M-8, r. 13 - Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence for the issue of a permit or specialist’s certificate by the Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec

Full text
chapter M-8, r. 13
Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence for the issue of a permit or specialist’s certificate by the Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec
VETERINARY SURGEONS — PERMIT — STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE
Veterinary Surgeons Act
(chapter M-8, s. 3).
M-8
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. c).
C-26
September 1 2012
O.C. 280-93; O.C. 837-94, s. 1.
1. The secretary of the Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate wishing to have a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec recognized as equivalent for the issue of a permit or specialist’s certificate.
The secretary shall also forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate wishing to have training recognized as equivalent for the issue of a permit or specialist’s certificate.
O.C. 280-93, s. 1; O.C. 837-94, s. 2.
1.1. In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the board of directors of the Order that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge is equivalent to the level that may be attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as giving access to a permit or a specialist’s certificate, as the case may be;
“training equivalence” means the recognition by the board of directors that a candidate’s training demonstrates that he has attained a level of knowledge equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as giving access to a permit or a specialist’s certificate, as the case may be;
“specialty recognized by the board of directors” means a specialty defined in accordance with the regulation made under paragraph e of section 94 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
O.C. 679-96, s. 2.
DIVISION I
EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS AND TRAINING FOR THE ISSUE OF A PERMIT
O.C. 837-94, s. 3; O.C. 679-96, s. 3.
2. A candidate applying for a diploma or training equivalence for the issue of a permit shall provide the secretary with the following supporting documents:
(1)  the candidate’s academic record and a description of the courses taken, with the number of credits for each course and the marks obtained;
(2)  proof that the diploma was issued;
(3)  proof that the diploma is officially recognized; and
(4)  the candidate’s résumé, including attestations of relevant work experience.
Documents written in a language other than French or English shall be accompanied by a translation.
O.C. 280-93, s. 2; O.C. 837-94, ss. 4 and 5; O.C. 679-96, ss. 4 and 5.
3. A candidate holding a diploma in veterinary medicine issued by an educational institution outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was issued upon completion of undergraduate university-level studies or the equivalent comprising not less than 183 credits, with each credit corresponding to 15 hours of theory, 30 hours of laboratory work or 45 hours of clinical practice. The credits shall be apportioned as follows:
(1)  General (Biometry, ethics, ethology, introduction to clinical work): not less than 7 credits;
(2)  Morphology (Anatomy, histology, embryology, mammalogy, genetics): not less than 35 credits;
(3)  Physiology (Biochemistry, pharmacology, physiology, nutrition, endocrinology, feeding): not less than 32 credits;
(4)  Bacteriology (Microbiology, bacteriology, virology, immunology, parasitology, toxicology): not les than 16 credits;
(5)  Pathology (General and systemic): not less than 27 credits;
(6)  Medicine and surgery (Anesthesiology, surgery, ophtalmology, surgical exercices, medicine of systems and species, introduction to clinical work): not less than 35 credits;
(7)  Herd medicine (Animal production, epizootic diseases, regulatory medicine): not less than 11 credits;
(8)  Clinical practice (Equine, bovine, canine and feline clinics, theriogenology, diagnostic laboratory): not less than 20 credits.
O.C. 280-93, s. 3; O.C. 679-96, s. 6.
4. Notwithstanding section 3, where the diploma in respect of which an equivalence application has been filed was issued 5 or more years prior to the application, a diploma equivalence shall be denied if the candidate’s level of knowledge, taking into account developments in the profession, no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently being taught in an educational institution that issues a diploma recognized as meeting permit requirements.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a diploma equivalence shall be granted if the candidate’s relevant work experience and training since being issued the diploma have enabled the candidate to acquire the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 280-93, s. 4.
4.1. A candidate who does not hold a diploma recognized as valid by regulation of the Government or a diploma recognized equivalent by regulation of the board of directors of the Order may have his training recognized as equivalent where the candidate demonstrates that he has attained a level of knowledge equivalent to the level that may be acquired upon completion of undergraduate university-level studies, as described in section 3, and that he has acquired relevant work experience during the 5 years preceding the application for the issue of a permit.
O.C. 679-96, s. 7.
