C-61.01, r. 9 - Order respecting the establishment of the Réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-61.01, r. 9
Order respecting the establishment of the Réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay
ECOLOGICAL RESERVE — CHÊNAIE-DES-ÎLES-FINLAY
Natural Heritage Conservation Act
(chapter C-61.01, s. 43).
C-61.01
September 1 2012
1. The territory described in this section, the conservation plan of which appears in the Schedule, constitutes the Réserve écologique de Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay.
OUTAOUAIS ADMINISTRATIVE REGION REGISTRATION DIVISION OF PONTIAC
TECHNICAL DESCRIPTION
CHÊNAIE-DES-ÎLES-FINLAY ECOLOGICAL RESERVE
A territory located in the territory of Municipalité de Waltham, Municipalité régionale de comté de Pontiac, in the Outaouais administrative region, and consisting of the parts of the Finlay islands in the Outaouais river, with an elevation higher than 106.68 m (350 ft, English measure). The territory is designated as parts of islands 52 and 54 in reference to the cadastre of Canton de Waltham, registration division of Pontiac. In reference to the original survey, the territory forms part of the Outaouais river islands fronting Canton de Waltham.
The land covers an area of approximately 94 ha.
The territory is shown on a plan to a scale of 1:20 000 drawn up on an extract of the cadastral map and the topographical map produced by the Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, folio 31F15-200-0201. Prepared by the undersigned, the plan bears the same minute number as this accompanying technical description.
NOTES:
— The 106.68 m mark is in reference to mean sea level (NMM 1929).
— Measures expressed in the International System of Units (SI).
— In the official book of reference of the cadastre of Canton de Waltham, islands 52 and 54 contain respectively 200 acres (80.94 ha) and 128 acres (51.80 ha) in area. In the original survey, the islands have been specified as containing respectively 42.78 acres (17.31 ha) and 19 acres (7.69 ha) in area.
— The area of the ecological reserve will be defined by survey.
Prepared at Québec, on 27 July 2006, under number 548 of my minutes.
By: DENIS FISET,
Land Surveyor
Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec
Direction du patrimoine écologique et des parcs
Record No.: 5141-03-07 (7.26)
Centre d’expertise hydrique du Québec
Direction de la gestion du domaine hydrique de l’État
Record No.: 4116-03-01-07 (7.26)
O.C. 133-2007, s. 1.
2. (Omitted).
O.C. 133-2007.
CONSERVATION PLAN
Table of contents
Introduction
1. Official toponym
2. Plan and description
2.1 Geographic location, boundaries and dimensions
2.2 Ecological overview
2.2.1 Representative elements
2.2.2 Outstanding elements
2.3 Occupation and land uses
3. Protection status
4. Activities framework
4.1 Prohibited activities
4.2 Activities governed by other statutes
4.3 Supervision of activities
Bibliography
Introduction
The ecological reserve status assigned to the Finlay islands permanently ensures the protection of the biological diversity of land composed of well-preserved marshes and swamps, thick forest stands and dry beaches forming rare wildlife habitats. There are 6 species on the islands likely to be designated as threatened or vulnerable species, a number of indications of the presence of species of turtles and several species of amphibians and birds.
(1.) Official toponym
The official toponym of the Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay ecological reserve “Réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay” refers to the presence on the islands of a stand of bur oak (Quercus macrocarpa), a forest community extremely rare in Québec.
(2.) Plan and description
(2.1) Geographic location, boundaries and dimensions
The Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay ecological reserve is located in the territory of Municipalité de Waltham, Municipalité régionale de comté de Pontiac, in the Outaouais administrative region, and consists of the parts of the Finlay islands in the Outaouais river at an elevation higher than 106.68 m. The territory is designated as parts of islands 52 and 54 in reference to the cadastre of Canton de Waltham, registration division of Pontiac. In reference to the original survey, the territory forms part of the Outaouais river islands fronting Canton de Waltham.
The land in the reserve covers an area of approximately 94 ha. It is located on the plan prepared on 27 July 2006 by land surveyor Denis Fiset which appears in the Schedule.
(2.2) Ecological overview
The ecological reserve forms part of the Ottawa Plain (provisional name) natural region which lies within the natural province of the St. Lawrence Lowlands.
