O-6, r. 10 - Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances

Full text
chapter O-6, r. 10
Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances
DISPENSING OPTICIANS — EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS — ISSUE OF A PERMIT
Dispensing Opticians Act
(chapter O-6, s. 3).
O-6
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. This Regulation determines the diploma and training equivalence standards for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means recognition that a diploma awarded by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that the candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by the Government as giving access to the permit; and
“training equivalence” means recognition that a candidate’s training has enabled the candidate to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by the Government that gives access to the permit.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 2.
DIVISION II
DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
3. A candidate who holds a diploma awarded by an educational institution outside Québec is granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was obtained upon completion of studies at a level equivalent to college level comprising a minimum of 2,670 hours, including at least 2,010 hours of training specific to optics, apportioned as follows:
(1)  a minimum of 192 hours in the principles of optics and chemical phenomena in the field of ophthalmics;
(2)  a minimum of 216 hours in ocular anatomy, physiology and pathology, including prevention and antimicrobial control;
(3)  a minimum of 412 hours in the characteristics of lenses for eyeglasses, the selection of lenses for eyeglasses and frames, the manufacturing and repair of eyeglasses, and the delivery and adjustment of eyeglasses;
(4)  a minimum of 225 hours in the characteristics, fitting and adjustment of contact lenses, and after-sale follow-up;
(5)  a minimum of 84 hours in communications and sales psychology and communication with clients and professional resources in the field of eye and vision care;
(6)  a minimum of 48 hours in the use and application of sales and business management techniques;
(7)  a minimum of 72 hours in vision evaluation and assessment techniques;
(8)  a minimum of 24 hours in the application of laws and regulations pertaining to the professional practice; and
(9)  a minimum of 280 hours of clinical training in the field of eye and vision care.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 3.
4. Despite section 3, if the diploma for which an equivalence application is made was obtained more than 5 years before the application and, considering the developments in the profession, the knowledge and skills certified by the diploma no longer correspond to the knowledge and skills being taught at the time of the application in the program of studies leading to a diploma recognized by the Government as giving access to a permit, the candidate is granted a training equivalence pursuant to section 5 if the candidate has attained the required level of knowledge and skills since being awarded the diploma.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 4.
DIVISION III
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
5. A candidate is granted a training equivalence if the candidate demonstrates having a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by the Government as giving access to a permit.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 5.
6. In assessing the training equivalence of a candidate, the following factors are taken into particular account:
(1)  the nature and duration of the candidate’s work experience;
(2)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more post-secondary diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  the nature, content and duration of courses taken and the results obtained;
(4)  training periods in the field of eye and vision care and other continuing training or upgrading activities; and
(5)  the total number of years of schooling.
To complete the assessment of the level of knowledge and skills, the candidate may be required to come to an interview, sit for an examination or undergo a training period, or to satisfy any combination of those conditions.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 6.
DIVISION IV
DIPLOMA AND TRAINING EQUIVALENCE RECOGNITION PROCEDURE
7. A candidate wishing to have a diploma or training equivalence recognized must
(1)  make a written application to the secretary of the Order and submit the application examination fees prescribed by the board of directors of the Order under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(2)  provide, if applicable, to the secretary of the Order,
(a)  the original or a certified true copy of any diploma obtained;
(b)  the candidate’s academic record, including the official transcript of the results obtained bearing the seal of the educational institution, or a certified true copy thereof, a description of courses taken and the number of credits or hours for each course;
(c)  an attestation by the educational institution that issued the diploma certifying the candidate’s successful completion of training periods;
(d)  an attestation of the candidate’s participation in continuing training or upgrading activities in the field of eye and vision care;
(e)  an attestation and description of the candidate’s work experience in the field of eye and vision care;
(f)  a certified true copy of the candidate’s birth certificate or, failing that, a certified true photocopy of the candidate’s passport; and
(g)  a recent passport-type photo.
Documents in a language other than French or English submitted in support of an application must be accompanied by a French or English translation certified under oath by the translator.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 7.
8. The secretary must send the documents referred to in section 7 to a committee formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to examine diploma or training equivalence applications and make an appropriate recommendation.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 8.
