P-13.1, r. 1.1 - Regulation respecting the conduct of the investigations of the Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-13.1, r. 1.1
Regulation respecting the conduct of the investigations of the Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes
POLICE — CONDUCT OF THE INVESTIGATIONS — ENQUÊTES INDÉPENDANTES
Police Act
(chapter P-13.1, ss. 289.1, 289.4, 289.20 and 289.23).
P-13.1
May 18 2016June 27 2016
DIVISION I
OBLIGATIONS OF POLICE OFFICER INVOLVED OR WITNESS POLICE OFFICER AND OF DIRECTOR OF POLICE FORCE INVOLVED
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
1. A police officer involved and a witness police officer must, where a person, other than an on-duty police officer, dies, sustains a serious injury or is injured by a firearm used by a police officer during a police intervention or while the person is in police custody:
(1)  withdraw from the scene of the occurrence as soon as possible;
(2)  draw up independently, in particular without consultations and influence, an accurate, detailed and comprehensive account of the facts that took place during the occurrence, sign the account and submit it to the investigators of the Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes within 24 hours of the occurrence, unless the director of the Bureau grants a time extension;
(3)  meet with the investigators of the Bureau;
(4)  refrain from communicating with another police officer involved or witness police officer in connection with the occurrence until the police officer has submitted the account and met with the investigators of the Bureau; and
(5)  remain available for the investigation purposes.
A police officer involved is a police officer present at an occurrence referred to in the first paragraph and whose actions or decisions could have contributed to the death, serious injuries or injuries by a firearm used by a police officer. A witness police officer is a police officer in whose presence such an occurrence took place, without being a police officer involved.
Constitutes a serious injury any physical injury that could lead to death or that results in serious physical consequences.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 1.
2. A director of a police force involved must
(1)  take the necessary measures to secure the scene of the occurrence and to ensure preservation of the evidence and the premises’ integrity until the arrival of the investigators of the Bureau;
(2)  take reasonable measures to prevent the police officers involved or witness police officers from communicating with one another in connection with the occurrence until they have submitted their accounts to the investigators of the Bureau and met with them;
(3)  send to the director of the Bureau the name of the person deceased or injured and the nature of the person’s injuries, the names of the persons present at the occurrence, the parameters and limits of the scene of the occurrence, the evidence collected so as to preserve it, as well as any other information collected in connection with the occurrence;
(4)  give the investigators of the Bureau any document in connection with the occurrence;
(5)  make sure that the communications made to the public about the occurrence do not impede the Bureau’s investigation; and
(6)  take the necessary measures so that the director of the Bureau may ensure the communications related to the independent investigation with the person seriously injured or injured by a firearm used by a police officer during a police intervention or while the person is in police custody and with the family members of that person or of a person who died during such an occurrence.
A police force involved is a police force counting among its members or exercising authority over, as the case may be, the police officers who are involved in the occurrence or who witness it.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PARALLEL INVESTIGATIONS
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
3. The Bureau and any other police force conducting parallel investigations based on common evidence or testimonies must cooperate with each other. Despite the foregoing, the Bureau has precedence over the police force with regard to the evidence, testimonies and control of the scene of the occurrence.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 3.
4. The director of a police force that conducts an investigation in parallel with the Bureau’s investigation must make sure that the communications made to the public do not impede the Bureau’s investigation.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 4.
DIVISION III
OBLIGATIONS OF THE BUREAU’S DIRECTOR AND INVESTIGATORS
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
5. The director of the Bureau must inform the director of the police force involved where an involved or witness police officer fails to comply with the obligations prescribed by this Regulation.
The director must also, if the director of the police force involved fails to comply with the obligations prescribed by this Regulation, so inform the Minister, in the case of the Director General of the Sûreté du Québec, the municipal council, in the case of the director of the municipal police force, or his or her employer, in the case of a director of another police force.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 5.
6. The director of the Bureau informs the director of the police force involved of the name of the principal investigator and sends the contact information of the principal investigator.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 6.
7. The principal investigator must, before meeting with a police officer involved or a witness police officer, determine the police officer’s status and, as soon as possible, notify the police officer of that status in writing. The principal investigator must also inform the police officer of any change in status in the course of the investigation and notify the police officer of the change in writing as soon as possible. The principal investigator also informs the director of the police force involved of the status of the police officer and of any change in their status.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 7.
8. The investigators of the Bureau must inform the director of the Bureau of any situation likely to put them in a conflict of interest and to compromise their impartiality, in particular present or past professional, family or social relations that they maintain with a police officer involved.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 8.
9. The investigators of the Bureau assigned to an investigation must meet with all the police officers involved within 48 hours of their arrival on the scene of the occurrence and with all the witness police officers within 24 hours of their arrival, unless the director of the Bureau grants a time extension.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
COMMUNICATIONS OF THE DIRECTOR OF THE BUREAU
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
10. When communicating with the public about the state of the Bureau’s activities, the director of the Bureau discloses the following, in particular:
(1)  the number of investigations in progress;
(2)  the type of occurrence that led to the investigations;
(3)  the number of records sent to the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions and, if applicable, to the coroner;
(4)  the conduct of the investigations completed.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 10.
