C-61.01, r. 62 - Order in council respecting the establishment of the Réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine and approval of the conservation plan

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-61.01, r. 62
Order in council respecting the establishment of the Réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine and approval of the conservation plan
ECOLOGICAL RESERVE — SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE
Natural Heritage Conservation Act
(chapter C-61.01, s. 43).
C-61.01
September 1 2012
1. The permanent ecological reserve status be assigned to the land, the plan and technical description of which are attached as a schedule, under the name Réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine.
O.C. 516-2003, s. 1.
2. The proposed conservation plan for that area, the text of which is attached as a schedule, be approved.
O.C. 516-2003, s. 2.
3. (Omitted).
O.C. 516-2003, s. 3.
QUÉBEC
REGISTRATION DIVISION OF THETFORD
TECHNICAL DESCRIPTION
SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE ECOLOGICAL RESERVE
Land of irregular shape, situated in the territory of Municipalité régionale de comté de L’Amiante in the administrative region of Chaudière-Appalaches and comprising the following in reference to the cadastre of the township of Coleraine, registration division of Thetford:
— The whole of lot A-3 of block A, the said lot A-3 being made up of two parts separated by lot 238;
— Lot A-4 of block A;
— Lot B-2 of block B;
— The whole of lot B-3-1 of block B, the said lot B-3-1 being made up of two parts separated by lot 238;
— Part of lot 238;
— Two parts of lot A-1 of block A;
— Four parts of lot B-1 of block B.
The perimeter of the land may be described as follows, namely:
Starting at point “A” situated at the intersection of the dividing line between lots B-3-1 and B-3-2 of block B with the dividing line between the cadastre of the township of Coleraine and the cadastre of the township of Ireland;
Thence, northeasterly, following the dividing line between the cadastre of the township of Coleraine and the cadastre of the township of Ireland, that is, successively the northwestern line of lot B-3-1 of block B, the northwestern line of lot A-3 of block A, then over 1,220.00 m along the northwestern line of part of lot A-1 of block A, that is, point “B”;
Thence, southeasterly, following in lot A-1 of block A and across lot 238 a straight line parallel to the northeastern line of lots A-3 and A-4 of block A for a total distance of 2,455.86 m, that is, point “C”;
Thence, southwesterly, following in lot A-1 of block A a straight line over approximately 1220 m to the eastern corner of lot A-4 of block A, that is, point “D”;
Thence, southwesterly, following the southeastern line of lot A-4 of block A, then the southeastern line of lot B-2 of block B and its extension across lot B-1 of block B and lot 237 (railroad) to the dividing line between lot B-1 of block B and Rang 8, that is, point “E”;
Thence, northwesterly, following the dividing line between lot B-1 of block B and Rang 8 to its intersection with the southwestern line of lot 237 (railroad), that is, point “F”;
Thence, northwesterly, following the southwestern line of lot 237 (railroad) to its intersection with the dividing line between lot B-1 of block B and Rang 8 , that is, point “G”;
Thence, northwesterly, following the dividing line between lot B-1 of block B and Rang 8, crossing Chemin de Vimy (Chemin Benet), for a total distance of 613.33 m, that is, point “H”, that point being situated 145.63 m measured in reference to the dividing line between lot B-1 of block B and Rang 8 from the southwestern limit of the right-of-way of Chemin de Vimy;
Thence, northeasterly, following a straight line in lot B-1 of block B, crossing Chemin de Vimy (Chemin Benet) and lot 237 (railroad) to point “I” situated on the southwestern line of lot B-1-1 of block B, at a distance of 473.99 m from the southern corner of the said lot B-1-1;
Thence, southeasterly, following the southwestern line of lot B-1-1 of block B for a distance of 473.93 m to the southern corner of the said lot, that is, point “J”;
Thence, northeasterly, following the southeastern line of lot B-1-1 of block B, then the southeastern line of lot B-3-2 of block B to the dividing line between lots B-3-2 and B-3-1 of block B, that is, point “K”;
Thence, northwesterly, following the dividing line between lots B-3-1 and B-3-2 of block B, its extension across lot 238 and again the dividing line between the said lots B-3-1 and B-3-2 to its intersection with the dividing line between the cadastre of the township of Coleraine and of the cadastre of the township of Ireland, that is, the starting point “A”.
TO BE WITHDRAWN from the land whose perimeter is described above, the following parcels:
— The portion of Chemin de Vimy (Chemin Benet) being part of lot B-1 of block B, having a right-of-way 15.25 m wide and extending in length from its intersection with line “G-H” to the southwest to its intersection with line “H-I” to the northwest. More particularly, that portion of Chemin de Vimy measures 17.66 m along its northwestern line, 201.90 m along its northwest line, 28.66 m and 168.70 m along its southwestern lines and its area covers 2,824 m2.
— The portion of the railroad, being part of lot 237, measuring 30.48 m wide and 1,330.19 m long, extending from its intersection with line “D-E” to the southeast to its intersection with line “H-I” to the northwest and covering an area of 4 ha.
The territory of the ecological reserve covers an area of 396.55 ha as a whole and is shown on a map to a scale of 1:10 000, prepared by the undersigned and bearing the same minute number as this technical description to which it is attached.
