D-3, r. 9 - Regulation respecting the practice of the dental profession within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter D-3, r. 9
Regulation respecting the practice of the dental profession within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company
DENTISTS | PRACTICE WITHIN PARTNERSHIP OR JOINT-STOCK COMPANY
Dental Act
(chapter D-3, s. 3).
D-3
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, ss. 93, pars. g and h and 94, par. p).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. A member of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec may, based upon the terms, conditions and restrictions set forth under this Regulation, practise his profession within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
A member who no longer satisfies one of the conditions set out in this Regulation or in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code shall immediately cease to be authorized to practise the profession within a partnership or company.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 1.
2. If a person referred to under section 1 is struck from the roll for a period in excess of 3 months or has been the subject of a revocation of his professional permit, such person may not, during the period of being struck from the roll or having a revoked permit, hold either directly or indirectly any share in the partnership or company.
During this period, such person may not hold the position of director, officer or representative of the partnership or company.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 2.
DIVISION II
CONDITIONS FOR PRACTISING
3. A member is authorized to carry on his professional activities within a partnership or company if the following conditions are respected at all times:
(1)  the aggregate of voting rights attached to partnership or company shares is held:
(a)  by at least one member of the Order;
(b)  by a legal person, trust or any other enterprise whose voting rights attached to the shares of the partnership or company, or to equity shares or other entitlements are held wholly by at least one member of the Order;
(c)  by both a person, a trust or other enterprise referred to in subparagraphs a and b;
(2)  in the case of a joint-stock company, the aggregate of non-voting shares is held by:
(a)  by at least one member of the Order;
(b)  by a relative, either by direct or indirect line of descent, of a member of the Order who holds the shares referred to in paragraph 1;
(c)  by the spouse of a member of the Order who holds the shares referred to in paragraph 1;
(d)  by a legal person, trust or any other enterprise whose voting rights attached to the shares of the partnership or company, or to equity shares or other entitlements are held wholly by a person referred to in subparagraph a, b or c;
(e)  by both a person, a trust or other enterprise referred to in subparagraph a, b, c, or d;
(3)  only members of the Order may be appointed to carry out management duties within the partnership or company, including, if applicable, the duty of a director, representative and officer;
(4)  share capital in the partnership or company may not be transferred without the consent of its board of directors;
(5)  the conditions set out in paragraphs 1 to 4 are included in the articles of constitution of the joint-stock company or stipulated in the contract constituting the limited liability partnership and these documents also stipulate that this partnership or company is constituted for the purpose of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 3.
4. A member may carry on his professional activities within a partnership or company if he provides to the Order, prior to the exercising of his activities:
(1)  the declaration referred to in section 5, duly completed on the form provided by the Order, along with a $100 fee;
(2)  a written document from a competent authority attesting that the partnership or company has taken out coverage in accordance with Division III;
(3)  in the event that he practises within a joint-stock company, a written confirmation from a competent authority attesting to the existence of the joint-stock company;
(4)  where applicable, that he has provided a certified true copy of the declaration from the competent authority attesting to the continuance of the general partnership as a limited liability partnership;
(5)  a written confirmation attesting that the partnership or company is duly registered in Québec;
(6)  a written confirmation attesting that the partnership or company maintains an establishment in Québec;
(7)  an irrevocable written authorization from the partnership or company within which the member practises, allowing a person, committee, disciplinary body or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to obtain from any partner or shareholder any document referred to in section 13 or a copy thereof.
The member shall, however, be exempt from satisfying the conditions set out in the first paragraph if a representative of the partnership or company with which he has become associated has already fulfilled these conditions with the Order.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 4.
5. The declaration to be provided under subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 4 shall contain the following information:
(1)  the name of the partnership or company as well as those used in Québec by the partnership or company in which the member practises his profession and the business number assigned by the competent authority for each of these partnerships or companies;
(2)  the legal form of the partnership or company;
(3)  the names of the members of the Order who practise within the partnership or company;
(4)  his name, place of residence and the place where he principally practises his profession;
(5)  in the case where the member practises within a limited liability partnership, the addresses of the establishments in Québec of the partnership, specifying the address of the principal establishment, the names and residential addresses of all partners, their percentage of shares as well as some indication of their managerial duties, if applicable;
(6)  in the case where the member practises within a joint-stock company, the address of the company’s head office and its establishments in Québec, the names and residential addresses of all shareholders, their percentage of voting and non-voting shares as well as some indication of their duties as directors, representatives and officers, if applicable;
(7)  a written document certifying that the holding of company or partnership shares and that the administrative rules of the partnership or company satisfy the conditions set out in this Regulation.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 5.
