Q-2, r. 41 - Regulation respecting the recovery and reclamation of discarded paint containers and paints

Full text
chapter Q-2, r. 41
Regulation respecting the recovery and reclamation of discarded paint containers and paints
ENVIRONMENT QUALITY - RECOVERY, RECLAMATION - PAINT
Environment Quality Act
(chapter Q-2, ss. 53.28, 53.30, 70.19 and 109.1).
Q-2
September 1 2012
Revoked, O.C. 597-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 1369; eff. 2011-07-14.
The provisions of this Regulation continue to apply to enterprises that implement recovery programs under this Regulation until they develop recovery and reclamation programs in accordance with the Regulation respecting the recovery and reclamation of products by enterprises (chapter Q-2, r. 40.1).
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to reduce the quantity of residual materials to be eliminated by encouraging the recovery and reclamation of discarded paint containers and paints.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 1.
2. This Regulation applies to paints sold in retail outlets, excluding artist’s paints.
It also applies to paints sold in containers of less than 170 litres capacity on the wholesale market for the maintenance, protection or decoration of buildings or structures annexed to buildings.
For the purposes of this Regulation, “paints” includes stains, primers, varnishes, lacquers, wood or masonry treatment products, and any other similar mixture designed for maintenance, protection or decoration.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 2.
3. Every business that markets paints under a trademark which it owns or uses is required, through a recovery system that includes the minimum specifications described in the Schedule, to recover or to see to the recovery of the paint containers that are returned to the collection points provided for by that system and that are of the same type it markets. That business is also required to recover or to see to the recovery of any paint found in the containers insofar as that paint is of the same type it markets.
Where a business referred to in the first paragraph does not have a domicile or an establishment in Québec, the recovery obligation prescribed by that paragraph shall be the responsibility of the leading supplier of those paints in Québec, whether or not it is the importer.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 3.
4. A business or supplier subject to the recovery obligation prescribed by section 3 must take the appropriate measures to inform consumers of the existence and operation of the recovery system referred to in that section, particularly the accessibility of the collection points, as well as the environmental advantages resulting from the recovery and reclamation of discarded paint containers and paints. Those measures may include, in addition to holding information campaigns, providing consumers with information booklets.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 4.
5 . The recovery system prescribed by section 3 must ensure a minimum rate of recovery of paint containers that equals, in weight or volume, the following percentages, calculated on the basis of the paint containers marketed annually by the business or supplier:
— ­25%, as of 2002;
— 50%, as of 2005;
— 75%, as of 2008.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 5.
6. A business or supplier subject to the recovery obligation prescribed by section 3 is also required to reclaim or to see to the reclamation of any paint containers that it has recovered or has had recovered.
The business or supplier is also required to reclaim or to see to the reclamation of the recovered paints, insofar as their reclamation is technically possible and the costs associated with the reclamation do not put its competitiveness at risk.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 6.
7. The paint containers marketed by a business or supplier subject to the recovery obligation prescribed by section 3 must clearly display information on the recoverability of the discarded containers and paints.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 7.
8. Within 90 days of the date on which it becomes subject to the recovery obligation prescribed by section 3, a business or supplier is required to transmit to the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks the following information:
(1)  its name, address and business number if it is registered in the enterprise register, as well as the names and addresses of its officers;
(2)  the territory where it markets its paints;
(3)  identification of the products marketed according to the types of containers or paints;
(4)  a description of the recovery system by which it recovers or sees to the recovery of the products in question, including the number, category and location of the collection points, the name and address of the person in charge of the system if that person is a third party, and the terms and conditions of transport, storage and processing of the recovered products, according to the different types of containers and paints;
(5)  a description of the information campaigns and other measures planned to promote the recovery of the products in question to consumers and to obtain their cooperation;
(6)  a description of the means used to reclaim the recovered products, including the reclamation methods, the name and address of the person in charge of the reclamation if that person is a third party, the efforts planned to develop the markets or techniques of reclamation or outlets for reclaimed products;
(7)  a description of the elimination methods planned for recovered paints that are not reclaimed, if any, indicating the name and address of the person in charge of the elimination if that person is a third party.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 8.
9. Not later than 31 March of each year, a business or supplier subject to the recovery obligation prescribed by section 3 must transmit to the Minister the following information for the preceding calendar year:
(1)  the quantities, in weight or volume, of each type of marketed container and paint that was recovered and then reclaimed or, if any, the quantities of paint eliminated due to the lack of reclamation alternatives, indicating the reclamation or elimination methods used;
(2)  the measures taken to promote the development of techniques for the reclamation of recovered paint containers and paints, particularly for the purposes of reuse and recycling, and the results of the research that was carried out;
(3)  a description of the information campaigns carried out and the other measures taken to promote the recovery and reclamation of discarded paint containers and paints;
(4)  the costs generated by the implementation of the recovery system and the reclamation methods, as well as those resulting from the carrying out of the information campaigns and other measures taken to promote the recovery and reclamation of the products in question;
(5)  an update, if applicable, of the information transmitted to the Minister pursuant to section 8.
The information referred to in subparagraphs 1, 2 and 4 of the first paragraph must be verified by a third party expert who shall certify that it is accurate. The certification must accompany the information transmitted to the Minister.
In addition, the business’ or supplier’s yearly data on the quantity of containers and paints marketed according to the different types of containers and paints must be made available to the Minister.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 9.
10. A business or supplier is exempt from the obligations prescribed in sections 3 to 9 if the business or supplier is a member of an organization
(1)  whose function or one of its functions is either to implement a recovery or a reclamation system for discarded paint containers or paints or to financially contribute to the implementation of such a system in accordance with the conditions determined in an agreement entered into under subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph of section 53.30 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2); and
(2)  whose name appears on a list published in the Gazette officielle du Québec pursuant to subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph of section 53.30 of that Act.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 10; S.Q. 2002, c. 59, s. 10.
11. Any offence against the provisions of sections 3 to 7 makes the offender liable
(1)  in the case of a natural person, to a fine from $2,000 to $25,000;
(2)  in the case of a legal person, to a fine from $5,000 to $250,000.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 11.
12. Every person who fails to communicate to the Minister any of the information prescribed by section 8 or 9, or who communicates false or inaccurate information, is liable
(1)  in the case of a natural person, to a fine from $1,000 to $10,000;
(2)  in the case of a legal person, to a fine from $2,000 to $50,000.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 12.
13. For any subsequent offence, the fines prescribed under sections 11 and 12 are doubled.
O.C. 655-2000, s. 13.
14. (Omitted).
O.C. 655-2000, s. 14.
SCHEDULE
(s. 3)
The recovery system referred to in section 3 must be established in a way that offers a recovery service to the residents of each metropolitan community or regional county municipality located south of the 51st parallel, excluding unorganized territories, in which the business or supplier markets paints.
The recovery system must include collection points where paint containers of the same type as those marketed by the business or supplier subject to this Regulation may be returned free of charge as well as any paint they may contain.
The minimum number of collection points that must be included in the recovery system as well as their category and their location are determined according to the option chosen by the business or supplier in question.
The categories of collection points for a recovery system are the following:
Category A: each collection point must have a permanent depot, accessible year round during business hours and for a period of at least 24 hours per week in which at least 6 of those hours are during the weekend.
Category B: each collection point must have a permanent depot or a mobile unit, accessible at least 10 days a year for at least 8 hours a day, including at least 1 day each season and at least half of those days must be a Saturday or a Sunday.
OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO A BUSINESS OR SUPPLIER
(number, category and location of collection points)
Option 1
For each sales point in a local municipality that sells paints under a trademark which is owned or used by a business or supplier in question, there must be at least one collection point located in the territory of the municipality. The category and the location of the collection points are determined according to the number of residents in the local municipality in question, in accordance with the requirements set out in the following table.

