H-4.1, r. 11 - Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of permits by the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter H-4.1, r. 11
Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of permits by the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec
BAILIFFS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS FOR THE ISSUE OF PERMITS
Court Bailiffs Act
(chapter H-4.1, s. 3).
H-4.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. c and c. 1).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The secretary of the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec must forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate who, for the purpose of obtaining a court bailiff’s permit from the Chamber, applies to have a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec or training recognized as equivalent.
In this Regulation,
“diploma equivalence” means recognition by the Chamber that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that a candidate’s level of knowledge and skills is equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), as giving access to a court bailiff’s permit issued by the Chamber; and
“training equivalence” means recognition by the Chamber that a candidate’s training has enabled him or her to attain a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code, as giving access to a court bailiff’s permit issued by the Chamber.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 1; O.C. 684-2008, s. 1.
DIVISION II
DIPLOMA EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
2. A candidate who holds a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec is granted a diploma equivalence if the diploma was obtained upon completion of a program of college-level studies comprising a minimum of 2,370 hours.
A minimum of 1,710 hours must pertain to the following subjects and be apportioned as follows:
(1)  a minimum of 150 hours in subjects dealing with legal research;
(2)  a minimum of 285 hours in subjects dealing with civil law;
(3)  a minimum of 105 hours in subjects dealing with labour and administrative law;
(4)  a minimum of 120 hours in subjects dealing with civil procedure;
(5)  a minimum of 90 hours in subjects dealing with the Québec law of security on property and publication of rights;
(6)  a minimum of 45 hours in subjects dealing with legal drafting;
(7)  a minimum of 60 hours in subjects dealing with corporate law;
(8)  a minimum of 45 hours in subjects dealing with Canadian criminal and penal law;
(9)  a minimum of 45 hours in subjects dealing with the history of law;
(10)  a minimum of 195 hours in subjects dealing with communication, accounting and contentious and notarial practice; and
(11)  a minimum of 570 hours or credits of supervised training periods.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 2.
3. Despite section 2, where the diploma for which an equivalence application is made was obtained more than 5 years before the application and, considering the developments in the profession of court bailiff, the knowledge certified by the diploma no longer corresponds to the knowledge currently being taught, the candidate is granted a training equivalence pursuant to section 5 if the candidate has attained the required level of knowledge and skills since obtaining his or her diploma.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 3.
4. A candidate with an undergraduate law degree from an educational institution in Québec or a Licence in Civil Law from the University of Ottawa is granted a diploma equivalence.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 4.
DIVISION III
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE STANDARDS
5. A candidate is granted a training equivalence if the candidate demonstrates having a level of knowledge and skills equivalent to the level attained by the holder of a diploma recognized by a regulation of the Government, made pursuant to the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), as giving access to a court bailiff’s permit issued by the Chamber.
In assessing the training equivalence of a candidate, the following factors are to be taken into particular account:
(1)  the nature and duration of the candidate’s work experience;
(2)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  the nature and content of courses taken; and
(4)  the nature and content of training periods and other training activities.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 5; O.C. 684-2008, s. 2.
DIVISION IV
TRAINING EQUIVALENCE RECOGNITION PROCEDURE
6. A candidate who wishes to have a diploma or training equivalence recognized must provide the secretary with the following documents, which are required to support the candidate’s application, together with the fees required under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26):
(1)  the candidate’s academic record, including a description of courses taken, the number of hours or credits of each course, and the results obtained;
(2)  a copy of the diplomas held by the candidate, certified by the educational institution;
(3)  an attestation of the candidate’s successful completion of any training periods;
(4)  an attestation and description of the candidate’s relevant work experience; and
(5)  where applicable, an attestation of the candidate’s participation in continuing training or upgrading activities since the diploma was obtained.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 6.
7. Documents in a language other than French or English that are submitted in support of an application must be accompanied by a French or English translation certified by the translator.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 7.
