D-9.2, r. 12 - Regulation respecting the compulsory professional development of the Chambre de l’assurance de dommages

Full text
chapter D-9.2, r. 12
Regulation respecting the compulsory professional development of the Chambre de l’assurance de dommages
DISTRIBUTION OF FINANCIAL PRODUCTS AND SERVICES - COMPULSORY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT
Act respecting the distribution of financial products and services
(chapter D-9.2, ss. 202.1 and 312).
D-9.2
February 19 2014
Replaced, M.O. 2014-02, 2014 G.O. 2, 403; eff. 2014-02-19; see chapter D-9.2, r. 12.1.
DIVISION I
SCOPE
1. This Regulation applies to all representatives who hold a certificate issued by the Autorité des marchés financiers authorizing them to practise in any sector or class of sector of damage insurance or claims adjustment.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation, the term “professional development unit”, or “PDU”, means the quantitative value assigned to a training activity recognized by the Chambre de l’assurance de dommages, one PDU representing one hour of activity.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 2.
3. The Chamber shall recognize a training activity, dealing with one of the subjects mentioned in first paragraph of section 4 when it is given in accordance with an agreement concluded under section 316 of the Act respecting the distribution of financial products and services (chapter D-9.2).
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 3.
DIVISION II
OBLIGATIONS
4. The training activities recognized by the Chamber shall fall within the following classes:
(1)  administration:
(a)  economics;
(b)  accounting and finance;
(c)  business management;
(2)  insurance techniques:
(a)  personal lines insurance;
(b)  commercial lines insurance;
(c)  risk management;
(d)  claims adjustment;
(e)  building mechanics;
(f)  investigation techniques;
(g)   loss prevention;
(3)  law:
(a)  laws and regulations respecting damage insurance;
(b)  (paragraph revoked);
(c)  civil law;
(d)  (paragraph revoked);
(4)  professional development:
(a)  customer service;
(b)  professional practice;
(5)  compliance:
(a)  ethics and the professional practice of damage insurance;
(b)  laws and regulations respecting the distribution of financial products and services;
(c)  laws and regulations respecting the protection of personal information.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 4; O.C. 608-2004, s. 1; M.O. 2009-03, s. 1.
4.1. A representative who holds a certificate shall, for the reference period between 1 January 2010 and 31 December 2011, and every 24-month period thereafter, take part in training activities recognized by the Chamber and consisting of 20 PDUs in the subjects in the classes listed in paragraphs 1 to 5 of section 4.
The PDUs to be completed are as follows:
(1)  12 PDUs in the classes of insurance techniques, administration or law;
(2)  5 PDUs in the classes listed in paragraphs 1 to 5 of section 4; and
(3)  3 PDUs in the class of compliance.
A representative who is issued a certificate between 1 January 2010 and 31 December 2011, or over the course of any 24-month period thereafter, shall accumulate, in a subject listed in paragraphs 1 to 5 of section 4, one PDU for each complete month during which the representative holds a certificate, unless the representative has held the certificate for less than 6 months.
Members of the Chamber who obtain a certificate after passing the examinations prescribed by the Autorité des marchés financiers are exempted, for a period of 12 months after the examinations, from the requirement to accumulate PDUs.
O.C. 608-2004, s. 2; M.O. 2009-03, s. 2.
5. A representative cannot complete his PDUs within the context of an activity designed to promote an insurer’s insurance products or an activity designed to motivate representatives to sell such products.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 5.
6. The Chamber may relieve a representative from the obligations referred to in section 4 if, due to superior force, he was unable to comply with them.
The fact that a representative was suspended or struck off the roll, or that his certificate was cancelled, revoked, suspended, not renewed or included restrictions and conditions does not constitute superior force.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 6.
7. The representative referred to in the second paragraph of section 6 can take part in training activities recognized by the Chamber and earn PDUs. However, he may not act in the capacity of trainer, instructor or facilitator in these activities.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 7.
8. A representative who decides to accumulate more than the PDUs required during any 24-month period may carry forward a maximum of 5 PDUs to the subsequent period.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 8; O.C. 608-2004, s. 3; M.O. 2009-03, s. 3.
9. For each 24-month period, each representative shall keep the training attestations or exam or test result attestations given to him by the person, organization or educational institution who offers the training activity and for one year following the end of the 24-month period.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 9.
