P-34.1, r. 6 - Regulation respecting conditions applicable to the use of certain supervision measures

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-34.1, r. 6
Regulation respecting conditions applicable to the use of certain supervision measures
YOUTH PROTECTION — PLACEMENT — SUPERVISION
Youth Protection Act
(chapter P-34.1, s. 132).
P-34.1
September 1 2012
O.C. 899-2007; S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 103.
DIVISION I
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO PLACEMENT IN AN INTENSIVE SUPERVISION UNIT
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 104.
1. The decision of the executive director of an institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing concerning placement in an intensive supervision unit must be in writing and give reasons. The decision must be based on an assessment of the child’s situation that shows a serious risk that the child represents a danger to himself or herself or to others.
The assessment must be made with recognized clinical tools and consider
(1)  the gravity, intensity, level of dangerousness and recurrence of the child’s behaviour;
(2)  the characteristics of the child and of his or her environment;
(3)  the child’s background and the overall progress of the rehabilitation process;
(4)  the analysis of alternatives to such a placement; and
(5)  the child’s participation in his or her rehabilitation process.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 1; S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 105.
2. A child placed in an intensive supervision unit must receive rehabilitation services as well as services to ensure he or she receives schooling. Clinical support for the child must be sustained and personalized.
The intervention plan developed for the child must take the situation into account.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 2; S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 106.
3. The executive director of the institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing must reassess the child’s situation as soon as the child’s clinical situation so requires to ensure that the placement in the intensive supervision unit is still warranted.
The child cannot be maintained in the intensive supervision unit for a period exceeding 1 month without the advisability of doing so being reassessed.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 3; S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 107.
3.1. If, during reassessment of the child’s situation, the executive director of the institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing allows a child to carry out activities outside the intensive supervision unit during a transition period, that period may not exceed 5 consecutive days and the activities during that period are limited to 12 consecutive hours. The activities must, among other things, allow the child to test his or her progress in a less supervised environment than that of the intensive supervision unit and must facilitate his or her integration into or return to an open rehabilitation unit.
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 108.
4. The board of directors of every institution operating a rehabilitation centre must adopt a protocol for placement in an intensive supervision unit in its facilities in accordance with this Regulation.
The protocol must contain
(1)  a statement of the legal framework;
(2)  the guidelines and clinical and administrative processes; and
(3)  the required and recognized clinical tools, including the intensive supervision program orientation profile.
The executive director of the institution or the person the executive director authorizes must ensure that the protocol is complied with.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 4.
5. The child and the child’s parents must be informed of the reasons justifying the decision to place the child in an intensive supervision unit and the available remedies, including before the tribunal, in relation to that decision.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 5.
6. The executive director of the institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing must report to the board of directors every 3 months, or at the request of the board of directors, on the situations in which the executive director authorized placement in an intensive supervision unit.
The report must include, for the period concerned,
(1)  the number of placements in an intensive supervision unit;
(2)  the number of children who have been the subject of such a measure, broken down by age and gender;
(3)  the percentage of children placed in the institution’s facilities who have been the subject of such a measure;
(4)  the average number of placements in this type of unit per child who has been the subject of such a measure; and
(5)  the average length of placement in this type of unit.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 6; S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 109.
7. Unless authorized by the director of youth protection, no child under 14 years of age may be placed in an intensive supervision unit.
O.C. 899-2007, s. 7.
DIVISION II
CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO THE USE OF MEASURES INTENDED TO PREVENT A CHILD FROM LEAVING THE FACILITIES MAINTAINED BY THE INSTITUTION
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 110.
7.1. The decision of the executive director of an institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing to use a measure intended to prevent a child from leaving the facilities maintained by the institution must be in writing and give reasons. The decision must be based on an assessment of the child’s situation that shows there is reasonable cause to believe that the child is at risk of running away and thus placing himself or herself or others in danger, without the child’s situation warranting placement in an intensive supervision unit.
The assessment must be made with the same recognized clinical tools as those used to assess the situation of the child before placement in an intensive supervision unit.
