O-7, r. 14 - Regulation respecting the standards for the issue and holding of the permit authorizing an optometrist to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care

Full text
chapter O-7, r. 14
Regulation respecting the standards for the issue and holding of the permit authorizing an optometrist to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care
OPTOMETRISTS — PERMIT TO ADMINISTER MEDICATIONS
Optometry Act
(chapter O-7, s. 19.2, 2nd par.).
O-7
September 1 2012
Replaced, O.C. 846-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 2763; eff. 2018-07-19; see chapter O-7, r. 14.1.
DIVISION I
STANDARDS FOR THE ISSUE OF THE PERMIT
1. The permit authorizing an optometrist to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care shall be issued to a member of the Ordre des optométristes du Québec who:
(1)  has submitted his application in writing to the secretary of the Order in the form of Schedule I;
(2)  has paid the fees fixed by the board of directors of the Order for the issue of the permit;
(3)  holds a permit authorizing him to administer medications for eye examination purposes, pursuant to the Regulation respecting the standards for the issue and holding of the permit authorizing an optometrist to administer medications (O-7, r. 13);
(4)  has successfully completed a training period, during the 4 years preceding the year of the application, under a training program offered by an educational institution that issues a diploma meeting the requirements for the permit issued by the Ordre des optométristes du Québec or another training program considered equivalent by the board of directors; such training shall comprise a minimum of 100 hours of theoretical and clinical courses in eye health and the pharmacological treatment of certain ocular pathologies.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 1.
2. The permit is also issued to a member of the Ordre des optométristes who satisfies the other conditions prescribed in section 1, even if he has completed his training prior to the period referred to in paragraph 4 of that section or it is not of the level referred to in that paragraph, provided that he satisfies one of the following conditions:
(1)  he participates in the training program and passes the examination provided for in sections 3 to 7;
(2)  he is holder of legal authorization outside Québec to administer and prescribe medication for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care in accordance with terms and conditions comparable to those prescribed in the Regulation respecting the medications that may be administered and prescribed for therapeutic purposes by an optometrist and respecting the eye care that may be provided by an optometrist (chapter O-7, r. 11).
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 2; O.C. 397-2009, s. 1.
3. The training program shall be approved by the board of directors and it shall include a minimum of 100 hours of theoretical and clinical courses in eye health and the pharmacological treatment of ocular pathologies.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 3.
4. The training program may provide that the theoretical training be given using any audio-visual means.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 4.
5. Upon completion of the training program, an examination shall be administered with a view to assessing the optometrist’s knowledge in eye health and the pharmacological treatment of ocular pathologies, and his clinical training in those subject areas.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 5.
6. The examination may include written, oral and practical parts, for each of the subject areas referred to in section 3.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 6.
7. In order to pass the examination, an optometrist shall obtain 60% for each of the written, oral and practical parts included in the examination.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 7.
DIVISION II
HOLDING, SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF THE PERMIT
8. In order to hold the permit referred to in Division I for more than 3 years, an optometrist shall take part in the upgrading program approved by the board of directors and provided for in sections 9 and 10.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 8.
9. The upgrading program shall require that every optometrist holding the permit referred to in Division I update his knowledge every 3 years.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 9.
10. The upgrading program shall include 15 hours of theoretical or clinical training related to the subject areas referred to in section 3.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 10.
11. Paragraph 2 of section 1 applies, with the necessary modifications, to the upgrading program referred to in this Division.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 11.
12. The board of directors shall suspend the permit referred to in Division I where it is held by an optometrist who cannot establish that he has met the requirements of the upgrading program. Such suspension may not last longer than 6 months.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 12.
13. At the expiry of the period for which the permit is suspended, the board of directors shall permanently revoke the permit within 30 days if the optometrist cannot establish that he has met the requirements of the upgrading program.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 13.
14. An optometrist whose permit referred to in Division I has been revoked by the board of directors shall again meet the conditions prescribed in that division for the issue of the permit.
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 14.
15. (Omitted).
