CCQ, r. 9 - Regulation respecting the liability of carriers by water

Table of contents
Full text
chapter CCQ, r. 9
Regulation respecting the liability of carriers by water
CIVIL CODE — LIABILITY CARRIERS BY WATER
Civil Code of Québec
(Civil Code, art. 2074).
CCQ-1991
September 1 2012
1. A carrier by water is liable for any loss of the property carried up to the sum fixed in accordance with sub-paragraphs a to d of paragraph 5 of Article IV of the Hague-Visby Rules embodied in the International Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules of Law relating to Bills of Lading, done at Brussels on 25 August 1924, as amended by the Protocol done at Brussels on 23 February 1968 and the Protocol done at Brussels on 21 December 1979, as set out in the Schedule to this Regulation.
O.C. 704-94, s. 1.
2. (Omitted).
O.C. 704-94, s. 2.
EXCERPT FROM THE HAGUE-VISBY RULES
(Article IV, paragraph 5, sub-paragraphs a to d)
5.
(a) Unless the nature and value of such goods have been declared by the shipper before shipment and inserted in the bill of lading, neither the carrier nor the ship shall in any event be or become liable for any loss or damage to or in connection with the goods in an amount exceeding 666.67 units of account per package or unit or 2 units of account per kilogramme of gross weight of the goods lost or damaged, whichever is the higher.
(b) The total amount recoverable shall be calculated by reference to the value of such goods at the place and time at which the goods are discharged from the ship in accordance with the contract or should have been so discharged.
The value of the goods shall be fixed according to the commodity exchange price, or, if there be no such price, according to the current market price, or, if there be no commodity exchange price or current market price, by reference to the normal value of goods of the same kind and quality.
(c) Where a container, pallet or similar article of transport is used to consolidate goods, the number of packages or units enumerated in the bill of lading as packed in such article of transport shall be deemed the number of packages or units for the purpose of this paragraph as far as these packages or units are concerned. Except as aforesaid such article of transport shall be considered the package or unit.
(d) The unit of account mentioned in this Article is the Special Drawing Right as defined by the International Monetary Fund.
The amounts mentioned in sub-paragraph (a) of this paragraph shall be converted into national currency on the basis of the value of the value of that currency on the date to be determined by the law of the Court seized of the case. The value of the national currency, in terms of the Special Drawing Right, of a State which is a member of the International Monetary Fund, shall be calculated in accordance with the method of valuation applied by the International Monetary Fund in effect at the date in question for its operations and transactions. The value of the national currency, in terms of the Special Drawing Right, of a State which is not a member of the International Monetary Fund, shall be calculated in a manner determined by that State.
Nevertheless, a State which is not a member of the International Monetary Fund and whose law does not permit the application of the provisions of the preceding sentences may, at the time of ratification of the Protocol of 1979 or accession thereto or at any time thereafter, declare that the limits of liability provided for in this Convention to be applied in its territory shall be fixed as follows:
i. in respect of the amount of 666.67 units of account mentioned in sub-paragraph a of paragraph 5 of this Article, 10,000 monetary units;
ii. in respect of the amount of 2 units of account mentioned in sub-paragraph a of paragraph 5 of this Article, 30 monetary units.
The monetary unit referred to in the preceding sentence corresponds to 65.5 milligrammes of gold of millesimal fineness 900. The conversion of the amounts specified in that sentence into the national currency shall be made according to the law of the State concerned. The calculation and the conversion mentioned in the preceding sentences shall be made in such a manner as to express in the national currency of that State as far as possible the same real value for the amounts in sub-paragraph a of paragraph 5 of this Article as is expressed there in units of account.
States shall communicate to the depositary the manner of calculation or the result of the conversion as the case may be, when depositing an instrument of ratification or of accession thereto and whenever there is a change in either.
O.C. 704-94, Sch.
REFERENCES
O.C. 704-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 1944

