N-3, r. 15 - Regulation respecting refresher training periods for notaries

Table of contents
Full text
chapter N-3, r. 15
Regulation respecting refresher training periods for notaries
NOTARIES — REFRESHER TRAINING
Notaries Act
(chapter N-3).
N-3
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. j).
C-26
September 1 2012
O.C. 1363-94; Erratum, 1994 G.O. 2, 4325.
1. The board of directors may require a notary to serve a refresher training period where
(1)  the notary’s name is entered on the roll more than 2 years after the notary obtained his permit or more than 2 years after the date on which he became entitled to such permit;
(2)  the notary’s name is re-entered on the roll 2 years or more after the notary resigned from the Order;
(3)  the notary’s name is re-entered on the roll after having been struck off for more than 2 years;
(4)  the professional inspection committee or the disciplinary council has made a recommendation to that effect pursuant to section 113 or 160 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26); or
(5)  the notary has served a refresher training period not considered to comply with the objectives and terms determined by the board of directors.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 1.
2. The refresher training period may include, in particular,
(1)  a program of supplementary or refresher courses authorized by the board of directors; and
(2)  activities related to the practice of the profession under the supervision and responsibility of a tutor.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 2.
3. A tutor is responsible for directing and assisting the notary in carrying out the activities of the refresher training period and for verifying whether the refresher training period complies with the objectives and terms determined by the board of directors.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 3.
4. A refresher training period may not extend over a period of more than 12 consecutive months.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 4.
5. The board of directors may require from a notary who must serve a refresher training period such reports and certificates as it considers necessary to ascertain that the prescribed conditions have been duly met and that the deficiencies observed have been remedied.
In the case of activities carried out under the direction of a tutor, the tutor shall, within 15 days following the completion of his duties, send to the board of directors and to the notary a report, with reasons, stating whether the notary, while under the tutor’s supervision and responsibility, has complied with the objectives and terms determined by the board of directors.
The board of directors may also require additional reports from the notary or the tutor on such dates as it may determine.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 5.
6. After examining each of the required reports, the board of directors shall decide, within 60 days of receiving the last report, whether the refresher training period served by the notary complies with the objectives and terms determined. The board of directors may require the notary to serve another refresher training period, in accordance with the terms it determines, where it is of the opinion that the deficiencies observed at the time of the decision requiring the notary to serve a refresher training period have not been remedied.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 6.
7. Before deciding to require a notary to serve a refresher training period and, where applicable, to restrict his right to practise, the board of directors shall allow the notary to be heard. To that end, the board of directors shall send to the notary, by registered mail, a written notice of at least 15 clear days, indicating the date and place of the hearing.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 7; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
8. The board of director’s decision requiring a notary to serve a refresher period and, where applicable, restricting his right to practise, shall give reasons and shall be sent as soon as possible to the notary by registered mail.
The board of directors shall communicate to the notary’s employer and partners the decision requiring the notary to serve a refresher training period and, where applicable, restricting his right to practise.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 8; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
9. A decision requiring a notary to serve a refresher training period and, where applicable, restricting his right to practise shall take effect on receipt of the decision by the notary.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 9.
10. During a refresher training period, the board of directors may, upon presentation of a written request by the notary giving reasons, reduce the duration and the requirements of the refresher training period and, where expedient, may ease the conditions restricting the notary’s right to practise. The board of directors shall forward such decision to the notary and, where applicable, to his tutor.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 10.
11. The board of director’s ruling on the validity of the refresher training period served by a notary and, where applicable, on the lifting of the restriction on his right to practise shall give reasons and shall be sent to the notary and, where applicable, to his tutor, employer and partners by registered mail.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 11; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
12. At all times, the executive committee may exercise the board of director’s powers described in this Regulation.
O.C. 1363-94, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1363-94, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1363-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 4203 and 4325
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

