H-4.1, r. 8 - Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of bailiff within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter H-4.1, r. 8
Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of bailiff within a partnership or a joint-stock company
BAILIFFS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PRACTICE OF THE PROFESSION
Court Bailiffs Act
(chapter H-4.1, s. 3).
H-4.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, ss. 93, pars. g and h and 94, par. p).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. Bailiffs may, subject to the terms, conditions and restrictions established in this Regulation, carry on their professional activities within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
Bailiffs must at all times take reasonable measures to ensure that the company or partnership allows them to comply with the Court Bailiffs Act (chapter H-4.1), the Professional Code and the regulations made under that Code or that Act.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 1.
2. Bailiffs may carry on their professional activities within a partnership or company referred to in the first paragraph of section 1 that holds itself out exclusively as a partnership or joint-stock company of bailiffs if at all times
(1)  the majority of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held
(a)  by one or more bailiffs;
(b)  by a joint-stock company where at least 90% of the voting rights attached to the shares are held by one or more bailiffs carrying on their professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(c)  by a trust where all the trustees are bailiffs carrying on their professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company; or
(d)  by both persons and trusts referred to in subparagraphs a to c;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company or of the partners or directors appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership are bailiffs carrying on their professional activities;
(3)  no partner, director, officer or shareholder of the partnership or joint-stock company assumes responsibilities or performs duties incompatible with the practice of the profession of bailiff, as provided in the Code of ethics of bailiffs (chapter H-4.1 r. 3); and
(4)  to constitute a quorum at a meeting of the board of directors or, as the case may be, the internal management board of the partnership or joint-stock company, the majority of members present who may express themselves are bailiffs.
Bailiffs who are partners, directors, officers or shareholders of the partnership or joint-stock company must ensure that the conditions listed in the first paragraph appear in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the limited liability partnership and that the documents stipulate that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 2.
3. If a person referred to in section 2 is struck off the roll for a period in excess of 3 months or has had his or her permit revoked, the person may not, during the period of the striking off or revocation, directly or indirectly hold any units in the partnership or shares in the joint-stock company.
During that period, the person may not hold the position of director, officer or representative of the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 3.
4. A bailiff who wishes to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, before starting to carry on the activities, provide the secretary of the Order with the following:
(1)  a sworn declaration in compliance with section 5, accompanied by the fees payable prescribed by the board of directors of the Order;
(2)  a written document from the competent authority to the effect that the partnership or joint-stock company is covered by security in compliance with Division II;
(3)  in the case of a joint-stock company, a copy of the incorporating instrument issued by the competent authority, certifying the existence of the joint-stock company;
(4)  a written document from the competent authority to the effect that the partnership or joint-stock company is registered in Québec;
(5)  an irrevocable written undertaking from the partnership or joint-stock company within which the bailiff carries on professional activities allowing a person, committee, council or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of and obtain any document listed in section 12 from a person, or to obtain a true copy of such a document; and
(6)  where applicable, a true copy of the declaration required under the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1), stating that the general partnership has become a limited liability partnership.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 4.
5. The sworn declaration in paragraph 1 of section 4 is made on the form provided for that purpose by the secretary of the Order and contains
(1)  the bailiff’s name, member number and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  the name of the partnership or joint-stock company within which the bailiff carries on professional activities and any other names used by the partnership or joint-stock company, as well as the business number assigned to it by the enterprise registrar;
(3)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  a confirmation that the conditions referred to in section 2 are met;
(5)  the address of the head office or, as the case may be, of the principal establishment of the partnership or joint-stock company and the address of its other establishments;
(6)  in the case of a joint-stock company, the names and home addresses of the directors and officers of the company and the order or professional group to which they belong, where applicable;
(7)  in the case of a limited liability partnership, the names and home addresses of the partners and directors of the partnership and the order or professional group to which they belong, where applicable;
(8)  where applicable, the date on which the general partnership is continued as a limited liability partnership; and
(9)  identification, where applicable, of the respondent acting under section 6 and confirmation that the respondent accepts the mandate and undertakes to ensure the accuracy of the information provided to the Order and immediately notify the Order of the end of the mandate.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 5.