8. The secretary must send the documents referred to in section 6 to a committee formed by the board of directors to study applications for diploma or training equivalence and make an appropriate recommendation.
In order to make an appropriate recommendation, the committee may require the applicant to come to an interview, to pass an examination or to complete a training period.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 8.
9. At the first meeting following the date of receipt of that recommendation, the board of directors must decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether it will grant a diploma or training equivalence and inform the candidate in writing within 30 days of its decision.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 9.
10. Within 30 days of its decision not to grant a diploma or training equivalence, the board of directors must so inform the candidate in writing and indicate the programs of study, training sessions or examinations that the candidate could successfully complete within the allotted time, taking into account the candidate’s current level of knowledge, to enable the candidate to be granted the equivalence. The board of directors must also inform the candidate of his or her right to apply for a review of the decision in accordance with section 11.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 10; O.C. 684-2008, s. 3.
11. A candidate who is informed of the board of director’s decision not to grant the equivalence applied for may apply for a review, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary within 30 days of receiving the decision.
The review must take place within 60 days after the date on which the application is received by a committee formed by the board of directors, pursuant to paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), and composed of persons other than members of the board of directors or the committee referred to in section 8.
Before disposing of the review application, the committee must inform the candidate of the date of the meeting at which the review application will be examined and of the candidate’s right to make submissions.
A candidate who wishes to be present at the meeting to make submissions must notify the secretary at least 5 days before the date set for the meeting. The candidate may, however, send written submissions to the secretary at any time before the date set for the meeting.
The written decision of the committee is final and must be sent to the candidate by registered mail within 30 days after the date of the meeting.
O.C. 504-2006, s. 11; O.C. 684-2008, s. 4.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 504-2006, s. 12.
REFERENCES
O.C. 504-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1730
O.C. 684-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2899
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

H-4.1, r. 11 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre H-4.1, r. 11
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec
HUISSIERS — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE — DÉLIVRANCE D’UN PERMIS
Loi sur les huissiers de justice
(chapitre H-4.1, a. 3).
H-4.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c et c. 1).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le secrétaire de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui, aux fins d’obtenir un permis d’huissier de justice délivré par la Chambre, désire faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors Québec ou une équivalence de formation.
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«équivalence de diplôme»: la reconnaissance, par la Chambre, qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés du candidat titulaire de ce diplôme est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), comme donnant ouverture au permis d’huissier de justice délivré par la Chambre;
«équivalence de formation»: la reconnaissance, par la Chambre, que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement, pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions, comme donnant ouverture au permis d’huissier de justice délivré par la Chambre.
D. 504-2006, a. 1; D. 684-2008, a. 1.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME
2. Un candidat, qui est titulaire d’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec, bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme si ce diplôme a été obtenu au terme d’un programme d’études de niveau équivalent au niveau collégial, comportant un minimum de 2 370 heures.
Un minimum de 1 710 heures doivent porter sur les matières suivantes et être réparties comme suit:
1°  un minimum de 150 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur la recherche juridique;
2°  un minimum de 285 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur le droit civil;
3°  un minimum de 105 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur le droit du travail et administratif;
4°  un minimum de 120 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur la procédure civile;
5°  un minimum de 90 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur le droit québécois des sûretés et publicité des droits;
6°  un minimum de 45 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur la rédaction juridique;
7°  un minimum de 60 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur le droit des entreprises;
8°  un minimum de 45 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur le droit criminel et pénal canadien;
9°  un minimum de 45 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur l’histoire du droit;
10°  un minimum de 195 heures obtenues dans des matières portant sur la communication, la comptabilité et la pratique litigieuse et notariale;
11°  un minimum de 570 heures ou crédits de stages de formation supervisés.
D. 504-2006, a. 2.
3. Malgré l’article 2, lorsque le diplôme qui fait l’objet d’une demande d’équivalence a été obtenu plus de 5 ans avant cette demande et que les connaissances qu’il atteste ne correspondent plus, compte tenu du développement de la profession d’huissier de justice, aux connaissances présentement enseignées, le candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation conformément à l’article 5, s’il a acquis, depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le niveau de connaissances et d’habiletés requis.