O.C. 1024-2003, s. 15.
APPLICATION FOR THE PERMIT AUTHORIZING AN OPTOMETRIST TO ADMINISTER AND PRESCRIBE MEDICATIONS FOR THERAPEUTIC PURPOSES AND PROVIDE EYE CARE
(s. 1)
I, the undersigned _________________________________ residing at ___________________________, hereby declare the following:
(1) I am entered on the roll of the Ordre des optométristes du Québec;
(2) my professional domicile is located at _____________________________________ and I also practise at __________________________________;
(3) I have enclosed the documents establishing that my training complies with the training prescribed by the Regulation respecting the standards for the issue and holding of the permit authorizing an optometrist to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care (chapter O-7, r. 14);
(4) I am applying to the board of directors for the permit authorizing me to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and to provide eye care, in accordance with the provisions of the Optometry Act (chapter O-7), of the Regulation respecting the standards for the issue and holding of the permit authorizing an optometrist to administer and prescribe medications for therapeutic purposes and provide eye care and of the Regulation respecting the medications that may be administered an optometrist and prescribed for therapeutic purposes by an optometrist and respecting the eye are that may be provided by an optometrist (chapter O-7, r. 11).
Member’s signature ________________________________
Date ________________________________
O.C. 1024-2003, Sch. I.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1024-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 3137
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212
O.C. 397-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1302

O-7, r. 14 - Règlement sur les normes de délivrance et de détention du permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires

Texte complet
chapitre O-7, r. 14
Règlement sur les normes de délivrance et de détention du permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires
OPTOMÉTRISTES — PERMIS HABILITANT À ADMINISTRER DES MÉDICAMENTS
Loi sur l’optométrie
(chapitre O-7, a. 19.2, 2e al.).
O-7
1er septembre 2012
Remplacé, D. 846-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 4327; eff. 2018-07-19; voir chapitre O-7, r. 14.1.
SECTION I
NORMES DE DÉLIVRANCE DU PERMIS
1. Un permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires est délivré à un membre de l’Ordre des optométristes du Québec qui rencontre les conditions suivantes:
1°  il a présenté sa demande par écrit au secrétaire de l’Ordre suivant un formulaire analogue à celui prévu à l’annexe I;
2°  il a acquitté les frais de délivrance du permis fixés par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
3°  il est titulaire d’un permis l’habilitant à administrer des médicaments aux fins de l’examen des yeux en vertu du Règlement sur les normes de délivrance et de détention du permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer des médicaments (chapitre O-7, r. 13);
4°  il a complété avec succès, au cours des 4 années précédant l’année de sa demande, dans le cadre d’un programme de formation d’un établissement d’enseignement qui délivre un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre des optométristes du Québec ou dans le cadre d’un autre programme de formation reconnu équivalent par le Conseil d’administration, une formation comportant un minimum de 100 heures de cours théoriques et cliniques se rapportant à la santé oculaire et au traitement pharmacologique de certaines pathologies oculaires.
D. 1024-2003, a. 1.
2. Le permis est également délivré à un membre de l’Ordre des optométristes qui satisfait aux autres conditions prescrites à l’article 1, bien que sa formation ait été acquise antérieurement à la période visée au paragraphe 4 de cet article ou qu’elle n’atteigne pas le niveau de formation visé à ce paragraphe, s’il satisfait à l’une des conditions suivantes:
1°  il participe au programme de formation et réussit l’examen prévus aux articles 3 à 7;
2°  il est titulaire, à l’extérieur du Québec, d’une autorisation légale d’administrer et de prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et de dispenser des soins oculaires suivant des conditions et modalités comparables à celles prévues par le Règlement sur les médicaments qu’un optométriste peut administrer et prescrire pour des fins thérapeutiques et sur les soins oculaires qu’il peut dispenser (chapitre O-7, r. 11).
D. 1024-2003, a. 2; D. 397-2009, a. 1.
3. Le programme de formation doit être approuvé par le Conseil d’administration et il doit comporter un minimum de 100 heures de cours théoriques et cliniques se rapportant à la santé oculaire et au traitement pharmacologique de pathologies oculaires.