10. At the latest by 15 January following the end of the 24-month period, each representative himself or through the firm for which he is acting or the independent partnership of which he is a partner or employee must forward to the Chamber a copy of the attestations he must keep in accordance with section 9.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 10.
11. On 30 January following any given 24-month period, the Chamber shall send a default notice to each representative who has not accumulated the PDUs required under section 4 and notify him of the consequences of such default.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 11.
12. A representative who is in default must, after having received such notice from the Chamber, accumulate the number of PDUs he has failed to accumulate in one or more of the classes referred to in section 3, at the latest by 31 March following the end of the 24-month period.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 12.
13. At the end of the period referred to in section 12, the Chamber shall send a notice of non-compliance to each representative who has not accumulated the required number of PDUs and notify him of the consequences of such default.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 13.
14. The Chamber shall notify the Autorité des marchés financiers when it sends the notice referred to in section 13 to any representative who is in default.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 14; M.O. 2009-03, s. 4.
15. A representative who acts in the capacity of trainer, instructor or facilitator in an activity is entitled, only once for this activity, to double the number of PDUs assigned to it.
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 15.
16. (Omitted).
O.C. 1452-2001, s. 16.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1452-2001, 2001 G.O. 2, 6189
O.C. 608-2004, 2004 G.O. 2, 2153
M.O. 2009-03, 2009 G.O. 2, 1939

D-9.2, r. 12 - Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire de la Chambre de l’assurance de dommages

Texte complet
chapitre D-9.2, r. 12
Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire de la Chambre de l’assurance de dommages
DISTRIBUTION DE PRODUITS ET SERVICES FINANCIERS - FORMATION CONTINUE
Loi sur la distribution de produits et services financiers
(chapitre D-9.2, a. 202.1 et 312).
D-9.2
19 février 2014
Remplacé, A.M. 2014-02, 2014 G.O. 2, 624; eff. 2014-02-19; voir chapitre D-9.2, r. 12.1.
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION ET INTERPRÉTATION
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à tout représentant titulaire d’un certificat délivré par l’Autorité des marchés financiers qui l’autorise à exercer ses activités dans une discipline ou catégorie de discipline de l’assurance de dommages ou de l’expertise en règlement de sinistre.
D. 1452-2001, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par «unité de formation continue» ou «UFC» la valeur quantitative attribuée à une activité de formation reconnue par la Chambre de l’assurance de dommages, une UFC représentant une heure d’activité.
D. 1452-2001, a. 2.
3. La Chambre reconnaît une activité de formation sur l’une des matières mentionnées au premier alinéa de l’article 4 lorsqu’elle est dispensée conformément à une entente conclue en vertu de l’article 316 de la Loi sur la distribution de produits et services financiers (chapitre D-9.2).
D. 1452-2001, a. 3.
SECTION II
OBLIGATIONS
4. Les activités de formation continue reconnues par la Chambre se retrouvent dans les catégories suivantes:
1°  l’administration:
a)  économie;
b)  comptabilité et finance;
c)  gestion d’entreprise;
2°  les techniques d’assurance:
a)  assurance des particuliers;
b)  assurance des entreprises;
c)  gestion des risques;
d)  expertise de sinistre;
e)  mécanique du bâtiment;
f)  techniques d’enquête;
g)  prévention des sinistres;
3°  le droit:
a)  lois et règlements relatifs à l’assurance de dommages;
b)  (paragraphe abrogé);
c)  droit civil;
d)  (paragraphe abrogé);
4°  le développement professionnel:
a)  service à la clientèle;
b)  pratique professionnelle;
5°  la conformité:
a)  déontologie et pratique professionnelle en assurance de dommages;
b)  lois et règlements sur la distribution de produits et services financiers;
c)  lois et règlements relatifs à la protection des renseignements personnels.
D. 1452-2001, a. 4; D. 608-2004, a. 1; A.M. 2009-03, a. 1.
4.1. Tout représentant titulaire d’un certificat doit, pour la période de référence comprise entre le 1er janvier 2010 et le 31 décembre 2011, et par la suite pour toute période de 24 mois subséquente, suivre des activités de formation continue reconnues par la Chambre et comportant 20 UFC dans les matières qui se retrouvent dans les catégories visées aux paragraphes 1 à 5 de l’article 4.