5. The secretary shall forward the documents prescribed in section 2 to the committee set up by the board of directors to examine diploma and training equivalence applications and make an appropriate recommendation.
At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the recommendation, the board of directors shall decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether to grant the diploma or training equivalence and shall notify the candidate in writing within 15 days following its decision.
O.C. 280-93, s. 5; O.C. 679-96, s. 8.
6. Within 15 days following a decision not to grant a diploma or training equivalence, the board of directors shall notify the candidate in writing of the number of credits and of the courses that are lacking or that do not meet the requirements of section 3, and shall indicate the programs of study, the training periods or the examinations that, taking into account the candidate’s current level of knowledge, must be successfully completed for the equivalence to be granted.
O.C. 280-93, s. 6; O.C. 679-96, s. 9.
7. A candidate who receives the information referred to in section 6 may apply to the board of directors for a hearing, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days following the date on which the decision not to grant a training or diploma equivalence is mailed.
The board of directors shall grant a hearing within 45 days following the date of receipt of an application for a hearing and, where expedient, shall revise its decision. To that end, the secretary shall convene the candidate by means of a notice in writing sent by registered mail not less than 10 days before the date of the hearing.
The board of director’s decision is final and shall be sent to the candidate in writing 30 days following the date of the hearing.
O.C. 280-93, s. 7; O.C. 679-96, s. 10.
DIVISION II
EQUIVALENCE OF DIPLOMAS AND TRAINING FOR THE ISSUE OF A SPECIALIST’S CERTIFICATE
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
7.1. A candidate applying for a diploma or training equivalence for the issue of a specialist’s certificate shall provide the secretary with those documents among the following that are necessary to support his application:
(1)  the candidate’s academic record for studies at the master’s level and a description of the courses taken, with the number of credits for each course and the marks obtained;
(2)  proof that the diploma attesting to his training in a specialty recognized by the board of directors was issued;
(3)  a document attesting to the candidate’s participation in training sessions;
(4)  the candidate’s résumé, including attestations of work experience in a specialty recognized by the board of directors.
Documents written in a language other than French or English shall be accompanied by a translation.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6; O.C. 679-96, s. 11.
7.2. A candidate holding a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was issued upon completion of a master’s program or the equivalent comprising not less than 108 credits in a specialty recognized by the board of directors, with each credit corresponding to 15 hours of theory, 30 hours of laboratory work or 45 hours of clinical practice.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
7.3. Notwithstanding section 7.2, where the diploma in respect of which an equivalence application has been filed was issued 5 or more years prior to the application, a diploma equivalence shall be denied if the candidate’s level of knowledge, taking into account developments in the profession, no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently being taught in an educational institution that issues a diploma recognized as giving access to a specialist’s certificate.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a diploma equivalence shall be granted if the candidate’s relevant work experience and training since being issued the diploma have enabled the candidate to acquire the required level of knowledge.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
7.4. Subject to section 7.5, a candidate shall be granted a training equivalence where he demonstrates that he has at least 5 years of relevant work experience in a specialty recognized by the board of directors and a level of knowledge equivalent to the level that may be attained upon completion of a master’s program in the specialty covered by the equivalence application.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6; O.C. 679-96, s. 12.
7.5. To determine whether a candidate has the level of knowledge required by section 7.4, the board of directors shall take the following factors into account:
(1)  the diploma or diplomas obtained by the candidate in Québec or elsewhere;
(2)  the courses taken with the number of credits for each course;
(3)  the training sessions and other training or upgrading activities in the field or specialization covered by the equivalence application;
(4)  the total number of years of schooling; and
(5)  the work experience in the field of specialization covered by the application.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
7.6. The secretary shall forward the documents prescribed in section 7.1 to the committee set up by the board of directors to examine equivalence applications and make an appropriate recommendation.
At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the recommendation, the board of directors shall decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether to grant the diploma equivalence or the training equivalence and shall notify the candidate in writing within 15 days following its decision.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
7.7. Sections 6 and 7 apply to this Division, with the necessary modifications.
O.C. 837-94, s. 6.
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 280-93, s. 8.
REFERENCES
O.C. 280-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 1876
O.C. 837-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 2206
O.C. 679-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 2739
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

M-8, r. 13 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste de l’Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre M-8, r. 13
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste de l’Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec
MÉDECINS VÉTÉRINAIRES — PERMIS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Loi sur les médecins vétérinaires
(chapitre M-8, a. 3).
