D-9.2, r. 14 - Regulation respecting the compulsory professional development of financial planners

Full text
chapter D-9.2, r. 14
Regulation respecting the compulsory professional development of financial planners
DISTRIBUTION OF FINANCIAL PRODUCTS AND SERVICES — DEVELOPMENT — FINANCIAL PLANNERS
Act respecting the distribution of financial products and services
(chapter D-9.2, s. 200).
D-9.2
September 1 2012
Replaced, M.O. 2011-07, 2011 G.O. 2, 3271; eff. 2011-12-01; see chapter D-9.2, r. 14.1.
DIVISION I
SCOPE AND INTERPRETATION
1. This Regulation applies to every natural person who holds a certificate issued by the Autorité des marchés financiers (the “Authority”) authorizing the person to use the title of financial planner.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
“professional development unit”, or “PDU”, means 1 hour of training activity developed and provided by or in partnership with the Institut québécois de planification financière (the “IQPF”) or recognized by the Authority pursuant to Division III;
“reference period” means any 24-month period beginning on or after 1 December 2007.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 2.
DIVISION II
TRAINING
§ 1.  — Period, frequency and content of training
3. A financial planner referred to in section 1 must, for any reference period, take part in professional development activities and accumulate 40 PDUs apportioned as follows:
(1)  15 PDUs related to training activities developed and provided by or in partnership with the IQPF involving integrated financial planning in the following 7 areas:
(a)  finance;
(b)  taxation;
(c)  legal aspects;
(d)  retirement planning;
(e)  estate planning;
(f)  investment;
(g)  insurance;
(2)  15 PDUs related to training activities recognized by the Authority in one or more of the 7 areas listed in paragraph 1; and
(3)  10 PDUs related to training activities recognized by the Authority in subjects pertaining to compliance with standards, ethics and business conduct, including 5 PDUs related directly to financial planning.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 3.
§ 2.  — Variations in the training requirement
4. A financial planner referred to in section 1 who is issued a certificate by the Authority during a reference period that has already begun must accumulate, according to the apportionment in section 3, a number of PDUs equal to the proportion that the number of full months for which the certificate has been held is of a reference period.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 4.
5. A financial planner who is issued a certificate by the Authority during the first year following the awarding of the IQPF diploma is exempt from the requirement to take part in professional development activities for a 12-month period following the date on which the diploma was awarded.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 5.
6. The Authority may exempt a financial planner from the requirements of sections 3 and 4 if, owing to superior force, the financial planner is unable to comply with the requirements.
The situations described in section 8 do not constitute superior force.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 6.
§ 3.  — Awarding and assignment of PDUs
7. A financial planner who acts as an activity trainer, instructor or facilitator is entitled, only once for the activity, to double the number of PDUs awarded for the activity.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 7.
8. A financial planner who is suspended or has been struck off the roll or whose certificate has been cancelled or revoked pursuant to a decision of the discipline committee of the Chambre de la sécurité financière or an organization referred to in section 59 of the Act respecting the distribution of financial products and services (chapter D-9.2), or whose certificate has been revoked, suspended, not renewed or includes conditions or restrictions imposed by the Authority may not provide professional development activities and earn PDUs as an activity trainer, instructor or facilitator.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 8.
9. A financial planner who, during a reference period, has accumulated more PDUs than the number required under paragraphs 2 and 3 of section 3 may not carry the excess PDUs over to a subsequent reference period.
Despite the foregoing, a financial planner who, during a reference period, has accumulated more PDUs than the number required under paragraph 1 of section 3 may include the excess PDUs under paragraph 2 of section 3, but solely in respect of the same period.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 9.
§ 4.  — Notice from the Authority
10. At least 30 days before the end of a reference period, the Authority sends a notice to each financial planner who has not accumulated the required number of PDUs informing the financial planner of the consequences under section 57 or 63 of the Regulation respecting the issuance and renewal of representatives’ certificates (chapter D-9.2, r. 7).
O.C. 970-2007, s. 10.
11. Within 30 days after the end of the reference period, the Authority sends a notice to each financial planner who has not accumulated the required number of PDUs informing the financial planner of the consequences of the failure or default to which section 57 or 63 of the Regulation respecting the issuance and renewal of representatives’ certificates (chapter D-9.2, r. 7) refers.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 11.
§ 5.  — Keeping and sending of documents
12. A financial planner must keep the attendance vouchers or certificates of exam or test results issued by the person, organization or educational institution providing the professional development activities for a 24-month period following the end of the reference period concerned.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 12.
