D-4, r. 10 - Regulation respecting the practice of denturology within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter D-4, r. 10
Regulation respecting the practice of denturology within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company
DENTUROLOGISTS — PRACTICE WITHIN PARTNERSHIP OR JOINT-STOCK COMPANY
Denturologists Act
(chapter D-4, s. 3).
D-4
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. g and h and s. 94, par. p).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. Denturologists may, subject to the terms, conditions and restrictions established in this Regulation, carry on their professional activities within a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
Denturologists must take reasonable measures to ensure that the company or partnership allows them to comply with the Professional Code, the Denturologists Act (chapter D-4) and the regulations made under that Code or that Act.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 1.
DIVISION II
CONDITIONS
2. Denturologists are authorized to carry on their professional activities within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company if at all times,
(1)  all of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held
(a)  by a denturologist;
(b)  by a legal person, partnership or joint-stock company or any other enterprise if the voting rights attached to the shares or units are held exclusively by a denturologist;
(c)  by a trust whose trustee is a denturologist; or
(d)  in any combination by a person, an enterprise or a trust referred to in subparagraph a, b or c;
(2)  no manufacturer, wholesaler, vendor or representative of products associated with the practice of denturology and no person holding a majority of the shares of such a manufacturer or wholesaler holds shares or units of the partnership or joint-stock company; and
(3)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company or the partners or the directors appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership are denturologists and constitute the majority of the quorum of such boards at all times.
Denturologists must ensure that the conditions listed in the first paragraph appear in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the contract of the limited liability partnership and that the documents stipulate that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purposes of professional activities.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 2.
DIVISION III
OTHER TERMS, CONDITIONS OR RESTRICTIONS
3. A denturologist who wishes to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, before starting to carry on the activities, provide the Order with the following:
(1)  the declaration required by section 4 accompanied by a fee of $200;
(2)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company has complied with the security requirements as provided in Division IV;
(3)  if the denturologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company, a written document from a competent authority certifying the existence of the joint-stock company;
(4)  where applicable, a certified true copy of the declaration required under the Act respecting the legal publicity of enterprises (chapter P-44.1) stating that the general partnership has been continued as a limited liability partnership;
(5)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is registered in Québec; and
(6)  an irrevocable written authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company within which the denturologist carries on professional activities allowing a person, committee, disciplinary body or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of and obtain any document listed in section 13 from a person, or to obtain a copy of such a document.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 3.
4. The denturologist must send to the Order a sworn declaration on the form provided by the Order containing
(1)  the partnership or joint-stock company name and any other names used in Québec by the partnership or joint-stock company within which the denturologist carries on professional activities and the Québec business number assigned to them by the enterprise registrar;
(2)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(3)  the denturologist’s name, member number and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  if the denturologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company, the address of the head office of the joint-stock company and the addresses of its establishments in Québec, and the names and home addresses of the directors and officers of the joint-stock company;
(5)  if the denturologist carries on professional activities within a limited liability partnership, the addresses of the establishments in Québec indicating the principal establishment, the names and home addresses of the partners and, where applicable, the names and home addresses of the directors appointed to manage the affairs of the partnership;
(6)  a written document provided by the denturologist certifying that the shares or units held and the rules of administration of the partnership or joint-stock company comply with the conditions set out in this Regulation;
(7)  the names of the holders of shares or units referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 2 with the percentage of voting rights held by each holder; and
(8)  in the case of holders of shares or units referred to in subparagraph b or c of subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 2, a document certifying that the conditions of those subparagraphs are met.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 4.
5. If more than one denturologist carries on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, a representative must be designated who is to act on behalf of all the denturologists in the partnership or joint-stock company to satisfy the conditions of sections 3 and 4. The representative must reply for all the denturologists to requests made by the syndic, an assistant syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other representative of the Order and submit, as applicable, the documents that the denturologists are required to submit.
The representative must be a member of the Order and carry on professional activities in Québec within the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative must ensure the accuracy of the information given in the declaration referred to in section 4 except the home addresses of partners, directors and officers of the partnership or joint-stock company.
Denturologists carrying on professional activities within the same partnership or joint-stock company must inform the Order of any change of representative within 15 days of the date of the change.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 5.
6. A denturologist is exempt from satisfying the conditions in sections 3 and 4 and in the fourth paragraph of section 5 if a denturologist or a representative of the partnership or joint-stock company within which the denturologist carries on professional activities has already satisfied those conditions.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 6.
7. The documents referred to in paragraphs 2, 3 and 5 of section 3 and the information referred to in section 4 must be updated every year by the denturologist or the representative by 1 April at the latest on the form provided by the Order, accompanied by a fee of $200.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 7.
