P-34.1, r. 5 - Regulation respecting financial assistance to facilitate tutorship to a child

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-34.1, r. 5
Regulation respecting financial assistance to facilitate tutorship to a child
YOUTH PROTECTION — FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE — TUTORSHIP
Youth Protection Act
(chapter P-34.1, s. 132).
P-34.1
January 1 2016
The amount prescribed in the Regulation have been indexed as of 1 January 2018. (s. 13; see I.N. 2018-01-01)
DIVISION I
APPLICATION FOR AND PAYMENT OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
1. A tutor referred to in section 70.2 of the Youth Protection Act (chapter P-34.1), must, in order to be granted financial assistance for the upkeep of a child under tutorship, submit an application to the institution operating a child and youth protection centre designated by the Minister, using the form provided by the institution, within 60 days following the date of the tutorship judgment.
The application must contain the following information and be accompanied by the following documents:
(1)  the tutor’s name, address, date of birth and social insurance number;
(2)  the name of the child for whom financial assistance is applied for;
(3)  the child’s certificate of birth and the tutorship judgment or a copy of the minutes of the judgment; and
(4)  an affidavit from the tutor and an affidavit from a person to whom the tutor is not related both certifying that the tutor provides for the child’s upkeep, resides in Canada or, as the case may be, is in a situation described in the second paragraph of section 10.
For the purposes of this Regulation, a tutor’s residence is the place where the tutor ordinarily resides.
If the application is not submitted within the time prescribed in the first paragraph, financial assistance may be granted retroactively for no more than 6 months as of the date of receipt of the duly completed application.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 1; O.C. 492-2013, s. 1; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
2. The institution must ensure that assistance is provided to a person wishing to make an application for financial assistance and inform that person of the rights and obligations under this Regulation.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 2.
3. The institution receives the application for financial assistance, ascertains its admissibility, establishes the level of services in accordance with section 14 of this Regulation, determines the amount to which the tutor is entitled, informs the tutor in writing of the financial assistance granted and pays the assistance monthly.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 3; O.C. 492-2013, s. 2.
DIVISION II
DURATION, RENEWAL, SUSPENSION AND CESSATION OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
4. Financial assistance is granted for the first time as of the date of the tutorship judgment until 31 December of the current year. It may be renewed on 1 January of each year until the child reaches 18 years of age or, if the child attends a school or an adult education centre providing the secondary school education governed by the regulation made under the Education Act (chapter I-13.3) and if the child’s upkeep is provided by the person who has acted as tutor, 21 years of age.
The tutor must submit a renewal application to the institution referred to in section 1 not later than on 30 November of each year. The application must contain the information required under subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the second paragraph of section 1 and be accompanied by the documents required under subparagraph 4 of the second paragraph of that section.
If the child is 18 years of age or older, the renewal application must be accompanied by proof that the child attends a school referred to in the first paragraph.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 4; O.C. 929-2010, s. 1; O.C. 492-2013, s. 3.
5. The institution suspends the financial assistance granted to a tutor if the tutor fails to apply for renewal within the time prescribed in section 4.
In case of suspension, financial assistance is no longer granted as of the date of suspension.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 5; O.C. 492-2013, s. 4.
6. If the renewal application is not submitted within the time prescribed in section 4, financial assistance may be granted retroactively for no more than 6 months as of the date of receipt of the duly completed application.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 6; O.C. 492-2013, s. 5.
7. The institution partially suspends the financial assistance granted to a tutor if the child under tutorship is, under an Act, placed or provided with foster care outside the residence of the tutor for a period exceeding 30 consecutive days.
In case of partial suspension, the tutor is only entitled to 60% of what constitutes reasonable operating expenses referred to in subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 13, as financial assistance which is granted to the tutor as of the date of suspension.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 7; O.C. 492-2013, s. 6.
8. If the child is in the situation described in section 7, the institution where the child is placed or provided with foster care must so notify the institution designated under section 1 and, in such case, no contribution under section 513 of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) may be required from the tutor, the father or the mother of the child.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 8.
9. The designated institution must be notified by the institution where the child is placed or provided with foster care as soon as the child is no longer placed or provided with foster care as provided for in section 7.
Full financial assistance is granted again to the tutor as of the date on which the placement or period of foster care ends.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 9; O.C. 492-2013, s. 7.