6. The member shall:
(1)  update and provide, before 31 March of each year, the declaration prescribed in section 5;
(2)  promptly notify the Order of any change in the coverage prescribed in Division III or in the information given in the declaration prescribed in section 5 that might violate the conditions set out in section 3.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 6.
7. Where more than one member carries on professional activities within a partnership or company, one representative and a substitute shall be appointed to act on behalf of all members practising therein in order to satisfy the conditions provided in sections 4 and 6. The representative shall ensure the accuracy of the information given in the declaration other than the information provided pursuant to paragraph 4 of section 5.
The representative and the substitute shall be members of the Order and carry on their professional activities in Québec within the partnership or company.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 7.
8. The representative shall provide the information and documents that the member is required to transmit to the Order and respond to requests made by the syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other Order representative.
The representative shall receive all forms of communications from the Order addressed to the partnership or company.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 8.
DIVISION III
SECURITY AGAINST THE PROFESSIONAL FAULT OF PARTNERSHIP OR COMPANY MEMBERS
9. The member who carries on his professional activities within a partnership or company must furnish and maintain, for the partnership or company, security against the professional liability of the partnership or company that may arise from fault or negligence on the part of the member in the practice of his profession within the partnership or company, by contributing to the professional liability insurance fund of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 9.
10. The security shall provide the following minimum conditions:
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer to pay on behalf of the partnership or company, over and above the amount of coverage the member must take out in accordance with the Regulation respecting compulsory contribution to the professional liability insurance fund of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec (D. 1750-89, 89-11-15) and up to the amount of the coverage, any amount that the partnership or company may be legally bound to pay to third parties on a claim made during the period of coverage and arising from the member’s fault or negligence in the practice of his profession within the partnership or company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer to take up the cause of the partnership or company and defend it in any lawsuit launched against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the liability insurance, all legal costs and expenses of lawsuits against the partnership or company, including those of the investigation and defence and interest on the amount of the coverage;
(3)  an undertaking that the coverage shall be not less than $1,000,000 per incident and shall be for all claims against the partnership or company in the course of a secured period of not more than 12 months, regardless of the number of members in the partnership or company;
(4)  the coverage shall be at least $1,000,000 per claim and for the aggregate of claims made against the partnership or company in a 12-month period of coverage.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 10; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
DIVISION IV
NAME OF THE PARTNERSHIP OR COMPANY
11. The dentist who carries on his profession within a joint-stock company is authorized to include in or after its name the words “firm of professionals governed by the Professional Code” or the abbreviation “FPGPC”.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 11.
12. The name of a limited liability partnership shall comply with section 187.13 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) and section 36 of the Dental Act (chapter D-3).
O.C. 498-2008, s. 12.
DIVISION V
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
13. The documents which the member has been authorized by the partnership or company to communicate or copy in accordance with subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph of section 4 are as follows:
(1)  if the member practises within a limited liability partnership:
(a)  the partnership agreement and amendments;
(b)  the declaration of registration and any update thereof;
(c)  the up-to-date register of partners;
(d)  the complete and up-to-date register and residential address of the partners carrying on the duties of management within the partnership;
(2)  if the member practises within a joint-stock company:
(a)  the up-to-date register of the company’s articles and by-laws;
(b)  the declaration of registration and any update thereof;
(c)  the complete and up-to-date register of securities;
(d)  any shareholder agreement, voting agreement and related amendments;
(e)  the up-to-date register of directors;
(f)  the name of the principal officers of the company and their residential address.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 13.
14. When a general partnership is continued as a limited liability partnership or the member’s activities are pursued within a joint-stock company, the member of the Order shall, within 15 days of the continuation or the constitution of the joint-stock company, publish a notice in a newspaper having general circulation in each place where the professional has an establishment. The notice shall specify the nature and consequences of the partnership’s or company’s change in status, particularly as concerns the member’s professional liability and the liability of the partnership or company.
O.C. 498-2008, s. 15.
15. (Omitted).
O.C. 498-2008, s. 15.