(2.2.1) Representative elements
Climate:
The land of the ecological reserve lies within the sugar maple-bitternut hickory bioclimatic domain. It is characterized by a moderate, subhumid climate with a long growing season. The average annual temperature is 4.5 °C, average annual precipitation is 1,065 mm and the average growing season is approximately 201 days.
Geology:
The basement rocks of the Finlay islands are formed of Ordovician rocks including limestone, dolomite, mudrock and sandstone. The basement rocks have no influence on the soils or vegetation because they are covered by Quaternary fluviatile deposits of sand, gravel and clay. On the southern island (island 54), the wind is believed to have caused the deposits to shift to form an eolian deposit which then became colonized by vegetation.
Archaeology:
There has been no archaeological work on the Finlay islands to date. The islands have enormous archaeological potential, however, because the Outaouais river is a major waterway which provided an east-west transportation link for generations of Amerindians. Archaeological research carried out in recent years has shown the potential of the Aux Allumettes island area slightly west of the Finlay islands. The archaeological sites that may be discovered in the area will be extremely fragile because they are generally close to the surface and as a result any disturbance of the soil could partially or completely destroy them. The ecological reserve will ensure their preservation.
Vegetation:
Silver maple predominates on the fringe of the marshy areas of the Finlay islands where the soils are subject to seasonal flooding. Red ash (Fraxinus pennsylvanica), black ash (Fraxinus nigra), bur oak (Quercus macrocarpa) and American elm (Ulmus americana) are frequently found in these forest communities while the herbaceous layer is formed exclusively of sensitive fern (Onoclea sensibilis).
The silver maple stands give way to red oak stands slightly upslope on the sites which are not affected by annual flooding. The latter forest community is largely dominant, covering over three quarters of the Finlay islands.
The stand of bur oak grows at the higher elevations on the Finlay islands. The main companion species in the oak stand are silver maple (Acer saccharinum), yellow birch (Betula alleghaniensis), black ash (Fraxinus nigra), butternut (Juglans cineréa) and basswood (Tilia americana).
Pine stands are found in the better-drained areas, including the eolian deposit. These stands are on the southern island (island 54). White pine (Pinus strobus), red pine (Pinus resinosa) and jack pine (Pinus banksiana) are the dominant species in these softwood forest communities along with a range of other pioneering species.
Fauna:
Various species of amphibians, birds and mammals have been inventoried on the Finlay islands.
Amphibians: The inventories have confirmed the reproduction of the spring peeper, leopard frog and green frog. The presence of bull frogs, blue-spotted salamanders, American toads and gray treefrogs has also been observed.
Birds: A total of 44 species of birds were observed on the Finlay islands while the inventories were being conducted: great blue heron, Canada goose, wood duck, American black duck, broad-winged hawk, red-tailed hawk, spotted sandpiper, great horned owl, ruby-throated hummingbird, belted kingfisher, yellow-bellied sapsucker, downy woodpecker, hairy woodpecker, northern flicker, eastern woodpecker, least flycatcher, great crested flycatcher, eastern kingbird, yellow-throated vireo, warbling vireo, red-eyed vireo, blue jay, American crow, black-capped chickadee, red-breasted nuthatch, white-breasted nuthatch, veery, American robin, cedar waxwing, yellow warbler, yellow-rumped warbler, blackburnian warbler, pine warbler, black-and-white warbler, American redstart, northern waterthrush, chipping sparrow, song sparrow, rose-breasted grosbeak, red-winged blackbird, common grackle, brown-headed cowbird, Baltimore oriole and American goldfinch.
Reptiles: During field trips, no turtles or snakes were observed despite the presence of much ground material where snakes would normally be found. Turtle egg laying has been confirmed through the observation of five predated nests found on the dune on the southern island.
Mammals: During inventories, red squirrel, beaver, muskrat and white-tailed deer were noted. Traces of white-tailed deer, muskrat, raccoon and black bear and feces of black bear, raccoon and white-tailed deer have also been noted, confirming the presence of at least 6 species of mammals, without counting the 4 species of small mammals observed: the short-tailed shrew, masked shrew, meadow jumping mouse and white-footed mouse.
