O-7, r. 11 - Regulation respecting the medications that may be administered and prescribed for therapeutic purposes by an optometrist and respecting the eye care that may be provided by an optometrist

Full text
chapter O-7, r. 11
Regulation respecting the medications that may be administered and prescribed for therapeutic purposes by an optometrist and respecting the eye care that may be provided by an optometrist
OPTOMETRIST — THERAPEUTIC — EYE CARE
Optometry Act
(chapter O-7, s. 19.4, 2nd par.).
O-7
September 1 2012
Replaced, O.C. 845-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 2760; eff. 2018-07-19; see chapter O-7, r. 11.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. An optometrist who holds a permit referred to in the second paragraph of section 19.2 of the Optometry Act (chapter O-7) may, in cases presenting conditions of mild morbidity of the eye and adnexa that require no invasive procedure, administer and prescribe for therapeutic purposes the medications in the categories listed in Schedule I, in accordance with the terms and conditions determined in this Regulation.
An optometrist may also, in accordance with the same terms and conditions, remove a superficial foreign body from the eye, provided there is no laceration or injury to the ocular globe.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 1.
2. An optometrist must refer the patient to a physician if the patient’s condition does not adequately respond to treatment in the accepted or anticipated amount of time. An optometrist must also refer the patient to a physician if the signs and symptoms suggest a condition that is not one of mild morbidity, or that requires a physician to take charge of the patient.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 2.
3. An optometrist who administers or prescribes medications must refer the patient to a physician if there is no clear and positive improvement within 72 hours of the beginning of the treatment, in the following cases:
(1)  an infectious ulcer smaller than 1 mm outside of the pupillary zone;
(2)  the presence of epithelial dendrites without stromal injury with infiltrate or melting, and without inflammation in the anterior chamber;
(3)  corneal infiltrates smaller than 1 mm, with no epithelial defect; and
(4)  sectorial inflammation of the episclera, without ischemia or melting.
The optometrist must also refer the patient to a physician in those cases if the condition does not resolve within the accepted or anticipated amount of time, or at the latest, within 7 days of the beginning of the treatment.
An optometrist may not intervene in cases in which the conditions are more serious than those described in the first paragraph.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 3.
4. An optometrist who uses medications to treat an inflammation of the anterior chamber without hypopyon, vitritis or lesion of the cornea must refer the patient to a physician within 72 hours of the beginning of the treatment.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 4.
DIVISION II
GLAUCOMA
5. Notwithstanding section 1, an optometrist who holds a permit referred to in the second paragraph of section 19.2 of the Optometry Act (chapter O-7) may, in cases of glaucoma, renew or change a prescription for anti-glaucoma medications.
The optometrist must, however, prior to every renewal or change, obtain verbal or written approval from the original prescribing physician or from the physician designated by the original prescribing physician. The optometrist must, in addition, write the name and professional permit number of the physician from whom consent was obtained on the prescription.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 5.
6. As of 23 October 2003, this division applies to optometrists whose professional domicile at the time the prescription is renewed or changed is in the territory of one of the following regions, as described in Schedule I to the Décret concernant la révision des limites des régions administratives du Qubec (chapter D-11, r. 1), as it reads on the date it applies:
(1)  Abitibi-Témiscamingue ;
(2)  Bas-Saint-Laurent;
(3)  Centre-du-Québec;
(4)  Mauricie;
(5)  Montérégie; or
(6)  Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean;
As of 23 October 2004, this section also applies to optometrists whose professional domicile at the time the prescription is renewed or changed is in the territory of one of the following regions, as described in Schedule I to the Décret concernant la révision des limites des régions administratives du Québec:
(1)  Chaudière-Appalaches;
(2)  Côte-Nord;
(3)  Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine;
(4)  Lanaudière; or
(5)  Outaouais;
As of 23 October 2005, this division applies throughout Québec.
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 6.
7. (Omitted).
O.C. 1025-2003, s. 7.
Note: The medications without specifications are to be administered topically.
(1) Mydriatics
(2) Local anesthetics, except cocaine, to remove a superficial foreign body from the eye
(3) Anti-allergic agents
— Antihistamines
— Mast cell stabilizers
(4) Non-steroidal anti-inflammatory medications
(5) Corticosteroids
(6) Anti-infectives
— Antibiotics
— Miscellaneous anti-infectives
— Antivirals
(7) Corticosteroids and anti-infectives in combination
(8) Lubricants
(9) Miscellaneous ophthalmic: hyperosmotic agents
(10) Oral vitamins, except those listed in the list established in accordance with section 29.1 of the Food and Drugs Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. F-27)
(11) Vasoconstrictor agents
(12) Anti-glaucoma medications, in the cases and conditions set out in Division II
O.C. 1025-2003, Sch. I; I.N. 2014-01-01.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1025-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 3139

O-7, r. 11 - Règlement sur les médicaments qu’un optométriste peut administrer et prescrire pour des fins thérapeutiques et sur les soins oculaires qu’il peut dispenser

