I-8, r. 16 - Regulation respecting diploma or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter I-8, r. 16
Regulation respecting diploma or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec
NURSES — DIPLOMA OR TRAINING EQUIVALENCE
Nurses Act
(chapter I-8, s. 3).
I-8
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
DEFINITIONS
1. In this Regulation,
“diploma meeting permit requirements” means a diploma recognized, by regulation of the Government made under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), as meeting the requirements for the permit issued by the Order;
“diploma equivalence” means the recognition that a diploma issued by an educational establishment outside Québec certifies that the holder’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma meeting permit requirements;
“training equivalence” means the recognition that a person’s training has enabled her to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to that attained by the holder of a diploma meeting permit requirements.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 1.
DIVISION II
DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
2. A person holding a diploma conferred by an educational establishment outside Québec may be granted diploma equivalence if her diploma was obtained upon completion of a nursing program at least equivalent to the Québec college-level program meeting the following conditions:
(1)  it comprises a minimum of 2,805 hours, including at least 2,145 hours of specific training in nursing, as follows:
(a)  a minimum of 615 hours in medical and surgical nursing;
(b)  a minimum of 120 hours in mental health and psychiatric nursing;
(c)  a minimum of 105 hours in adult and geriatric nursing;
(d)  a minimum of 75 hours in perinatal nursing;
(e)  a minimum of 90 hours in child and adolescent nursing;
(f)  a minimum of 480 hours in biological science, including a total of at least 135 hours in microbiology, immunology and pharmacology;
(g)  a minimum of 180 hours in social science;
(2)  at least 1,035 of the 2,145 hours of specific training must be devoted to clinical experience;
(3)  at least 240 of the 1,035 hours of clinical experience must involve the consolidation of knowledge related to the legislative, ethical, organizational and sociocultural aspects of nursing practice in Québec.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 2.
3. Despite section 2, when the diploma being examined for equivalence was obtained more than 4 years prior to the date of application for equivalence, and, given new developments in the profession, the knowledge it attests to no longer corresponds to the knowledge that, at the time of the application, was included in a program of study meeting permit requirements, the person is granted equivalence pursuant to sections 4 and 5, provided she has acquired, since obtaining her diploma, the required level of knowledge and skills.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 3.
DIVISION III
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
4. A person is granted training equivalence if she demonstrates that she possesses the knowledge and skills equivalent to those that may be acquired by the holder of a diploma meeting permit requirements.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 4.
5. In assessing training that is cited in support of an equivalence application, the following factors shall be considered:
(1)  total years of education;
(2)  the fact that the person holds one or more diplomas obtained in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  type of courses taken and course content;
(4)  training periods served, and other ongoing or refresher training activities; and
(5)  type, total length and period of time during which clinical experience was acquired.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 5.
DIVISION IV
PROCEDURE FOR GRANTING EQUIVALENCE
6. Persons who, for the purpose of obtaining a permit from the Order, wish to be granted diploma or training equivalence, shall apply therefor in writing, pay the processing costs prescribed by the board of directors of the Order under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) and provide:
(1)  a certified true copy of all diplomas they hold;
(2)  their school records, including their official transcript bearing the seal of the educational institution in question or a certified true copy thereof, a document detailing course content and training periods served, and the number of hours related to each of these;
(3)  a certified true copy of their birth certificate or, failing that, a photocopy of their passport;
(4)  as applicable, an official attestation that they are in good standing with the regulatory body of the territory within which they are authorized to practise;
(5)  official attestation and a description of their clinical experience in nursing, as the case may be;
(6)  any information or document pertaining to the factors that may be taken into consideration for purposes of section 5.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 6.
7. Documents or information submitted in support of an application for equivalence written in a language other than French or English must be accompanied by an official translation into French or English produced by a certified translator, or, if the translation was not produced in Québec, then by a translator recognized by the authorities in his or her province or country.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 7.
8. Applications for equivalence shall be sent to the Order registrar who will examine them and submit a recommendation to the admission by equivalence committee.
For purposes of submitting a recommendation to the admission by equivalence committee, the registrar may ask applicants to submit to an interview, serve a training period, write an examination or some combination thereof.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 8.
