P-38.0001, r. 1 - Regulation respecting the exclusion of certain premises and certain means of transportation and respecting the exemption of certain persons

Full text
chapter P-38.0001, r. 1
Regulation respecting the exclusion of certain premises and certain means of transportation and respecting the exemption of certain persons
EXCLUSION OF CERTAIN PREMISES — CERTAIN MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION AND EXEMPTION
Act to protect persons with regard to activities involving firearms
(chapter P-38.0001, ss. 1 and 3).
P-38.0001
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
HOME CHILDCARE
1. A residence in which home childcare is provided and in which a firearm, within the meaning of the Firearms Act (S.C. 1995, c. 39) and its regulations, is kept is excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act to protect persons with regard to activities involving firearms (chapter P-38.0001) in respect of the person responsible for the childcare, whether the person is recognized or not as a home childcare provider under the Educational Childcare Act (chapter S-4.1.1), and the persons living in the residence, provided that,
(1)  in the case of the person recognized as a childcare provider, the person complies with the provisions of the regulation made under that Act; and
(2)  in the case of a person who is not recognized under that Act,
(a)  the person gives a written notice to the parents to whom the childcare is offered that a firearm is kept in the residence in which the childcare is provided;
(b)  the person sends a copy of the notice to the Minister of Public Security or the person designated by the Minister, along with a copy of the registration certificate for the firearm or the registration number assigned to the firearm under the Firearms Registration Act (chapter I-0.01). The copy of the notice must be signed by the parents to attest that they have been made aware of it; and
(c)  the firearm is stored out of sight and reach of the children.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 1; 1197-2017O.C. 1197-2017, s. 1.
2. The residence where home childcare is provided is also excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act, in respect of guests who are staying in the residence temporarily, when such accommodation is necessary to allow the guests to get to the premises where the sport activities involving the use of firearms are to be carried on. The exclusion is valid only to the extent that the person responsible for the childcare ensures that the firearms are stored out of sight and reach of the children.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 2.
DIVISION II
TRAINING PROVIDED BY INSTITUTIONS DESIGNATED IN SECTION 1 OF THE ACT
3. Instructors who provide training involving the handling of firearms and students who receive such training are exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act if, for the training, they use certain premises of the institutions designated in section 1 of the Act, insofar as the institutions hold a business licence issued under the Firearms Act (S.C. 1995, c. 39).
O.C. 773-2008, s. 3.
4. The premises of the institutions referred to in section 3 used for the storage of firearms belonging to the institution or brought to the institution by the instructor or the enrolled students are also excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 4.
5. Firearms transported to or from the training premises of an institution referred to in section 3 or transported to the storage location must be unloaded, be rendered inoperable by means of a secure locking device or by the removal of the bolt or bolt-carrier, and be placed in a securely locked opaque container designed in a manner that it cannot readily be broken open or into.
Ammunition must be placed in a separate container.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 5.
6. The institutions referred to in section 3 must issue a photo identification card to the students attesting to their enrolment in the training program and specifying their student number and the duration of the training program. They must also issue such a card to the instructor who provides the training.
The instructors and the students must carry the card on them and may move about the premises of the institution with firearms only to access and leave the training premises or to access the storage location.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 6.
DIVISION III
TRAINING PROVIDED BY SÉCURITÉ NATURE AND THE FÉDÉRATION QUÉBÉCOISE DE TIR
7. Instructors certified by Sécurité nature and the Fédération québécoise de tir who provide training in the safe handling of firearms on premises reserved for that purpose at institutions designated in section 1 of the Act and students attending such training are exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act, for the duration of the training only.
Firearms used during the training must be deactivated and real ammunition may not be used.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 7.
8. Instructors certified by Sécurité nature and the Fédération québécoise du tir are also exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act in respect of the use of buses, shuttles, trains, aircraft or ferry boats if no other means of transportation can be used to get to the premises where training in the safe handling of firearms is provided, whether the premises are those of a designated institution or not.
Firearms transported to or from the training premises must be placed in a securely locked opaque container designed in a manner that it cannot readily be broken open or into.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 8.
DIVISION IV
FOREST PREMISES AT THE DISPOSAL OF AN INSTITUTION DESIGNATED IN SECTION 1 OF THE ACT
9. Forest premises at the disposal of an institution designated in section 1 of the Act and where hunting or trapping is permitted are excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act during hunting and trapping seasons for the sole purposes of those activities.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 9.