N-3, r. 15 - Règlement sur les stages de perfectionnement des notaires

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre N-3, r. 15
Règlement sur les stages de perfectionnement des notaires
NOTAIRES — STAGES DE PERFECTIONNEMENT
Loi sur le notariat
(chapitre N-3).
N-3
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. j).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
D. 1363-94; Erratum, 1994 G.O. 2, 6087; Erratum, 1994 G.O. 2, 6153.
1. Le Conseil d’administration peut imposer un stage de perfectionnement à un notaire qui:
1°  s’est inscrit au tableau plus de 2 ans après avoir obtenu son permis ou plus de 2 ans après la date à laquelle il avait droit à la délivrance d’un tel permis;
2°  s’est réinscrit au tableau 2 ans ou plus après avoir démissionné de l’Ordre;
3°  s’est réinscrit au tableau après en avoir été radié pendant plus de 2 ans;
4°  fait l’objet d’une recommandation en ce sens de la part du comité d’inspection professionnelle ou du conseil de discipline en vertu de l’article 113 ou 160 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
5°  a accompli un stage jugé non conforme aux objectifs et aux modalités fixés par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1363-94, a. 1.
2. Le stage peut comprendre notamment:
1°  un programme de cours d’appoint ou de perfectionnement autorisé par le Conseil d’administration;
2°  des activités reliées à l’exercice de la profession sous la surveillance et la responsabilité d’un maître de stage.
D. 1363-94, a. 2.
3. Le maître de stage a la responsabilité de diriger et d’assister le notaire dans l’accomplissement des activités du stage et de vérifier si le stage est conforme aux objectifs et modalités fixés par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1363-94, a. 3.
4. Un stage ne peut s’échelonner sur une période de plus de 12 mois consécutifs.
D. 1363-94, a. 4.
5. Le Conseil d’administration peut exiger du notaire à qui est imposé un stage, les rapports et attestations qu’il estime nécessaires pour s’assurer que les conditions imposées ont été dûment respectées et que les déficiences constatées ont été corrigées.
Dans le cas d’activités accomplies sous la direction d’un maître de stage, celui-ci doit transmettre dans les 15 jours de la fin de ses fonctions, au Conseil d’administration ainsi qu’au notaire, un rapport motivé indiquant si le notaire a agi, alors qu’il était sous sa surveillance et responsabilité, conformément aux objectifs et modalités fixés par le Conseil d’administration.
Le Conseil d’administration peut également exiger du notaire ou du maître de stage des rapports supplémentaires aux dates qu’il détermine.
D. 1363-94, a. 5.
6. Après étude de chacun des rapports requis, le Conseil d’administration décide, dans les 60 jours suivant la réception du dernier rapport, si le stage effectué par le notaire est conforme aux objectifs et modalités fixés. Le Conseil d’administration peut obliger le notaire à faire de nouveau un stage, suivant les modalités qu’il détermine, s’il estime que les déficiences constatées lors de la décision d’imposer un stage à ce notaire n’ont pas été corrigées.
D. 1363-94, a. 6.
7. Avant de prendre la décision d’imposer un stage à un notaire et, le cas échéant, de limiter le droit d’exercice de ce notaire, le Conseil d’administration doit permettre à celui-ci de se faire entendre. À cette fin, le Conseil d’administration doit lui transmettre, par poste recommandée, un avis écrit d’au moins 15 jours francs de la date et du lieu d’audition.
D. 1363-94, a. 7; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
8. La décision du Conseil d’administration imposant un stage de même que, le cas échéant, la décision du Conseil d’administration limitant le droit d’exercice d’un notaire doivent être motivées et transmises dans les plus brefs délais à celui-ci, par poste recommandée.
Le Conseil d’administration doit transmettre la décision d’imposer un stage et, le cas échéant, de limiter le droit d’exercice d’un notaire à l’employeur et aux associés de celui-ci.
D. 1363-94, a. 8; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
9. Une décision imposant un stage et, le cas échéant, limitant le droit d’exercice d’un notaire prend effet sur réception par celui-ci.
D. 1363-94, a. 9.
10. Pendant la durée d’un stage, le Conseil d’administration peut, sur demande écrite et motivée du notaire, réduire la durée et les exigences du stage et s’il y a lieu, diminuer les conditions de la limitation du droit d’exercice de celui-ci. Le Conseil d’administration doit transmettre cette décision au notaire et, le cas échéant, au maître de stage de celui-ci.
D. 1363-94, a. 10.
11. La décision du Conseil d’administration statuant sur la validité du stage complété par le notaire et, le cas échéant, sur la levée de la limitation du droit d’exercice de celui-ci, doit être motivée et transmise au notaire et, le cas échéant, au maître de stage, à l’employeur du notaire et à ses associées, par poste recommandée.
D. 1363-94, a. 11; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. En tout temps, le comité exécutif peut exercer les pouvoirs du Conseil d’administration décrits au présent règlement.
D. 1363-94, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 1363-94, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1363-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 5930, 6087 et 6153
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212