M-9, r. 6 - Regulation respecting certain professional activities that may be engaged in by respiratory therapists

Table of contents
Full text
chapter M-9, r. 6
Regulation respecting certain professional activities that may be engaged in by respiratory therapists
RESPIRATORY THERAPISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
Medical Act
(chapter M-9, s. 3).
M-9
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. h).
C-26
September 1 2012
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine, among the professional activities that may be performed by physicians, those that, pursuant to the terms and conditions set out in the Regulation, may be engaged in by a respiratory therapist.
O.C. 1026-2005, s. 1; O.C. 954-2011, s. 1.
1.1. A respiratory therapist may assess the cardiopulmonary condition of a symptomatic person.
847-2018O.C. 847-2018, s. 1.
1.2. Under the national public health program made under the Public Health Act (chapter S-2.2), a respiratory therapist may prescribe a drug for smoking cessation, except varenicline and bupropion.
A respiratory therapist engages in the activity provided for in the first paragraph in accordance with the provisions applicable to individual prescriptions provided for in the Règlement sur les normes relatives aux ordonnances faites par un médecin (chapter M-9, r. 25.1).
847-2018O.C. 847-2018, s. 1.
1.3. To engage in the activity referred to in section 1.2, a respiratory therapist must hold an attestation issued by the Ordre professionnel des inhalothérapeutes du Québec attesting to the successful completion of 2 hours of training in
(1)  ethical considerations;
(2)  the procedure for prescribing a drug for smoking cessation:
(a)  the prescription decision-making process;
(b)  the writing of a prescription;
(c)  the follow-up with the physician or specialized nurse practitioner; and
(d)  record-keeping.
847-2018O.C. 847-2018, s. 1.
2. A respiratory therapist may perform a radial arterial puncture pursuant to an individual prescription, if he holds a certificate issued by the Ordre professionnel des inhalothérapeutes du Québec attesting that:
(1)  he has successfully completed at least 2 hours of theoretical training organized by the Order under subparagraph 3 of second paragraph of section 62 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), on the following aspects:
(a)  the anatomy of the vascular system;
(b)  the main indications and contraindications for taking blood samples by arterial puncture;
(c)  the complications and limits associated with taking blood samples by arterial puncture;
(d)  the technique and procedure for taking blood samples by arterial puncture; and
(2)  he has successfully performed at least 15 arterial punctures under the immediate supervision of a physician, which are noted on a document indicating the date, location, name and signature of the supervising physician, for each puncture.
O.C. 1026-2005, s. 2; O.C. 954-2011, s. 2.
3. The respiratory therapist performs the activity provided in section 2 in an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5) in a laboratory for diagnostic testing of cardio-pulmonary function, in a care unit including an intensive care unit, or in an emergency service or department.
He may also perform this activity within the context of home care services provided by an institution operating a local community service centre.
O.C. 1026-2005, s. 3; O.C. 954-2011, s. 3.
3.1. A respiratory therapist who has been issued a certificate of training by the Order within the framework of a regulation in application of paragraph o of section 94 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), may engage in the following professional activities:
(1)  operate and tend pulmonary or circulatory assistance equipment that has an extracorporeal membrane, pursuant to a prescription;
(2)  operate and tend autotransfusion equipment, pursuant to a prescription;
(3)  clinically monitor the condition of persons connected to pulmonary or circulatory assistance equipment that has an extracorporeal membrane;
(4)  clinically monitor the condition of persons connected to autotransfusion equipment.
O.C. 954-2011, s. 4.
3.2. The respiratory therapist exercises the activities provided in section 3.1 in an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or of the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5).
O.C. 954-2011, s. 4.
4. (Omitted).
O.C. 1026-2005, s. 4.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1026-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 4855
O.C. 954-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 2644
O.C. 847-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 2765

M-9, r. 6 - Règlement sur certaines activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par un inhalothérapeute

