I-10, r. 4 - Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec

Full text
chapter I-10, r. 4
Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec
FOREST ENGINEERS — CESSATION OF PRACTICE
Forest Engineers Act
(chapter I-10, s. 4).
I-10
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
August 6 2015
Replaced, Décision 2015-06-17, 2015 G.O. 2, 2353; eff. 2015-08-06; see chapter I-10, r. 13.1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL PROVISIONS
1.01. This Regulation is made under section 91 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.01.
1.02. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise,
(a)  “secretary” means the secretary of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
(b)  “records” means the records, books and registers which a forest engineer must keep in the practice of his profession;
(c)  “transferee” means the forest engineer to whom a forest engineer’s records are transferred upon a permanent cessation of practice;
(d)  “provisional custodian” means the forest engineer to whom a forest engineer’s records are entrusted during a temporary cessation of practice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.02.
1.03. The Interpretation Act (chapter I-16) applies to this Regulation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.03.
1.04. Nothing in this Regulation must be interpreted as excluding the use of data processing or any other technical means for the preservation of records.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.04.
1.05. In the case of a forest engineer who is a member or an employee of a partnership of forest engineers or an employee of a natural or legal person, this Regulation shall not apply to the records of such partnership or employer which the forest engineer uses in the practice of his profession. This Regulation shall apply, however, when all the members of a partnership of forest engineers cease to practise.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.05.
1.06. An agreement respecting the transfer or provisional custody of the records of a forest engineer who ceases to practise must be certified in writing and forwarded to the secretary.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 1.06.
1.07. For the purposes of this Regulation, the board of directors may appoint a provisional custodian for the records of a forest engineer, where the urgency of the situation so requires.
O.C. 1148-93, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PERMANENT CESSATION OF PRACTICE
2.01. Subject to sections 2.02 and 2.03, when a forest engineer permanently ceases to practise his profession he must, not later than 15 days before the date fixed for the cessation of his practice:
(a)  if he has found a transferee, notify the secretary by registered or certified mail that he will cease to practise his profession effective from such date and give him the name, address and telephone number of the said transferee; or
(b)  if he is unable to find a transferee, inform the secretary thereof by registered or certified mail and advise him that he will give him custody of his records on the date fixed for the cessation of practice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.01.
2.02. When a forest engineer permanently ceases to practise his profession, he must, within 30 days of the date fixed for the cessation of practice, notify the secretary by registered mail of the date of cessation, of the name, address and telephone number of the member who has agreed to be the transferee of his records, and forward to the secretary a copy of the cessation agreement.
If a transferee has not been found upon the expiry of that period, the records of the forest engineer who is struck off or whose licence is revoked shall be entrusted to the secretary.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.02; O.C. 1148-93, s. 3.
2.03. Upon the death of a forest engineer or where he is permanently struck off the roll or where his permit is revoked, the secretary must take possession of the items referred to in paragraph b of section 1.02 within 15 days following the event, except where the forest engineer had entered into an agreement for a transfer, in which case he must forward a copy of that agreement within the same time. Where a transfer has been agreed upon and may not be carried out, the secretary must take possession of the items referred to in paragraph b of section 1.02.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.03; O.C. 1148-93, s. 3.
2.04. The transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, must, within 30 days following the date on which he takes possession of the records of a forest engineer who has permanently ceased to practise:
(a)  notify, in writing, the clients of the said forest engineer:
i.  of the fact that he is in possession of the latter’s records;
ii.  of his address, telephone number and office hours; and
iii.  of their right to consult another forest engineer;
(b)  cause to be published twice, at 10 days interval, in at least one French language daily newspaper and, where applicable, in at least one English language daily newspaper circulated in the region where such forest engineer practised his profession, an advertisement indicating his address, telephone number and office hours and notifying the public that he has possession of the said forest engineer’s records.
The transferee must forward to the secretary a copy of the advertisement contemplated in subparagraph b of the first paragraph.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.04.
2.05. The transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, must respect the right of a person to take cognizance of the documents, which concern him in any record made in his respect and to obtain copies of such documents. The expenses for the obtainment of such copies shall be paid by the person requesting them.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.05.