9. The admission by equivalence committee may render either of the following decisions:
(1)  grant diploma or training equivalence;
(2)  deny diploma or training equivalence.
Within 15 days following its decision to grant or deny equivalence, the admission by equivalence committee shall inform the person concerned, in writing.
If the committee denies equivalence, it must, at the same time, inform the person concerned in writing about study programs or additional training whose successful completion within the required deadline would enable training equivalence to be granted.
The admission by equivalence committee formed by the board of directors under paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) shall be comprised of persons who are not members of the board of directors.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 9.
10. Persons informed of the admission by equivalence committee’s decision to deny equivalence may appeal such decision, provided that they submit a request, in writing, to the secretary of the Order within 30 days following receipt of the decision.
The board of directors of the Order must examine such request at its first regular meeting following the date on which it was received. Before rendering a decision, it must allow the person in question to state her case at this meeting.
For this purpose, the secretary of the Order shall send the person written notice, via registered mail, specifying the date, place and time of the meeting at which the request for appeal shall be examined, not less than 15 days before such meeting will be held.
Persons wishing to attend the meeting in order to state their case must so notify the secretary of the Order at least 5 days before the scheduled meeting date. They may, however, submit their comments to the secretary in writing at any time before the scheduled meeting date.
The decision of the board of directors is final and must be sent to the person concerned by registered mail within 30 days following the date of the meeting.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 10.
DIVISION V
FINAL AND TRANSITORY PROVISIONS
11. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the standards for a diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (O.C. 847-97, 97-06-25).
O.C. 969-2008, s. 11.
12. Recommendations submitted to the board of directors under section 8 of the Regulation respecting the standards for a diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (O.C. 847-97, 97-06-25) and concerning which the board of directors has not rendered a decision on 6 November 2008 shall be submitted to the committee as set out in section 8 of this Regulation, so that it may render a decision in accordance with section 9 of this Regulation. For this purpose, the board of directors shall replace any member of this committee who had participated in issuing such recommendations with a member of the Order who is not a member board of directors.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 12.
13. Decisions rendered under section 9 of the Regulation respecting the standards for a diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (O.C. 847-97, 97-06-25) whose deadlines for appeal as set out in section 10 have not expired on 6 November 2008 may be reviewed by the committee as set out in section 8 of this Regulation. For this purpose, the board of directors shall replace any member of this committee who had participated in rendering such decisions under appeal with a member of the Order who is not a member of the board of directors.
Requests for appeal must be forwarded to the secretary of the Order within the deadline set out in section 10 of the Regulation respecting the standards for a diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec.
Before rendering a decision, the committee must allow the person in question to state her case. The third and fourth paragraphs of section 10 apply in this case.
The decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the person in question by registered mail within 30 days following the date on which it is rendered.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 13.
14. Appeals regarding which the board of directors has not rendered a decision on 6 November 2008 shall be submitted to the committee specified in section 8 of this Regulation for review. For this purpose, the board of directors shall replace any member of the committee with a member of the Order who is not a member of the board of directors.
The third and fourth paragraphs of section 13 apply in this case.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 14.
15. Persons who have been granted partial training equivalence by the board of directors, under section 9 or 10 of the Regulation respecting the standards for a diploma equivalence or training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (O.C. 847-97, 97-06-25) and who have been informed of the program of study or additional training they must successfully complete before being granted training equivalence shall be given 2 years following 6 November 2008 to complete said program of study or additional training.
O.C. 969-2008, s. 15.
16. (Omitted).
O.C. 969-2008, s. 16.