11. Insofar as it does not impede the director’s investigation or a parallel investigation, the director of the Bureau informs the public, in particular, of the beginning of an investigation, its conduct and the transmission of the investigation record to the Director of Criminal and Penal Prosecutions and, if applicable, to the coroner.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 11.
12. The director of the Bureau ensures the communications with the person seriously injured or injured by a firearm used by a police officer during a police intervention or while the person is in police custody and with the family members of that person or of a person who died during such an occurrence. The director communicates to them all relevant information regarding the independent investigation process insofar as it does not impede the investigation.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 12.
DIVISION V
TERMS GOVERNING THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT SERVICES
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
13. The director of the Bureau, when requesting support services from a police force director providing level 4 services or services of a higher level, indicates the time within which the support services are requested and for what duration.
Where the police force director referred to in the first paragraph is unable to provide the support services requested within the time indicated, he or she so informs the director of the Bureau and specifies when the support services can be provided.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 13.
14. A member or employee of a police force who is requested to provide support services and a police officer requested by the director of the Bureau or by any member of the Bureau designated by the director remain at all times members of their police force.
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 14.
DIVISION VI
FINAL
405-2016O.C. 405-2016.
15. (Omitted).
405-2016O.C. 405-2016, s. 15.
REFERENCES
O.C. 405-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 2237

P-13.1, r. 1.1 - Règlement sur le déroulement des enquêtes du Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre P-13.1, r. 1.1
Règlement sur le déroulement des enquêtes du Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes
POLICE — DÉROULEMENT DES ENQUÊTES — ENQUÊTES INDÉPENDANTES
Loi sur la police
(chapitre P-13.1, a. 289.1, 289.4, 289.20 et 289.23).
P-13.1
18 mai 201627 juin 2016
SECTION I
OBLIGATIONS DU POLICIER IMPLIQUÉ OU TÉMOIN ET DU DIRECTEUR DU CORPS DE POLICE IMPLIQUÉ
1. Un policier impliqué et un policier témoin doivent, lorsqu’une personne, autre qu’un policier en devoir, décède, subit une blessure grave ou est blessée par une arme à feu utilisée par un policier, lors d’une intervention policière ou lors de sa détention par un corps de police:
1°  se retirer de la scène de l’événement dès que possible;
2°  rédiger de manière indépendante, notamment sans consultation et sans influence, un compte rendu exact, détaillé et exhaustif portant notamment sur les faits survenus lors de l’événement, le signer et le remettre aux enquêteurs du Bureau des enquêtes indépendantes dans les 24 heures suivant l’événement, à moins que le directeur du Bureau ne lui accorde un délai supplémentaire;
3°  rencontrer les enquêteurs du Bureau;
4°  s’abstenir de communiquer avec un autre policier impliqué ou témoin au sujet de l’événement jusqu’à ce qu’il ait remis son compte rendu et qu’il ait rencontré les enquêteurs du Bureau;
5°  rester disponible aux fins de l’enquête.
Un policier impliqué est un policier présent lors d’un événement visé au premier alinéa et dont les actions ou les décisions pourraient avoir contribué au décès, aux blessures graves ou aux blessures causées par une arme à feu utilisée par un policier. Un policier témoin est un policier en présence de qui s’est déroulé un tel événement, mais qui n’est pas un policier impliqué.
Constitue une blessure grave toute blessure physique pouvant entraîner la mort ou résultant en des conséquences physiques importantes.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 1.
2. Un directeur d’un corps de police impliqué doit:
1°  prendre les mesures nécessaires pour sécuriser la scène de l’événement et pour s’assurer de la conservation de la preuve et de l’intégrité des lieux jusqu’à l’arrivée des enquêteurs du Bureau;
2°  prendre les mesures raisonnables pour éviter que les policiers impliqués ou témoins communiquent entre eux au sujet de l’événement jusqu’à ce qu’ils aient remis leur compte rendu aux enquêteurs du Bureau et qu’ils les aient rencontrés;
3°  transmettre au directeur du Bureau l’identité de la personne décédée ou blessée ainsi que la nature de ses blessures, l’identité des personnes présentes lors de l’événement, les paramètres et les limites de la scène de l’événement, les éléments de preuve recueillis afin d’en assurer la conservation ainsi que tout autre renseignement recueilli relatif à l’événement;
4°  remettre aux enquêteurs du Bureau tout document en lien avec l’événement;
5°  s’assurer que les communications faites au public au sujet de l’événement ne nuisent pas à l’enquête du Bureau;
6°  prendre les mesures nécessaires afin que le directeur du Bureau puisse assurer les communications relatives à l’enquête indépendante avec la personne blessée gravement ou blessée par une arme à feu utilisée par un policier, lors d’une intervention policière ou lors de sa détention par un corps de police, et avec les membres de la famille de celle-ci ou d’une personne décédée lors d’un tel événement.