DIVISION V
BIATHLON ACTIVITIES
10. Instructors certified by the Association des clubs de biathlon du Québec who hold biathlon activities and athletes who participate in those activities are exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act if, for those activities, they use certain premises of the institutions designated in section 1 of the Act, for the duration of those activities only.
Any person who assists the instructors in the course of those activities benefits from the same exemption.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 10.
DIVISION VI
STORAGE LOCATIONS AND SHOOTING RANGE
11. The premises of a designated institution that holds a business licence, other than the institutions referred to in section 3, are excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act if they are used solely for the storage of firearms.
Persons authorized to access such locations are exempt from the application of that provision.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 11.
12. The premises of an institution designated in section 1 of the Act used to store firearms used by cadet organizations under the control and supervision of the Canadian Forces are excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act.
Projectiles must be stored in premises other than the institution’s premises.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 12.
13. The premises of the shooting ranges at École Saint-Dominique-Savio in Chapais and Cité étudiante Polyno in La Sarre are excluded from the application of section 2 of the Act if they are used solely at times when the students who normally attend the school are not present.
Persons who use the shooting range are exempt from the application of that provision.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 13.
DIVISION VII
USE OF CERTAIN MEANS OF PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION
14. Holders of a licence authorizing the possession of firearms issued under the Firearms Act (S.C. 1995, c. 39) are exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act, in respect of the use of buses, shuttles, trains, aircraft and ferry boats, to carry on any activity permitted by the law and, without restricting the generality of the foregoing, to participate in hunting or trapping activities, a target shooting practice or competition or a gun show, to acquire or transfer a firearm, or to see to the repair or maintenance of a firearm.
That exemption applies only to the extent that the licence holders must use one of those means of transportation on account of their personal situation or the activity in which they want to participate.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 14.
15. Firearms transported in that manner must be unloaded, be rendered inoperable by means of a secure locking device or by the removal of the bolt or bolt-carrier, and be placed in a securely locked opaque container designed in a manner that it cannot readily be broken open or into.
Ammunition must be placed in a separate container.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 15.
DIVISION VIII
USE OF CHARTERED MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION
16. Holders of a licence authorizing the possession of firearms issued under the Firearms Act (S.C. 1995, c. 39) are exempt from the application of section 2 of the Act, in respect of the use of chartered transportation, if that means of transportation is reserved exclusively for a group, to carry on any activity permitted by the law, in particular to participate in hunting or trapping activities or a target shooting practice or competition.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 16.
17. Firearms transported in that manner must be unloaded, be rendered inoperable by means of a secure locking device or by the removal of the bolt or bolt-carrier, and be placed in a securely locked opaque container designed in a manner that it cannot readily be broken open or into.
Ammunition must be placed in a separate container.
O.C. 773-2008, s. 17.
DIVISION IX
COMING INTO FORCE
18. (Omitted).
O.C. 773-2008, s. 18.
REFERENCES
O.C. 773-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 3203
O.C. 1197-2017, 2017 G.O. 2, 3858

P-38.0001, r. 1 - Règlement sur l’exclusion de certains lieux et de certains moyens de transport ainsi que sur l’exemption de certaines personnes

Texte complet
chapitre P-38.0001, r. 1
Règlement sur l’exclusion de certains lieux et de certains moyens de transport ainsi que sur l’exemption de certaines personnes
EXCLUSION DE CERTAINS LIEUX — CERTAINS MOYENS DE TRANSPORT ET EXEMPTION
Loi visant à favoriser la protection des personnes à l’égard d’une activité impliquant des armes à feu
(chapitre P-38.0001, a. 1 et 3)
P-38.0001
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
SERVICES DE GARDE EN MILIEU FAMILIAL
1. La résidence où sont fournis des services de garde en milieu familial et qui abrite une arme à feu, au sens de la Loi sur les armes à feu (L.C. 1995, c. 39) et de ses règlements d’application, est exclue de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi visant à favoriser la protection des personnes à l’égard d’une activité impliquant des armes à feu (chapitre P-38.0001), à l’égard de la personne responsable de ces services, qu’elle soit ou non reconnue à ce titre en vertu de la Loi sur les services de garde éducatifs à l’enfance (chapitre S-4.1.1), et des personnes qui y résident, pourvu que:
1°  dans le cas de la personne reconnue à titre de responsable d’un service de garde, elle se conforme aux dispositions du règlement pris en application de cette dernière loi;
2°  dans le cas de la personne qui n’est pas reconnue en vertu de cette loi:
a)  elle avise par écrit les parents à qui elle offre des services de garde du fait que la résidence où ces services sont fournis abrite une arme à feu;
b)  elle transmette copie de cet avis portant la signature des parents laquelle atteste qu’ils en ont pris connaissance et du certificat d’enregistrement de cette arme à feu au ministre de la Sécurité publique ou à la personne qu’il désigne;
c)  l’arme à feu soit remisée hors de la vue et de la portée des enfants.