(2.2.2) Outstanding elements
At least 5 threatened or vulnerable plant species likely to be so designated have been inventoried on the Finlay islands to date. They are the white oak (Quercus alba), woolly hudsonia (Hudsonia tomentosa), Cyperus lupulinus subsp. macilentus, Sporobolus cryptandrus and Polygonella articulata. These plants have all been observed on the eolian dune deposit found on the southern island. The habitat of a sixth plant species that is part of the group of threatened or vulnerable species, Gratiola aurea, has also been reported on the dry beaches of both the Finlay islands.
The Finlay islands have considerable wildlife potential because of 2 species of turtle, namely the spiny softshell (Apalone spinifera), designated as threatened, and the map turtle (Graptemys geographica) which is found on the list of wildlife species likely to be threatened or vulnerable. The presence of the map turtle on the islands was reported in the 1990s.
(2.3) Occupation and land uses
The land is public property and no rights have been granted within the boundaries of the ecological reserve.
(3) Protection status
Ecological reserve status will allow a representative sample of the large sand-covered islands characteristic of the Outaouais river to be integrally preserved on a permanent basis.
(4) Activities framework
The activities carried on within the boundaries of the Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay ecological reserve are governed by the Natural Heritage Conservation Act (chapter C-61.01). This conservation plan does not specify any prohibited activity other than those prohibited in the ecological reserves under the Act; nor does it authorize any other activities, or set any additional constraints on the activities permitted by the Act.
(4.1) AProhibited activities
— General prohibitions under the Act
As provided in the Natural Heritage Conservation Act, the main activities prohibited in an area to which ecological reserve status has been assigned are
— forest development activities within the meaning of section 4 of the Sustainable Forest Development Act (chapter A-18.1);
— mining, and gas or petroleum development;
— mining, gas and petroleum exploration, brine and underground reservoir exploration, prospecting, and digging or boring;
— the development of hydraulic resources and any production of energy on a commercial or industrial basis;
— hunting, trapping, fishing, earthwork and construction activities, agricultural, industrial or commercial activities and, generally, any activity likely to alter the state or nature of ecosystems.
No person may be in an ecological reserve, except for an inspection or for the carrying on of an activity authorized under the Act.
The Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks may, however, give written authorization on the conditions the Minister determines for any activity consistent with the purposes of an ecological reserve or with its management.
(4.2) Activities governed by other statutes
As stated above, certain activities consistent with the purposes of an ecological reserve, such as educational and scientific research or management activities may be conducted with the prior authorization of the Minister. That authorization from the Minister does not imply an exemption from the permit or authorization requirements of other statutes or regulations that apply to the ecological reserve.
(4.3) Supervision of activities
The Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks is responsible for the application of the Natural Heritage Conservation Act, and is therefore responsible for management of the ecological reserves established under that Act. The Minister supervises and monitors the measures in the Act as they relate to activities permitted in protected areas. In addition, the Minister has authority over the land which forms part of the domain of the State.
Bibliography
BONIN, J. 1990. Rapport d’inventaire des tortues dans les projets de réserves écologiques Îles-Finlay et Grand-Marais en juillet 1990. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction de la conservation et du patrimoine écologique. 21 pages.
DAIGLE, C. 1992. Distribution et abondance de la tortue géographique sur le tronçon Aylmer-Fort William de la rivière des Outaouais. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère du Loisir, de la Chasse et de la Pêche, Direction de gestion des espèces et des habitats. 24 pages.
DAIGLE, C., DESROSIERS, A. and J. BONIN. 1994. Distribution and abundance of common map turtles, Graptemys geographica, in the Ottawa River, Quebec. Can. Field-Nat. 108:84-86.
FRENETTE, J. 1988. Le pays des ANICENABE. La revendication territoriale globale de la nation algonquine. Conseil de bande de la réserve algonquine de Maniwaki. 338 pages.
GAGNON, D., NANTEL, P. and N. LAVOIE, 1994. Étude écologique pour valider le projet de réserve écologique des Îles-Finlay de la Rivière des Outaouais. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable. 52 pages.
GÉRARDIN, V. and D. McKENNEY. 2001. Une classification climatique du Québec à partir de modèles de distribution spatiale de données climatiques mensuelles: vers une définition des bioclimats du Québec. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable. Contribution du service de la cartographie écologique n° 60. 40 pages.
ST-HILAIRE, D.1 and A. GIROUX2, 2005. Inventaires fauniques à la réserve projetée des Îles Finlay, MRC de Pontiac, canton de Waltham, en 2005. Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Direction de l’aménagement de la faune de l’Outaouais, Gatineau. 28 pages.