6. If more than one bailiff carries on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, one representative may make a declaration for all the bailiffs in the partnership or company.
The representative’s declaration is each bailiff’s declaration and each bailiff remains fully responsible for the accuracy of the information provided pursuant to paragraphs 1 and 2 of section 5.
The representative must be a bailiff who is a partner, director, officer or shareholder of the partnership or company.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 6.
7. A bailiff or representative must
(1)  update and provide, before 31 March of each year, the declaration prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 4, accompanied by the fees payable prescribed by the board of directors of the Order; and
(2)  promptly notify the secretary of the Order of any change in the security prescribed in Division II or in the information given in the declaration prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 4 that might violate the conditions set out in section 2.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 7.
8. If a bailiff becomes aware that a condition set out in this Regulation or in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) is no longer met, the bailiff must, within 15 days, take the necessary measures to comply, failing which the bailiff is no longer authorized to carry on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 8.
DIVISION II
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
9. A bailiff who carries on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must furnish and maintain, for the partnership or company, security against the professional liability of the partnership or company that may arise from fault on the part of the bailiff in carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company, by joining the professional liability group insurance plan contract entered into by the Order.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 9.
10. The security must include
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, over and above the amount of the security to be furnished by the bailiff pursuant to the Règlement sur l’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec (chapter H-4.1, r. 2) up to the amount of the security, any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to third parties on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault on the part of the bailiff in the carrying on of professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all expenses and legal costs of actions against the partnership or joint-stock company, including those of the inquiry and defence and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an undertaking by the insurer that the security is not less than $1,000,000 per claim and not less than $1,000,000 for all claims per annual coverage period, regardless of the number of members in the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  where a bailiff carries on alone all professional activities within a joint-stock company, an undertaking by the insurer that the security is not less than $500,000 per claim and not less than $1,000,000 for all claims per annual coverage period; and
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer to give the secretary of the Order a 30-day prior notice of intent to terminate the coverage, to modify it with respect to any of the conditions set out in this section or not to renew it.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 10; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
DIVISION III
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
11. Bailiffs carrying on professional activities within a general partnership that is continued as a limited liability partnership, or within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership that is established, must send to their clients, within 15 days of the occurrence, a notice informing them of the nature and effects of the occurrence of the partnership or joint-stock company, in particular with respect to the bailiff’s professional liability and that of the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 11.
12. The documents that may be required from a partnership or company pursuant to paragraph 5 of section 4 are as follows:
(1)  if the bailiff carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company,
(a)  an up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  an up-to-date register of the shares of the joint-stock company;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the shareholders of the joint-stock company;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(e)  any shareholders’ agreement or voting agreement, and amendments;
(f)  any agreement concerning a stock option with voting rights or concerning any other right, even if conditional, granted to a person and enabling the person to be issued such stock;
(g)  the declaration of registration of the joint-stock company and any update; and
(h)  the names and domiciles of the company’s principal officers;
(2)  if the bailiff carries on professional activities within a limited liability partnership,
(a)  the partnership contract and amendments;
(b)  the declaration of registration of the partnership and any update;
(c)  the names and domiciles of the partnership’s principal officers;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the partners; and
(e)  where applicable, an up-to-date register of the directors of the partnership.
O.C. 646-2009, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 646-2009, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 646-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1833
S.Q. 2010, c. 7, s. 282

H-4.1, r. 8 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’huissier de justice en société

Texte complet
chapitre H-4.1, r. 8
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’huissier de justice en société
HUISSIERS — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — EXERCICE DE LA PROFESSION
Loi sur les huissiers de justice
(chapitre H-4.1, a. 3).