M-8
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
D. 280-93; D. 837-94, a. 1.
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre professionnel des médecins vétérinaires du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître l’équivalence d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec, aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste.
Le secrétaire transmet également une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître une équivalence de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste.
D. 280-93, a. 1; D. 837-94, a. 2.
1.1. Dans le présent règlement, les termes suivants signifient:
«Équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissances d’un candidat est équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture à un permis ou à un certificat de spécialiste, selon le cas;
«Équivalence de formation»: la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture à un permis ou à un certificat de spécialiste, selon le cas;
«Spécialité reconnue par le Conseil d’administration»: une spécialité définie conformément au règlement adopté en vertu du paragraphe e de l’article 94 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
D. 679-96, a. 2.
SECTION I
ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME ET DE FORMATION AUX FINS DE LA DÉLIVRANCE D’UN PERMIS
D. 837-94, a. 3; D. 679-96, a. 3.
2. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis doit fournir au secrétaire les documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande:
1°  son dossier académique incluant la description des cours suivis; le nombre de crédits s’y rapportant de même que les résultats obtenus;
2°  une preuve de l’obtention de son diplôme;
3°  une preuve de la reconnaissance officielle de son diplôme;
4°  son curriculum vitae, incluant les attestations de son expérience pertinente de travail.
Une traduction des documents qui ne sont pas rédigés en français ou en anglais est requise.
D. 280-93, a. 2; D. 837-94, a. 4 et 5; D. 679-96, a. 4 et 5.
3. Le candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme en médecine vétérinaire délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec, bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau équivalent au niveau universitaire de premier cycle et comportant un minimum de 183 crédits, chacun des crédits représentant 15 heures de cours théoriques ou 30 heures de laboratoire ou 45 heures de stage clinique. Ces crédits doivent être répartis de la façon suivante:
1°  Notions générales et diverses (biométrie, déontologie, éthologie, initiation aux travaux cliniques): au moins 7 crédits;
2°  Sciences morphologiques (anatomie, histologie, embryologie, mammalogie, génétique): au moins 35 crédits;
3°  Sciences physiologiques (biochimie, pharmacologie, physiologie, nutrition, endocrinologie, alimentation: au moins 32 crédits;
4°  Sciences bactériologiques (microbiologie, bactériologie, virologie, immunologie, parasitologie, toxicologie): au moins 16 crédits;
5°  Pathologie (pathologie générale et systématique): au moins 27 crédits;
6°  Médecine et chirurgie (anesthésiologie, chirurgie, ophtalmologie, exercices chirurgicaux, médecine des systèmes et des espèces, initiation aux travaux cliniques): au moins 35 crédits;
7°  Médecine des grandes populations (productions animales, épizooties, médecine réglementée): au moins 11 crédits;
8°  Stages (cliniques externes, équine, bovine, canine ou féline, thériogénologie, laboratoire de diagnostic): au moins 20 crédits.
D. 280-93, a. 3; D. 679-96, a. 6.
4. Malgré l’article 3, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être refusée si les connaissances acquises par le candidat ne correspondent plus, à la suite du développement de la profession, aux connaissances présentement enseignées dans un établissement d’enseignement délivrant un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis.
Toutefois, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être reconnue si l’expérience pertinente de travail du candidat et la formation qu’il a pu acquérir depuis, lui ont permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissances requis.
D. 280-93, a. 4.
4.1. Le candidat qui n’est pas titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu valide par règlement du gouvernement ou d’un diplôme reconnu équivalent par règlement du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre, peut faire reconnaître l’équivalence de sa formation lorsqu’il démontre qu’il possède un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis au terme d’études de niveau universitaire de premier cycle, tel que décrit à l’article 3, et qu’il a acquis une expérience pertinente de travail au cours des 5 années précédant la demande de délivrance de permis.
D. 679-96, a. 7.
5. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 2 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation et formuler une recommandation appropriée.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le Conseil d’administration décide, conformément au présent règlement, s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation et il en informe par écrit le candidat dans les 15 jours de sa décision.