CHÊNAIE-DES-ÎLES-FINLAY ECOLOGICAL RESERVE
O.C. 133-2007.
REFERENCES
O.C. 133-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 1116 and 1293

C-61.01, r. 9 - Décret concernant la constitution de la réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay

Texte complet
chapitre C-61.01, r. 9
Décret concernant la constitution de la réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA CHÊNAIE-DES-ÎLES-FINLAY
Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel
(chapitre C-61.01, a. 43).
C-61.01
1er septembre 2012
1. Le territoire décrit au présent article, dont le plan de conservation apparaît en annexe, constitue la Réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay.
RÉGION ADMINISTRATIVE DE L’OUTAOUAIS CIRCONSCRIPTION FONCIÈRE DE PONTIAC
DESCRIPTION TECHNIQUE
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA CHÊNAIE-DES-ÎLES-FINLAY
Un territoire situé sur celui de la Municipalité de Waltham, Municipalité régionale de comté de Pontiac, dans la région administrative de l’Outaouais, et comprenant les parties des îles Finlay dans la rivière des Outaouais supérieures à la cote d’altitude 106,68 m (350 pi, mesure anglaise). Ce territoire est désigné comme étant des parties des îles 52 et 54 en référence au cadastre du canton de Waltham, circonscription foncière de Pontiac. En référence à l’arpentage primitif, ce territoire fait partie des îles de la Rivière-des-Outaouais en front du canton de Waltham.
Ce territoire contient dans son ensemble environ 94 ha.
Ce territoire est montré sur un plan à l’échelle de 1:20 000 dressé sur un extrait de la carte cadastrale et de la carte topographique produites par le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec, feuillet 31F 15-200-0201. Ce plan, préparé par le soussigné, porte le même numéro de minute que la présente description technique qu’il accompagne.
NOTES:
— La cote d’altitude 106,68 m est en référence au niveau moyen de la mer (NMM 1929).
— Les mesures sont exprimées en unités du système international (SI).
— Au livre de renvoi officiel du cadastre du canton de Waltham, il est mentionné que les îles 52 et 54 contiennent respectivement 200 acres (soit 80,94 ha) et 128 acres (soit 51,80 ha) en superficie. À l’arpentage primitif, ces îles ont été spécifiées comme contenant respectivement 42,78 acres (soit 17,31 ha) et 19 acres (soit 7,69 ha) en superficie.
— L’étendue de la réserve écologique pourra être précisée par arpentage.
Préparée à Québec, le 27 juillet 2006, sous le numéro 548 de mes minutes.
Par: DENIS FISET,
Arpenteur-géomètre
Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec
Direction du patrimoine écologique et des parcs
N° dossier: 5141-03-07 (7.26)
Centre d’expertise hydrique du Québec
Direction de la gestion du domaine hydrique de l’État
N° dossier: 4116-03-01-07 (7.26)
D. 133-2007, a. 1.
2. (Omis).
D. 133-2007.
PLAN DE CONSERVATION
Table des matières
Introduction
1. Toponyme officiel
2. Plan et description
2.1. Situation géographique, limites et dimensions
2.2. Portrait écologique
2.2.1. Éléments représentatifs
2.2.2. Éléments remarquables
2.3. Occupation et usages du territoire
3. Statut de protection
4. Régime des activités
4.1. Activités interdites
4.2. Activités régies par d’autres lois
4.3. Contrôle des activités
Bibliographie
Introduction
Le statut de réserve écologique donné aux îles Finlay vient assurer d’une manière permanente la protection de la diversité biologique d’un territoire composé de marais et de marécages bien conservés, de riches peuplements forestiers et de plages de sable exondées constituant des habitats fauniques rares. On retrouve sur ces 2 îles 6 espèces floristiques susceptibles d’être désignées menacées ou vulnérables, de nombreux indices de la présence d’espèces de tortues, de nombreuses espèces d’amphibiens et d’oiseaux.
1. Toponyme officiel
La réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay: ce nom fait référence à la présence sur ces îles d’une chênaie de chêne à gros fruits (Quercus macrocarpa), un groupement forestier extrêmement rare au Québec.
