P-40.1, r. 4 - Order in council respecting the application of rules of conduct to used automobile merchants

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-40.1, r. 4
Order in council respecting the application of rules of conduct to used automobile merchants
CONSUMER PROTECTION — RULES — CONDUCT TO USED AUTOMOBILE MERCHANTS
Consumer Protection Act
(chapter P-40.1, s. 315.1)
P-40.1
September 1 2012
1. The application of the provisions to be complied with by all used automobile merchants, attached as a Schedule to this Order in Council, is extended to all used automobile merchants, for all the territory of Québec.
O.C. 1138-2006, s. 1.
2. (Omitted).
O.C. 1138-2006, s. 2.
PROVISIONS TO BE COMPLIED WITH BY ALL USED AUTOMOBILE MERCHANTS
(1) Advertise only the used automobiles available and ready for sale or long-term lease at the time the advertisement order is placed. In the advertisement, the merchant undertakes to indicate the number of automobiles advertised in the merchant’s possession at the time the advertisement order is placed.
(2) State in its advertisements and post in its establishments a selling price, or a retail value if a long-term lease is offered, that includes all costs other than the Québec Sales Tax (QST) and the Goods and Services Tax (GST) to be paid on the purchase of the used automobile. The selling price or the retail value, excluding taxes, may be increased only if goods or services are added at the consumer’s request and only for an amount equal to the price of added goods or services.
(3) State in a predominant manner, in all advertising of a used automobile, the selling price or retail value, excluding the Québec Sales Tax (QST) and the Goods and Services Tax (GST), and the number of kilometres actually travelled.
(4) State, if the merchant advertises used automobiles for sale or long-term lease by lot, the highest asking price, excluding the Québec Sales Tax (QST) and the Goods and Services Tax (GST), or, as applicable, the highest asking retail value among all the automobiles in the lot. The price or retail value must be in characters as large and visible as any other price or retail value advertised for any other automobile in the lot.
(5) State the highest number of kilometres actually travelled among all the automobiles in a lot, if the merchant advertises used automobiles for sale or long-term lease by lot. That number must be in characters as large and visible as the number shown for any other automobile in the lot.
(6) Not use, in connection with the used automobile trade, the terms “wholesaler” or “auction sale” or the expression “seizure liquidation”, unless the merchant can show that
(a) it represents the merchant’s main commercial activity;
(b) the merchant stated at the time of the representations made to the consumer that the merchant does not usually act as a wholesaler, auctioneer or liquidator, and was not advertising such an activity, or that those facts are clearly evident from the representations and context in which the representations were made; or
(c) the term “auction sale” or the expression “seizure liquidation” was used to advertise the holding of an auction sale or a seizure liquidation at the date, time and place stated in the advertisement.
(7) Not use expressions such as “Factory returns” or “Direct from the factory” or an expression in which “manufacturer”, “automobile-maker” or “car-maker” is substituted for “factory”, unless the merchant is able to prove that claim.
(8) Not make representations that may reasonably lead consumers to believe that an auction sale is to be held, in particular by using a sound or visual recording of a real or fictitious auction sale, unless it can be shown that
(a) the merchant is an auctioneer and it is the merchant’s main commercial activity;
(b) the merchant stated at the time of the representations made to the consumer that the merchant does not usually act as an auctioneer and was not advertising an auction sale, or that those facts are clearly evident from the representations and context in which the representations were made; or
(c) the merchant was advertising the holding of an auction sale, and the date, time and place of the auction sale are stated in the same representations.
(9) Not include illegible text in advertising used automobiles or the used automobile trade.
(10) Use, in advertising used automobiles, only a current photograph or video of the advertised automobile that is a true representation of the automobile for sale.
(11) Allow consumers to road test any used automobile offered for sale or long-term lease.
(12) Before the purchase or long-term lease of a used automobile, allow the consumer to have the automobile inspected by any technician of the consumer’s choice located at a reasonable distance from the merchant’s establishment. The merchant undertakes not to charge a fee and to allow the automobile to be driven to the place of inspection. Should the merchant not allow the automobile to be driven to the place of inspection, the merchant undertakes to bear the cost of transporting the automobile to that place.
(13) Give the consumer, at any time and on request by the consumer, a copy of the contracts, the label and any other document relating to the sale or long-term lease of a used automobile, and documents relating to warranties and extended warranties offered.
(14) (Revoked).
(15) State, in advertising the sale or long-term lease of a rebuilt automobile, that the advertised automobile is a rebuilt automobile, regardless of whether that fact must appear on the automobile’s registration certificate.
