CCQ, r. 4.1 - Regulation to establish various measures in matters of divided co-ownership insurance

Table of contents
Full text
chapter CCQ, r. 4.1
Regulation to establish various measures in matters of divided co-ownership insurance
CIVIL CODE — INSURANCE — CO-OWNERSHIP
Civil Code of Québec
(arts. 1064.1, 1072 and 1073).
CCQ-1991
Act mainly to improve the regulation of the financial sector, the protection of deposits of money and the operation of financial institutions
(S.Q. 2018, chapter 23, ss. 637, 640, 641, 652 and 810).
April 8 2020April 30 2020
DIVISION I
SPECIAL PROVISIONS
442-2020, Div. IO.C. 442-2020, Div. I.
1. The minimum amount of the liability insurance that, under article 1064.1 of the Civil Code, each co-owner of an immovable held in divided co-ownership must take out is $1,000,000 if the immovable has fewer than 13 fractions used or that may be used as dwellings or to operate an enterprise, and $2,000,000 if it has 13 or more fractions.
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 1.
2. The minimum contribution of the co-owners of an immovable held in divided co-ownership to the self-insurance fund established under article 1071.1 of the Civil Code is determined on a yearly basis when the sums to be paid into the contingency fund are determined, in the following manner:
(1)  where the capitalization of the self-insurance fund is less than or equal to half of the highest deductible amount of the insurance taken out by the syndicate of co-owners, the contribution is equal to half of that deductible;
(2)  where the capitalization of the fund is greater than half of the highest deductible amount of the insurance taken out by the syndicate, the contribution is equal to the amount resulting from the difference between that deductible and the capitalization of the fund; and
(3)  where the capitalization of the fund is greater than or equal to the highest deductible amount of the insurance taken out by the syndicate, no contribution is required.
For the purposes of the first paragraph, the deductible applicable to damage caused by an earthquake or by flooding, if that protection is provided for on the insurance contract, is not taken into account.
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 2.
3. Only a member of the Ordre professionnel des évaluateurs agréés du Québec may be entrusted with evaluating the amount of the insurance taken out by the syndicate of co-owners that is required to cover the reconstruction of the immovable held in divided co-ownership in keeping with the requirements of the first paragraph of article 1073 of the Civil Code.
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 3.
4. The risks that a property insurance contract taken out by a syndicate of co-owners must cover in accordance with the third paragraph of article 1073 of the Civil Code are the following: theft, fire, lightning, storms, hail, explosions, water leak damage, sewer backup and overflows from appliances connected to water distribution piping within the building, strikes, riots or civil disturbances, the impact of an aircraft or vehicle, and vandalism or malicious acts.
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 4.
DIVISION II
AMENDING, TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
442-2020, Div. IIO.C. 442-2020, Div. II.
5. (Amendment integrated into c. 2018C23, r. 1, s. 10.1).
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 5.
6. (Omitted in part).
Despite the foregoing, section 1 takes effect on 15 October 2020, sections 3 and 4 take effect on 15 April 2021 and section 2 takes effect on 15 April 2022.
In addition, despite the second paragraph, as regards co-owners having taken out liability insurance in force on 15 October 2020, section 1 applies only as of the expiry of the coverage period for the insurance if that occurs within 12 months following that date. If the coverage period expires after 15 October 2021, section 1 applies as of that later date.
Similarly, as regards syndicates of co-owners having taken out property insurance in force on 15 April 2021, section 4 applies only as of the expiry of the coverage period for the insurance if that occurs within 12 months following that date. If the coverage period expires after 15 April 2022, section 4 applies as of that later date.
442-2020O.C. 442-2020, s. 6.
REFERENCES
O.C. 442-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 874

CCQ, r. 4.1 - Règlement établissant diverses mesures en matière d’assurance des copropriétés divises