2. Plan et description
2.1. Situation géographique, limites et dimensions
La réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay est située sur le territoire de la Municipalité de Waltham, municipalité régionale de comté de Pontiac, dans la région administrative de l’Outaouais, et comprend les parties des îles Finlay dans la rivière des Outaouais supérieures à la cote d’altitude 106,68 m. Ce territoire est désigné comme étant des parties des îles 52 et 54 en référence au cadastre du canton de Waltham, circonscription foncière de Pontiac. En référence à l’arpentage primitif, ce territoire fait partie des îles de la Rivière-des-Outaouais en front du canton de Waltham.
Ce territoire couvre dans son ensemble environ 94 ha. Il est localisé au plan préparé le 27 juillet 2006 par l’arpenteur-géomètre Denis Fiset; ce document se retrouve en annexe 1.
2.2. Portrait écologique
La réserve écologique fait partie de la région naturelle de la plaine d’Ottawa (nom provisoire) au sein de la province naturelle des Basses-terres du Saint-Laurent.
2.2.1. Éléments représentatifs
Climat:
Le territoire de la réserve écologique s’inscrit à l’intérieur du domaine bioclimatique de l’érablière à caryer cordiforme. Il se caractérise par un climat de type modéré avec un régime de précipitation subhumide et une saison de croissance longue. En moyenne, la température oscille annuellement autour de 4,5 °C avec des précipitations annuelles de l’ordre de 1065 mm alors que la saison de croissance s’étend sur environ 201 jours.
Géologie:
Le socle rocheux des îles Finlay est formé de roches ordoviciennes: calcaire, dolomie, mudrock et grès. Le socle rocheux n’exerce cependant aucune influence sur les sols et la végétation puisqu’il est couvert de dépôts quaternaires d’origine fluviatile: sable, gravier et argile. Sur l’île située la plus au sud (île 54), ces dépôts auraient été remaniés par le vent pour former un dépôt éolien qui a par la suite été colonisé par la végétation.
Archéologie:
Le territoire des Îles Finlay n’a fait l’objet d’aucune intervention archéologique à ce jour. Toutefois, il est possible d’établir sommairement que le potentiel archéologique des Îles Finlay est grand, puisque la rivière des Outaouais constitue une importante voie navigable qui a permis à des générations d’Amérindiens de voyager dans l’axe est-ouest. Ainsi, des recherches archéologiques effectuées dans les dernières années ont démontré le grand potentiel de la zone de l’Île aux Allumettes, située un peu plus à l’ouest des Îles Finlay. De plus, les sites archéologiques susceptibles d’être découverts dans cette zone vont s’avérer très fragiles, puisqu’ils seront généralement situés près de la surface du sol. Ainsi, toute perturbation du sol pourrait entraîner la destruction partielle ou totale des sites archéologiques. La réserve écologique contribuera donc à assurer leur préservation.
Couvert végétal:
En périphérie des marais des îles Finlay, sur des sols soumis aux inondations saisonnières, c’est l’érablière argentée qui prédomine. Le frêne de Pennsylvanie (Fraxinus pennsylvanica), le frêne noir (Fraxinus nigra), le chêne à gros fruits (Quercus macrocarpa) et l’orme d’Amérique (Ulmus americana) sont fréquents dans ces groupements forestiers tandis que la strate herbacée est constituée exclusivement d’onoclée sensible (Onoclea sensibilis).
En s’élevant légèrement sur la pente, sur les stations qui sont exemptées par les crues annuelles, l’érablière argentée laisse la place aux chênaies à chêne rouge. Ce dernier groupement forestier est d’ailleurs celui qui domine largement occupant plus des trois quarts des îles Finlay.
Sur les parties des îles Finlay les plus élevées, se retrouve la chênaie de chêne à gros fruits. Les principales essences compagnes au sein de cette chênaie sont l’érable argenté (Acer saccharinum), le bouleau jaune (Betula alleghaniensis), le frêne noir (Fraxinus nigra), le noyer cendré (Juglans cineréa) et le tilleul (Tilia americana).
Enfin, les pinèdes occupent les terrains les mieux drainés colonisant entre autres le dépôt éolien. Ces peuplements se situent sur l’île des Îles Finlay située la plus au sud (île 54). Le pin blanc (Pinus strobus), le pin rouge (Pinus resinosa) et le pin gris (Pinus banksiana) sont les espèces arborescentes dominantes de ces groupements forestiers résineux auxquels se joignent diverses autres espèces pionnières.