10. Financial assistance ends if
(1)  the child dies;
(2)  the child reaches 18 years of age, or 21 years of age if the child attends a school referred to in the first paragraph of section 4 and the child’s upkeep is provided by the person who has acted as tutor;
(3)  tutorship ends for other reasons, including the tutor’s death or replacement; or
(4)  the tutor leaves Canada to establish his or her residence in another country.
Despite subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph, financial assistance is maintained if the tutor leaves Canada and
(1)  is registered as a student at an educational institution in Québec or Canada while pursuing a program of study outside Canada;
(2)  is a trainee outside Canada at a university, an institution affiliated with a university, a research institute, a government or international body or an enterprise or agency affiliated with such an institute or body;
(3)  is employed by the government of Québec, the government of another province in Canada or the government of Canada and is posted outside Canada;
(4)  holds employment outside Canada on behalf of a legal person, a partnership or an organization having its head office or a place of business in Québec or Canada to which the tutor is directly accountable;
(5)  works abroad as an employee of a non-profit organization having its head office in Canada, under an international aid or cooperation program; or
(6)  is a member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police or the Canadian Forces and is posted outside Canada.
Financial assistance that is terminated ceases to be granted as of the date of termination.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 10; O.C. 929-2010, s. 1; O.C. 492-2013, s. 8.
11. A tutor must inform the institution in writing as soon as the tutor is in one of the circumstances or situations described in section 10 and, if leaving Canada, must do so before leaving.
A tutor who is in one of the situations described in the second paragraph of section 10 must provide a supporting document.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 11.
12. If a tutor referred to in subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph of section 10 returns to Canada to establish residence and makes an application for financial assistance in accordance with Division I, financial assistance may be granted again as of the date of receipt of the duly completed application.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 12; O.C. 492-2013, s. 9.
DIVISION III
CALCULATION AND TERMS OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
13. A tutor is entitled, as financial assistance, to an amount obtained by adding the following amounts:
(1)  an amount determined by subtracting the amount to stand in lieu of monetary compensation provided for in subparagraph a of paragraph 4 of section 34 of the Act respecting the representation of family-type resources and certain intermediate resources and the negotiation process for their group agreements (chapter R-24.0.2) from the net remuneration, established pursuant to paragraph 3 of section 34, and to which the tutor would be entitled under a group agreement entered into in accordance with the provisions of that Act as a foster family within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2);
(2)  the amount determined as what constitutes reasonable operating expenses in accordance with paragraph 3 of section 34 of the Act respecting the representation of family-type resources and certain intermediate resources and the negotiation process for their group agreements;
(3)  a daily amount of $5 to cover the child’s personal expenses.
A daily lump sum of $2.28 is added to the amount obtained pursuant to the first paragraph as special compensation. The lump sum is adjusted on 1 January of each year, in relation to the preceding year, based on the percentage change in the All-Items Consumer Price Index for Canada, published by Statistics Canada under the Statistics Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. S-19). To that end, the consumer price index for a year is the annual average calculated from the monthly indexes for the 12 months ending on 30 September of the preceding year.
An electronic version of the content of the group agreement provided for in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph, updated by the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, is available on the department’s website at www.msss.gouv.qc.ca.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 13; O.C. 492-2013, s. 10.
14. The level of services required to determine the amount of compensation provided for in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 13 is established at the time of the initial application for financial assistance. Despite the foregoing, it may be reviewed by the institution upon request by the tutor if a significant change, either permanent or chronic, occurs in the condition of the child. Such a situation must be certified by a physician who is a member in good standing of the Collège des médecins du Québec.
For such purposes, the institution uses the Form for the determination and classification of support and assistance services provided for as a schedule to the Regulation respecting the classification of services offered by an intermediate resource and a family-type resource (chapter S-4.2, r. 3.1).
The amount adjusted following a review is granted as of the date of receipt of the duly completed application for review.
O.C. 591-2008, s. 14; O.C. 492-2013, s. 11.
15. (Omitted).
O.C. 591-2008, s. 15.