H-4.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et a. 94, par. p).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
CONDITIONS ET MODALITÉS D’EXERCICE
1. Un huissier peut, aux conditions, modalités et restrictions prévues au présent règlement, exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions ou d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
En tout temps, l’huissier doit prendre les moyens raisonnables pour s’assurer que cette société lui permette de respecter les dispositions de la Loi sur les huissiers de justice (chapitre H-4.1), du Code des professions et de leurs règlements d’application.
D. 646-2009, a. 1.
2. Un huissier peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société visée au premier alinéa de l’article 1 qui se présente exclusivement comme une société d’huissiers, si les conditions suivantes sont respectées en tout temps:
1°  la majorité des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société est détenue:
a)  soit par un ou plusieurs huissiers;
b)  soit par une société par actions dont au moins 90% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions sont détenus par un ou plusieurs huissiers exerçant leurs activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
c)  soit par une fiducie dont tous les fiduciaires sont des huissiers exerçant leurs activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
d)  soit à la fois par des personnes ou fiducies visées aux sous-paragraphes a à c;
2°  les administrateurs du conseil d’administration ou, selon le cas, les associés ou les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des huissiers exerçant leurs activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
3°  aucun associé, administrateur, dirigeant ou actionnaire de la société n’occupe une charge ou n’exerce une fonction incompatible avec l’exercice de la profession d’huissier, tel que prévu au Code de déontologie des huissiers de justice (chapitre H-4.1, r. 3);
4°  pour constituer le quorum à une réunion du conseil d’administration ou, selon le cas, du conseil de gestion interne de la société, la majorité des membres présents qui peuvent s’exprimer doit être composée d’huissiers.
L’huissier associé, administrateur, dirigeant ou actionnaire de la société doit s’assurer que les conditions prévues au premier alinéa sont inscrites dans les statuts constitutifs de la société ou stipulées dans le contrat constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi inscrit ou, selon le cas, stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 646-2009, a. 2.
3. Si l’une des personnes visées à l’article 2 est radiée pour une période de plus de 3 mois ou fait l’objet d’une révocation de son permis, elle ne peut, pendant la période de radiation ou de révocation, détenir directement ou indirectement aucune action ou part sociale de la société.
Elle ne peut également, pendant cette période, être administrateur, dirigeant ou représentant de la société.
D. 646-2009, a. 3.
4. L’huissier qui veut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, avant le début de l’exercice de ces activités, fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre les documents suivants:
1°  une déclaration sous serment conforme aux dispositions de l’article 5 accompagnée des frais exigibles prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
2°  la confirmation écrite de l’autorité compétente à l’effet que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section II;
3°  dans le cas d’une société par actions, une copie de l’acte constitutif émanant de l’autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
4°  la confirmation écrite de l’autorité compétente à l’effet que la société est immatriculée au Québec;
5°  un engagement écrit irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce ses activités professionnelles donnant le droit aux personnes, aux comités, au conseil et au tribunal mentionnés à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne la communication et l’obtention d’un document mentionné à l’article 12 ou d’une copie conforme d’un tel document;
6°  le cas échéant, une copie conforme de la déclaration requise en vertu de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1) indiquant que la société en nom collectif est devenue une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée.
D. 646-2009, a. 4.
5. La déclaration sous serment prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 4 est faite sur le formulaire fourni à cette fin par le secrétaire de l’Ordre et contient les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom et le numéro de membre de l’huissier et son statut au sein de la société;
2°  le nom ainsi que les autres noms utilisés par la société au sein de laquelle l’huissier exerce ses activités professionnelles et le numéro d’entreprise de cette société attribué par le registraire des entreprises;
3°  la forme juridique de la société;
4°  une confirmation à l’effet que les conditions prévues à l’article 2 sont respectées;
5°  l’adresse du siège ou, selon le cas, du principal établissement de la société ainsi que l’adresse de ses autres établissements;
6°  s’il s’agit d’une société par actions, le nom et l’adresse du domicile des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société ainsi que l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant;
7°  s’il s’agit d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, le nom et l’adresse du domicile des associés et des administrateurs de la société ainsi que l’ordre ou le regroupement professionnel auquel ils appartiennent, le cas échéant;
8°  le cas échéant, la date à laquelle la société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
9°  l’identification, s’il y a lieu, du répondant agissant en vertu des dispositions de l’article 6 et la confirmation à l’effet qu’il accepte le mandat, qu’il s’engage à s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis à l’Ordre et à l’aviser sans délai de la fin de ce mandat.