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre O-7, r. 11
Règlement sur les médicaments qu’un optométriste peut administrer et prescrire pour des fins thérapeutiques et sur les soins oculaires qu’il peut dispenser
OPTOMÉTRIE — THÉRAPEUTIQUES — SOINS OCULAIRES
Loi sur l’optométrie
(chapitre O-7, a. 19.4, 2e al.).
O-7
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Tout optométriste titulaire d’un permis visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 19.2 de la Loi sur l’optométrie (chapitre O-7) peut, dans des cas présentant des conditions de faible morbidité de l’oeil ou de ses annexes et qui ne nécessitent pas d’intervention invasive, administrer et prescrire pour des fins thérapeutiques les médicaments faisant partie des classes mentionnées à l’annexe I, suivant les conditions et modalités déterminées au présent règlement.
Il peut aussi, suivant les mêmes conditions et modalités, extraire un corps étranger de la surface de l’oeil, s’il n’y a pas de lacération cutanée ni atteinte du globe oculaire.
D. 1025-2003, a. 1.
2. L’optométriste doit diriger le patient vers un médecin lorsque sa condition ne répond pas adéquatement aux soins dans les délais reconnus ou anticipés. Il doit aussi le faire lorsque les signes et symptômes suggèrent une condition qui n’est pas de faible morbidité ou qui nécessite une prise en charge par un médecin.
D. 1025-2003, a. 2.
3. L’optométriste qui administre ou prescrit des médicaments doit diriger le patient vers un médecin s’il n’y a pas d’amélioration claire et certaine du cas dans un délai de 72 heures du début du traitement, dans les cas suivants:
1°  ulcère infectieux de moins de 1 mm hors de l’aire pupillaire;
2°  présence de dendrites épithéliales sans atteinte stromale avec infiltrat ou fonte, ni inflammation dans la chambre antérieure;
3°  infiltrats cornéens de moins de 1 mm sans déficit épithélial;
4°  inflammation sectorielle de l’épisclère sans ischémie ou fonte.
Il doit également dans ces cas diriger le patient vers un médecin s’il n’y a pas de résolution du cas dans les délais reconnus ou anticipés et au plus tard dans un délai de 7 jours du début du traitement.
L’optométriste ne peut intervenir en présence d’un cas dont les conditions sont plus sévères que celles des cas mentionnés au premier alinéa.
D. 1025-2003, a. 3.
4. L’optométriste qui a recours à des médicaments dans le cas d’inflammation de la chambre antérieure sans hypopion, vitréite ou lésion de la cornée doit diriger le patient vers un médecin dans un délai de 72 heures du début du traitement.
D. 1025-2003, a. 4.
SECTION II
DISPOSITIONS RELATIVES AU GLAUCOME
5. Malgré l’article 1, tout optométriste titulaire d’un permis visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 19.2 de la Loi sur l’optométrie (chapitre O-7) peut, dans les cas de glaucome, renouveler ou modifier une ordonnance de médicaments antiglaucomateux.
Toutefois, il doit, préalablement à chaque renouvellement ou modification, obtenir l’accord verbal ou écrit du médecin qui en est le prescripteur initial ou qui est désigné par celui-ci. Il doit de plus indiquer sur l’ordonnance le nom et le numéro du permis du médecin dont il a ainsi obtenu l’accord.
D. 1025-2003, a. 5.
6. À compter du 23 octobre 2003, la présente section s’applique aux optométristes qui, au moment de renouveler ou de modifier l’ordonnance, ont leur domicile professionnel dans le territoire d’une des régions suivantes, telles que décrites à l’annexe I du Décret concernant la révision des limites des régions administratives du Québec (chapitre D-11, r. 1):
1°  Abitibi-Témiscamingue;
2°  Bas-Saint-Laurent;
3°  Centre-du-Québec;
4°  Mauricie;
5°  Montérégie;
6°  Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean.
À compter du 23 octobre 2004, la présente section s’applique également aux optométristes qui, au moment de renouveler ou de modifier l’ordonnance, ont leur domicile professionnel dans le territoire d’une des régions suivantes, telles que décrites à l’annexe I du Décret concernant la révision des limites des régions administratives du Québec:
1°  Chaudière-Appalaches;
2°  Côte-Nord;
3°  Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine;
4°  Lanaudière;
5°  Outaouais.
À compter du 23 octobre 2005, la présente section s’applique à l’ensemble du Québec.
D. 1025-2003, a. 6.
7. (Omis).
D. 1025-2003, a. 7.
ANNEXE I
(a. 1)
Note: les médicaments sans spécifications sont destinés à une administration par voie topique.
1. Mydriatiques
2. Anesthésiques locaux, sauf la cocaïne, pour l’extraction de corps étrangers de la surface de l’oeil
3. Anti-allergiques
— Antihistaminiques
— Stabilisateurs de mastocytes
4. Anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens
5. Corticostéroïdes
6. Anti-infectieux
— Antibiotiques
— Autres anti-infectieux
— Antiviraux
7. Corticostéroïdes et anti-infectieux en combinaison
8. Lubrifiants
9. Autres agents ophtalmiques: hyperosmotiques
10. Vitamines, sauf celles prévues à la liste établie conformément à l’article 29.1 de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues (L.R.C. 1985, c. F-27), pour administration par voie orale
11. Agents vasoconstricteurs
12. Antiglaucomateux, dans les cas et aux conditions de la section II
D. 1025-2003, Ann. I; N.I. 2014-01-01.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1025-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 4611