REFERENCES
O.C. 969-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 5014
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

I-8, r. 16 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre I-8, r. 16
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec
INFIRMIÈRES — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
Loi sur les infirmières et infirmiers
(chapitre I-8, a. 3)
I-8
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c.1)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DÉFINITIONS
1. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«diplôme donnant ouverture au permis»: un diplôme déterminé par règlement du gouvernement comme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre, pris en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés du titulaire du diplôme est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis;
«équivalence de la formation»: la reconnaissance que la formation d’une personne démontre que celle-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 969-2008, a. 1.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
2. Une personne qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si son diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’un programme d’études en soins infirmiers au moins équivalent à celui de niveau collégial du Québec qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes:
1°  il comporte un minimum de 2 805 heures, dont au moins 2 145 heures de formation spécifique en soins infirmiers comprenant:
a)  un minimum de 615 heures portant sur les soins infirmiers en médecine et en chirurgie;
b)  un minimum de 120 heures portant sur les soins infirmiers en santé mentale et en psychiatrie;
c)  un minimum de 105 heures portant sur les soins infirmiers auprès d’adultes et de personnes âgées en perte d’autonomie;
d)  un minimum de 75 heures portant sur les soins infirmiers en périnatalité;
e)  un minimum de 90 heures portant sur les soins infirmiers aux enfants, aux adolescents et adolescentes;
f)  un minimum de 480 heures en sciences biologiques, dont au moins 135 heures réparties en microbiologie, en immunologie et en pharmacologie;
g)  un minimum de 180 heures en sciences humaines;
2°  au moins 1 035 heures des 2 145 heures de formation spécifique sont consacrées à des stages cliniques;
3°  au moins 240 heures des 1 035 heures de stages cliniques portent sur l’intégration pratique des connaissances liées aux aspects législatifs, déontologiques, organisationnels et socioculturels de la pratique infirmière au Québec.
D. 969-2008, a. 2.
3. Malgré l’article 2, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu plus de 4 ans avant la date de cette demande et que les connaissances qu’il atteste ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession, aux connaissances qui, à l’époque de la demande, sont enseignées dans un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis, la personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation conformément aux articles 4 et 5, si elle a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le niveau de connaissance et d’habiletés requis.
D. 969-2008, a. 3.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE LA FORMATION
4. Une personne bénéficie d’une équivalence de la formation si elle démontre qu’elle possède des connaissances et des habiletés équivalentes à celles qu’a pu acquérir une personne qui est titulaire d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis.
D. 969-2008, a. 4.
5. Dans l’appréciation de la formation invoquée au soutien d’une demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence, il est tenu compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  le nombre d’années de scolarité;
2°  le fait que la personne soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
4°  les stages de formation effectués et les autres activités de formation continue ou de perfectionnement suivies;
5°  la nature et la durée de l’expérience clinique ainsi que l’époque où elle a été acquise.
D. 969-2008, a. 5.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE D’ÉQUIVALENCE
6. La personne qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis de l’Ordre, veut se faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation, doit en faire la demande écrite au Bureau du registraire, payer les frais prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre en application du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) et fournir:
1°  une copie certifiée conforme de tout diplôme dont elle est titulaire;
2°  son dossier scolaire comprenant le relevé de notes officiel portant le sceau de l’établissement d’enseignement ou une copie certifiée conforme, le contenu des cours et des stages suivis et le nombre d’heures s’y rapportant;
3°  une copie certifiée conforme de son certificat de naissance ou, à défaut, une photocopie de son passeport;
4°  le cas échéant, une attestation officielle que cette personne est en règle avec l’autorité compétente du lieu où elle est autorisée à exercer;
5°  une attestation officielle et une description de son expérience clinique d’infirmière ou d’infirmier, le cas échéant;
6°  tout autre renseignement ou document relatif aux facteurs dont il est tenu compte en application de l’article 5.
D. 969-2008, a. 6.
7. Les documents ou les renseignements transmis à l’appui d’une demande d’équivalence qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais, attestée sous serment d’un traducteur agréé qui l’a effectuée ou, s’il n’est pas du Québec, reconnu par les autorités de sa province ou de son pays.
D. 969-2008, a. 7.
8. Le dossier d’une personne qui fait une demande d’équivalence est transmis au registraire de l’Ordre, qui l’étudie et formule une recommandation au comité d’admission par équivalence.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation au comité d’admission par équivalence, le registraire peut demander à la personne de passer une entrevue, d’effectuer un stage d’évaluation ou de subir un examen ou de faire une combinaison de ces derniers.
D. 969-2008, a. 8.
9. Le comité d’admission par équivalence peut prendre l’une ou l’autre des décisions suivantes:
1°  reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation;
2°  refuser de reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation.
