L-6.2, r. 1 - Regulation under the Tobacco Control Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter L-6.2, r. 1
Regulation under the Tobacco Control Act
TOBACCO
Tobacco Control Act
(chapter L-6.2, ss. 19, 25, and 29.1).
L-6.2
September 1 2012
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter T-0.01, r. 1.
1. For the purposes of the Tobacco Control Act (chapter L-6.2), any product that does not contain tobacco and is intended to be smoked is considered to be tobacco.
Except for Chapter II of the Act, the first paragraph does not apply to cannabis within the meaning of the Cannabis Regulation Act (chapter C-5.3).
O.C. 704-2008, s. 1; S.Q. 2018, c. 19, s. 19.
1.1. (Revoked).
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 71; S.Q. 2018, c. 19, s. 19.
2. In a tobacco retail outlet, all advertising disseminated pursuant to subparagraph 9 of the first paragraph of section 24 of the Act must be displayed on one display board only.
The display board must be fixed, rectangular, flat and opaque, and not have a raised surface. Only one of its sides, having a maximum surface area of 3,600 cm2, may display the advertising, which may be written or printed directly on the board or posted on it by means of a sign. In the latter case, the sign must be affixed to the board, not be embossed and not extend beyond the edges of the display board.
The display board and any sign it may contain must be white and the characters of the text of the advertising appearing on it must be black.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 2.
3. The display board referred to in section 2 may display no advertising other than the advertising referred to in that section.
No lighting, sound or other effect may be used to draw the attention of the public to the advertising.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 3.
4. In a printed newspaper or magazine, advertising disseminated pursuant to subparagraph 8 of the first paragraph of section 24 of the Act must
(1)  be rectangular, have a maximum area of 400 cm2, be high and wide enough to hold the warning concerning the harmful effects of tobacco on health prescribed by regulation of the Minister of Health and Social Services and be bordered by a line that is not less than 0.5 nor more than 1.5 points wide; and
(2)  not appear on the first, second or last page of the newspaper or magazine and be printed on paper of the same size and quality as that usually used in the newspaper or magazine.
The advertising space may contain no advertising other than the advertising to which this section refers. If several tobacco advertisements are disseminated in the same printed newspaper or magazine, they must be grouped to appear on 1 or, if need be, 2 or more successive pages.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 4.
5. Specialized publications about tobacco or accessories that may be used for tobacco smoking on sale in a business must be displayed in such a manner as to be visible only from the inside of the business. The copies of each issue of the publications must be placed one above the other so that only one copy of each issue may be visible at once.
No lighting, sound or other effect may be used to draw the attention of the public to the publications.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 5.
6. Subject to the provisions of section 19 of the Act and the provisions of the second paragraph of this section, the operator of a tobacco retail outlet may not sell a tobacco product except in a package that contains at least 10 units of the product.
The prohibition in the first paragraph is not applicable if, within one sale, the amount paid by a consumer for the purchase of one or several tobacco products, other than cigarettes, is higher than $5.
The price in the second paragraph is increased to $10 on 1 June 2009.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 6.
6.1. The portion of each display area on tobacco product packaging on which a health warning must be displayed in accordance with the Tobacco Products Labelling Regulations (Cigarettes and Little Cigars) (SOR/2011-177) must have an even surface with a minimum surface area of 4,648 mm2.
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 72.
6.2. A display area on tobacco product packaging on which a health warning is displayed must not be removable from the packaging.
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 72.
6.3. Tobacco product packaging on which a health warning is displayed must contain a maximum quantity of the product, given the circumference of the product unit and the interior volume of the packaging. No device may be placed or integrated inside the packaging to reduce the space for the product.
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 72.
6.4. The operator of a specialized retail outlet for electronic cigarettes is not subject to the application of section 20.2 of the Act for electronic cigarettes and other devices of that nature that the operator sells, including their components and accessories, to the extent that the following conditions are met:
(1)  the operator of the retail outlet sells only electronic cigarettes or other devices of that nature, including their components and accessories;
(2)  the operator displays the electronic cigarettes or other devices of that nature, including their components, accessories and packaging, so that they are visible only from the inside of the retail outlet;
(3)  no other activity takes place there.
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 72.
7. The violation of any of sections 2 to 6.3 constitutes an offence.
O.C. 704-2008, s. 7; S.Q. 2015, c. 28, s. 73.
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 704-2008, s. 8.
REFERENCES
O.C. 704-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2923
S.Q. 2015, c. 28, ss. 71 to 73
S.Q. 2018, c. 19, s. 19

L-6.2, r. 1 - Règlement d’application de la Loi concernant la lutte contre le tabagisme

Texte complet
chapitre L-6.2, r. 1
Règlement d’application de la Loi concernant la lutte contre le tabagisme
TABAC
Loi concernant la lutte contre le tabagisme
(chapitre L-6.2, a. 19, 25 et 29.1)
L-6.2
1er septembre 2012
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre T-0.01, r. 1.
1. Aux fins de la Loi concernant la lutte contre le tabagisme (chapitre L-6.2), est assimilé à du tabac, tout produit qui ne contient pas de tabac et qui est destiné à être fumé.
D. 704-2008, a. 1.
1.1. Un établissement exploitant un centre hospitalier de soins généraux et spécialisés peut identifier des chambres où les personnes qu’il admet peuvent, à des fins médicales, faire usage de marijuana, dans la mesure où ces personnes détiennent un document médical fourni par un médecin qui leur permet de se procurer légalement de la marijuana séchée auprès d’un producteur autorisé.
