlement d’application de la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction
RELATIONS DU TRAVAIL — CONSTRUCTION — APPLICATION
Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction
(chapitre R-20, a. 20).
R-20
1er septembre 2012
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1; D. 16-96, a. 1.
1. Machinerie:
a)  Définitions: Aux fins du présent article, les expressions suivantes signifient:
i.  «machinerie de production»: toute machinerie et équipement autre que la machinerie de bâtiments;
ii.  «machinerie de bâtiments»: toute machinerie et équipement installés pour les fins du bâtiment lui-même dont, entre autres, un système de chauffage, un système de ventilation, un système de réfrigération d’une capacité de plus de 200 W, les ascenseurs ou monte-charge.
Cette expression comprend en outre tout autre système de réfrigération d’une capacité de plus de 200 W installé dans un bâtiment.
b)  Champ d’application: L’installation de machinerie de bâtiments est, dans tous les cas, comprise dans le mot «construction» défini au paragraphe f du premier alinéa de l’article 1 de la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle de la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction (chapitre R-20). Cependant, le montage, la réparation et l’entretien de machinerie de bâtiments ne sont compris dans le mot «construction» que lorsqu’ils sont effectués par des salariés de la construction à l’emploi d’employeurs professionnels.
Nonobstant le premier alinéa du paragraphe b, lorsqu’il s’agit d’ascenseurs, de monte-charge ou d’escaliers mobiles, le montage, la réparation et l’entretien sont aussi compris, dans tous les cas, dans le mot «construction».
Nonobstant le premier alinéa du paragraphe b, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un système de réfrigération visé au paragraphe a, le montage, la réparation et l’entretien sont aussi compris, dans le mot «construction». Tel travail, cependant, n’est pas compris dans le mot «construction» s’il est exécuté:
a)  par les salariés habituels du fabricant ou de l’utilisateur d’un tel système;
b)  dans un bâtiment ne possédant pas plus de 2 systèmes de réfrigération d’une capacité maximale de 600 W;
c)  sur un appareil de réfrigération, monobloc du type à prise (plug in) fabriqué en usine;
d)  dans un bâtiment résidentiel de moins de 9 logements.
L’installation, la réparation et l’entretien de machinerie de production sont compris dans le mot «construction» lorsqu’ils sont effectués par des salariés de la construction à l’emploi d’employeurs professionnels.
Sont aussi compris dans le mot «construction» l’installation de machinerie de production effectuée sur les lieux mêmes du chantier et à pied d’oeuvre pendant la phase de construction d’une centrale électrique ainsi que les travaux connexes reliés à une telle construction.
En outre, toute partie de l’installation et de la réparation d’une machinerie de production qui est effectuée sur les lieux mêmes du chantier et à pied d’oeuvre dans le secteur industriel ou dans le secteur génie civil et voirie et qui nécessite le recours à une expertise professionnelle qui se trouve principalement dans l’industrie de la construction est comprise dans le mot «construction» dans les cas suivants:
a)  lorsque, s’agissant d’installation, les travaux font partie d’un projet de construction initiale ou de modification structurale d’un bâtiment ou complexe industriel ou d’un ouvrage de génie civil;
b)  lorsque, s’agissant d’installation ou de réparation, les travaux sont exécutés sur une unité ou ligne de production arrêtée à cette fin pendant ses heures habituelles d’opération ou sont préparatoires à de tels travaux, et qu’il est prévu qu’ils impliquent au moins 40 salariés de la construction;
c)  lorsque, s’agissant d’installation ou de réparation, les travaux sont exécutés dans un établissement où toute production a été abandonnée et qu’il est prévu qu’ils impliquent au moins 40 salariés de la construction.
Les travaux visés au sixième alinéa du paragraphe b ne sont toutefois pas compris dans le mot «construction» dans les cas suivants:
a)  lorsqu’un décret pris en vertu de l’article 2 de la Loi sur les décrets de convention collective (chapitre D-2) s’applique à leur égard;
b)  lorsqu’ils sont exécutés par des salariés habituels de l’utilisateur de la machinerie ou d’une entreprise dont il est propriétaire à au moins 40%;
c)  lorsqu’ils sont exécutés par des salariés habituels du fabricant de la machinerie, de son ayant cause ou d’une personne dont l’activité principale est d’effectuer de tels travaux et qui en est chargée à titre exclusif par ce fabricant ou ayant cause;
d)  lorsqu’ils sont exécutés par des salariés habituels d’un employeur, autre qu’un employeur professionnel, qui effectue régulièrement des travaux dans un établissement de l’utilisateur de la machinerie dans le cadre d’un contrat de réparation ou d’entretien, jusqu’à concurrence toutefois du nombre de salariés que l’employeur affecte généralement à ces activités dans l’établissement.
La réparation et l’entretien de machinerie et d’équipement de construction sont compris dans le mot «construction» dans le cas où ils sont exécutés par des salariés d’un employeur professionnel et d’Hydro-Québec sur les lieux mêmes des chantiers de construction et à pied d’oeuvre.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 1; D. 1688-82, a. 1; D. 1247-85, a. 1; D. 315-2003, a. 1.
1.1. Malgré le premier alinéa du paragraphe b de l’article 1, l’installation, le montage, la réparation et l’entretien d’un système privé de captage d’eau souterraine, au regard d’un bâtiment réservé à l’habitation dont le nombre d’étages au-dessus du sol, excluant toute partie de sous-sol et vu de toute face, n’excède pas 6, ne sont pas compris dans le mot «construction».