D. 280-93, a. 5; D. 679-96, a. 8.
6. Dans les 15 jours qui suivent la date de sa décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation, le Conseil d’administration doit informer le candidat par écrit du nombre de crédits et des matières insuffisantes ou non conformes aux exigences prévues à l’article 3 et lui indiquer les programmes d’études, les stages ou les examens dont la réussite, compte tenu de son niveau actuel de connaissances, lui permettrait de bénéficier de l’équivalence.
D. 280-93, a. 6; D. 679-96, a. 9.
7. Le candidat qui reçoit les informations visées à l’article 6 peut demander au Conseil d’administration de se faire entendre à condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la mise à la poste de la décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation.
Le Conseil d’administration dispose d’un délai de 45 jours à compter de la date de la réception de cette demande d’audition pour entendre le candidat et, s’il y a lieu, réviser sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire convoque le candidat par écrit, transmis par poste recommandée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de cette audition.
La décision du Conseil d’administration est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date de l’audition.
D. 280-93, a. 7; D. 679-96, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION II
ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME ET DE FORMATION AUX FINS DE LA DÉLIVRANCE D’UN CERTIFICAT DE SPÉCIALISTE
D. 837-94, a. 6.
7.1. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un certificat de spécialiste doit fournir au secrétaire ceux des documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande:
1°  son dossier académique d’études universitaires de deuxième cycle, incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre de crédits s’y rapportant de même que les résultats obtenus;
2°  une preuve de l’obtention du diplôme attestant sa formation dans une spécialité reconnue par le Conseil d’administration;
3°  une attestation suivant laquelle il a participé à des stages de formation;
4°  son curriculum vitae, incluant les attestations de son expérience de travail dans une spécialité reconnue par le Conseil d’administration.
Une traduction des documents qui ne sont pas rédigés en français ou en anglais est requise.
D. 837-94, a. 6; D. 679-96, a. 11.
7.2. Le candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec, bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’études de niveau équivalent au deuxième cycle de niveau universitaire comportant un minimum de 108 crédits dans une spécialité reconnue par le Conseil d’administration, chacun des crédits représentant 15 heures de cours théoriques ou 30 heures de laboratoire ou 45 heures de stage clinique.
D. 837-94, a. 6.
7.3. Malgré l’article 7.2, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu 5 ans ou plus avant cette demande, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être refusée si les connaissances acquises par le candidat ne correspondent plus, à la suite du développement de la profession, aux connaissances présentement enseignées dans un établissement d’enseignement délivrant un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture à un certificat de spécialiste.
Toutefois, l’équivalence de diplôme doit être reconnue si l’expérience pertinente de travail du candidat et la formation qu’il a pu acquérir depuis, lui ont permis d’atteindre le niveau de connaissances requis.
D. 837-94, a. 6.
7.4. Sous réserve de l’article 7.5, le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation lorsqu’il démontre qu’il a acquis une expérience pertinente de travail d’au moins 5 ans dans une spécialité reconnue par le Conseil d’administration et qu’il possède un niveau de connaissances équivalent à celui qui peut être acquis au terme d’études de niveau universitaire de deuxième cycle dans la spécialité visée par la demande d’équivalence.
D. 837-94, a. 6; D. 679-96, a. 12.
7.5. Afin de déterminer si un candidat possède le niveau de connaissances requis par l’article 7.4, le Conseil d’administration tient compte de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  le fait que le candidat soit titulaire d’un ou plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
2°  les cours suivis, le nombre de crédits s’y rapportant;
3°  les stages et autres activités de formation ou de perfectionnement dans le domaine de spécialité visé par la demande;
4°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité; et
5°  l’expérience de travail dans le domaine de spécialité visée par la demande.
D. 837-94, a. 6.
7.6. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 7.1 au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence et formuler une recommandation appropriée.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le Conseil d’administration décide, conformément au présent règlement, s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme ou l’équivalence de formation et il en informe par écrit le candidat dans les 15 jours de sa décision.
D. 837-94, a. 6.
7.7. Les articles 6 et 7 s’appliquent à la présente section, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
D. 837-94, a. 6.
8. (Omis).
D. 280-93, a. 8.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 280-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 2286
D. 837-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 3041
D. 679-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 3546
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212