D. 773-2008, a. 1.
2. La résidence où sont fournis des services de garde en milieu familial est également exclue de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi, à l’égard des invités qui y sont hébergés passagèrement, lorsque requis pour leur permettre d’accéder aux lieux où ils entendent exercer leurs activités sportives impliquant l’utilisation d’armes à feu. Cette exclusion vaut dans la mesure seulement où la personne responsable des services de garde s’assure que les armes à feu sont remisées hors de la vue et de la portée des enfants.
D. 773-2008, a. 2.
SECTION II
FORMATION DISPENSÉE PAR DES INSTITUTIONS DÉSIGNÉES À L’ARTICLE 1 DE LA LOI
3. Les instructeurs qui dispensent une formation impliquant le maniement d’armes à feu ainsi que les étudiants qui assistent à une telle formation sont exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi lorsqu’ils utilisent, pour cette formation, certains lieux des institutions désignées à l’article 1 de la Loi, dans la mesure où ces institutions sont titulaires d’un permis d’entreprise délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu (L.C. 1995, c. 39).
D. 773-2008, a. 3.
4. Les lieux des institutions visées à l’article 3 servant à l’entreposage des armes à feu appartenant à l’institution ou apportées par l’instructeur ou par les étudiants inscrits sont également exclus de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi.
D. 773-2008, a. 4.
5. Les armes à feu transportées pour se rendre au lieu de formation d’une institution visée à l’article 3 et pour le quitter, ou pour accéder au lieu d’entreposage, doivent être déchargées et rendues inopérantes par un dispositif de verrouillage sécuritaire, ou par l’enlèvement de leur verrou ou de leur glissière, et rangées dans un contenant opaque bien verrouillé et conçu de sorte qu’il ne puisse être forcé facilement.
Les munitions doivent être placées dans un contenant distinct, le cas échéant.
D. 773-2008, a. 5.
6. Les institutions visées à l’article 3 doivent délivrer aux étudiants inscrits à la formation une carte d’identité avec photo, attestant leur inscription et précisant leur numéro d’étudiant ainsi que la période du programme de formation. Elles doivent également délivrer une telle carte à l’instructeur qui dispense cette formation.
Les instructeurs et les étudiants doivent avoir cette carte avec eux et ne peuvent circuler sur les lieux de l’institution avec des armes à feu que pour se rendre au lieu de formation et pour le quitter, ou pour accéder au lieu d’entreposage.
D. 773-2008, a. 6.
SECTION III
FORMATION DISPENSÉE PAR SÉCURITÉ NATURE ET LA FÉDÉRATION QUÉBÉCOISE DE TIR
7. Les instructeurs reconnus par Sécurité nature et la Fédération québécoise de tir qui dispensent une formation sur le maniement sécuritaire d’armes à feu, dans des lieux réservés à cette fin par des institutions désignées à l’article 1 de la Loi, ainsi que les étudiants qui assistent à une telle formation, sont exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi, pour la durée de cette formation seulement.
Les armes à feu utilisées au cours de cette formation doivent être désactivées et aucune véritable munition ne peut être utilisée.
D. 773-2008, a. 7.
8. Les instructeurs reconnus par Sécurité nature et la Fédération québécoise de tir sont également exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi à l’égard de l’utilisation d’autocars, de navettes, de trains, d’aéronefs ou de traversiers, lorsque aucun autre moyen de transport ne permet de se rendre aux lieux d’une institution désignée ou non, où la formation sur le maniement sécuritaire d’armes à feu est dispensée.
Les armes à feu transportées pour se rendre aux lieux de formation ou pour les quitter doivent être rangées dans un contenant opaque bien verrouillé et conçu de sorte qu’il ne puisse être forcé facilement.
D. 773-2008, a. 8.
SECTION IV
LIEUX D’UNE FORÊT DONT DISPOSE UNE INSTITUTION DÉSIGNÉE À L’ARTICLE 1 DE LA LOI
9. Les lieux d’une forêt dont dispose une institution désignée à l’article 1 de la Loi et sur lesquels la chasse ou le piégeage est permis sont exclus de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi durant les périodes de chasse et de piégeage et uniquement aux fins de l’exercice de ces activités.