______________________________________________________

Local municipalities Category and location of
(population) collection points

______________________________________________________

<15,000 1 category A or B
collection point located at
each of the sales points or
less than 20 km, by a road
open year-round, from each
of the sales points.
______________________________________________________

≥15,000 1 category A collection
point located at each of the
sales points or less than
10 km, by a road open
year-round, from each of the
sales points.
______________________________________________________
Option 2
For each local municipality belonging to a metropolitan community or a regional county municipality for which a recovery system must be established, the number and category of collection points are determined according to the number of residents in the local municipality in question, in accordance with the requirements set out in the following table.
The collection points must be located in the territory of the local municipality except for those whose population is less than 5,000 residents; in such a case, the collection point may or may not be located in the territory of the local municipality, provided that it is located less than 50 km, by a road open year-round, from the town hall of that municipality.

_______________________________________________________

Local municipalities Number and categories
(population) of collection points

_______________________________________________________

≥100 and <5,000 1 Category A or B
collection point
_______________________________________________________

≥5,000 and <15,000 1 Category B
collection point
_______________________________________________________

≥15,000 and <30,000 1 Category A collection
point
_______________________________________________________

≥30,000 and <60,000 1 Category A collection
point and 1 Category B
collection point
_______________________________________________________

≥60,000 2 Category A collection
points and:
- 1 Category A collection
point for every additional
40,000 residents or part
thereof, up to a total of
20 collection points; or
- 1 Category B collection
point for every additional
20,000 residents or part
thereof, up to a total of 30
collection points
_______________________________________________________
O.C. 655-2000, Sch.
REFERENCES
O.C. 655-2000, 2000 G.O. 2, 2612
S.Q. 2002, c. 59, s. 10
S.Q. 2010, c. 40, s. 92

Q-2, r. 41 - Règlement sur la récupération et la valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures mis au rebut