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 71.
2. Dans un point de vente de tabac, l’affichage de l’ensemble des publicités pouvant être diffusées en application du paragraphe 9 du premier alinéa de l’article 24 de la Loi doit se faire sur un seul panneau d’affichage.
Ce panneau doit être fixe, rectangulaire, plat, opaque et sans relief. Une seule de ses faces, d’une superficie maximale de 3 600 cm2, peut contenir de la publicité, laquelle peut soit y être écrite ou imprimée directement ou soit y être placée au moyen d’une affiche. Dans ce dernier cas, l’affiche doit être fixe et sans relief et ne doit pas excéder le contour de la face du panneau.
Le panneau et chacune des affiches qu’il contient, le cas échéant, doivent être blancs et les caractères du texte de la publicité qui y apparaissent doivent être noirs.
D. 704-2008, a. 2.
3. Le panneau d’affichage visé à l’article 2 ne peut contenir aucune autre publicité que celle visée à cet article.
Aucun effet lumineux, sonore ou autre ne peut être utilisé pour attirer l’attention du public sur la publicité qu’il contient.
D. 704-2008, a. 3.
4. Dans un journal ou un magazine écrit, toute publicité diffusée en application du paragraphe 8 du premier alinéa de l’article 24 de la Loi doit respecter les normes suivantes:
1°  elle doit être rectangulaire, avoir une superficie maximale de 400 cm2, avoir une hauteur et une largeur suffisantes pour recevoir la mise en garde portant sur les effets nocifs du tabac sur la santé prévue par règlement du ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux et être délimitée par une ligne d’une largeur minimale de 0,5 point et maximale de 1,5 points;
2°  elle ne peut paraître sur la première, la deuxième ou la dernière page du journal ou du magazine et doit être imprimée sur du papier d’un format et d’une qualité identiques à ceux du papier habituellement utilisé dans le journal ou le magazine.
L’espace utilisé par la publicité ne peut contenir aucune autre publicité que celle visée au présent article. De plus, si plusieurs publicités concernant le tabac sont diffusées dans un même journal ou magazine écrit, celles-ci doivent être regroupées dans une ou, au besoin, plusieurs pages successives.
D. 704-2008, a. 4.
5. Les publications spécialisées portant sur le tabac ou sur des accessoires pouvant être utilisés pour la consommation du tabac qui sont offertes en vente dans un commerce doivent être étalées de façon à ne pouvoir être vues que de l’intérieur de ce commerce. De plus, les exemplaires de chaque édition de ces publications doivent être superposés de façon à ce qu’un seul exemplaire de chaque édition de ces publications ne soit visible à la fois.
Aucun effet lumineux, sonore ou autre ne peut être utilisé pour attirer l’attention du public sur ces publications.
D. 704-2008, a. 5.
6. Sous réserve des dispositions de l’article 19 de la Loi et de celles du deuxième alinéa du présent article, l’exploitant d’un point de vente de tabac ne peut vendre un produit du tabac autrement que dans un emballage contenant au moins 10 portions unitaires de ce produit.
L’interdiction prévue au premier alinéa ne s’applique pas lorsque, dans le cadre d’une même vente, le montant payé par un consommateur pour l’achat d’un ou de plusieurs produits du tabac, autre que des cigarettes, est supérieur à 5 $.
Le prix mentionné au deuxième alinéa est porté à 10 $ le 1er juin 2009.
D. 704-2008, a. 6.
6.1. La partie de chaque zone d’application d’un emballage d’un produit du tabac sur laquelle une mise en garde doit figurer conformément au Règlement sur l’étiquetage des produits du tabac (cigarettes et petits cigares) (DORS/2011-177) doit avoir une surface unie d’une superficie minimale de 4 648 mm2.
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 72.
6.2. Toute zone d’application d’un emballage d’un produit du tabac sur laquelle figure une mise en garde ne doit pas pouvoir être retirée de l’emballage.
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 72.
6.3. Un emballage de produit du tabac sur lequel figure la mise en garde doit contenir une quantité maximale de ce produit, compte tenu de la circonférence de chaque portion unitaire du produit et du volume intérieur de l’emballage. Aucun dispositif ne peut être placé ou intégré à l’intérieur de l’emballage pour réduire l’espace pouvant accueillir des produits.
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 72.
6.4. L’exploitant d’un point de vente spécialisé de cigarettes électroniques n’est pas soumis à l’application de l’article 20.2 de la Loi à l’égard des cigarettes électroniques et des autres dispositifs de cette nature qu’il vend, y compris leurs composantes et leurs accessoires, dans la mesure où les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  l’exploitant de ce point de vente n’y vend que des cigarettes électroniques ou d’autres dispositifs de cette nature, y compris leurs composantes et leurs accessoires;
2°  l’exploitant étale les cigarettes électroniques ou les autres dispositifs de cette nature, y compris leurs composantes, leurs accessoires et leurs emballages, de façon à ce qu’ils ne soient vus que de l’intérieur du point de vente;
3°  aucune autre activité ne s’y déroule.
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 72.
7. La violation des dispositions de l’un des articles 2 à 6.3 constitue une infraction.
D. 704-2008, a. 7; L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 73.
8. (Omis).
D. 704-2008, a. 8.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 704-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 4007
L.Q. 2015, c. 28, a. 71 à 73