CCQ, r. 9 - Règlement sur la responsabilité du transporteur maritime

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre CCQ, r. 9
Règlement sur la responsabilité du transporteur maritime
CODE CIVIL — RESPONSABILITÉ TRANSPORTEUR MARITIME
Code civil du Québec
(Code civil, a. 2074).
CCQ-1991
1er septembre 2012
1. Le transporteur maritime est tenu de la perte du bien transporté jusqu’à concurrence de la somme fixée conformément aux alinéas a à d du paragraphe 5 de l’article IV des Règles de La Haye-Visby figurant dans la Convention internationale de Bruxelles du 25 août 1924 pour l’unification de certaines règles en matière de connaissement, modifiée par le Protocole de Bruxelles du 23 février 1968 et par le Protocole de Bruxelles du 21 décembre 1979, reproduits en annexe au présent règlement.
D. 704-94, a. 1.
2. (Omis).
D. 704-94, a. 2.
EXTRAIT DES RÈGLES DE LA HAYE-VISBY
(article IV, paragraphe 5, alinéas a à d)
5.
a) À moins que la nature et la valeur des marchandises n’aient été déclarées par le chargeur avant leur embarquement et que cette déclaration n’ait été insérée dans le connaissement, le transporteur comme le navire ne seront en aucun cas responsables des pertes ou dommages des marchandises ou concernant celles-ci pour une somme supérieure à 666,67 unités de compte par colis ou unité, ou 2 unités de compte par kilogramme de poids brut des marchandises perdues ou endommagées, la limite la plus élevée étant applicable.
b) La somme totale due sera calculée par référence à la valeur des marchandises au lieu et au jour où elles sont déchargées conformément au contrat, ou au jour et au lieu où elles auraient dû être déchargées.
La valeur de la marchandise est déterminée d’après le cours en Bourse, ou, à défaut, d’après le prix courant sur le marché ou, à défaut de l’un et de l’autre, d’après la valeur usuelle de marchandises de même nature et qualité.
c) Lorsqu’un cadre, une palette ou tout engin similaire est utilisé pour grouper des marchandises, tout colis ou unité énuméré au connaissement comme étant inclus dans cet engin sera considéré comme un colis ou unité au sens du présent paragraphe. En dehors du cas prévu ci-dessus, cet engin sera considéré comme colis ou unité.
d) L’unité de compte mentionnée dans le présent article est le Droit de Tirage Spécial tel que défini par le Fonds Monétaire International.
La somme mentionnée à l’alinéa a du présent paragraphe sera convertie dans la monnaie nationale suivant la valeur de cette monnaie à une date qui sera déterminée par la loi de la juridiction saisie de l’affaire. La valeur en Droit de Tirage Spécial d’une monnaie nationale d’un État qui est membre du Fonds Monétaire International est calculée selon la méthode d’évaluation appliquée par le Fonds Monétaire International, à la date en question pour ses propres opérations et transactions. La valeur en Droit de Tirage Spécial d’une monnaie nationale d’un État non membre du Fonds Monétaire International est calculée de la façon déterminée par cet État.
Toutefois, un État qui n’est pas membre du Fonds Monétaire International et dont la législation ne permet pas l’application des dispositions prévues aux phrases précédentes peut, au moment de la ratification du Protocole de 1979 ou de l’adhésion à celui-ci ou encore à tout moment par la suite, déclarer que les limites de la responsabilité prévues par les présentes règles et applicables sur son territoire sont fixées de la manière suivante:
i. en ce qui concerne la somme de 666,67 unités de compte mentionnée à l’alinéa a du présent paragraphe 5, 10,000 unités monétaires,
ii. en ce qui concerne la somme de deux unités de compte mentionnée à l’alinéa a du présent paragraphe 5, 30 unités monétaires.
L’unité monétaire à laquelle il est fait référence à la phrase précédente correspond à 65,5 milligrammes d’or au titre de 900 millièmes de fin. La conversion en monnaie nationale des sommes mentionnées dans cette phrase s’effectuera conformément à la législation de l’État en cause. Les calculs de la conversion mentionnés aux phrases précédentes seront faits de manière à exprimer en monnaie nationale de l’État, dans la mesure du possible, la même valeur réelle pour les sommes mentionnées à l’alinéa a du présent paragraphe 5, que celle exprimée en unités de compte.
Les États communiqueront au dépositaire leur méthode de calcul, ou les résultats de la conversion selon les cas, au moment du dépôt de l’instrument de ratification ou d’adhésion et chaque fois qu’un changement se produit dans leur méthode de calcul ou dans la valeur de leur monnaie nationale par rapport à l’unité de compte ou à l’unité monétaire.
D. 704-94, Ann.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 704-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 2633