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 110.
7.2. If a child is the subject of a measure intended to prevent him or her from leaving the facilities maintained by the institution, the child must receive rehabilitation services and services to ensure he or she receives schooling. Clinical support for the child must be adapted to the child’s needs.
The intervention plan developed for the child must take the situation into account.
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 110.
7.3. The executive director of the institution or the person the executive director authorizes in writing must reassess the child’s situation as soon as the child’s clinical situation so requires to ensure that the use of the measure intended to prevent him or her from leaving the facilities maintained by the institution is still warranted or that the child’s situation does not warrant placement in an intensive supervision unit.
The child may not be the subject of such a measure for a period exceeding 7 days without the measure’s advisability being reassessed.
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 110.
7.4. Sections 4, 5 and 6 apply, with the necessary modifications, to this division.
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, s. 110.
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 899-2007, s. 8.
REFERENCES
O.C. 899-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 2879
S.Q. 2017, c. 18, ss. 103 to 110

P-34.1, r. 6 - Règlement sur les conditions applicables au recours à certaines mesures d'encadrement

Texte complet
chapitre P-34.1, r. 6
Règlement sur les conditions applicables au recours à certaines mesures d'encadrement
PROTECTION DE LA JEUNESSE — HÉBERGEMENT — ENCADREMENT
Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse
(chapitre P-34.1, a. 132).
P-34.1
1er septembre 2012
D. 899-2007; L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 103.
SECTION I
CONDITIONS APPLICABLES AU RECOURS À L’HÉBERGEMENT EN UNITÉ D’ENCADREMENT INTENSIF
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 104.
1. La décision du directeur général d’un établissement ou de la personne qu’il autorise par écrit de recourir à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif doit être rendue par écrit et motivée. Elle doit s’appuyer sur une évaluation de la situation de l’enfant qui démontre qu’il y a un risque sérieux que cet enfant présente un danger pour lui-même ou pour autrui.
Cette évaluation doit s’effectuer à l’aide d’outils cliniques reconnus et doit considérer:
1°  la gravité, l’intensité, le degré de dangerosité et la récurrence des comportements de l’enfant;
2°  les caractéristiques de l’enfant et celles de son environnement;
3°  les antécédents de l’enfant et la progression d’ensemble de la démarche de réadaptation;
4°  l’analyse des alternatives à un tel hébergement;
5°  la participation de l’enfant à sa démarche de réadaptation.
D. 899-2007, a. 1; L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 105.
2. Lorsqu’un enfant fait l’objet d’un hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif, celui-ci doit bénéficier de services de réadaptation et de services visant à assurer son instruction. L’accompagnement clinique de l’enfant doit être soutenu et personnalisé.
Le plan d’intervention élaboré pour cet enfant doit tenir compte de cette situation.
D. 899-2007, a. 2; L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 106.
3. Le directeur général de l’établissement ou la personne qu’il autorise par écrit doit réévaluer la situation de l’enfant dès que l’évolution de la situation clinique de l’enfant le rend nécessaire afin de s’assurer que le recours à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif est toujours justifié.
L’enfant ne peut être maintenu dans une telle unité pour une période de plus d’un mois sans une réévaluation de son opportunité.
D. 899-2007, a. 3; L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 107.
3.1. Lorsque, dans le cadre de la réévaluation de la situation de l’enfant, le directeur général de l’établissement ou la personne qu’il autorise par écrit permet à l’enfant durant une période de transition de réaliser des activités en dehors de l’unité d’encadrement intensif, cette période ne peut excéder 5 jours consécutifs et les activités réalisées ne peuvent dépasser 12 heures consécutives. Les activités doivent notamment permettre de vérifier le maintien des acquis de l’enfant réalisés dans un contexte moins encadrant que celui de l’unité d’encadrement intensif et favoriser son intégration ou sa réintégration dans une unité de réadaptation ouverte.
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 108.