Texte complet
chapitre Q-2, r. 41
Règlement sur la récupération et la valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures mis au rebut
QUALITÉ DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT - RÉCUPÉRATION, VALORISATION - PEINTURE
Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement
(chapitre Q-2, a. 53.28, 53.30, 70.19 et 109.1)
Q-2
1er septembre 2012
Abrogé, D. 597-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 2371; eff. 2011-07-14.
Les dispositions de ce règlement continuent de s’appliquer aux entreprises mettant en oeuvre des systèmes de récupération en vertu de ce règlement jusqu’à ce qu’elles mettent en oeuvre des programmes de récupération et de valorisation conformément au Règlement sur la récupération et la valorisation de produits par les entreprises (chapitre Q-2, r. 40.1).
1. Le présent règlement a pour but de réduire les matières résiduelles à éliminer en favorisant la récupération et la valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures qui sont mis au rebut.
D. 655-2000, a. 1.
2. Le présent règlement s’applique aux peintures mises sur le marché dans les commerces de détail, à l’exclusion des peintures conçues pour usage artistique.
Il s’applique également aux peintures mises sur le marché dans les commerces de gros dans des contenants de moins de 170 litres lorsqu’elles sont destinées à l’entretien, à la protection ou à la décoration d’immeubles ou de structures annexes à ceux-ci.
Pour l’application du présent règlement, sont assimilés à des peintures les teintures, les apprêts, les vernis, les laques, les produits de traitement du bois ou de la maçonnerie ainsi que toute préparation de même nature destinée à des fins d’entretien, de protection ou de décoration.
D. 655-2000, a. 2.
3. Toute entreprise qui met sur le marché des peintures sous une marque de commerce dont elle est la propriétaire ou l’utilisatrice est tenue de récupérer ou de faire récupérer, au moyen d’un système de récupération comportant les caractéristiques minimales définies en annexe, les contenants de peinture qui sont rapportés aux points de collecte prévus par ce système et qui sont de même type que ceux qu’elle commercialise. Elle est pareillement tenue de récupérer ou de faire récupérer les peintures qui se trouvent dans ces contenants pour autant que ces peintures soient de même type que celles qu’elle commercialise.
Dans le cas où une entreprise visée au premier alinéa n’a ni domicile ni établissement au Québec, l’obligation de récupération prévue par cet alinéa incombe au premier fournisseur de ces peintures au Québec, qu’il en soit ou non l’importateur.
D. 655-2000, a. 3.
4. L’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti à l’obligation de récupération prévue à l’article 3 doit prendre les mesures propres à informer les consommateurs de l’existence et du fonctionnement du système de récupération mentionné dans cet article, notamment l’accessibilité aux points de collecte, ainsi que des avantages découlant, du point de vue environnemental, de la récupération et de la valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures qui sont mis au rebut. Ces mesures peuvent notamment comprendre, outre la tenue de campagnes d’information, la mise à la disposition des consommateurs de brochures explicatives.
D. 655-2000, a. 4.
5. Le système de récupération prescrit par l’article 3 doit assurer un taux minimal de récupération des contenants de peinture qui est équivalent, en poids ou volume, aux pourcentages suivants, calculés sur la base des contenants de peinture que l’entreprise ou le fournisseur met annuellement sur le marché:
— 25%, à compter de 2002;
— 50%, à compter de 2005;
— 75%, à compter de 2008.
D. 655-2000, a. 5.
6. L’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti à l’obligation de récupération prévue à l’article 3 est en outre tenu de valoriser ou de faire valoriser tous les contenants de peinture qu’il a récupérés ou fait récupérer.
Il est pareillement tenu de valoriser ou de faire valoriser les peintures récupérées dans la mesure où leur valorisation est techniquement possible et que les coûts associés à cette valorisation ne mettent pas en péril sa compétitivité.
D. 655-2000, a. 6.
7. Les contenants de peinture que met sur le marché l’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti à l’obligation de récupération prévue à l’article 3 doivent comporter, de manière apparente, des informations sur le caractère récupérable des contenants et des peintures qui sont mis au rebut.
D. 655-2000, a. 7.
8. Dans les 90 jours qui suivent la date à laquelle il devient assujetti à l’obligation de récupération prévue à l’article 3, l’entreprise ou le fournisseur est tenu de communiquer au ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs les informations suivantes:
1°  ses nom et adresse, son numéro d’entreprise lorsqu’il est immatriculé au registre des entreprises, de même que les noms et adresses de ses dirigeants;
2°  la désignation du territoire où il met sur le marché des peintures;
3°  l’identification des produits mis sur le marché selon les types de contenants ou de peinture;
4°  la description du système de récupération par lequel il récupère ou fait récupérer les produits concernés, notamment le nombre, la catégorie et la localisation des points de collecte, les nom et adresse du responsable de ce système s’il s’agit d’un tiers, ainsi que les modalités de transport, d’entreposage et de traitement des produits récupérés, selon les différents types de contenants et de peinture;
5°  une description des campagnes d’information et des autres mesures prévues pour promouvoir auprès des consommateurs la récupération et la valorisation des produits concernés et obtenir leur concours;
6°  la présentation des moyens mis en oeuvre pour la valorisation des produits récupérés, entre autres les modes de valorisation retenus, les nom et adresse du responsable de la valorisation s’il s’agit d’un tiers, les efforts projetés pour développer des marchés ou techniques de valorisation ou encore des débouchés pour des produits valorisés;