D. 646-2009, a. 5.
6. Lorsque plus d’un huissier exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, une seule déclaration peut être faite par un répondant pour l’ensemble des huissiers de cette société.
Cette déclaration constitue la déclaration de chacun des huissiers, lesquels demeurent toutefois pleinement responsables de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis en vertu des paragraphes 1 et 2 de l’article 5.
Le répondant doit être un huissier associé, administrateur, dirigeant ou actionnaire de la société.
D. 646-2009, a. 6.
7. L’huissier ou le répondant doit:
1°  mettre à jour et fournir, avant le 31 mars de chaque année, la déclaration prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 4 accompagnée des frais exigibles prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
2°  informer sans délai le secrétaire de l’Ordre de toute modification à la garantie prévue à la section II ou aux informations transmises dans la déclaration prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 4 qui aurait pour effet d’affecter le respect des conditions prévues à l’article 2.
D. 646-2009, a. 7.
8. S’il constate que l’une des conditions prévues au présent règlement ou au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) n’est plus respectée, l’huissier doit, dans les 15 jours de ce constat, prendre les mesures nécessaires pour s’y conformer, à défaut de quoi il cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société.
D. 646-2009, a. 8.
SECTION II
GARANTIE DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
9. L’huissier qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit fournir et maintenir pour cette société, en adhérant au contrat du régime collectif d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle conclu par l’Ordre, une garantie contre la responsabilité professionnelle que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par l’huissier dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de cette société.
D. 646-2009, a. 9.
10. Cette garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur de payer au lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant de garantie que doit fournir l’huissier conformément au Règlement sur l’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec (chapitre H-4.1, r. 2) et jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à des tiers relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes commises par l’huissier dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et frais de justice des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement par l’assureur que la garantie soit d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et d’au moins 1 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations relatives à la période annuelle d’assurance, et ce, quel que soit le nombre de membres de la société;
4°  dans le cas où l’huissier exerce seul l’ensemble des activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, l’engagement par l’assureur que la garantie soit d’au moins 500 000 $ par réclamation et d’au moins 1 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations relatives à la période annuelle d’assurance;
5°  l’engagement par l’assureur de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis d’au moins 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier la garantie, la modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues au présent article ou ne pas la renouveler.
D. 646-2009, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION III
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
11. Lorsqu’une société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou lorsqu’une société par actions ou une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée est formée, l’huissier qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société doit transmettre à ses clients, dans les 15 jours de la continuation ou de la formation, un avis les informant de la nature et des effets de la continuation ou de la formation de la société, notamment quant à sa responsabilité professionnelle et à celle de la société.
D. 646-2009, a. 11.
12. Les documents qui peuvent être exigés de la société en vertu du paragraphe 5 de l’article 4 sont les suivants:
1°  si l’huissier exerce au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre complet et à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
b)  le registre complet et à jour des actions de la société;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des actionnaires de la société;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
e)  toute convention entre actionnaires ou entente de vote et toute modification y afférente;
f)  toute convention portant sur l’octroi d’option d’achat d’actions comportant droit de vote ou portant sur tout autre droit, même conditionnel, conféré à une personne et lui permettant de se faire émettre de telles actions;
g)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
h)  le nom des principaux dirigeants de la société ainsi que l’adresse de leur domicile;
2°  s’il exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  le nom des principaux dirigeants de la société ainsi que l’adresse de leur domicile;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des associés de la société;
e)  le cas échéant, le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société.
D. 646-2009, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 646-2009, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 646-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 2673
L.Q. 2010, c. 7, a. 282