8. If a denturologist becomes aware that a condition set out in this Regulation or in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) is no longer met, the denturologist must, within 15 days, take the necessary measures to comply, failing which the denturologist is no longer authorized to carry on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 8.
9. A denturologist or the denturologist’s representative must immediately inform the Order of the cancellation of the insurance coverage required by Division IV, of the striking off, dissolution, assignment of property, bankruptcy, voluntary or forced liquidation of the partnership or joint-stock company or other cause likely to prevent the partnership or joint-stock company from carrying on its activities, and of any change in the information given in the declaration that is contrary to the conditions set out in section 2.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
10. To be authorized to carry on professional activities in accordance with this Regulation, a denturologist carrying on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must furnish and maintain security on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company by means of an insurance or suretyship contract or by joining a group plan contract entered into by the Order, or by contributing to a professional liability insurance fund established in accordance with section 86.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), against liabilities of the partnership or joint-stock company arising from fault or negligence on the part of the denturologist in carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
The suretyship contract must be with a bank, savings and credit union, trust or insurance company and provide that the surety will provide the coverage in accordance with the conditions of this Division and will pay, by waiving the benefit of division and discussion, in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company up to the amount of the suretyship.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 10.
11. The following minimum conditions for the security must be set out in a specific rider or contract:
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, over and above the amount of the security to be furnished by the denturologist pursuant to the Regulation respecting professional liability insurance for denturologists (chapter D-4, r. 3) up to the amount of the security, any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to an injured third person on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault or negligence on the part of the denturologist in the carrying on of professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all legal costs of actions against the partnership or joint-stock company, including the costs of the inquiry and defence and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an amount of at least $1,000,000 per claim filed against the partnership or joint-stock company, subject to a limit of the same amount for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company during a 12-month coverage period, regardless of the number of members in the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety that the security extends to all claims submitted in the 5 years following the coverage period during which a denturologist of the partnership or joint-stock company dies, withdraws from the partnership or joint-stock company or ceases to be a member of the Order, in order to maintain coverage for the partnership or joint-stock company for fault or negligence on the part of the member while carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to provide the secretary of the Order with a 30-day notice prior to any cancellation or amendment to the insurance or suretyship contract if the amendment affects a condition set out in this Regulation; and
(6)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to immediately notify the secretary of the Order that the insurance or suretyship contract has not been renewed.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 11.
DIVISION V
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
12. Where a general partnership is continued as a limited liability partnership or where a joint-stock company or a limited liability partnership is established, the denturologist must ensure that the partnership or joint-stock company publishes, within 15 days of the occurrence, a notice to that effect in a newspaper distributed in each locality where it has an establishment.
The notice must specify in general terms the effects of the continuation or establishment, in particular with respect to the denturologist’s professional liability.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 12.
13. The documents for which an authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company is required to communicate or obtain copies pursuant to paragraph 6 of section 3 are the following:
(1)  if the denturologist carries on professional activities within a limited liability partnership,
(a)  the declaration of registration of the partnership and any update;
(b)  the partnership agreement and amendments;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the partners;
(d)  where applicable, an up-to-date register of the directors; and
(e)  a list of the partnership’s principal officers and their home addresses;
(2)  if the denturologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company,
(a)  an up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  an up-to-date register of the securities of the joint-stock company;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(d)  any shareholders’ agreement and voting agreement and amendments;
(e)  the declaration of registration of the joint-stock company and any update; and
(f)  a list of the partnership’s principal officers and their home addresses.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 13.
DIVISION VI
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
14. Denturologists who carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities before 24 July 2008 must comply with this Regulation not later than one year following that date.
O.C. 685-2008, s. 14.
15. (Omitted).
O.C. 685-2008, s. 15.
REFERENCES
O.C. 685-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2900
S.Q. 2010, c. 7, s. 282

D-4, r. 10 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de denturologiste en société

Texte complet
chapitre D-4, r. 10
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de denturologiste en société
DENTUROLOGISTES — EXERCICE EN SOCIÉTÉ
Loi sur la denturologie
(chapitre D-4, a. 3).
D-4
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et a. 94, par. p).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
1. Un denturologiste peut, aux conditions, modalités et restrictions établies par le présent règlement, exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou d’une société par actions au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
En tout temps, le denturologiste doit prendre les moyens raisonnables pour que la société lui permette de respecter le Code des professions, la Loi sur la denturologie (chapitre D-4) et les règlements pris en application de ces lois.