9. At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the committee’s recommendation, the board of directors must decide
(1)  to grant the diploma or training equivalence;
(2)  to grant the training equivalence in part; or
(3)  to refuse to grant the diploma or training equivalence.
The board of directors must send the decision to the candidate in writing within 30 days of the decision.
If the board of directors refuses to grant the equivalence applied for or grants a training equivalence in part, it must at the same time inform the candidate in writing of any programs of study, bridging programs, training periods or examinations which if successfully completed within the allotted time would enable the candidate to be granted the training equivalence.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 9.
10. A candidate who is informed of the board of director’s decision not to grant the equivalence applied for or to grant it in part may apply to the board of directors for a review, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days of receiving the decision and submits the fees determined under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26). The secretary must forward the application to the committee formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code to examine review applications for diploma or training equivalence. The committee is composed of persons other than members of the board of directors or the committee referred to in section 8.
The committee must meet and examine the application within 60 days following the date of receipt of the application by the secretary and, before disposing of the application, allow the candidate to make submissions at the meeting.
A candidate who wishes to be present at the meeting to make submissions must notify the secretary at least 5 days before the date set for the meeting. The candidate may, however, send written submissions to the secretary at any time before the date set for the meeting.
The decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the candidate in writing by registered mail within 30 days following the date of the decision. The board of directors must also be informed of the committee’s decision.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 10; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
DIVISION V
FINAL
11. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting equivalence standards for diplomas of dispensing opticians (Decision 83-02-09).
Despite the foregoing, a diploma equivalence application must be decided on the basis of the Regulation replaced by this Regulation if the committee referred to in section 8 of this Regulation sent a recommendation to the board of directors in respect of the application before 6 December 2007.
O.C. 982-2007, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 982-2007, s. 12.
REFERENCES
O.C. 982-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 2983
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

O-6, r. 10 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances

Texte complet
chapitre O-6, r. 10
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances
OPTICIENS D’ORDONNANCES — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE — DÉLIVRANCE D’UN PERMIS
Loi sur les opticiens d’ordonnances
(chapitre O-6, a. 3).
O-6
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par c et c.1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis d’exercice par l’Ordre des opticiens d’ordonnances.
D. 982-2007, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste l’acquisition par son titulaire d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalentes à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance que la formation d’une personne comporte l’acquisition d’un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalentes à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 982-2007, a. 2.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
3. Le titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si son diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau équivalent au niveau collégial comportant un minimum de 2 670 heures, dont au moins 2 010 heures de formation spécifique au domaine de l’optique réparties comme suit:
1°  un minimum de 192 heures portant sur les principes d’optique et les phénomènes chimiques dans le domaine ophtalmique;
2°  un minimum de 216 heures portant sur l’anatomie, la physiologie et la pathologie oculaires, incluant la prévention et le contrôle anti-microbien;
3°  un minimum de 412 heures portant sur les caractéristiques des lentilles de lunetterie, la sélection des lentilles de lunetterie et des montures, la fabrication et la réparation de lunettes et la livraison et l’ajustement des lunettes;
4°  un minimum de 225 heures portant sur les caractéristiques, la pose, l’ajustement et le suivi après vente de lentilles cornéennes;
5°  un minimum de 84 heures portant sur la psychologie de la communication et de la vente et la communication avec la clientèle et les ressources professionnelles du domaine oculo-visuel;
6°  un minimum de 48 heures portant sur l’utilisation et l’application des techniques de vente et de gestion d’entreprise;
7°  un minimum de 72 heures portant sur les principales techniques d’évaluation et de contrôle de la vision;
8°  un minimum de 24 heures portant sur l’application des lois et règlements liés à la pratique professionnelle;
9°  un minimum de 280 heures de stages cliniques dans le domaine oculo-visuel.
D. 982-2007, a. 3.
4. Malgré l’article 3, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu plus de 5 ans avant cette demande, et que le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés acquis par son titulaire ne correspond plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances et habiletés enseignées au moment de la demande dans le programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention du diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis, son titulaire bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation conformément à l’article 5 s’il a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés requis.
D. 982-2007, a. 4.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
5. Une personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation si elle démontre qu’elle possède un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par le gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 982-2007, a. 5.
6. Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de la formation de la personne, il est tenu compte notamment de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience de travail;
2°  le fait que la personne détienne un ou plusieurs diplômes post-secondaires obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature, le contenu et la durée des cours suivis ainsi que les résultats obtenus;
4°  les stages effectués dans le domaine oculo-visuel et autres activités de formation continue ou de perfectionnement;
5°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité.
Afin de compléter l’appréciation du niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés de la personne concernée, celle-ci peut notamment être reçue en entrevue, être invitée à subir un examen ou à compléter un stage ou être assujettie à un ensemble de ces conditions.
D. 982-2007, a. 6.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME ET DE LA FORMATION
7. La personne qui désire faire reconnaître l’équivalence de son diplôme ou de sa formation doit:
1°  faire une demande écrite à ce sujet au secrétaire de l’Ordre et l’accompagner des frais d’étude de son dossier prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre, en vertu du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
2°  fournir, le cas échéant, au secrétaire de l’Ordre:
a)  l’original ou une copie certifiée conforme de tout diplôme obtenu;
b)  son dossier académique comprenant le relevé de notes officiel portant le sceau de l’établissement d’enseignement ou une copie certifiée conforme, le contenu des cours suivis de même que le nombre de crédits ou d’heures s’y rapportant;
c)  une attestation de l’établissement d’enseignement qui a délivré le diplôme à l’effet qu’elle a complété et réussi les stages;
d)  une attestation de sa participation à toute activité de formation continue et de perfectionnement dans le domaine oculo-visuel;
e)  une attestation et une description de son expérience de travail dans le domaine oculo-visuel;
f)  une copie certifiée conforme de son acte de naissance ou, à défaut, une photocopie certifiée conforme de son passeport;
g)  une photo récente de type passeport.
Si un document transmis à l’appui de la demande de reconnaissance d’une équivalence est rédigé dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, la personne qui fait la demande doit fournir une traduction du document en français ou en anglais. La traduction doit être certifiée par le traducteur agréé qui l’a faite.
D. 982-2007, a. 7.
8. Le secrétaire transmet les documents visés à l’article 7 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation afin de formuler une recommandation quant à la demande d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation.
D. 982-2007, a. 8.
9. À la première réunion qui suit la date de la réception de la recommandation du comité, le Conseil d’administration décide:
1°  soit de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation de la personne;
2°  soit de reconnaître en partie l’équivalence de la formation de cette personne;
3°  soit de refuser de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation de cette personne.
Le Conseil d’administration informe la personne de sa décision en la lui transmettant, par écrit, dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de celle-ci.
Lorsque le Conseil d’administration refuse de reconnaître l’équivalence demandée ou reconnaît en partie l’équivalence de la formation, il doit, par la même occasion, informer, par écrit, la personne concernée, selon le cas, du programme d’études ou du complément de formation, des stages ou des examens dont la réussite, dans le délai fixé, lui permettrait de bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation.
D. 982-2007, a. 9.
10. La personne qui est informée de la décision de Conseil d’administration de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence ou de ne la reconnaître que partiellement peut en demander la révision, en faisant la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de cette décision, accompagnée des frais fixés en vertu du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26). Le secrétaire transmet la demande au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 de ce code pour étudier les demandes de révision de décision d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation. Ce comité est composé de personnes autres que des membres du Conseil d’administration ou du comité visé à l’article 8.
Ce comité doit se réunir et examiner la demande dans les 60 jours suivant sa réception par le secrétaire. Il doit, avant de prendre une décision, permettre à la personne de présenter ses observations à cette réunion.
La personne qui désire être présente pour faire ses observations doit en informer le secrétaire au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. La personne peut cependant faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour cette réunion.
La décision du comité est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit à la personne concernée par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de la réunion. Le Conseil d’administration doit également être informé de la décision du comité.
D. 982-2007, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
11. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes des opticiens d’ordonnances (Décision 83-02-09).
Cependant, une demande de reconnaissance de diplôme à l’égard de laquelle le comité visé à l’article 8 de ce règlement a, avant le 6 décembre 2007, transmis sa recommandation au Conseil d’administration, est évaluée en fonction du règlement que le présent règlement remplace.
D. 982-2007, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
D. 982-2007, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 982-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 4567
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212