TRANSITIONAL
2013
(O.C. 492-2013) SECTION 12. Not later than 6 months after the coming into force of this Regulation (22 November 2013), an institution referred to in the first paragraph of section 1 of the Regulation respecting financial assistance to facilitate tutorship to a child (chapter P-34.1, r. 5) must, in respect of any tutor receiving financial assistance under the Regulation, reassess the level of services required by a child of whom the person is the tutor by means of the form referred to in the second paragraph of section 14 of the Regulation, enacted by section 11. The tutor is entitled to financial assistance, adjusted after the reassessment, as of the coming into force of this Regulation (22 May 2013).
REFERENCES
O.C. 591-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2459
O.C. 929-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 2961
O.C. 492-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1261

P-34.1, r. 5 - Règlement sur l’aide financière pour favoriser la tutelle à un enfant

Texte complet
chapitre P-34.1, r. 5
Règlement sur l’aide financière pour favoriser la tutelle à un enfant
PROTECTION DE LA JEUNESSE — AIDE FINANCIÈRE — TUTELLE
Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse
(chapitre P-34.1, a. 132).
P-34.1
1er janvier 2016
Le montant prévu au règlement a été indexé à compter du 1er janvier 2018. (a. 13; voir N.I. 2018-01-01)
SECTION I
DEMANDE ET VERSEMENT DE L’AIDE FINANCIÈRE
1. Un tuteur visé à l’article 70.2 de la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse (chapitre P-34.1), doit, pour obtenir une aide financière pour l’entretien de l’enfant dont il est le tuteur, présenter une demande à l’établissement qui exploite un centre de protection de l’enfance et de la jeunesse désigné par le ministre, au moyen du formulaire fourni par cet établissement dans les 60 jours de la date du jugement de tutelle.
Cette demande doit contenir les renseignements et être accompagnée des documents suivants:
1°  le nom du tuteur, son adresse, sa date de naissance et son numéro d’assurance sociale;
2°  le nom de l’enfant pour qui une demande d’aide financière est présentée;
3°  le certificat de naissance de cet enfant ainsi que le jugement de tutelle ou une copie du procès-verbal de ce jugement;
4°  une déclaration assermentée du tuteur et une déclaration assermentée d’une personne sans lien de parenté avec ce dernier lesquelles attestent que le tuteur assume l’entretien de l’enfant, qu’il a sa résidence au Canada ou, le cas échéant, qu’il est dans une situation prévue au deuxième alinéa de l’article 10.
Pour l’application du présent règlement, la résidence d’un tuteur est le lieu où il demeure de façon habituelle.
Lorsque la demande n’est pas présentée à l’intérieur du délai prévu au premier alinéa, l’aide financière peut être accordée rétroactivement pour une période maximale de 6 mois à compter de la date de réception de la demande dûment complétée.
D. 591-2008, a. 1; D. 492-2013, a. 1.
2. L’établissement doit s’assurer que soit prêtée assistance à la personne qui veut faire une demande d’aide financière et doit l’informer de ses droits et obligations en vertu du présent règlement.
D. 591-2008, a. 2.
3. L’établissement reçoit la demande d’aide financière, vérifie sa recevabilité, établit le niveau de services conformément à l’article 14 du présent règlement, détermine le montant auquel le tuteur a droit, l’informe par écrit de l’aide financière accordée et procède au versement de celle-ci mensuellement.
D. 591-2008, a. 3; D. 492-2013, a. 2.
SECTION II
DURÉE, RENOUVELLEMENT, SUSPENSION ET CESSATION DE L’AIDE FINANCIÈRE
4. Une aide financière est accordée, pour la première fois, à compter de la date du jugement de tutelle jusqu’au 31 décembre de l’année en cours. Elle peut être renouvelée au 1er janvier de chaque année, jusqu’à ce que l’enfant atteigne l’âge de 18 ans ou, s’il fréquente une école ou un centre d’éducation des adultes dans lesquels est dispensé l’enseignement d’ordre secondaire régi par le règlement édicté en vertu de la Loi sur l’instruction publique (chapitre I-13.3) et que son entretien est assumé par la personne qui a agi comme tuteur, l’âge de 21 ans.
Le tuteur doit présenter sa demande de renouvellement à l’établissement visé à l’article 1 au plus tard le 30 novembre de chaque année. Celle-ci doit contenir les renseignements prévus aux paragraphes 1 et 2 du deuxième alinéa de l’article 1 et être accompagnée des documents prévus au paragraphe 4 du deuxième alinéa de ce même article.