Les UFC doivent être complétées selon les modalités suivantes:
1°  12 UFC dans les catégories des techniques d’assurance, de l’administration ou du droit;
2°  5 UFC dans les catégories visées aux paragraphes 1 à 5 de l’article 4;
3°  3 UFC dans la catégorie de la conformité.
Tout représentant à qui un certificat est délivré entre le 1er janvier 2010 et le 31 décembre 2011, ou au cours de toute période de 24 mois subséquente, doit accumuler, dans l’une des matières visées aux paragraphes 1 à 5 de l’article 4, une UFC pour chacun des mois complets au cours desquels il est titulaire d’un certificat, sauf s’il a été titulaire du certificat durant moins de 6 mois.
Les membres de la Chambre qui ont obtenu un certificat après avoir réussi les examens prescrits par l’Autorité des marchés financiers sont exemptés d’accumuler des UFC pendant une période de 12 mois qui suit la réussite de ceux-ci.
D. 608-2004, a. 2; A.M. 2009-03, a. 2.
5. Le représentant ne peut compléter ses UFC dans le cadre d’une activité visant la promotion d’un produit d’assurance d’un assureur ou d’une activité qui vise à motiver les représentants pour la vente de ce produit.
D. 1452-2001, a. 5.
6. La Chambre peut dispenser un représentant des obligations prévues à l’article 4 si, en raison de force majeure, il n’a pu s’y conformer.
Ne constitue pas un cas de force majeure le fait qu’un représentant a été suspendu ou radié, que son certificat a été annulé ou révoqué, suspendu, non renouvelé ou assorti de restrictions ou de conditions.
D. 1452-2001, a. 6.
7. Le représentant visé au deuxième alinéa de l’article 6 peut participer à des activités de formation reconnues par la Chambre et se voir attribuer des UFC. Toutefois, il ne peut agir comme formateur, enseignant ou animateur de ces activités.
D. 1452-2001, a. 7.
8. Le représentant qui décide d’accumuler plus que les UFC exigées pendant une période de 24 mois peut reporter un maximum de 5 UFC à la période subséquente.
D. 1452-2001, a. 8; D. 608-2004, a. 3; A.M. 2009-03, a. 3.
9. Pour chaque période de 24 mois, le représentant doit conserver les attestations de formation ou de réussite d’examens ou de tests remises par la personne, l’organisme ou l’établissement d’enseignement qui a dispensé l’activité de formation et jusqu’à l’expiration de l’année qui suit la fin de la période de 24 mois.
D. 1452-2001, a. 9.
10. Au plus tard le 15 janvier suivant la fin de la période de 24 mois, le représentant doit, lui-même ou par l’entremise du cabinet pour le compte duquel il agit ou de la société autonome dont il est l’associé ou l’employé, transmettre à la Chambre une copie des attestations qu’il est tenu de conserver conformément à l’article 9.
D. 1452-2001, a. 10.
11. Le 30 janvier qui suit la fin d’une période de 24 mois, la Chambre transmet un avis de défaut à chaque représentant n’ayant pas accumulé le nombre d’UFC requis à l’article 4 et l’avise des conséquences d’un tel défaut.
D. 1452-2001, a. 11.
12. Le représentant en défaut doit, après avoir reçu un avis de la Chambre, accumuler, au plus tard le 31 mars suivant la fin de la période de 24 mois, le nombre d’UFC qu’il est en défaut d’avoir accumulé dans une ou plusieurs des catégories visées à l’article 4.
D. 1452-2001, a. 12.
13. La Chambre transmet, à la fin de la période visée à l’article 12, un avis de non-conformité à chaque représentant n’ayant pas accumulé le nombre d’UFC requis et elle l’avise des conséquences d’un tel défaut.
D. 1452-2001, a. 13.
14. La Chambre avise l’Autorité des marchés financiers lorsqu’elle transmet au représentant en défaut l’avis visé à l’article 13.
D. 1452-2001, a. 14; A.M. 2009-03, a. 4.
15. Le représentant qui agit à titre de formateur, d’enseignant ou d’animateur d’une activité a droit, une seule fois pour cette activité, au double d’UFC attribuées à celle-ci.
D. 1452-2001, a. 15.
16. (Omis).
D. 1452-2001, a. 16.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1452-2001, 2001 G.O. 2, 8007
D. 608-2004, 2004 G.O. 2, 3189
A.M. 2009-03, 2009 G.O. 2, 2979