D. 504-2006, a. 3.
4. Un candidat qui est titulaire d’un diplôme universitaire de premier cycle en droit délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé au Québec ou d’une licence en droit civil délivrée par l’Université d’Ottawa bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme.
D. 504-2006, a. 4.
SECTION III
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE FORMATION
5. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation s’il démontre qu’il possède des habiletés et des connaissances équivalentes à celles acquises par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu par règlement du gouvernement et pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), comme donnant ouverture au permis d’huissier de justice délivré par la Chambre.
Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de formation du candidat, il est tenu compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience de travail;
2°  le fait que le candidat soit titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
4°  la nature et le contenu des stages et des autres activités de formation effectués.
D. 504-2006, a. 5; D. 684-2008, a. 2.
SECTION IV
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE DE L’ÉQUIVALENCE
6. Un candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou de formation doit fournir au secrétaire les documents suivants, qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande, accompagnés des frais d’étude de son dossier exigés conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26):
1°  son dossier scolaire incluant la description des cours suivis, le nombre d’heures ou de crédits de chaque cours suivi, de même que les résultats obtenus;
2°  une copie certifiée conforme par l’établissement d’enseignement des diplômes dont il est titulaire;
3°  une attestation de sa participation à tout stage de formation et de sa réussite;
4°  une attestation et une description de son expérience pertinente de travail;
5°  une attestation de sa participation à des activités de formation continue ou de perfectionnement depuis l’obtention de son diplôme, le cas échéant.
D. 504-2006, a. 6.
7. Les documents transmis à l’appui de la demande, qui sont rédigés dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, doivent être accompagnés de leur traduction en français ou en anglais et d’une déclaration sous serment de la personne qui en a fait la traduction.
D. 504-2006, a. 7.
8. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 6 à un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration pour étudier les demandes d’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation et formuler une recommandation appropriée.
Aux fins de formuler une recommandation appropriée, ce comité peut demander au candidat qui demande la reconnaissance d’une équivalence de se présenter à une entrevue, de réussir un examen ou d’effectuer un stage.
D. 504-2006, a. 8.
9. À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le Conseil d’administration décide, conformément au présent règlement, s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation et en informe par écrit le candidat dans les 30 jours de sa décision.
D. 504-2006, a. 9.
10. Dans les 30 jours qui suivent sa décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou de formation, le Conseil d’administration doit en informer par écrit le candidat et lui indiquer les programmes d’études, les stages ou les examens dont la réussite dans le délai fixé, compte tenu de son niveau actuel de connaissances, lui permettrait de bénéficier de cette équivalence. Il doit également l’informer de son droit de demander une révision de la décision conformément à l’article 11.
D. 504-2006, a. 10; D. 684-2008, a. 3.
11. Le candidat qui est informé de la décision du Conseil d’administration de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence demandée peut en demander la révision à la condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de cette décision.
La révision est effectuée dans les 60 jours suivant la date de la réception de cette demande par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration, en application du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), composé de personnes qui ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration ou du comité prévu à l’article 8.
Le comité doit, avant de prendre une décision, informer le candidat de la date à laquelle il tiendra la réunion sur sa demande et de son droit d’y présenter ses observations.
Le candidat qui désire être présent pour faire ses observations doit en informer le secrétaire au moins 5 jours avant la date prévue pour la réunion. Il peut cependant lui faire parvenir ses observations écrites en tout temps avant la date prévue pour cette réunion.
La décision écrite du comité est définitive et doit être transmise, par poste recommandée, au candidat dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de cette réunion.
D. 504-2006, a. 11; D. 684-2008, a. 4; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. (Omis).
D. 504-2006, a. 12.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 504-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2403
D. 684-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 3983
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212