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre M-9, r. 6
Règlement sur certaines activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par un inhalothérapeute
INHALOTHÉRAPEUTES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — ACTIVITÉS PROFESSIONNELLES
Loi médicale
(chapitre M-9, a. 3).
M-9
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. h).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer parmi les activités professionnelles que peuvent exercer les médecins celles qui, suivant les conditions et modalités qui y sont déterminées, peuvent l’être par un inhalothérapeute.
D. 1026-2005, a. 1; D. 954-2011, a. 1.
1.1. L’inhalothérapeute peut évaluer la condition cardiorespiratoire d’une personne symptomatique.
847-2018D. 847-2018, a. 1.
1.2. Dans le cadre du programme national de santé publique pris en application de la Loi sur la santé publique (chapitre S-2.2), l’inhalothérapeute peut prescrire un médicament pour la cessation tabagique, sauf la varenicline et le bupropion.
L’inhalothérapeute exerce l’activité prévue au premier alinéa conformément aux dispositions applicables aux ordonnances individuelles prévues au Règlement sur les normes relatives aux ordonnances faites par un médecin (chapitre M-9, r. 25.1).
847-2018D. 847-2018, a. 1.
1.3. Pour exercer l’activité visée à l’article 1.2, l’inhalothérapeute doit être titulaire d’une attestation délivrée par l’Ordre professionnel des inhalothérapeutes du Québec suivant laquelle il a réussi une formation d’une durée de 2 heures portant sur les aspects suivants:
1°  les considérations déontologiques;
2°  la démarche de prescription d’un médicament pour la cessation tabagique:
a)  le processus décisionnel lié à la prescription;
b)  la rédaction de l’ordonnance;
c)  le suivi à effectuer auprès du médecin ou de l’infirmière praticienne spécialisée;
d)  la tenue de dossier.
847-2018D. 847-2018, a. 1.
2. L’inhalothérapeute peut effectuer la ponction artérielle radiale, selon une ordonnance individuelle, s’il est titulaire d’une attestation délivrée par l’Ordre professionnel des inhalothérapeutes du Québec suivant laquelle il a réussi:
1°  une formation théorique, organisée par l’Ordre en application du paragraphe 3 du deuxième alinéa de l’article 62 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), d’une durée d’au moins 2 heures sur les aspects suivants:
a)  l’anatomie du système vasculaire;
b)  les principales indications et contre-indications au prélèvement artériel par ponction;
c)  les complications et les limites associées au prélèvement et à la ponction artérielle;
d)  la technique et la procédure pour effectuer un prélèvement par ponction artérielle;
2°  au moins 15 ponctions artérielles sous la supervision immédiate d’un médecin, lesquelles sont constatées sur un document comportant, pour chaque ponction, la date, le lieu ainsi que le nom et la signature du médecin qui l’a supervisée.
D. 1026-2005, a. 2; D. 954-2011, a. 2.
3. L’inhalothérapeute exerce l’activité prévue à l’article 2 dans un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5) au sein d’un laboratoire d’épreuves diagnostiques de la fonction cardiorespiratoire, d’une unité de soins, y compris une unité de soins intensifs ou d’un service ou département d’urgence.
Il peut également exercer cette activité dans le cadre de soins dispensés à domicile et fournis par un établissement qui exploite un centre local de services communautaires.
D. 1026-2005, a. 3; D. 954-2011, a. 3.
3.1. L’inhalothérapeute peut, lorsqu’une attestation de formation lui est délivrée par l’Ordre dans le cadre d’un règlement pris en application du paragraphe o de l’article 94 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), exercer les activités professionnelles suivantes:
1°  opérer et assurer le fonctionnement de l’équipement d’assistance pulmonaire ou circulatoire par membrane extracorporelle, selon une ordonnance;
2°  opérer et assurer le fonctionnement de l’équipement d’autotransfusion, selon une ordonnance;
3°  exercer une surveillance clinique de la condition des personnes reliées à un équipement d’assistance pulmonaire ou circulatoire par membrane extracorporelle;
4°  exercer une surveillance clinique de la condition des personnes reliées à un équipement d’autotransfusion.
D. 954-2011, a. 4.
3.2. L’inhalothérapeute exerce les activités prévues à l’article 3.1 dans un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5).
D. 954-2011, a. 4.
4. (Omis).
D. 1026-2005, a. 4.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1026-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 6445
D. 954-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 4108
D. 847-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 4330