D. 16-96, a. 2.
2. Coupe et émondage d’arbres et d’arbustes: La coupe et l’émondage des arbres et arbustes aux fins de dégagement de lignes de distribution d’énergie électrique ainsi que l’arrosage chimique exécuté pour les mêmes fins ne sont compris dans le champ d’application de la Loi que s’ils sont exécutés à l’occasion de la construction ou de l’entretien des circuits et supports d’une ligne de distribution par les salariés d’un employeur professionnel.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 2.
3. Travail en atelier: Tout salarié d’un employeur professionnel de la construction appelé occasionnellement à exécuter en atelier un travail se rapportant à celui qu’il exécute couramment sur un chantier de construction demeure assujetti aux dispositions de la Loi et du Décret de la construction (R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 5).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 3.
4. Grutier: Tout grutier affecté habituellement par son employeur à un travail de construction mais appelé occasionnellement à effectuer comme tel un travail autre qu’un travail de construction demeure assujetti à la Loi.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 4.
5. Salarié occasionnel:
a)  Définitions: Aux fins du présent article, les expressions suivantes signifient:
i.  «salarié occasionnel»: tout salarié détenteur de la carte mentionnée au sous-paragraphe ii du paragraphe b qui travaille habituellement ailleurs que dans la construction mais qui peut être appelé dans l’exécution normale de son travail à oeuvrer et à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du champ d’application de la Loi, à l’occasion ou à intervalles réguliers;
ii.  «employeur occasionnel»: employeur du salarié défini au sous-paragraphe i du paragraphe a.
b)  Contrôle:
i.  Nonobstant tout autre règlement, la Commission de la construction du Québec émet une carte d’identité à un salarié occasionnel selon les conditions suivantes:
A)  le salarié doit travailler habituellement chez l’employeur mentionné sur la carte et faire partie de sa main-d’oeuvre active au moment de la demande;
B)  le salarié doit être titulaire d’un certificat de qualification ou d’une attestation d’expérience lorsque de tels documents sont obligatoires pour travailler pour son employeur à l’extérieur du champ d’application de la Loi et du décret;
C)  la demande doit être faite conjointement par l’employeur et le syndicat accrédité, ou l’employeur et le salarié s’il n’y a pas de syndicat accrédité;
D)  les requérants doivent établir que le salarié travaille habituellement à l’extérieur du champ d’application de la Loi et du décret;
E)  le salarié doit dans les 30 jours qui suivent l’acceptation de sa demande faire connaître à la Commission le nom de l’association représentative qu’il choisit ou, selon le cas, le nom du syndicat, union ou local accrédité et affilié à une association représentative dont il est membre.
La Commission peut refuser d’émettre la carte si le salarié ne lui fait pas connaître son allégeance syndicale dans le délai prescrit.
ii.  Carte d’identité: Les mentions suivantes doivent apparaître sur la carte du salarié occasionnel:
A)  le terme «salarié occasionnel» en caractères gras et le nom de la région pour laquelle la carte est délivrée;
B)  la période pour laquelle elle est émise;
C)  le nom et l’adresse du salarié;
D)  le métier ou l’emploi du salarié;
E)  le nom et l’adresse de l’employeur;
F)  la date de naissance du salarié et son numéro d’assurance sociale;
G)  la description précise des travaux qui peuvent être faits par le salarié;
H)  le nom de l’association que le salarié a fait connaître à la Commission en vertu du sous-paragraphe E du sous-paragraphe i du paragraphe b.
iii.  Accès aux chantiers de construction: Le salarié détenteur d’une telle carte a accès à un chantier de construction uniquement pour y exécuter le travail décrit sur la carte d’identité.
Le salarié doit, sur demande, exhiber sa carte à un inspecteur de la Commission de la construction du Québec ou à une personne autorisée à cette fin par la Commission.
iv.  Révocation: Toute carte peut être révoquée en tout temps.
v.  Renseignements additionnels: En tout temps, la Commission peut exiger de l’employeur occasionnel tout renseignement qu’elle juge utile sur l’utilisation de cette carte.
vi.  Décret: Sous réserve du deuxième alinéa, seules les clauses du décret relatives à la rémunération, à la durée du travail, aux heures supplémentaires, aux jours fériés et au régime syndical s’appliquent.
Cependant, les clauses du décret relatives au régime syndical ne s’appliquent pas au salarié occasionnel lorsque ce dernier est membre d’un syndicat, d’une union ou d’un local accrédité et affilié à une association représentative.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 5; D. 1259-84, a. 1; D. 768-85, a. 1.
6. Déplacement des salariés: Le décret peut déterminer les frais de déplacement de même que la rémunération du temps de déplacement des salariés de la construction pour tout déplacement du lieu de résidence du salarié au chantier de construction ou pour tout déplacement d’un chantier à un autre à l’intérieur du Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1, a. 6.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. R-20, r. 1
D. 1688-82, 1982 G.O. 2, 2563; Suppl. 1140
D. 1259-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 2343
D. 768-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 2398
D. 1247-85, 1985 G.O. 2, 3497
L.Q. 1986, c. 89, a. 50
D. 16-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 621
D. 315-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 1471