(16) Reimburse the Office de la protection du consommateur for the costs of investigations or inspections made under the president’s authority pursuant to the president’s powers under the Consumer Protection Act (chapter P-40.1) to verify compliance with this voluntary undertaking, up to a maximum of
(1) $300 for a first investigation or inspection;
(2) $1,200 for a second investigation or inspection if made within 6 months of a notice given by the president stating that the first investigation or inspection revealed a breach of this voluntary undertaking.
Exemptions
(17) The merchant may be exempted from the requirements of sections 11 and 12 if a used automobile is unfit to be driven, is offered for sale to be rebuilt or is offered for sale for parts. The merchant must in such cases obtain an attestation, written in its entirety and signed by the consumer, stating that the consumer has been informed by the merchant that the automobile is unfit to be driven, that it is being sold to be rebuilt or that it is being sold for parts.
(18) The merchant may be exempted from the requirement of section 11 and may refuse to allow the consumer to drive the automobile to have it inspected as provided in section 12, if the consumer cannot demonstrate to the merchant that he or she holds a valid driver’s licence.
O.C. 1138-2006, Sch; O.C. 1142-2011, s. 1.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1138-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 4083
O.C. 1142-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 3270

P-40.1, r. 4 - Décret concernant l’application de règles de conduite aux commerçants d’automobiles d’occasion

Texte complet
chapitre P-40.1, r. 4
Décret concernant l’application de règles de conduite aux commerçants d’automobiles d’occasion
PROTECTION DU CONSOMMATEUR — RÈGLES — COMMERÇANTS AUTOMOBILES D’OCCASION
Loi sur la protection du consommateur
(chapitre P-40.1, a. 315.1).
P-40.1
1er septembre 2012
1. L’application des dispositions auxquelles doivent se conformer tous les commerçants d’automobiles d’occasion annexées au présent décret est étendue à tous les commerçants d’automobiles d’occasion, pour l’ensemble du territoire du Québec.
D. 1138-2006, a. 1.
2. (Omis).
D. 1138-2006, a. 2.
DISPOSITIONS AUXQUELLES DOIVENT SE CONFORMER TOUS LES COMMERÇANTS D’AUTOMOBILES D’OCCASION
1. Annoncer uniquement des automobiles d’occasion disponibles et prêtes à la vente ou à la location à long terme, au moment où l’annonce est commandée. De plus, le commerçant s’engage à indiquer dans l’annonce la quantité d’automobiles annoncées qu’il possède au moment où l’annonce est commandée.
2. Annoncer, tant dans la publicité que dans les établissements du commerçant, un prix de vente, ou une valeur au détail lorsque l’automobile d’occasion annoncée est offerte en location à long terme, qui comprend tous les frais, à l’exception de la Taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) et de la Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), devant être payés pour obtenir l’automobile d’occasion. Le prix de vente ou la valeur au détail, à l’exclusion des taxes, ne pourra être augmenté que si des produits ou services sont ajoutés à la demande du consommateur et uniquement pour une somme égale au prix des produits ou services ajoutés.
3. Indiquer de façon prédominante le prix de vente ou la valeur au détail, excluant la Taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) et la Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), et le kilométrage effectivement parcouru dans toute annonce portant sur une automobile d’occasion.
4. Indiquer le prix de vente, excluant la Taxe de vente du Québec (TVQ) et la Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS), le plus élevé demandé, ou, selon le cas, la valeur au détail la plus élevée demandée, parmi les automobiles faisant partie d’un lot, lorsque le commerçant annonce un lot d’automobiles d’occasion à vendre ou à louer à long terme. Ce prix ou cette valeur au détail doit être en caractères aussi importants et visibles que tout autre prix ou valeur au détail annoncés pour les autres automobiles faisant partie de ce lot.
5. Indiquer le kilométrage effectivement parcouru le plus élevé parmi les automobiles faisant partie d’un lot, lorsque le commerçant annonce un lot d’automobiles d’occasion à vendre ou à louer à long terme. Ce kilométrage doit être en caractères aussi importants et visibles que tout autre kilométrage indiqué pour les autres automobiles faisant partie de ce lot.
6. Ne pas utiliser, dans le cadre du commerce d’automobiles d’occasion, les termes «Grossiste» ou «Encan» ou l’expression «Liquidation de saisie» à moins qu’il ne puisse démontrer:
a) soit qu’il s’agit de sa principale activité commerciale;
b) soit qu’il a mentionné, au moment de la représentation faite au consommateur, qu’il n’agit pas habituellement à titre de grossiste, d’encanteur ou de liquidateur de saisie et qu’il n’annonçait pas alors une telle activité; ou que ces faits ressortent clairement de la représentation et du contexte dans lequel celle-ci a été faite;
c) soit qu’il utilisait le terme «Encan» ou l’expression «Liquidation de saisie» pour annoncer la tenue d’une vente aux enchères ou d’une liquidation de saisie à la date, à l’heure et au lieu indiqué dans l’annonce.