13. During a reference period, a financial planner must, personally or through the firm for which the financial planner is acting or the independent partnership of which the financial planner is a partner or employee, send to the Authority a copy of the attendance vouchers that the financial planner is required to keep in accordance with section 12.
Despite the foregoing, a financial planner is exempt from the requirement under the first paragraph if the financial planner or the firm for which the financial planner is acting or the independent partnership of which the financial planner is a partner or employee, sends the attendance vouchers for professional development activities by means of secured access to the IQPF’s website. The financial planner is required to send a copy of the vouchers only if the Authority so requires for data verification purposes, in which case paper copies must be provided within 30 days of the Authority’s request.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 13.
DIVISION III
RECOGNITION OF TRAINING ACTIVITIES
14. The Authority does not recognize activities pertaining to the sale of specific financial products or services, including securities.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 14.
15. The Authority recognizes a training activity if it enables the following skills and competencies to be developed:
(1)  development and betterment of a comprehensive and integrated vision of personal financial planning;
(2)  acquisition, comprehension and application of theoretical and technical knowledge in the areas related to personal financial planning; and
(3)  acquisition, comprehension and application of theoretical and technical knowledge in subjects pertaining to compliance with standards, ethics and business conduct.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 15.
16. An application for recognition of an activity may be submitted to the Authority before or not more than 6 months after the activity is held, but not later than the last day of the reference period during which the activity is held, by the financial planner personally or by the person, organization or educational institution providing the activity.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 16.
17. The Authority is to recognize or refuse to recognize an activity within 30 days of receipt of the application. If the recognition is refused or the activity is recognized for fewer PDUs than requested, the Authority must give reasons to the person, organization or educational institution that made the application for recognition.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 17.
18. The application for recognition must include
(1)  a description of the training activity;
(2)  the training procedure for and duration of the activity;
(3)  the number of PDUs requested for the training activity;
(4)  a document explaining how the activity develops the skills and competencies referred to in section 15;
(5)  if the application is submitted before the activity is held, the name and address of the person responsible for the activity;
(6)  if the application is submitted after the activity is held by the financial planner personally, a voucher attesting that the financial planner attended the activity; and
(7)  if the application is submitted after the activity is held by the person, organization or educational institution providing the activity, a list of participants.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 18.
19. The recognition is valid for the reference period in effect when the activity is held. A person wishing to renew the recognition must make a new application to the Authority.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 19.
20. The person responsible for an activity must inform the Authority of any change in any of the elements listed in section 18.
Further to the notice of change referred to in the first paragraph, the Authority may terminate recognition of the activity or increase or decrease the number of PDUs awarded for the activity.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 20.
21. The Authority may terminate recognition of an activity or increase or decrease the number of PDUs awarded for it if the Authority becomes aware that the activity being provided is different from the activity that was recognized.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 21.
DIVISION IV
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
22. For the purposes of this Regulation, the first reference period ends on 30 November 2007.
O.C. 970-2007, s. 22.
23. (Obsolete).
O.C. 970-2007, s. 23.
24. (Obsolete).
O.C. 970-2007, s. 24.
25. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the compulsory professional development of financial planners (O.C. 1451-2001, 01-12-05).
O.C. 970-2007, s. 25.
26. (Omitted).
O.C. 970-2007, s. 26.
REFERENCES
O.C. 970-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 2946

D-9.2, r. 14 - Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire du planificateur financier

Texte complet
chapitre D-9.2, r. 14
Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire du planificateur financier
DISTRIBUTION DE PRODUITS ET SERVICES FINANCIERS — FORMATION CONTINUE — PLANIFICATEUR FINANCIER
Loi sur la distribution de produits et services financiers
(chapitre D-9.2, a. 200).
D-9.2
1er septembre 2012
Remplacé, A.M. 2011-07, 2011 G.O. 2, 5067; eff. 2011-12-01; voir chapitre D-9.2, r. 14.1.
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION ET INTERPRÉTATION
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à toute personne physique qui est titulaire d’un certificat délivré par l’Autorité des marchés financiers l’autorisant à utiliser le titre de planificateur financier.
D. 970-2007, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«unité de formation continue» ou «UFC», 1 heure d’activité de formation élaborée et dispensée par l’Institut québécois de planification financière ou en partenariat avec lui, ou reconnue par l’Autorité conformément à la section III;
«période de référence», toute période de 24 mois, à compter du 1er décembre 2007.