2.06. When the secretary has custody of the records of a forest engineer who has permanently ceased to practise his profession, he may, at any time, after consulting the said forest engineer, entrust such records to a transferee.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.06.
2.07. While he has custody of the records of a forest engineer who has permanently ceased to practise his profession, the secretary must take the necessary preservation measures in order to safeguard the interests of the said forest engineer’s clients.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.07.
2.08. Subject to section 2.06, the secretary must keep the records he has received under this Division for a period of not less than 5 years.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 2.08.
DIVISION III
TEMPORARY CESSATION OF PRACTICE
3.01. Subject to section 3.02, when a forest engineer temporarily ceases to practise his profession, he must, not later than 15 days before the date fixed for the cessation of practice:
(a)  if he has found a provisional custodian, notify the secretary by registered or certified mail that he is temporarily ceasing to practise his profession effective from such date, informing him of the date on which he intends to resume practising his profession together with the name, address and telephone number of the provisional custodian; or
(b)  if he has not found a provisional custodian, inform the secretary thereof by registered or certified mail and notify him that he will give custody of his records to him on the date fixed for the cessation of practice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.01.
3.02. When a forest engineer is temporarily struck off the roll or is under a permit suspension, the secretary must see to it that the forest engineer finds a provisional custodian within 15 days of the occurrence of either event.
When a provisional custodian could not be found upon the expiry of the said period, custody of the records of the forest engineer who is struck off or whose right to practise is suspended must be entrusted to the secretary.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.02; O.C. 1148-93, s. 4.
3.03. The provisional custodian must communicate to the clients of the forest engineer whose records he has custody of, the pertinent information respecting the progress of their record, keep these records up to date, and take the other necessary preservation measures in order to safeguard the interests of the said forest engineer’s clients.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.03.
3.04. Section 2.04 applies, with the necessary modifications, to this Division except in the case where a forest engineer ceases to practise as a result of a temporary striking off lasting less than 6 months.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.04.
3.05. Sections 2.05 to 2.07 apply, with the necessary modifications, to this Division.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.05.
3.06. The secretary or the provisional custodian, as the case may be, must return his records to the forest engineer immediately upon termination of the period of temporary cessation of practice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.06.
3.07. A forest engineer who no longer wishes to resume the practice of his profession during or after the expiry of the period in which he has temporarily ceased to practise must comply with Division II.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, s. 3.07.
DIVISION IV
RESTRICTION OF THE RIGHT TO PRACTISE
O.C. 1148-93, s. 5.
4.01. When a decision is made against a forest engineer restricting his right to practise and determining which professional acts he is not authorized to perform, the forest engineer must find a provisional custodian within 15 days of the taking effect of the restriction for the items referred to in paragraph b of section 1.02 relating to the professional acts he is not authorized to perform.
When the forest engineer is unable to arrange for provisional custody within that time, the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the board of directors or the secretary must take possession of the items referred to in paragraph b of section 1.02 relating to the professional acts that the member is not authorized to perform.
O.C. 1148-93, s. 5.
4.02. Sections 3.01 to 3.07 apply, with the necessary modifications, to a forest engineer whose right to practise is restricted.
O.C. 1148-93, s. 5.
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5
O.C. 1148-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 4910
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

I-10, r. 4 - Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre I-10, r. 4
Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec
INGÉNIEURS FORESTIERS — CESSATION D’EXERCICE
Loi sur les ingénieurs forestiers
(chapitre I-10, a. 4).
I-10
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91).
C-26
6 août 2015
Remplacé, Décision 2015-06-17, 2015 G.O. 2, 2353; eff. 2015-08-06; voir chapitre I-10, r. 13.1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1.01. Le présent règlement est adopté en vertu de l’article 91 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.01.