7. Ne pas non plus utiliser des expressions comme «Retours des fabricants d’automobiles» ou «Directement du fabricant» ou une expression substituant le terme «fabricant» par le terme «constructeur» ou «manufacturier», ou substituant le terme «automobiles» par le terme «autos» ou «voitures», à moins qu’il ne puisse démontrer la véracité de cette représentation.
8. Ne pas faire de représentations pouvant raisonnablement laisser croire à la tenue d’une vente aux enchères, notamment en utilisant l’enregistrement sonore ou visuel d’une vente aux enchères réelle ou fictive, à moins qu’il ne puisse démontrer:
a) soit qu’il est un encanteur et qu’il s’agit de sa principale activité commerciale;
b) soit qu’il a mentionné, au moment de la représentation faite au consommateur, qu’il n’agit pas habituellement à titre d’encanteur et qu’il n’annonçait pas la tenue d’une vente aux enchères ou que ces faits ressortent clairement de la représentation et du contexte dans lequel celle-ci a été faite;
c) soit qu’il annonçait la tenue d’une vente aux enchères dont la date, l’heure et le lieu sont indiqués dans le cadre de la même représentation.
9. Ne pas inclure de mentions illisibles dans un message publicitaire portant sur une automobile d’occasion ou sur le commerce d’automobiles d’occasion.
10. Utiliser, dans une annonce portant sur une automobile d’occasion, uniquement une photo ou une vidéo de l’automobile annoncée qui soit contemporaine à l’annonce et qui constitue une représentation fidèle de l’automobile offerte.
11. Permettre au consommateur de faire l’essai routier de toute automobile d’occasion offerte en vente ou en location à long terme.
12. Permettre au consommateur de faire procéder, avant l’achat ou la location à long terme d’une automobile d’occasion, à l’inspection de l’automobile par un technicien choisi par le consommateur, situé à une distance raisonnable de l’établissement du commerçant. Le commerçant s’engage à n’exiger aucuns frais et à permettre que l’automobile soit conduite au lieu de l’inspection. À défaut pour le commerçant de permettre que l’automobile soit conduite au lieu de l’inspection, il s’engage à assumer les frais de transport de l’automobile à ce lieu.
13. Remettre au consommateur, en tout temps et sur simple demande du consommateur, une copie des contrats, de l’étiquette ainsi que tout autre document pertinent aux transactions à intervenir quant à la vente ou la location à long terme d’une automobile d’occasion, notamment les documents relatifs aux garanties et garanties supplémentaires offertes.
14. (Abrogé).
15. Indiquer, dans toute annonce portant sur la vente ou la location d’une automobile reconstruite, le fait qu’il s’agit d’une automobile reconstruite, sans égard au fait que cette mention doive ou non apparaître au certificat d’immatriculation de l’automobile.
16. Rembourser à l’Office de la protection du consommateur les frais des enquêtes ou inspections effectuées sous l’autorité du président, en vertu des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur la protection du consommateur (chapitre P-40.1), pour vérifier le respect du présent engagement volontaire jusqu’à concurrence de:
1. 300 $ lors d’une première enquête ou inspection;
2. 1 200 $ lors d’une deuxième enquête ou inspection si celle-ci est effectuée dans les 6 mois suivant un avis donné par le président qu’une première enquête ou inspection a révélé une infraction au présent engagement volontaire.
Exemptions
17. Le commerçant peut s’exempter des obligations prévues aux articles 11 et 12 si une automobile d’occasion est inapte à circuler, si elle est offerte en vente pour être reconstruite, ou si elle est offerte en vente pour ses pièces. Le commerçant doit alors obtenir une attestation, écrite en entier par le consommateur et signée par ce dernier, qu’il a été informé par le commerçant que l’automobile n’est pas apte à circuler, qu’elle est vendue pour être reconstruite ou qu’elle est vendue pour les pièces.
18. Le commerçant est exempté de l’obligation prévue à l’article 11 et peut refuser au consommateur de conduire lui-même l’automobile afin de faire procéder à l’inspection prévue à l’article 12 si le consommateur ne démontre pas au commerçant qu’il est titulaire d’un permis de conduire valide.
D. 1138-2006, Ann; D. 1142-2011, a. 1.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1138-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 5851
D. 1142-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 5067