Dans les 15 jours qui suivent la date de la décision du comité d’admission par équivalence de reconnaître ou de refuser de reconnaître l’équivalence, le comité en informe, par écrit, la personne.
Si le comité refuse de reconnaître l’équivalence, il doit, à la même occasion, informer par écrit la personne des programmes d’études à suivre ou du complément de formation dont la réussite dans le délai fixé lui permettrait de bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation.
Le comité d’admission par équivalence formé par le Conseil d’administration, en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), est composé de personnes qui ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration.
D. 969-2008, a. 9.
10. La personne qui est informée de la décision du comité d’admission par équivalence de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence peut en demander la révision, à la condition qu’elle en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire de l’Ordre dans les 30 jours de la réception de cette décision.
Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre doit, à la première réunion régulière qui suit la date de réception de cette demande, examiner la demande de révision. Il doit, avant de prendre une décision, permettre à la personne de présenter ses observations à cette réunion.
À cette fin, le secrétaire de l’Ordre informe la personne de la date, du lieu et de l’heure de la réunion au cours de laquelle la demande sera examinée, au moyen d’un avis écrit, transmis par poste recommandée au moins 15 jours avant sa tenue.
La personne qui désire être présente pour faire ses observations doit en informer le secrétaire de l’Ordre au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. La personne peut cependant faire parvenir au secrétaire ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour la réunion.
La décision du Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre est définitive et doit être transmise à la personne par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la réunion.
D. 969-2008, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES ET TRANSITOIRES
11. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (D. 847-97, 97-06-25).
D. 969-2008, a. 11.
12. Les recommandations formulées au Conseil d’administration, en application de l’article 8 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (D. 847-97, 97-06-25) et à l’égard desquelles le Conseil d’administration n’a pas rendu sa décision le 6 novembre 2008 sont soumises au comité prévu à l’article 8 du présent règlement pour qu’il en décide conformément à l’article 9 du présent règlement. À cette fin, le Conseil d’administration remplace tout membre de ce comité qui a participé à la formulation de la recommandation qui lui est soumise par un membre de l’Ordre qui n’est pas membre du Conseil d’administration.
D. 969-2008, a. 12.
13. Les décisions rendues en application de l’article 9 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (D. 847-97, 97-06-25) dont le délai pour être entendu prévu à l’article 10 de ce règlement n’est pas expiré le 6 novembre 2008 peuvent faire l’objet d’une révision par le comité prévu à l’article 8 du présent règlement. À cette fin, le Conseil d’administration remplace tout membre de ce comité qui a participé à la décision qui fait l’objet de la demande de révision par un membre de l’Ordre qui n’est pas membre du Conseil d’administration.
La demande en révision doit être transmise au secrétaire de l’Ordre dans le délai prévu à l’article 10 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec.
Le comité doit, avant de prendre une décision, permettre à la personne de présenter ses observations. Les troisième et quatrième alinéas de l’article 10 du présent règlement sont applicables à cette demande.
La décision du comité est définitive et doit être transmise à la personne par poste recommandée dans les 30 jours suivant la date où elle a été rendue.
D. 969-2008, a. 13; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
14. Les demandes en révision à l’égard desquelles le Conseil d’administration n’a pas pris de décision le 6 novembre 2008 sont soumises au comité prévu à l’article 8 du présent règlement pour révision. À cette fin, le Conseil d’administration remplace tout membre de ce comité par un membre de l’Ordre qui n’est pas membre du Conseil d’administration.
Les troisième et quatrième alinéas de l’article 13 sont applicables.
D. 969-2008, a. 14.
15. Une personne à qui le Conseil d’administration a reconnu, en application de l’article 9 ou 10 du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence des diplômes et de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers du Québec (D. 847-97, 97-06-25), une équivalence partielle de la formation et qui a été informée du programme d’études ou du complément de formation qu’elle devait suivre avec succès pour bénéficier d’une équivalence de la formation dispose d’un délai de 2 ans suivant le 6 novembre 2008 afin de réussir le programme d’études ou le complément de formation.
D. 969-2008, a. 15.
16. (Omis).
D. 969-2008, a. 16.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 969-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 5633
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212