En outre, si l’enfant a atteint l’âge de 18 ans, cette demande doit être accompagnée d’une preuve attestant qu’il fréquente une école visée au premier alinéa.
D. 591-2008, a. 4; D. 929-2010, a. 1; D. 492-2013, a. 3.
5. L’établissement suspend l’aide financière accordée à un tuteur lorsque le tuteur ne présente pas sa demande de renouvellement à l’intérieur du délai prescrit à l’article 4.
En cas de suspension, l’aide financière cesse d’être accordée à compter de la date de cette suspension.
D. 591-2008, a. 5; D. 492-2013, a. 4.
6. Lorsque la demande de renouvellement n’est pas présentée à l’intérieur du délai prescrit à l’article 4, l’aide financière peut être accordée rétroactivement pour une période maximale de 6 mois à compter de la date de réception de la demande dûment complétée.
D. 591-2008, a. 6; D. 492-2013, a. 5.
7. L’établissement suspend partiellement l’aide financière accordée à un tuteur lorsque l’enfant sous tutelle est, en vertu d’une loi, placé ou hébergé en dehors de la résidence de son tuteur pour une période excédant 30 jours consécutifs.
Dans le cas d’une suspension partielle, le tuteur n’a droit, à titre d’aide financière, qu’à 60% du seuil de dépenses de fonctionnement raisonnables visé au paragraphe 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 13, laquelle lui est accordée à compter de la date de la suspension.
D. 591-2008, a. 7; D. 492-2013, a. 6.
8. Lorsqu’un enfant se retrouve dans la situation prévue à l’article 7, l’établissement où cet enfant est placé ou hébergé doit en aviser l’établissement désigné en vertu de l’article 1 et, dans ce cas, aucune contribution prévue à l’article 513 de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ne peut être exigée du tuteur, du père ou de la mère de cet enfant.
D. 591-2008, a. 8.
9. L’établissement désigné doit être avisé par l’établissement où l’enfant est placé ou hébergé dès que prend fin le placement ou l’hébergement visé à l’article 7.
Une aide financière est de nouveau entièrement accordée au tuteur à compter de la date de la fin du placement ou de l’hébergement.
D. 591-2008, a. 9; D. 492-2013, a. 7.
10. L’aide financière prend fin dans l’une ou l’autre des circonstances suivantes:
1°  l’enfant décède;
2°  l’enfant atteint l’âge de 18 ans ou, s’il fréquente une école visée au premier alinéa de l’article 4 et que son entretien est assumé par la personne qui a agi comme tuteur, l’âge de 21 ans;
3°  la tutelle prend fin pour d’autres motifs, notamment le décès ou le remplacement du tuteur;
4°  le tuteur quitte le Canada pour établir sa résidence dans un autre pays.
Malgré le paragraphe 4 du premier alinéa, l’aide financière est maintenue si le tuteur quitte le Canada dans les situations suivantes:
1°  il est inscrit comme étudiant dans un établissement d’enseignement au Québec ou au Canada et poursuit un programme d’étude hors du Canada;
2°  il est stagiaire hors du Canada dans un établissement universitaire, une institution affiliée à une université, un institut de recherche ou une organisation gouvernementale ou internationale ou dans une entreprise ou un organisme affilié à un tel institut ou une telle organisation;
3°  il est à l’emploi du gouvernement du Québec ou d’une autre province du Canada ou du gouvernement du Canada, en service hors du Canada;
4°  il occupe un emploi hors du Canada pour le compte d’une personne morale, d’une société ou d’un organisme ayant son siège ou un établissement au Québec ou au Canada dont il relève directement;
5°  il travaille à l’étranger à titre d’employé d’un organisme sans but lucratif ayant son siège au Canada, dans le cadre d’un programme d’aide ou de coopération internationale;
6°  il est membre de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada ou des Forces armées canadiennes en service hors du Canada.
Lorsque l’aide financière prend fin, celle-ci cesse d’être accordée à compter de la date de cette fin.
D. 591-2008, a. 10; D. 929-2010, a. 1; D. 492-2013, a. 8.
11. Le tuteur doit aviser par écrit l’établissement dès qu’il se trouve dans l’une des circonstances ou situations visées à l’article 10 et, dans le cas où il quitte le Canada, il doit le faire avant son départ.