REFERENCES
O.C. 498-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2047

D-3, r. 9 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de dentiste en société

Texte complet
chapitre D-3, r. 9
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de dentiste en société
DENTISTES | EXERCICE EN SOCIÉTÉ
Loi sur les dentistes
(chapitre D-3, a. 3).
D-3
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et a. 94, par. p).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Un membre de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec peut, aux conditions, modalités et restrictions établies par le présent règlement, exercer sa profession au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou d’une société par actions au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
Le membre cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société s’il ne respecte plus les conditions prévues au présent règlement ou au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions.
D. 498-2008, a. 1.
2. Si une personne visée à l’article 1 est radiée pour une période de plus de 3 mois ou fait l’objet d’une révocation de son permis professionnel, elle ne peut, pendant la période de radiation ou de révocation, détenir directement ou indirectement aucune action ou part sociale dans une société.
Elle ne peut également, pendant cette période, être administrateur, dirigeant ou représentant de la société.
D. 498-2008, a. 2.
SECTION II
CONDITIONS D’EXERCICE
3. Un membre est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société si les conditions suivantes sont respectées en tout temps:
1°  la totalité des droits de vote rattachés aux parts sociales ou aux actions de la société est détenue:
a)  soit par au moins un membre de l’Ordre;
b)  soit par une personne morale, une fiducie ou toute autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions, aux parts sociales ou aux titres de participation ou autres droits sont détenus en totalité par au moins un membre de l’Ordre;
c)  soit à la fois par une personne, une fiducie ou une autre entreprise visée aux sous-paragraphes a et b;
2°  dans le cas d’une société par actions, la totalité des actions qui ne comportent pas de droit de vote est détenue:
a)  soit par au moins un membre de l’Ordre;
b)  soit par un parent, en ligne directe ou collatérale, d’un membre de l’Ordre détenant des actions visées au paragraphe 1;
c)  soit par le conjoint d’un membre de l’Ordre détenant des actions visées au paragraphe 1;
d)  soit par une personne morale, une fiducie ou une autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions, aux parts sociales ou aux titres de participation ou autres droits sont détenus en totalité par une personne visée aux sous-paragraphes a, b ou c;
e)  soit à la fois par une personne, une fiducie ou une entreprise visées aux sous-paragraphes a, b, c, ou d;
3°  seuls des membres de l’Ordre peuvent être nommés pour exercer des fonctions de gestion au sein de la société, y compris, le cas échéant, la fonction d’administrateur, de représentant et de dirigeant;
4°  les actions du capital-actions de la société ne peuvent être transférées sans le consentement de son conseil d’administration;
5°  les conditions énoncées aux paragraphes 1 à 4 sont inscrites dans les statuts de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 498-2008, a. 3.
4. Un membre peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société s’il fournit à l’Ordre, préalablement à l’exercice de ses activités:
1°  la déclaration visée à l’article 5, complétée sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre, accompagnée des frais de 100 $;
2°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section III;
3°  dans le cas où il exerce au sein d’une société par actions, un document écrit donné par l’autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
4°  s’il y a lieu, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration donnée par l’autorité compétente, indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
5°  un document écrit attestant que la société est dûment immatriculée au Québec;
6°  un document écrit attestant que la société maintient un établissement au Québec;
7°  une autorisation écrite et irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle le membre exerce, donnant droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal, visés à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de tout associé ou actionnaire la communication et l’obtention d’un document mentionné à l’article 13 ou d’une copie de tel document.
Le membre est toutefois dispensé de se conformer aux conditions prévues au premier alinéa si un répondant de la société à laquelle il se joint a déjà fourni à l’Ordre les documents visés.
D. 498-2008, a. 4.
5. La déclaration prévue au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 4 contient les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom de la société ainsi que ceux utilisés au Québec par la société au sein de laquelle le membre exerce sa profession et le numéro d’entreprise attribué par l’autorité compétente pour chacune de ces sociétés;
2°  la forme juridique de la société;
3°  les noms des membres de l’Ordre qui exercent au sein de la société;
4°  son nom, son lieu de résidence et le lieu où il exerce principalement sa profession;
5°  dans le cas où le membre exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse des établissements au Québec de la société en précisant celle du principal établissement, les noms et les adresses résidentielles de tous les associés, leur pourcentage de parts ainsi qu’une indication de leurs fonctions de gestion, le cas échéant;
6°  dans le cas ou le membre exerce au sein d’une société par actions, l’adresse du siège de la société et de ses établissements au Québec, les noms et les adresses résidentielles de tous les actionnaires, leur pourcentage d’actions avec droit de vote et celui sans droit de vote ainsi qu’une indication de leurs fonctions d’administrateur, de représentant et de dirigeant, le cas échéant;
7°  une attestation à l’effet que la détention des parts ou actions et que les règles d’administration de la société respectent les conditions du présent règlement.