D. 773-2008, a. 9.
SECTION V
ACTIVITÉS DE BIATHLON
10. Les entraîneurs reconnus par l’Association des clubs de biathlon du Québec qui tiennent des activités de biathlon ainsi que les athlètes qui participent à ces activités sont exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi lorsqu’ils utilisent, pour ces activités, certains lieux des institutions désignées à l’article 1 de la Loi, pour la durée de ces activités seulement.
Les personnes qui assistent, le cas échéant, ces entraîneurs dans le déroulement de ces activités, bénéficient de cette même exemption.
D. 773-2008, a. 10.
SECTION VI
LIEUX D’ENTREPOSAGE ET CHAMP DE TIR
11. Les lieux d’une institution désignée titulaire d’un permis d’entreprise, autre que celles visées à l’article 3, qui servent exclusivement à l’entreposage d’armes à feu sont exclus de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi.
Les personnes qui sont autorisées à accéder à de tels lieux sont exemptées de l’application de cette même disposition.
D. 773-2008, a. 11.
12. Les lieux d’une institution désignée à l’article 1 de la Loi servant à l’entreposage des armes à feu qui sont utilisés par les organisations de cadets sous l’autorité et le commandement des Forces canadiennes sont exclus de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi.
Les projectiles doivent être entreposés en d’autres lieux que ceux de cette institution.
D. 773-2008, a. 12.
13. Les lieux de l’École Saint-Dominique Savio à Chapais et de la Cité étudiante Polyno à La Sarre qui abritent des champs de tir sont exclus de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi lorsqu’ils sont strictement utilisés en dehors de toute période pendant laquelle les élèves qui fréquentent habituellement l’école sont présents.
Les personnes qui utilisent ces champs de tir sont exemptées de l’application de cette même disposition.
D. 773-2008, a. 13.
SECTION VII
UTILISATION DE CERTAINS MOYENS DE TRANSPORT PUBLIC
14. Les titulaires d’un permis autorisant la possession d’armes à feu délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu (L.C. 1995, c. 39) sont exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi, à l’égard de l’utilisation d’autocars, de navettes, de trains, d’aéronefs ou de traversiers, pour exercer quelque activité que ce soit permise par la loi et, sans restreindre la généralité de ce qui précède, notamment pour participer à des activités de chasse ou de piégeage, à une pratique ou à une compétition de tir à la cible, à une exposition d’armes à feu, pour acquérir ou céder une arme à feu, pour voir à sa réparation ou à son entretien.
Cette exemption s’applique dans la mesure seulement où le titulaire d’un permis doit, compte tenu de sa situation personnelle ou de l’activité à laquelle il veut participer, utiliser l’un de ces moyens de transport public.
D. 773-2008, a. 14.
15. Les armes à feu ainsi transportées doivent être déchargées et rendues inopérantes par un dispositif de verrouillage sécuritaire, ou par l’enlèvement de leur verrou ou de leur glissière, et rangées dans un contenant opaque bien verrouillé et conçu de sorte qu’il ne puisse être forcé facilement.
Les munitions doivent être placées dans un contenant distinct.
D. 773-2008, a. 15.
SECTION VIII
UTILISATION DE MOYENS DE TRANSPORT NOLISÉ
16. Les titulaires d’un permis autorisant la possession d’armes à feu délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les armes à feu (L.C. 1995, c. 39) sont exemptés de l’application de l’article 2 de la Loi, à l’égard de l’utilisation d’un transport nolisé, lorsque ce moyen de transport est retenu en exclusivité par un groupe, afin d’exercer quelque activité que ce soit permise par la loi, notamment pour participer à une activité de chasse ou de piégeage, à une pratique ou à une compétition de tir à la cible.
D. 773-2008, a. 16.
17. Les armes à feu ainsi transportées doivent être déchargées et rendues inopérantes par un dispositif de verrouillage sécuritaire, ou par l’enlèvement de leur verrou ou de leur glissière, et rangées dans un contenant opaque bien verrouillé et conçu de sorte qu’il ne puisse être forcé facilement.
Les munitions doivent être placées dans un contenant distinct.
D. 773-2008, a. 17.
SECTION IX
ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR
18. (Omis).
D. 773-2008, a. 18.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 773-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 4511