D. 970-2007, a. 2.
SECTION II
FORMATION
§ 1.  — Période, fréquence et contenu de la formation
3. Un planificateur financier visé à l’article 1 doit, pour toute période de référence, suivre des activités de formation continue et accumuler 40 UFC réparties de la façon suivante:
1°  15 UFC liées à des activités de formation élaborées et dispensées par l’Institut ou en partenariat avec lui, en planification financière intégrée, couvrant les 7 domaines d’intervention suivants:
a)  les finances;
b)  la fiscalité;
c)  les aspects légaux;
d)  la retraite;
e)  les successions;
f)  les placements;
g)  les assurances;
2°  15 UFC liées à des activités de formation reconnues par l’Autorité, dans l’un ou plusieurs des 7 domaines d’intervention visés au paragraphe 1;
3°  10 UFC liées à des activités de formation reconnues par l’Autorité, en matière de conformité aux normes, d’éthique et de pratique professionnelle, dont 5 UFC reliées directement à la planification financière.
D. 970-2007, a. 3.
§ 2.  — Modulation de l’obligation de formation
4. Le planificateur financier visé à l’article 1 à qui un certificat de l’Autorité est délivré au cours d’une période de référence entamée doit accumuler, selon la répartition prévue à l’article 3, un nombre d’UFC, équivalent à la proportion que représente, par rapport à une période de référence, le nombre de mois complets au cours desquels il est titulaire du certificat.
D. 970-2007, a. 4.
5. Le planificateur financier à qui un certificat est délivré par l’Autorité dans la première année suivant l’obtention de son diplôme de l’Institut est dispensé de suivre des activités de formation continue pour une période de 12 mois suivant la date de cette obtention.
D. 970-2007, a. 5.
6. L’Autorité peut dispenser un planificateur financier des obligations prévues aux articles 3 et 4 si, en raison d’une force majeure, il ne peut s’y conformer.
Ne constitue pas un cas de force majeure les situations prévues à l’article 8.
D. 970-2007, a. 6.
§ 3.  — Attribution et affectation d’UFC
7. Le planificateur financier qui agit à titre de formateur, d’enseignant ou d’animateur d’une activité a droit, une seule fois pour cette activité, au double du nombre d’UFC attribué à celle-ci.
D. 970-2007, a. 7.
8. Le planificateur financier qui est suspendu ou radié ou dont le certificat est annulé ou révoqué à la suite d’une décision du comité de discipline de la Chambre de la sécurité financière ou d’un organisme mentionné à l’article 59 de la Loi sur la distribution de produits et services financiers (chapitre D-9.2), ou dont le certificat est révoqué, suspendu, non renouvelé ou assorti de conditions ou de restrictions par l’Autorité, ne peut dispenser des activités de formation continue et se voir attribuer des UFC à titre de formateur, d’enseignant ou d’animateur de ces activités.
D. 970-2007, a. 8.
9. Le planificateur financier ayant accumulé, au cours d’une période de référence, plus d’UFC que le nombre exigé aux paragraphes 2 et 3 de l’article 3, ne peut reporter ces UFC excédentaires pour une période de référence subséquente.
Toutefois, le planificateur financier qui, au cours d’une période de référence, a accumulé plus d’UFC que le nombre exigé au paragraphe 1 de l’article 3, peut comptabiliser les UFC excédentaires au sens du paragraphe 2 de l’article 3, mais uniquement au cours de cette même période.
D. 970-2007, a. 9.
§ 4.  — Avis de l’Autorité
10. Au plus tard 30 jours précédant la fin d’une période de référence, l’Autorité transmet un avis à chaque planificateur financier n’ayant pas accumulé le nombre d’UFC requis et il l’avise des conséquences prévues par les articles 57 ou 63 du Règlement relatif à la délivrance et au renouvellement du certificat de représentant (chapitre D-9.2, r. 7).
D. 970-2007, a. 10.
11. Dans les 30 jours suivant la fin de la période de référence, l’Autorité transmet un avis à chaque planificateur financier n’ayant pas accumulé le nombre d’UFC requis et l’avise des conséquences de son défaut prévues par les articles 57 ou 63 du Règlement relatif à la délivrance et au renouvellement du certificat de représentant (chapitre D-9.2, r. 7).
D. 970-2007, a. 11.
§ 5.  — Conservation et communication des documents
12. Le planificateur financier doit conserver, pour une période de 24 mois suivant la fin de la période de référence visée, les attestations de présence ou de réussite d’examens ou de tests remises par la personne, l’organisme ou l’établissement d’enseignement qui a dispensé les activités de formation continue.