D. 498-2008, a. 5.
6. Le membre doit:
1°  mettre à jour et fournir avant le 31 mars de chaque année la déclaration prévue à l’article 5;
2°  informer l’Ordre sans délai de toute modification à la garantie prévue à la section III ou aux informations transmises dans la déclaration prévue à l’article 5 qui auraient pour effet d’affecter le respect des conditions prévues à l’article 3.
D. 498-2008, a. 6.
7. Lorsque plus d’un membre exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société, un répondant et un substitut doivent être désignés pour agir pour l’ensemble des membres y exerçant afin de remplir les conditions prévues aux articles 4 et 6. Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis dans la déclaration à l’exception de ceux prévus au paragraphe 4 de l’article 5.
Le répondant et le substitut doivent être membres de l’Ordre et exercer leurs activités professionnelles au Québec au sein de la société.
D. 498-2008, a. 7.
8. Le répondant doit fournir les informations et les documents que le membre est tenu de transmettre à l’Ordre et répondre aux demandes formulées par le syndic, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou tout autre représentant de l’Ordre.
Le répondant doit recevoir toute communication de l’Ordre destinée à la société.
D. 498-2008, a. 8.
SECTION III
GARANTIE DE LA SOCIÉTÉ CONTRE LES FAUTES PROFESSIONNELLES DE SES MEMBRES
9. Le membre qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit fournir et maintenir, pour cette société, par la souscription au Fonds d’assurance responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec, une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes ou négligences commises par les membres dans l’exercice de leurs activités professionnelles au sein de cette société.
D. 498-2008, a. 9.
10. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur de payer au lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant de garantie que doit fournir le membre conformément au Règlement sur la souscription obligatoire au Fonds d’assurance-responsabilité professionnelle de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec (D. 1750-89, 89-11-15) et jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à des tiers relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes ou négligences commises par le membre dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais de justice et autres frais des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement suivant lequel cette garantie soit d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par sinistre et pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie n’excédent pas 12 mois, et ce, quel que soit le nombre de membres dans la société;
4°  être au moins de 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois.
D. 498-2008, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
SECTION IV
NOM DE LA SOCIÉTÉ
11. Le dentiste qui exerce sa profession au sein d’une société par actions est autorisé à inscrire, dans le nom de la société ou à la suite de celui-ci, l’expression «société de professionnels régis par le Code des professions» ou le sigle «SPRCP».
D. 498-2008, a. 11.
12. Le nom d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée doit être conforme à l’article 187.13 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) et à l’article 36 de la Loi sur les dentistes (chapitre D-3).
D. 498-2008, a. 12.
SECTION V
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
13. Les documents pour lesquels le membre obtient l’autorisation de la société de les communiquer ou d’en obtenir copie suivant le paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa de l’article 4 sont les suivants:
1°  si le membre exerce au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des associés de la société;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des associés exerçant des fonctions de gestion au sein de la société et leur adresse résidentielle;
2°  si le membre exerce au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre complet et à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des valeurs mobilières de la société;
d)  toute convention entre actionnaires et entente de votes et leurs modifications;
e)  le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
f)  le nom des principaux dirigeants de la société et leur adresse résidentielle.
D. 498-2008, a. 13.
14. Lorsqu’une société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou lorsque ses activités sont poursuivies au sein d’une société par actions, le membre de l’Ordre doit, dans les 15 jours de la continuation ou de la constitution de la société par actions, faire publier un avis à cet effet dans un journal circulant dans chaque localité où il tient un établissement. Cet avis doit préciser la nature et les effets de la modification du statut de la société, notamment quant à sa responsabilité professionnelle et à celle de la société.
D. 498-2008, a. 14.
15. (Omis).
D. 498-2008, a. 15.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 498-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2923