Un corps de police impliqué est un corps de police dont sont membres ou sous l’autorité de qui agissent, selon le cas, les policiers impliqués dans l’événement ou qui en sont témoins.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 2.
SECTION II
ENQUÊTES PARALLÈLES
3. Le Bureau et tout autre corps de police qui mènent parallèlement une enquête basée sur des éléments de preuve ou des témoins communs doivent collaborer entre eux. Toutefois, le Bureau a préséance sur ce corps de police quant aux éléments de preuve, aux témoignages et au contrôle de la scène de l’événement.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 3.
4. Le directeur d’un corps de police qui mène une enquête parallèlement à celle du Bureau doit s’assurer que les communications faites au public ne nuisent pas à l’enquête du Bureau.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 4.
SECTION III
OBLIGATIONS DU DIRECTEUR ET DES ENQUÊTEURS DU BUREAU
5. Le directeur du Bureau doit informer le directeur du corps de police impliqué lorsqu’un policier impliqué ou témoin ne respecte pas les obligations prévues au présent règlement.
Il doit également, lorsque le directeur du corps de police impliqué ne respecte pas les obligations prévues au présent règlement, en informer le ministre lorsqu’il s’agit du directeur général de la Sûreté du Québec, le conseil municipal lorsqu’il s’agit du directeur du corps de police municipal ou son employeur lorsqu’il s’agit d’un directeur d’un autre corps de police.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 5.
6. Le directeur du Bureau informe le directeur du corps de police impliqué de l’identité de l’enquêteur principal et lui transmet ses coordonnées.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 6.
7. L’enquêteur principal doit, avant de rencontrer un policier impliqué ou un policier témoin, déterminer son statut et, dans les meilleurs délais, l’en aviser par écrit. Il doit, de même, informer ce policier dès qu’il y a changement de son statut en cours d’enquête et l’en aviser par écrit dans les meilleurs délais. Il avise également le directeur du corps de police impliqué du statut de ce policier et de tout changement de ce statut.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 7.
8. Les enquêteurs du Bureau doivent aviser le directeur du Bureau de toute situation pouvant potentiellement les placer en conflit d’intérêts et compromettre leur impartialité, notamment les liens professionnels, familiaux ou sociaux, présents ou passés, qu’ils entretiennent avec un policier impliqué.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 8.
9. Les enquêteurs du Bureau assignés à une enquête doivent rencontrer tous les policiers impliqués dans les 48 heures suivant leur arrivée sur les lieux de l’événement et tous les policiers témoins dans les 24 heures de celle-ci, à moins que le directeur du Bureau n’accorde un délai supplémentaire.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 9.
SECTION IV
COMMUNICATIONS DU DIRECTEUR DU BUREAU
10. Lorsqu’il communique au public l’état de ses activités, le directeur du Bureau l’informe notamment:
1°  du nombre d’enquêtes en cours;
2°  du type d’événement ayant mené à la tenue des enquêtes;
3°  du nombre de dossiers transmis au directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales et, s’il y a lieu, au coroner;
4°  du déroulement des enquêtes terminées.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 10.
11. Dans la mesure où cela ne nuit pas à son enquête ou à une enquête parallèle, le directeur du Bureau informe le public, notamment du début d’une enquête, de son déroulement et de la transmission du dossier d’enquête au directeur des poursuites criminelles et pénales et, s’il y a lieu, au coroner.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 11.
12. Le directeur du Bureau assure les communications avec la personne blessée gravement ou blessée par une arme à feu utilisée par un policier, lors d’une intervention policière ou lors de sa détention par un corps de police, et avec les membres de la famille de celle-ci ou d’une personne décédée lors d’un tel événement. Le directeur leur communique toute information pertinente relative au processus d’enquête indépendante dans la mesure où cela ne nuit pas à l’enquête.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 12.
SECTION V
MODALITÉS APPLICABLES À LA FOURNITURE DES SERVICES DE SOUTIEN
13. Le directeur du Bureau, lorsqu’il requiert des services de soutien à un directeur de corps de police fournissant des services de niveau 4 ou supérieur, indique dans quel délai il les requiert et pour quelle durée.
Lorsque le directeur du corps de police visé au premier alinéa n’est pas en mesure de fournir les services de soutien requis dans le délai demandé, il en avise le directeur du Bureau et précise dans quel délai il peut le faire.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 13.
14. Le membre ou employé d’un corps de police requis pour fournir des services de soutien et le policier requis par le directeur du Bureau ou par tout membre du Bureau qu’il désigne demeurent en tout temps membres de leur corps de police.
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 14.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITION FINALE
15. (Omis).
405-2016D. 405-2016, a. 15.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 405-2016, 2016 G.O. 2, 2841