1.02. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, les mots suivants signifient:
a)  «secrétaire»: le secrétaire de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
b)  «dossiers»: les dossiers, livres et registres qu’un ingénieur forestier doit tenir dans l’exercice de sa profession;
c)  «cessionnaire»: l’ingénieur forestier à qui sont cédés les dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier lors d’une cessation définitive d’exercer;
d)  «gardien provisoire»: l’ingénieur forestier à qui sont confiés les dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier pendant la cessation temporaire d’exercer.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.02.
1.03. La Loi d’interprétation (chapitre I-16) s’applique au présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.03.
1.04. Rien dans le présent règlement ne doit être interprété comme excluant l’utilisation de l’informatique ou de toute autre technique pour la conservation des dossiers.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.04.
1.05. Dans le cas d’un ingénieur forestier membre ou à l’emploi d’une société d’ingénieurs forestiers ou à l’emploi d’une personne physique ou morale, le présent règlement ne s’applique pas aux dossiers de cette société ou de cet employeur que cet ingénieur forestier utilise dans l’exercice de sa profession. Le présent règlement s’applique toutefois lorsque tous les membres d’une société d’ingénieurs forestiers cessent d’exercer.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.05.
1.06. Une convention concernant la cession ou la garde provisoire des dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier cessant d’exercer doit être constatée par écrit et expédiée au secrétaire.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 1.06.
1.07. Le Conseil d’administration peut, aux fins de l’application du présent règlement, nommer un gardien provisoire des dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier, lorsque l’urgence de la situation le requiert.
D. 1148-93, a. 2.
SECTION II
CESSATION DÉFINITIVE D’EXERCER
2.01. Sous réserve des articles 2.02 et 2.03, lorsqu’un ingénieur forestier cesse définitivement d’exercer sa profession, il doit, au plus tard 15 jours avant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice:
a)  s’il a trouvé un cessionnaire, aviser le secrétaire, sous pli recommandé ou certifié, qu’il cesse d’exercer sa profession à compter de telle date et lui indiquer le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone de ce cessionnaire; ou
b)  s’il n’a pu trouver un cessionnaire, en informer le secrétaire, sous pli recommandé ou certifié, et l’aviser qu’il lui remettra la garde de ses dossiers à la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.01.
2.02. Lorsqu’un ingénieur forestier décide de cesser définitivement d’exercer sa profession, il doit dans les 30 jours de la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercer, aviser le secrétaire, par courrier recommandé, de la date de cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du membre qui a accepté d’être le cessionnaire de ses dossiers et transmettre au secrétaire une copie de la convention de cession.
Si l’ingénieur forestier n’a pu convenir d’une cession, les dossiers de l’ingénieur forestier radié ou dont le permis d’exercice a été révoqué sont confiés à la garde du secrétaire.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.02; D. 1148-93, a. 3.
2.03. Lorsqu’un ingénieur forestier décède, est radié de façon permanente ou que son permis est révoqué, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés au paragraphe b de l’article 1.02 dans les 15 jours suivant cet événement, sauf si le membre avait convenu d’une cession dont une copie doit être transmise dans le même délai. Dans le cas où une cession avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés au paragraphe b de l’article 1.02.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.03; D. 1148-93, a. 3.
2.04. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit, dans les 30 jours suivant la date où il prend possession des dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier cessant définitivement d’exercer:
a)  aviser, par écrit, les clients de cet ingénieur forestier:
i.  du fait qu’il est en possession des dossiers de ce dernier;
ii.  de son adresse, son numéro de téléphone et ses heures de bureau; et
iii.  de leur droit de consulter un autre ingénieur forestier;
b)  faire publier 2 fois, à 10 jours d’intervalle, dans au moins un journal quotidien de langue française et, s’il y a lieu, dans au moins un journal quotidien de langue anglaise qui desservent la région où cet ingénieur forestier exerçait sa profession, une annonce indiquant son adresse, son numéro de téléphone et ses heures de bureau et précisant au public qu’il est en possession des dossiers de cet ingénieur forestier.
Le cessionnaire doit faire parvenir au secrétaire copie de l’annonce visée au paragraphe b du premier alinéa.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.04.