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre CCQ, r. 4.1
Règlement établissant diverses mesures en matière d’assurance des copropriétés divises
CODE CIVIL — ASSURANCE — COPROPRIÉTÉS DIVISES
Code civil du Québec
(a. 1064.1, 1072 et 1073).
CCQ-1991
Loi visant principalement à améliorer l’encadrement du secteur financier, la protection des dépôts d’argent et le régime de fonctionnement des institutions financières
(L.Q. 2018, chapitre 23, a. 637, 640, 641, 652 et 810).
8 avril 202030 avril 2020
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS PARTICULIÈRES
442-2020, sec. ID. 442-2020, sec. I.
1. Le montant minimal de l’assurance responsabilité que doit souscrire, en vertu de l’article 1064.1 du Code civil, chacun des copropriétaires d’un immeuble détenu en copropriété divise est de 1 000 000 $ si l’immeuble comporte moins de 13 fractions utilisées ou pouvant être utilisées comme unités de logement ou pour l’exploitation d’une entreprise et 2 000 000 $ s’il en comporte 13 ou plus.
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 1.
2. La contribution minimale des copropriétaires d’un immeuble détenu en copropriété divise au fonds d’auto assurance constitué en vertu de l’article 1071.1 du Code civil s’établit annuellement lors de la détermination des sommes à verser au fonds de prévoyance de la façon suivante:
1°  lorsque la capitalisation du fonds d’auto assurance est inférieure ou égale à la moitié de la plus haute franchise prévue par les assurances souscrites par le syndicat des copropriétaires, la contribution est égale à la moitié de cette franchise;
2°  lorsque la capitalisation de ce fonds est supérieure à la moitié de la plus haute franchise prévue par les assurances souscrites par le syndicat, la contribution est égale au montant résultant de la différence entre cette franchise et la capitalisation de ce fonds;
3°  lorsque la capitalisation de ce fonds est supérieure ou égale à la plus haute franchise prévue par les assurances souscrites par le syndicat, aucune contribution n’est requise.
Pour l’application du premier alinéa, il n’est pas tenu compte de la franchise applicable aux dommages causés par un tremblement de terre ou par une inondation, si ces protections sont prévues au contrat d’assurance.
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 2.
3. Seul un membre de l’Ordre professionnel des évaluateurs agréés du Québec peut être chargé d’évaluer le montant que l’assurance souscrite par le syndicat des copropriétaires doit prévoir afin de pourvoir à la reconstruction de l’immeuble détenu en copropriété divise selon les exigences prévues au premier alinéa de l’article 1073 du Code civil.
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 3.
4. Les risques qu’un contrat d’assurance de biens souscrit par un syndicat de copropriétaires doit couvrir conformément au troisième alinéa de l’article 1073 du Code civil sont les suivants: le vol, l’incendie, la foudre, la tempête, la grêle, l’explosion, les fuites et débordements d’installations sanitaires et d’appareils raccordés aux conduites de distribution de l’eau à l’intérieur du bâtiment, la grève, l’émeute ou un mouvement populaire, l’impact d’un aéronef ou d’un véhicule et les actes de vandalisme ou de malveillance.
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 4.
SECTION II
DISPOSITIONS MODIFICATIVES, TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
442-2020, sec. IID. 442-2020, sec. II.
5. (Modification intégrée au c. 2018C23, r. 1, a. 10.1).
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 5.
6. (Omis en partie).
Toutefois, l’article 1 prend effet le 15 octobre 2020, les articles 3 et 4 prennent effet le 15 avril 2021 et l’article 2 prend effet le 15 avril 2022.
De plus, malgré le deuxième alinéa, à l’égard des copropriétaires ayant souscrit une assurance responsabilité en vigueur le 15 octobre 2020, l’article 1 ne s’applique qu’à compter de l’expiration de la période de couverture de cette assurance lorsque celle-ci se produit dans les 12 mois suivant cette date. Lorsque l’expiration de la période de couverture se produit après le 15 octobre 2021, l’article 1 s’applique à compter de cette dernière date.
De même, à l’égard des syndicats de copropriétaires ayant souscrit une assurance de biens en vigueur le 15 avril 2021, l’article 4 ne s’applique qu’à compter de l’expiration de la période de couverture de cette assurance lorsque celle-ci se produit dans les 12 mois suivant cette date. Lorsque l’expiration de la période de couverture se produit après le 15 avril 2022, l’article 4 s’applique à compter de cette dernière date.
442-2020D. 442-2020, a. 6.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 442-2020, 2020 G.O. 2, 1325