4. Le conseil d’administration de chaque établissement qui exploite un centre de réadaptation doit adopter un protocole sur le recours à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif dans ses installations en conformité avec le présent règlement.
Ce protocole doit contenir les informations suivantes:
1°  l’énoncé du cadre légal;
2°  les balises et les processus cliniques et administratifs;
3°  les outils cliniques requis et reconnus, notamment la grille d’orientation vers un programme d’encadrement intensif.
Le directeur général de l’établissement ou la personne qu’il autorise par écrit doit s’assurer du respect du protocole.
D. 899-2007, a. 4.
5. L’enfant et ses parents doivent être informés des motifs justifiant la décision de recourir à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif et des recours possibles, notamment devant le tribunal, à l’égard de cette décision.
D. 899-2007, a. 5.
6. Le directeur général de l’établissement ou la personne qu’il autorise par écrit doit rendre compte au conseil d’administration, à tous les 3 mois ou sur demande de ce dernier, des situations où il a eu recours à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif.
Ce compte rendu doit notamment contenir les informations suivantes pour la période concernée:
1°  le nombre d’hébergements en unité d’encadrement intensif;
2°  le nombre d’enfants ayant fait l’objet de cette mesure selon l’âge et le sexe;
3°  le pourcentage d’enfants ayant fait l’objet de cette mesure parmi l’ensemble des enfants hébergés dans les installations de l’établissement;
4°  le nombre moyen d’hébergements dans ce type d’unité par enfant ayant fait l’objet de cette mesure;
5°  la durée moyenne de l’hébergement dans ce type d’unité.
D. 899-2007, a. 6; L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 109.
7. À moins que le directeur de la protection de la jeunesse ne l’autorise lui-même, un enfant de moins de 14 ans ne peut faire l’objet d’un hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif.
D. 899-2007, a. 7.
SECTION II
CONDITIONS APPLICABLES AU RECOURS À LA MESURE VISANT À EMPÊCHER L’ENFANT DE QUITTER LES INSTALLATIONS MAINTENUES PAR L’ÉTABLISSEMENT
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 110.
7.1. La décision du directeur général d’un établissement ou de la personne qu’il autorise par écrit de recourir à la mesure visant à empêcher l’enfant de quitter les installations maintenues par l’établissement doit être rendue par écrit et motivée. Elle doit s’appuyer sur une évaluation de la situation de l’enfant qui démontre la présence de motifs raisonnables permettant de croire que l’enfant présente un risque de fugue pendant laquelle il pourrait se trouver dans une situation de danger pour lui-même ou pour autrui, sans toutefois que sa situation ne justifie un recours à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif.
Cette évaluation doit s’effectuer à l’aide des mêmes outils cliniques reconnus que ceux utilisés pour l’évaluation de la situation d’un enfant préalablement à son hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif.
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 110.
7.2. Lorsqu’un enfant fait l’objet d’une mesure visant à l’empêcher de quitter les installations maintenues par l’établissement, celui-ci doit bénéficier de services de réadaptation et de services visant à assurer son instruction. L’accompagnement clinique de l’enfant doit être adapté à ses besoins.
Le plan d’intervention élaboré pour cet enfant doit tenir compte de cette situation.
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 110.
7.3. Le directeur général de l’établissement ou la personne qu’il autorise par écrit doit réévaluer la situation de l’enfant dès que l’évolution de la situation clinique de ce dernier le rend nécessaire afin de s’assurer que le recours à la mesure visant à l’empêcher de quitter les installations maintenues par l’établissement est toujours justifié ou encore que la situation de l’enfant ne justifie pas un recours à l’hébergement en unité d’encadrement intensif.
L’enfant ne peut faire l’objet d’une telle mesure pour une période de plus de 7 jours sans une réévaluation de son opportunité.
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 110.
7.4. Les articles 4, 5 et 6 s’appliquent à la présente section, avec les adaptations nécessaires.
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 110.
8. (Omis).
D. 899-2007, a. 8.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 899-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 4333
L.Q. 2017, c. 18, a. 103 à 110