2.05. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit respecter le droit d’une personne de prendre connaissance des documents qui la concernent dans tout dossier constitué à son sujet et d’obtenir des copies de ces documents. Les frais de l’obtention de ces copies sont à la charge de celui qui en fait la demande.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.05.
2.06. Lorsque le secrétaire a la garde des dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier qui a cessé définitivement d’exercer sa profession, il peut en tout temps, après consultation de cet ingénieur forestier, confier ces dossiers à un cessionnaire.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.06.
2.07. Pendant qu’il a la garde des dossiers d’un ingénieur forestier qui a cessé définitivement d’exercer sa profession, le secrétaire doit prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires afin de sauvegarder les intérêts des clients de cet ingénieur forestier.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.07.
2.08. Sous réserve de l’article 2.06, le secrétaire doit conserver pendant une période minimale de 5 ans les dossiers qu’il a reçus en vertu de la présente section.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 2.08.
SECTION III
CESSATION TEMPORAIRE D’EXERCER
3.01. Sous réserve de l’article 3.02, lorsqu’un ingénieur forestier cesse temporairement d’exercer sa profession, il doit, au plus tard 15 jours avant la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice:
a)  s’il a trouvé un gardien provisoire, aviser le secrétaire, sous pli recommandé ou certifié, qu’il cesse d’exercer temporairement sa profession à compter de telle date, lui indiquer la date à laquelle il entend reprendre l’exercice de sa profession ainsi que le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone du gardien provisoire; ou
b)  s’il n’a pu trouver un gardien provisoire, en informer le secrétaire, sous pli recommandé ou certifié, et l’aviser qu’il lui remettra la garde de ses dossiers à la date fixée pour la cessation d’exercice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.01.
3.02. Lorsqu’un ingénieur forestier est radié de façon temporaire ou que son permis est suspendu, le secrétaire doit veiller à ce que celui-ci trouve un gardien provisoire dans les 15 jours de la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités.
Lorsqu’un gardien provisoire n’a pu être trouvé à l’expiration de ce délai, le secrétaire prend sous sa garde les dossiers de l’ingénieur forestier radié ou dont le droit d’exercice a été suspendu.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.02; D. 1148-93, a. 4.
3.03. Le gardien provisoire doit communiquer aux clients de l’ingénieur forestier dont il a la garde des dossiers, les renseignements pertinents concernant l’état de leur dossier, tenir à jour ces dossiers et prendre les autres mesures conservatoires nécessaires afin de sauvegarder les intérêts des clients de cet ingénieur forestier.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.03.
3.04. L’article 2.04 s’applique, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à la présente section sauf dans le cas où un ingénieur forestier cesse d’exercer à la suite d’une radiation temporaire de moins de 6 mois.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.04.
3.05. Les articles 2.05 à 2.07 s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à la présente section.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.05.
3.06. Le secrétaire ou le gardien provisoire, selon le cas, doit remettre à l’ingénieur forestier ses dossiers immédiatement après la fin de la période de cessation temporaire d’exercice.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.06.
3.07. Un ingénieur forestier qui ne désire plus reprendre l’exercice de sa profession pendant ou après l’expiration de la période où il avait temporairement cessé d’exercer, doit se conformer à la section II.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5, a. 3.07.
SECTION IV
LIMITATION DU DROIT D’EXERCICE
D. 1148-93, a. 5.
4.01. Lorsqu’une décision a été rendue contre un ingénieur forestier limitant son droit d’exercice et déterminant les actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser, celui-ci doit trouver un gardien provisoire dans les 15 jours de la prise d’effet de cette limitation pour les éléments visés au paragraphe b de l’article 1.02 relatifs aux actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser.
Si l’ingénieur forestier n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire dans ce délai, le gardien provisoire nommé à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration ou le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés au paragraphe b de l’article 1.02 relatifs aux actes professionnels que le membre n’est pas autorisé à poser.
D. 1148-93, a. 5.
4.02. Les articles 3.01 à 3.07 s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, à l’ingénieur forestier dont le droit d’exercice est limité.
D. 1148-93, a. 5.
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-10, r. 5
D. 1148-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6181
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212