D. 1024-2003, a. 3.
4. Le programme de formation peut prévoir que la formation théorique soit dispensée par tout moyen audiovisuel.
D. 1024-2003, a. 4.
5. Le programme de formation doit se compléter par un examen qui a pour objet de vérifier les connaissances de l’optométriste en santé oculaire et en traitement pharmacologique de pathologies oculaires ainsi que sa formation clinique en ces matières.
D. 1024-2003, a. 5.
6. L’examen peut comprendre des parties écrite, orale et pratique, pour chacune des matières visées à l’article 3.
D. 1024-2003, a. 6.
7. Pour réussir l’examen, l’optométriste doit obtenir 60% dans chacune des parties écrite, orale et pratique que comporte l’examen.
D. 1024-2003, a. 7.
SECTION II
DÉTENTION, SUSPENSION ET RÉVOCATION DU PERMIS
8. Pour être titulaire du permis visé à la section I pendant une période de plus de 3 ans, l’optométriste doit participer au programme de perfectionnement approuvé par le Conseil d’administration et prévu aux articles 9 et 10.
D. 1024-2003, a. 8.
9. Le programme de perfectionnement doit obliger chaque optométriste qui est titulaire du permis visé à la section I à mettre à jour ses connaissances à tous les 3 ans.
D. 1024-2003, a. 9.
10. Le programme de perfectionnement doit prévoir 15 heures de formation théorique ou clinique se rapportant aux matières visées à l’article 3.
D. 1024-2003, a. 10.
11. Le paragraphe 2 de l’article 1 s’applique au programme de perfectionnement visé dans la présente section, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
D. 1024-2003, a. 11.
12. Le Conseil d’administration doit suspendre le permis visé à la section I dont est titulaire l’optométriste qui ne peut établir qu’il a satisfait aux exigences du programme de perfectionnement. Cette suspension ne peut se prolonger au-delà d’une période de 6 mois.
D. 1024-2003, a. 12.
13. À l’expiration de la période au cours de laquelle le permis est suspendu, le Conseil d’administration doit révoquer définitivement le permis dans les 30 jours si l’optométriste ne peut pas établir qu’il a satisfait aux exigences du programme de perfectionnement.
D. 1024-2003, a. 13.
14. L’optométriste dont le permis visé à la section I a été révoqué par le Conseil d’administration doit se soumettre à nouveau aux conditions de délivrance de ce permis prévues à cette section.
D. 1024-2003, a. 14.
15. (Omis).
D. 1024-2003, a. 15.
ANNEXE I
(a. 1)
DEMANDE DE PERMIS HABILITANT UN OPTOMÉTRISTE À ADMINISTRER ET À PRESCRIRE DES MÉDICAMENTS POUR DES FINS THÉRAPEUTIQUES ET À DISPENSER DES SOINS OCULAIRES
(a. 1)
Je soussigné _____________________________ résidant au ______________________________________ déclare par les présentes:
1° je suis inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre des optométristes du Québec;
2° mon domicile professionnel est situé au _____________________________________ et je pratique également au ________________________________;
3° je joins les documents établissant que ma formation est conforme à celle prescrite par le Règlement sur les normes de délivrance et de détention du permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires (chapitre O-7, r. 14);
4° je demande au Conseil d’administration qu’il me délivre le permis m’habilitant à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’optométrie, du Règlement sur les normes de délivrance et de détention du permis habilitant un optométriste à administrer et à prescrire des médicaments pour des fins thérapeutiques et à dispenser des soins oculaires et du Règlement sur les médicaments qu’un optométriste peut administrer et prescrire pour des fins thérapeutiques et sur les soins oculaires qu’il peut dispenser (chapitre O-7, r. 11).
Signature du membre ______________________________
Date ______________________________
D. 1024-2003, Ann. I.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1024-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 4609
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
D. 397-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1782