Faune:
Différentes espèces d’amphibiens, d’oiseaux et de mammifères ont été observées lors d’inventaires réalisés sur le territoire des îles Finlay.
Les amphibiens: Les inventaires effectués, ont permis de confirmer la reproduction de la rainette crucifère, de la grenouille léopard et de la grenouille verte. Ces observations ont aussi permis de noter la présence de ouaouaron, de salamandre à points bleus, de crapaud d’Amérique et de rainette versicolore.
Les oiseaux: Un total de 44 espèces d’oiseaux ont été observées sur les îles Finlay lors des inventaires conduits. On y a entre autres observé: le grand héron, la bernache du Canada, le canard branchu, le canard noir, la petite buse, la buse à queue rousse, le chevalier grivelé, le grand-duc d’Amérique, le colibri à gorge rubis, le martin-pêcheur d’Amérique, le pic maculé, le pic mineur, le pic chevelu, le pic flamboyant, le pioui de l’Est, le moucherolle tchébec, le tyran huppé, le tyran tritri, le viréo à gorge jaune, le viréo mélodieux, le viréo aux yeux rouges, le geai bleu, la corneille d’Amérique, la mésange à tête noire, la sittelle à poitrine rousse, la sittelle à poitrine blanche, la grive fauve, le merle d’Amérique, le jaseur d’Amérique, la paruline jaune, la paruline à croupion jaune, la paruline à gorge orangée, la paruline des pins, la paruline noir et blanc, la paruline flamboyante, la paruline des ruisseaux, le bruant familier, le bruant chanteur, le cardinal à poitrine rose, le carouge à épaulettes, le quiscale bronzé, le vacher à tête brune, l’oriole de Baltimore et le chardonneret jaune.
Les reptiles: Lors des visites d’études réalisées, aucune tortue ou couleuvre n’a pu être observée, même s’il a été relevé un bon nombre de matériaux reposant sur le sol où des couleuvres auraient pu s’y trouver. Cependant, la ponte de tortues a pu être confirmée grâce à l’observation de 5 nids prédatés sur la dune de l’île sud.
Les mammifères: Lors des inventaires, l’écureuil roux, le castor, le rat musqué et le cerf de Virginie ont été vus. Des traces de cerf de Virginie, de rat musqué, de raton laveur et d’ours noir et des fécès d’ours noir, de raton laveur et de cerf de Virginie ont été notées. Cela confirme la présence d’au moins 6 espèces de mammifères, sans compter les 4 espèces de micromammifères observées, soit: la grande musaraigne, la musaraigne cendrée, la souris sauteuse des champs et la souris à pattes blanches.
2.2.2. Éléments remarquables
Au moins 5 espèces floristiques menacées ou vulnérables et susceptibles d’être ainsi désignées, ont été recensées jusqu’à maintenant sur les îles Finlay à savoir: le chêne blanc (Quercus alba), l’hudsonie tomenteuse (Hudsonia tomentosa), le Cyperus lupulinus subsp. macilentus, le Sporobolus cryptandrus et le Polygonella articulata. Toutes ces plantes ont été observées sur le dépôt éolien de dune situé sur l’île située la plus au sud. L’habitat d’une sixième plante appartenant au groupe des espèces menacées ou vulnérables, Gratiola aurea, a également été signalé sur les plages exondées des deux îles Finlay.
Les îles Finlay présentent un potentiel faunique élevé en ce qui a trait à 2 espèces de tortues, soit la tortue molle à épine (Apalone spinifera), laquelle est désignée menacée, et la tortue géographique (Graptemys geographica) figurant sur la liste des espèces fauniques susceptibles d’être menacées ou vulnérables. La présence de cette dernière sur les îles a d’ailleurs été rapportée au cours des années 1990.
2.3. Occupation et usages du territoire
Le territoire est de propriété publique. Aucun droit n’est consenti sur le territoire de la réserve écologique.
3. Statut de protection
La réserve écologique permettra de conserver d’une façon intégrale et permanente un échantillon représentatif des grandes îles de sable caractéristiques de la rivière des Outaouais.