7°  la présentation des modes d’élimination envisagés pour les peintures récupérées qui ne sont pas valorisées, s’il en est, en indiquant les nom et adresse du responsable de l’élimination s’il s’agit d’un tiers.
D. 655-2000, a. 8.
9. Au plus tard le 31 mars de chaque année, l’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti à l’obligation de récupération prévue à l’article 3 doit communiquer au ministre, pour l’année civile précédente, les informations suivantes
1°  pour chaque type de contenants et de peinture mis sur le marché, les quantités, en poids ou volume, qui ont été récupérées et par la suite, valorisées ou, s’il en est, les quantités de peinture qui ont été éliminées faute d’alternatives de valorisation, avec l’indication des modes de valorisation ou d’élimination retenus;
2°  les moyens pris pour promouvoir le développement de techniques de valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures récupérés, particulièrement à des fins de réemploi et de recyclage, et les résultats des recherches effectuées;
3°  la description des campagnes d’information effectuées ainsi que des autres mesures prises pour promouvoir la récupération et la valorisation des contenants de peinture et des peintures qui sont mis au rebut;
4°  les coûts engendrés par la mise en oeuvre du système de récupération et des moyens de valorisation de même que ceux découlant de la réalisation des campagnes d’information et des autres mesures prises pour promouvoir la récupération et la valorisation des produits concernés;
5°  la mise à jour, s’il y a lieu, des informations transmises au ministre en application de l’article 8.
Les informations visées aux paragraphes 1, 2 et 4 ci-dessus doivent être vérifiées par un tiers expert, qui atteste, le cas échéant, leur véracité. Cette attestation doit accompagner les informations transmises au ministre.
En outre, les données annualisées de l’entreprise ou du fournisseur sur les quantités de contenants et de peinture mis sur le marché, selon les différents types de contenants et de peinture, doivent être tenues à la disposition du ministre.
D. 655-2000, a. 9.
10. Est exempté des obligations prescrites par les articles 3 à 9 l’entreprise ou le fournisseur qui est membre d’un organisme:
1°  dont la fonction ou une des fonctions est soit de mettre en oeuvre un système de récupération et de valorisation des contenants de peinture ou des peintures qui sont mis au rebut, soit de soutenir financièrement la mise en oeuvre d’un tel système et ce, conformément aux conditions fixées par une entente conclue en vertu du paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa de l’article 53.30 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q-2);
2°  dont le nom figure sur la liste publiée à la Gazette officielle du Québec conformément au paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa de l’article 53.30 de cette Loi.
D. 655-2000, a. 10; L.Q. 2002, c. 59, a. 10.
11. Toute infraction aux dispositions des articles 3 à 7 rend le contrevenant passible:
1°  s’il s’agit d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 2 000 $ à 25 000 $;
2°  s’il s’agit d’une personne morale, d’une amende de 5 000 $ à 250 000 $.
D. 655-2000, a. 11.
12. Quiconque fait défaut de communiquer au ministre une information dont la communication est prescrite par les articles 8 ou 9, ou communique une information fausse ou inexacte, est passible:
1°  s’il s’agit d’une personne physique, d’une amende de 1 000 $ à 10 000 $;
2°  s’il s’agit d’une personne morale, d’une amende de 2 000 $ à 50 000 $.
D. 655-2000, a. 12.
13. En cas de récidive, les amendes prévues aux articles 11 et 12 sont portées au double.
D. 655-2000, a. 13.
14. (Omis).
D. 655-2000, a. 14.
ANNEXE
(a. 3)
Le système de récupération mentionné à l’article 3 doit être établi de manière à offrir un service de récupération aux habitants de chaque communauté métropolitaine ou municipalité régionale de comté située au sud du 51e parallèle, à l’exclusion des territoires non organisés, dans laquelle une entreprise ou un fournisseur met sur le marché des peintures.
Ce système de récupération doit comporter des points de collecte où peuvent être rapportés gratuitement les contenants de peinture qui sont de même type que ceux commercialisés par l’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti au présent règlement, de même que, le cas échéant, les peintures qui se trouvent dans ces contenants.
Le nombre minimal de points de collecte que doit comporter le système de récupération ainsi que leur catégorie et leur localisation sont déterminés en fonction de l’option retenue par l’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti.
Les catégories de points de collecte que peut prévoir un système de récupération sont les suivantes:
Catégorie A: chaque point de collecte est constitué d’un dépôt fixe et permanent, accessible à l’année aux heures d’affaires et pendant une période minimale de 24 heures par semaine dont au moins 6 heures durant la fin de semaine.
Catégorie B: chaque point de collecte est constitué d’un dépôt fixe ou d’une unité mobile, accessible au moins 10 jours par année, dont au moins 1 journée par saison, à raison d’un minimum de 8 heures par jour; de plus, au moins la moitié de ces jours doivent être un samedi ou un dimanche.
OPTIONS AU CHOIX DE L’ENTREPRISE OU DU FOURNISSEUR
(nombre, catégorie et localisation des points de collecte)
Option 1
Pour chaque commerce d’une municipalité locale qui offre en vente des peintures de la marque de commerce dont est propriétaire ou utilisateur l’entreprise ou le fournisseur assujetti, il doit y avoir un point de collecte situé sur le territoire de cette municipalité. La catégorie et la localisation de ces points de collecte sont déterminées en fonction du nombre d’habitants de la municipalité locale concernée, conformément aux prescriptions énoncées dans le tableau ci-dessous.