D. 685-2008, a. 1.
SECTION II
CONDITIONS D’EXERCICE
2. Le denturologiste est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou d’une société par actions, si les conditions suivantes sont respectées en tout temps:
1°  la totalité des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société est détenue:
a)  soit par un denturologiste;
b)  soit par une personne morale, une société ou toute autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales sont détenus à 100% par un denturologiste;
c)  soit par une fiducie dont le fiduciaire est un denturologiste;
d)  soit à la fois par une personne, une entreprise ou une fiducie visées aux sous-paragraphes a, b ou c;
2°  aucun fabricant, grossiste, vendeur ou représentant de produits liés à l’exercice de la denturologie ni aucune personne détenant majoritairement les actions d’un tel fabriquant ou grossiste ne détient des actions ou des parts sociales de la société;
3°  les administrateurs du conseil d’administration de la société par actions, les associés ou les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, sont en majorité des denturologistes et ils doivent constituer, en tout temps, la majorité du quorum de tels conseils.
Le denturologiste s’assure que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont inscrites aux statuts de la société par actions ou stipulées au contrat de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 685-2008, a. 2.
SECTION III
AUTRES CONDITIONS, MODALITÉS OU RESTRICTIONS
3. Le denturologiste qui veut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, avant le début de celles-ci, transmettre à l’Ordre:
1°  la déclaration prévue à l’article 4 accompagnée des frais de 200 $;
2°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section IV;
3°  dans le cas, d’une société par actions, un document écrit donné par l’autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
4°  le cas échéant, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration requise en vertu de la Loi sur la publicité légale des entreprises (chapitre P-44.1) indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
5°  un document écrit donné par l’autorité compétente attestant que la société est immatriculée au Québec;
6°  une autorisation écrite irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce sa profession donnant le droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal visé à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne la communication et l’obtention d’un document mentionné à l’article 13 ou d’une copie de tel document.
D. 685-2008, a. 3.
4. Le denturologiste doit remplir une déclaration sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre, laquelle contient les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom ainsi que les autres noms utilisés au Québec de la société au sein de laquelle le denturologiste exerce ses activités professionnelles et le numéro d’entreprise du Québec attribué par le registraire des entreprises;
2°  la forme juridique de la société;
3°  son nom, son numéro de membre ainsi que son statut au sein de la société;
4°  dans le cas d’une société par actions, l’adresse du siège de la société et l’adresse de ses établissements au Québec, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société;
5°  dans le cas d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse des établissements au Québec en précisant celle du principal, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des associés et, s’il y a lieu, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des administrateurs nommés pour gérer les affaires de la société;
6°  un document écrit donné par le denturologiste attestant que les actions ou les parts sociales détenues ainsi que les règles d’administration de la société respectent les conditions prévues au présent règlement;
7°  le nom des actionnaires visés au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 2 en y spécifiant pour chacun le pourcentage des droits de vote qu’ils détiennent;
8°  lorsqu’il s’agit d’actionnaires visés aux sous-paragraphes b ou c du paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 2, un document attestant que les conditions de ces sous-paragraphes sont respectées.
D. 685-2008, a. 4.
5. Lorsque plus d’un denturologiste exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, un répondant doit être mandaté pour agir au nom de l’ensemble des denturologistes de cette société pour remplir les conditions prévues aux articles 3 et 4. Le répondant doit pour l’ensemble des denturologistes répondre aux demandes formulées, par le syndic, le syndic adjoint, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou un autre représentant de l’Ordre, et fournir, le cas échéant, les documents que les denturologistes sont tenus de transmettre.
Le répondant doit être membre de l’Ordre et exercer sa profession au Québec au sein de la société.
Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis dans la déclaration visée à l’article 4 à l’exception de l’adresse résidentielle des associés, des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société.
Les denturologistes qui exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société doivent communiquer à l’Ordre tout changement de répondant dans les 15 jours de la date où il survient.
D. 685-2008, a. 5.
6. Le denturologiste est dispensé de satisfaire aux conditions prévues aux articles 3 et 4 et au quatrième alinéa de l’article 5, si un denturologiste ou un répondant de la société à laquelle il se joint les a déjà satisfaites auprès de l’Ordre.
D. 685-2008, a. 6.
7. Les documents mentionnés aux paragraphes 2, 3 et 5 de l’article 3 ainsi que les renseignements visés à l’article 4 doivent être mis à jour annuellement par le denturologiste ou le répondant, au plus tard le 1er avril de chaque année, sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre accompagné des frais de 200 $.
