P-10, r. 19.1 - Regulation respecting the extension or adjustment of a physician’s prescription by a pharmacist and the substitution of a medication prescribed

Table of contents
Full text
chapter P-10, r. 19.1
Regulation respecting the extension or adjustment of a physician’s prescription by a pharmacist and the substitution of a medication prescribed
PHARMACISTS — EXTENSION OR ADJUSTMENT OF PRESCRIPTION — SUBSTITUTION OF A MEDICATION
Pharmacy Act
(chapter P-10, s. 10, 1st par., subpar. h).
P-10
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 95).
C-26
June 20 2015
DIVISION I
EXTENSION OF A PHYSICIAN’S PRESCRIPTION
1. A pharmacist enters in a patient’s record whether the pharmacist has accepted or refused to extend a physician’s prescription and the clinical justification for that decision.
The pharmacist also recommends that the patient obtain appropriate medical follow-up and enters the recommendation in the patient’s record.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 1.
2. A pharmacist must inform the attending physician of the extension made.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 2.
DIVISION II
ADJUSTMENT OF A PHYSICIAN’S PRESCRIPTION
3. A pharmacist may modify the dose of a prescribed medication to ensure the safety of the patient, in particular to reduce the adverse effects of a medication, manage drug interactions, prevent organ failure, take into account the patient’s renal or hepatic function, take into account the patient’s weight, improve the patient’s tolerance to medication therapy or correct an obvious error in dosage.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 3.
4. A pharmacist may also modify the dose of a prescribed medication to ensure the achievement of therapeutic targets where the pharmacist obtains those therapeutic targets and, if applicable, special limits or contraindications from the attending physician.
Furthermore, a pharmacist who practises in a centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5), or within a group where the medical team shares or uses the same patient record, may modify, where there is a medical treatment plan, the dose of a prescribed medication to ensure the achievement of the therapeutic targets established in that plan.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 4.
5. A pharmacist who adjusts a physician’s prescription by modifying the form, dose, quantity or dosage of a prescribed medication must so notify the patient and enter the adjustment in the patient’s record along with the clinical justification of that decision.
In addition, where the pharmacist modifies the dose of a medication, the pharmacist must inform the attending physician of the adjustment made.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 5.
DIVISION III
THERAPEUTIC SUBSTITUTION OF A MEDICATION
6. A pharmacist must, before substituting another medication for the medication prescribed, ensure that the pharmacist cannot obtain the medication from 2 pharmacies in the pharmacist’s region and from 2 wholesalers accredited by the Minister of Health and Social Services under section 62 of the Act respecting prescription drug insurance (chapter A-29.01).
O.C. 605-2013, s. 6.
7. The pharmacist must notify the patient of the substitution and enter in the patient’s record the steps taken to obtain a supply, the substitution made and the notice given to that effect to the patient.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 7.
8. The pharmacist must inform the attending physician of the substitution made.
O.C. 605-2013, s. 8.
9. (Omitted).
O.C. 605-2013, s. 9; S.Q. 2015, c. 8, s. 205.
REFERENCES
O.C. 605-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1512
S.Q. 2015, c. 8, s. 205

P-10, r. 19.1 - Règlement sur la prolongation ou l’ajustement d’une ordonnance d’un médecin par un pharmacien et sur la substitution d’un médicament prescrit

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre P-10, r. 19.1
Règlement sur la prolongation ou l’ajustement d’une ordonnance d’un médecin par un pharmacien et sur la substitution d’un médicament prescrit
PHARMACIENS — PROLONGATION OU AJUSTEMENT D’UNE ORDONNANCE — SUBSTITUTION DE MÉDICAMENT
Loi sur la pharmacie
(chapitre P-10, a. 10, 1er al., par. h)
P-10
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 95)
C-26
20 juin 2015
SECTION I
PROLONGATION D’UNE ORDONNANCE D’UN MÉDECIN
1. Le pharmacien inscrit au dossier du patient s’il a accepté ou refusé de prolonger l’ordonnance d’un médecin et la justification clinique de cette décision.
Il recommande de plus au patient d’obtenir un suivi médical approprié et inscrit cette recommandation à son dossier.
D. 605-2013, a. 1.
2. Le pharmacien informe le médecin traitant de la prolongation effectuée.
D. 605-2013, a. 2.
SECTION II
AJUSTEMENT D’UNE ORDONNANCE D’UN MÉDECIN
3. Le pharmacien peut modifier la dose d’un médicament prescrit afin d’assurer la sécurité du patient, notamment aux fins de diminuer les effets indésirables d’un médicament, de gérer les interactions médicamenteuses, de prévenir la défaillance d’un organe, de prendre en compte les fonctions rénales ou hépatiques du patient, de prendre en compte son poids, d’améliorer sa tolérance à la thérapie médicamenteuse ou de corriger une erreur manifeste de dosage.
D. 605-2013, a. 3.
4. Le pharmacien peut aussi modifier la dose d’un médicament prescrit afin d’assurer l’atteinte des cibles thérapeutiques, lorsqu’il obtient du médecin traitant ces cibles thérapeutiques ainsi que, s’il y a lieu, les limites ou contre-indications particulières.
Par ailleurs, le pharmacien qui exerce dans un centre exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5), ou au sein d’un groupe où l’équipe médicale partage ou utilise le même dossier pour un patient peut modifier, lorsqu’il existe un plan de traitement médical, la dose d’un médicament prescrit afin d’assurer l’atteinte des cibles thérapeutiques établies à ce plan.
D. 605-2013, a. 4.
5. Le pharmacien qui ajuste l’ordonnance d’un médecin en modifiant la forme, la dose, la quantité ou la posologie d’un médicament prescrit en avise le patient et inscrit l’ajustement à son dossier ainsi que la justification clinique de cette décision.
Il doit de plus, lorsqu’il modifie la dose du médicament, informer le médecin traitant de l’ajustement effectué.
D. 605-2013, a. 5.
SECTION III
SUBSTITUTION THÉRAPEUTIQUE D’UN MÉDICAMENT
6. Un pharmacien doit, avant de substituer au médicament prescrit un autre médicament, s’assurer qu’il ne peut obtenir le médicament auprès de 2 pharmacies de sa région et auprès de 2 grossistes reconnus par le ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux en vertu de l’article 62 de la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments (chapitre A-29.01).
D. 605-2013, a. 6.
7. Le pharmacien avise le patient de la substitution et inscrit à son dossier les démarches faites pour s’approvisionner, la substitution effectuée et l’avis donné à cet effet au patient.
D. 605-2013, a. 7.
8. Le pharmacien informe le médecin traitant de la substitution effectuée.
D. 605-2013, a. 8.
9. (Omis).
D. 605-2013, a. 9; L.Q. 2015, c. 8, a. 205.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 605-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 2402
L.Q. 2015, c. 8, a. 205