______________________________________________________

Municipalités locales Catégorie et localisation
(population) des points de collecte

______________________________________________________

<15 000 1 point de collecte de
catégorie A ou B localisé
à chacun des commerces ou
à moins de 20 km, par voie
routière carrossable à
l’année, de chacun de ces
commerces.
______________________________________________________

≥15 000 1 point de collecte de
catégorie A localisé à
chacun des commerces ou à
moins de 10 km, par voie
routière carrossable à
l’année, de chacun de ces
commerces.
______________________________________________________
Option 2
Pour chaque municipalité locale faisant partie d’une communauté métropolitaine ou d’une municipalité régionale de comté pour laquelle un système de récupération doit être établi, le nombre et la catégorie des points de collecte sont déterminés en fonction du nombre d’habitants de la municipalité locale concernée, conformément aux prescriptions énoncées dans le tableau ci-dessous.
Les points de collecte doivent être situés sur le territoire de la municipalité locale, sauf pour celle dont la population n’excède pas 5 000 habitants; dans ce cas, le point de collecte peut être situé ou non sur le territoire de la municipalité locale, pourvu qu’il soit localisé à moins de 50 km, par voie routière carrossable à l’année, de la mairie de cette municipalité.

______________________________________________________

Municipalités locales Nombre et catégorie
(population) des points de collecte

______________________________________________________

≥100 et <5 000 1 point de collecte
de catégorie A ou B

≥5 000 et <15 000 1 point de collecte
de catégorie B

≥15 000 et <30 000 1 point de collecte
de catégorie A

≥30 000 et <60 000 1 point de collecte
de catégorie A et un point
de collecte de catégorie B
______________________________________________________

2 points de collecte de
catégorie A plus:

· 1 point de collecte
de catégorie A pour chaque
tranche ou partie de
tranche supplémentaire de
40 000 habitants, jusqu’à
concurrence de 20 points
de collecte;
≥60 000 ou
· 1 point de collecte
de catégorie B pour chaque
tranche ou partie de
tranche supplémentaire de
20 000 habitants, jusqu’à
concurrence de 30 points de
collecte.
______________________________________________________
D. 655-2000, Ann.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 655-2000, 2000 G.O. 2, 3448
L.Q. 2002, c. 59, a. 10
L.Q. 2010, c. 7, a. 282
L.Q. 2010, c. 40, a. 92