De plus, lorsque le tuteur se retrouve dans l’une des situations visées au deuxième alinéa de l’article 10, il doit produire une pièce justificative.
D. 591-2008, a. 11.
12. Lorsque le tuteur visé au paragraphe 4 du premier alinéa de l’article 10 revient au Canada pour y établir sa résidence et qu’il présente une demande d’aide financière conformément à la section I, l’aide financière peut lui être accordée de nouveau à compter de la date de la réception de la demande dûment complétée.
D. 591-2008, a. 12; D. 492-2013, a. 9.
SECTION III
CALCUL ET MODALITÉS DE L’AIDE FINANCIÈRE
13. Un tuteur a droit, à titre d’aide financière, à un montant obtenu par l’addition des montants suivants:
1°  un montant déterminé en soustrayant le montant tenant lieu de compensation monétaire prévu au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 4 de l’article 34 de la Loi sur la représentation des ressources de type familial et de certaines ressources intermédiaires et sur le régime de négociation d’une entente collective les concernant (chapitre R-24.0.2) de la rétribution nette, établie en application du paragraphe 3 de cet article 34, et à laquelle il aurait droit en vertu d’une entente collective conclue conformément aux dispositions de cette loi à titre de famille d’accueil au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2);
2°  le montant déterminé à titre de seuil de dépenses de fonctionnement raisonnables conformément au paragraphe 3 de l’article 34 de la Loi sur la représentation des ressources de type familial et de certaines ressources intermédiaires et sur le régime de négociation d’une entente collective les concernant;
3°  un montant quotidien de 5 $ pour couvrir les dépenses personnelles de l’enfant.
Un montant forfaitaire quotidien de 2,28 $ est ajouté au montant obtenu en application du premier alinéa à titre de rétribution spéciale. Ce montant est indexé le 1er janvier de chaque année selon l’augmentation en pourcentage, par rapport à l’année précédente, de l’indice général des prix à la consommation pour le Canada publié par Statistique Canada en vertu de la Loi sur la statistique (L.R.C., 1985, c. S-19). À cette fin, l’indice des prix à la consommation pour une année est la moyenne annuelle calculée à partir des indices mensuels pour les 12 mois se terminant le 30 septembre de l’année précédente.
Une version électronique du contenu d’une entente collective prévue au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa, mise à jour par le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux, est accessible sur le site Internet du ministère à l’adresse: www.msss.gouv.qc.ca.
D. 591-2008, a. 13; D. 492-2013, a. 10.
14. Le niveau de services requis pour déterminer le montant de la rétribution prévue au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 13 est établi au moment de la demande initiale d’aide financière. Toutefois, il peut être révisé par l’établissement à la demande du tuteur lorsque survient un changement significatif, à caractère permanent ou chronique, dans la condition de l’enfant. Une telle situation doit être attestée par un médecin membre en règle du Collège des médecins du Québec.
Pour ces fins, l’établissement utilise l’Instrument de détermination et de classification des services de soutien et d’assistance prévu en annexe au Règlement sur la classification des services offerts par une ressource intermédiaire et une ressource de type familial (chapitre S-4.2, r. 3.1).
Le montant ajusté à la suite d’une révision est accordé à compter de la date de réception de la demande de révision dûment complétée.
D. 591-2008, a. 14; D. 492-2013, a. 11.
15. (Omis).
D. 591-2008, a. 15.
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES
2013
(D. 492-2013) ARTICLE 12. Au plus tard 6 mois après l’entrée en vigueur du présent règlement (22 novembre 2013), un établissement visé au premier alinéa de l’article 1 du Règlement sur l’aide financière pour favoriser la tutelle à un enfant (chapitre P-34.1, r.5) doit, à l’égard de tout tuteur bénéficiant d’une aide financière en vertu de ce règlement, réévaluer le niveau de services requis par l’enfant dont cette personne est le tuteur à l’aide de l’instrument visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 14 de ce règlement, édicté par l’article 11. Le tuteur a droit à l’aide financière, ajustée à la suite de cette réévaluation, à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du présent règlement (22 mai 2013).
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 591-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 3440
D. 929-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 4425
D. 492-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 2005