D. 970-2007, a. 12.
13. Au cours d’une période de référence, un planificateur financier doit, lui-même ou par l’entremise du cabinet pour le compte duquel il agit ou de la société autonome dont il est un associé ou l’employé, transmettre à l’Autorité une copie des attestations qu’il est tenu de conserver conformément à l’article 12.
Toutefois, le planificateur financier est dispensé de l’obligation prévue au premier alinéa s’il communique ses présences aux activités de formation continue ou les fait communiquer par le cabinet pour le compte duquel il agit ou par la société autonome dont il est un associé ou l’employé, au moyen d’un accès sécurisé au site Internet de l’Institut. Il est tenu de transmettre une copie de ces attestations seulement si l’Autorité l’exige pour vérifier l’exactitude des données. Dans ce cas, les copies doivent être transmises sur support papier dans les 30 jours de la demande de l’Autorité.
D. 970-2007, a. 13.
SECTION III
RECONNAISSANCE DES ACTIVITÉS DE FORMATION
14. L’Autorité ne reconnaît pas les activités visant la vente de produits ou de services financiers spécifiques, incluant les valeurs mobilières.
D. 970-2007, a. 14.
15. L’Autorité reconnaît une activité de formation si elle permet le développement des habiletés et des compétences suivantes:
1°  développement et enrichissement d’une vision globale et intégrée de la planification financière personnelle;
2°  acquisition, compréhension et application de connaissances théoriques et techniques dans les domaines d’intervention de la planification financière personnelle;
3°  acquisition, compréhension et application de connaissances théoriques et techniques en matière de conformité aux normes, d’éthique et de pratique professionnelle.
D. 970-2007, a. 15.
16. La demande de reconnaissance d’une activité peut être présentée à l’Autorité avant ou au maximum 6 mois après la tenue de l’activité, mais au plus tard le dernier jour de la période de référence au cours de laquelle l’activité est tenue, par le planificateur financier lui-même, ou par la personne, l’organisme ou l’établissement d’enseignement qui dispense l’activité.
D. 970-2007, a. 16.
17. L’Autorité accorde ou refuse la reconnaissance dans les 30 jours de la réception de la demande. Lorsque la reconnaissance est refusée ou que l’activité est reconnue pour un nombre d’UFC inférieur à celui demandé, l’Autorité en indique les motifs à la personne, l’organisme ou l’établissement d’enseignement ayant présenté la demande de reconnaissance.
D. 970-2007, a. 17.
18. La demande de reconnaissance doit contenir les éléments suivants:
1°  une description de l’activité de formation visée;
2°  le déroulement et la durée de cette activité;
3°  le nombre d’UFC demandé pour l’activité de formation;
4°  un document expliquant en quoi cette activité permet le développement des habiletés et des compétences mentionnées à l’article 15;
5°  si la demande est présentée avant la tenue de l’activité, les nom et adresse du responsable de l’activité;
6°  si la demande est présentée après la tenue de l’activité par le planificateur financier lui-même, une attestation de présence à cette activité;
7°  si la demande est présentée après la tenue de l’activité par la personne, l’organisme ou l’établissement d’enseignement qui l’a dispensée, la liste des participants.
D. 970-2007, a. 18.
19. La reconnaissance est valide pour la période de référence en cours au moment où l’activité est tenue. La personne qui désire renouveler cette reconnaissance doit présenter à l’Autorité une nouvelle demande.
D. 970-2007, a. 19.
20. Le responsable d’une activité doit aviser l’Autorité de toute modification relativement à l’un des éléments énumérés à l’article 18.
Par suite de l’avis de modification prévu au premier alinéa, l’Autorité peut annuler la reconnaissance de l’activité, augmenter ou diminuer le nombre d’UFC attribué à celle-ci.
D. 970-2007, a. 20.
21. L’Autorité peut annuler la reconnaissance d’une activité, augmenter ou diminuer le nombre d’UFC attribué à celle-ci si elle constate que l’activité offerte diffère de celle reconnue.
D. 970-2007, a. 21.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
22. Pour l’application du présent règlement, est fixée au 30 novembre 2007 la fin de la première période de référence.
D. 970-2007, a. 22.
23. (Périmé).
D. 970-2007, a. 23.
24. (Périmé).
D. 970-2007, a. 24.
25. Le Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire du planificateur financier (D. 1451-2001, 01-12-05) est remplacé.
D. 970-2007, a. 25.
26. (Omis).
D. 970-2007, a. 26.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 970-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 4479