4.. Régime des activités
Les activités exercées à l’intérieur de la réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay sont régies par les dispositions de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel (chapitre C-61.01). Le présent plan de conservation ne prévoit pas d’interdiction additionnelle aux activités déjà interdites pour les réserves écologiques en vertu de cette loi; il n’en autorise pas non plus, ni n’ajoute de contraintes aux activités permises en vertu de cette loi.
4.1. Activités interdites
— Interdictions générales découlant de la loi
Rappelons qu’en vertu de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel, les principales activités interdites dans un territoire bénéficiant d’un statut de réserve écologique sont les suivantes:
— les activités d’aménagement forestier au sens de l’article 4 de la Loi sur l’aménagement durable du territoire forestier (chapitre A-18.1);
— l’exploitation minière, gazière ou pétrolière;
— les activités d’exploration minière, gazière ou pétrolière, de recherche de saumure ou de réservoir souterrain, de prospection, de fouille ou de sondage;
— l’exploitation des forces hydrauliques et toute production commerciale ou industrielle d’énergie.
— la chasse, le piégeage, la pêche, les travaux de terrassement ou de construction, les activités agricoles, industrielles ou commerciales ainsi que généralement toute activité de nature à modifier l’état ou l’aspect des écosystèmes;
De plus, sauf pour une inspection ou pour l’exercice d’une activité autorisée en vertu de la loi, il est également interdit de se trouver dans une réserve écologique.
Le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs peut cependant autoriser, par écrit et aux conditions qu’il détermine, toute activité liée à la poursuite des fins d’une réserve écologique ou à la gestion de celle-ci.
4.2. Activités régies par d’autres lois
Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, sujettes à l’obtention d’une autorisation préalable du ministre, certaines activités liées à la poursuite des fins d’une réserve écologique, telles les activités relatives à l’éducation et la recherche scientifique, ou à sa gestion, peuvent être réalisées sur le territoire. L’obtention d’une telle autorisation du ministre ne dispense pas de requérir un permis ou une autorisation qui pourrait être exigible en vertu d’autres lois ou règlements applicables sur le territoire de la réserve écologique.
4.3. Contrôle des activités
Le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs est responsable de l’application de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel; il est ainsi responsable de la gestion des réserves écologiques constituées en vertu de cette loi. Il assure donc le contrôle et le suivi des mesures prévues par cette loi quant au régime des activités permises dans ces aires protégées. De plus, le ministre détient l’autorité sur ces terres qui font partie du domaine de l’État.
Bibliographie
BONIN, J. 1990. Rapport d’inventaire des tortues dans les projets de réserves écologiques Îles-Finlay et Grand-Marais en juillet 1990. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction de la conservation et du patrimoine écologique. 21 p.
DAIGLE, C. 1992. Distribution et abondance de la tortue géographique sur le tronçon Aylmer-Fort William de la rivière des Outaouais. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère du Loisir, de la Chasse et de la Pêche, Direction de gestion des espèces et des habitats. 24 p.
DAIGLE, C., DESROSIERS, A. et J. BONIN. 1994. Distribution and abundance of common map turtles, Graptemys geographica, in the Ottawa River, Quebec. Can. Field-Nat. 108:84-86.
FRENETTE, J. 1988. Le pays des ANICENABE. La revendication territoriale globale de la nation algonquine. Conseil de bande de la réserve algonquine de Maniwaki. 338 p.
GAGNON, D., NANTEL, P. et N. LAVOIE. 1994. Étude écologique pour valider le projet de réserve écologique des Îles-Finlay de la rivière des Outaouais. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable. 52 p.
GERARDIN, V. et D. McKENNEY. 2001. Une classification climatique du Québec à partir de modèles de distribution spatiale de données climatiques mensuelles: vers une définition des bioclimats du Québec. Gouvernement du Québec, Ministère de l’Environnement, Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable. Contribution du service de la cartographie écologique n° 60. 40 p.
ST-HILAIRE, D.1 et A. GIROUX2, 2005. Inventaires fauniques à la réserve projetée des Îles Finlay, MRC de Pontiac, canton de Waltham, en 2005. Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Direction de l’aménagement de la faune de l’Outaouais, Gatineau. 28 p.
Réserve écologique de la Chênaie-des-Îles-Finlay
D. 133-2007, Ann. 1.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 133-2007, 2007 G.O. 2, 1419