D. 685-2008, a. 7.
8. S’il constate que l’une des conditions prévues au présent règlement ou au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) n’est plus satisfaite, le denturologiste doit, dans les 15 jours de ce constat, prendre les mesures nécessaires pour s’y conformer, à défaut de quoi, il cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société.
D. 685-2008, a. 8.
9. Le denturologiste ou son répondant doit aviser sans délai l’Ordre de l’annulation de la garantie d’assurance visée à la section IV, de la radiation, de la dissolution, de la cession de biens, de la faillite, de la liquidation volontaire ou forcée de la société ou de toute autre cause de nature à constituer un empêchement pour la société de poursuivre ses activités ainsi que de toute modification aux renseignements transmis dans la déclaration ayant pour effet de contrevenir aux conditions prévues à l’article 2.
D. 685-2008, a. 9.
SECTION IV
GARANTIE DE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
10. Le denturologiste exerçant ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, pour être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles conformément au présent règlement, fournir et maintenir pour cette société, soit par contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, soit par l’adhésion à une assurance collective contractée par l’Ordre, soit par la souscription à un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle établi conformément à l’article 86.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes ou négligences commises par les denturologistes dans l’exercice de leur profession qu’ils exercent au sein de cette société.
Le contrat de cautionnement doit être conclu auprès d’une banque, d’une caisse d’épargne et de crédit, d’une société de fiducie ou d’assurance et prévoir que la caution transmettra la garantie selon les conditions prévues à la présente section et paiera, en renonçant aux bénéfices de division et de discussion, en lieu et place de la société jusqu’à concurrence du montant du cautionnement.
D. 685-2008, a. 10.
11. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes par contrat ou avenant spécifique:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur de payer au lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant de garantie que doit fournir le denturologiste conformément au Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des denturologistes (chapitre D-4, r. 3) et jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à un tiers lésé relativement à un événement présenté pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes ou négligences commises par le denturologiste dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action qui fait l’objet de la garantie, et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et dépens de toute action qui fait l’objet de la garantie, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  un montant de garantie d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par événement présenté contre la société, sujet à une limite du même montant pour l’ensemble des événements présentés contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie n’excédant pas 12 mois, quel que soit le nombre de membres dans la société;
4°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution suivant lequel cette garantie s’étend à toute réclamation présentée pendant les 5 années qui suivent la période de garantie au cours de laquelle un denturologiste de la société décède, quitte la société ou cesse d’être membre de l’Ordre, de façon à maintenir une garantie en faveur de la société pour les fautes ou négligences commises par le membre dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
5°  l’engagement, par l’assureur ou la caution, de donner un préavis de 30 jours au secrétaire de l’Ordre préalablement à toute résiliation ou modification au contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement lorsque la modification vise une condition prévue au présent règlement;
6°  l’engagement, par l’assureur ou la caution, d’aviser immédiatement le secrétaire de l’Ordre lorsque le contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement n’est pas renouvelé.
D. 685-2008, a. 11.
SECTION V
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
12. Lorsqu’une société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou lorsqu’une société par actions ou une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée est formée, le denturologiste doit, dans les 15 jours de la continuation ou de la formation, s’assurer que la société publie un avis à cet effet dans un journal circulant dans chaque localité où elle tient un établissement.
Cet avis doit préciser en termes généraux les effets de la continuation ou de la formation, notamment quant à la responsabilité professionnelle du denturologiste.
D. 685-2008, a. 12.
13. Les documents pour lesquels le denturologiste obtient l’autorisation de la société de les communiquer ou d’en obtenir copie suivant le paragraphe 6 de l’article 3 sont les suivants:
1°  s’il exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
a)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
b)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
c)  le registre à jour des associés de la société;
d)  le cas échéant, le registre à jour des administrateurs de cette société;
e)  la liste des principaux dirigeants de cette société et leur adresse résidentielle;
2°  si le denturologiste exerce au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre à jour des statuts et règlements de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce;
b)  le registre à jour des valeurs mobilières de la société;
c)  le registre à jour des administrateurs de la société;
d)  toute convention entre actionnaires et entente de votes et leurs modifications;
e)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
f)  la liste des principaux dirigeants de cette société et leur adresse résidentielle.
D. 685-2008, a. 13.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITION TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
14. Le denturologiste qui exerce sa profession au sein d’une société par actions constituée aux fins de l’exercice de la profession avant le 24 juillet 2008 doit, au plus tard dans l’année qui suit cette date, s’y conformer.
D. 685-2008, a. 14.
15. (Omis).
D. 685-2008, a. 15.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 685-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 3984
L.Q. 2010, c. 7, a. 282