NOTES:
— The plan attached to this technical description was drawn in reference to the plan prepared by Gérald Marois, land surveyor, on 30 November 1999, under number 4711 of his minutes.
— Measurements are expressed in the international system of units (SI).
— Survey of the limits of the territory will improve the accuracy of the perimeter of the ecological reserve.
Prepared at Québec this 3 July 2002 under number 506 of my minutes.
DENIS FISET,
Land surveyor
Ministère de l’Environnement du Québec
File number at the Service de la gestion du domaine hydrique de l’État:
4116-03-01-12 (3.07)
File number at the Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable
5141-03-12 (3.07)
CONSERVATION PLAN FOR THE SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE ECOLOGICAL RESERVE, MARCH 2003
(1) Plan and description
(1.1) Geographic location, limits and dimensions
The occupation and uses of the Serpentine-de-Coleraine ecological reserve and its location are shown on the annexed maps.
The Serpentine-de-Coleraine ecological reserve is located in Municipalité de Saint-Joseph-de-Coleraine, within the limits of Municipalité régionale de comté de l’Amiante. It is situated immediately to the south-west of Ville de Thetford-Mines. It covers an area of approximately 397 ha.
(1.2) Ecological overview
The ecological reserve is in the Appalachians natural province. It protects a number of threatened or vulnerable species associated with the presence in this location of a rock type referred to as “serpentin.”. The ecological reserve also protects forest communities of interest that are rare in this part of Québec.
(1.2.1) Representative elements
Climate: The ecological reserve is characterized by a moderate climate. It belongs to the bioclimatic field of sugar maple-yellow birch stands.
Geology and geomorphology: The territory of the ecological reserve includes two hills, Kerr and Mont Oak, between which sits a valley. It also includes part of the south-east side of Mont Caribou, characterized by its talus slopes.
The bedrock, with which a unique flora complex is associated, is mainly peridotite with dunite and, on the south slopes of Mont Oak, with pyroxenite. The term “serpentine” is frequently used to describe this rock type, even though it is not technically accurate. The rocks are part of the large group of magnesium-rich ultrabasic rocks.
The dominant deposits are generally thin till (less than 1 m thick) deposited by the last glaciation. Where the slopes are steep, the deposits produce a till veneer with rock outcrops, in particular on the upper slopes of Mont Oak. Colluvial deposits are also present.
Vegetation: Sugar maple-red maple, poplar and paper birch stands colonize mainly stations at the base of Mont Oak and the west and south slopes of Kerr hill. The forest communities are generally dominated by red maple, paper birch, red spruce, and balsam fir accompanied by white pine. Pine-deciduous stands cover the lower west slopes of Kerr hill, and continue up those slopes, while sugar maple-white birch, red pine and sugar maple-basswood stands are among the main forest communities found on the flanks of Mont Oak. An oak-sugar maple stand on thin till also covers part of the south-west flanks of Mont Oak. The summit of Mont Oak is partly covered by red pine and sugar maple-basswood stands.
The ecological reserve is home to several forest communities of great interest from the perspective of conservation. Among these are the oak-sugar maple stand, recognized as an exceptional forest ecosystem. A mixed stand of red and white pine, considered to be rare in this region and also classified as an exceptional forest ecosystem, colonizes the east flank of Mont Oak.
(1.2.2) Outstanding elements
The unique flora complex found in the territory is directly linked to the presence of serpentine. No fewer than five species of plants likely to be designated as threatened or vulnerable, four of which are considered to be serpentine plants, are found inside the ecological reserve: Mountain Goldenrod (Solidago simplex subsp. Randii var. monticola), Aleutian Maidenhair (Adiantum aleuticum), Green Mountain Maidenhair (Adiantum viridimontanum) and Indian’s Dream (Aspidotis densa). Among these species, Green Mountain Maidenhair is unique to south-western Québec and the northern part of the New England states, while only six occurrences of Indian’s Dream have been reported in North America, all six in Québec. Ebony Spleenwort (Asplenium platyneuron), a calcicolous plant, is also present.
(1.3) Land occupation and use
The territory is public property. The status of proposed ecological reserve was assigned to the territory with the publication of a notice in the Gazette officielle du Québec of 14 June 2000.
Over the years, the Ministère de l’Environnement has approved the development of hiking trails on the territory which will be used within the framework of the implementation of an educational program on the ecological reserve pursuant to section 2 of the Natural Heritage Conservation Act (chapter C-61.01).
(2) Protection status
The Serpentine-de-Coleraine ecological reserve meets the objectives for which it is established, namely:
(1) to conserve the elements constituting biological diversity in their natural state, as integrally as possible and in a permanent manner, in particular by protecting ecosystems and the elements or processes on which their dynamics are based;
(2) to set aside land for scientific study or educational purposes; and
(3) to safeguard the habitats of threatened or vulnerable flora or fauna.
(3) Activities within the reserve
All activities carried on within the Serpentine-de-Coleraine ecological reserve are governed by the provisions of the Natural Heritage Conservation Act (chapter C-61.01, s. 48). This conservation plan does not specify any prohibited activity other than those prohibited in ecological reserves by the Act.
(3.1) Prohibited activities
— General prohibitions under the Act
For reference purposes, it is important to note that under the Natural Heritage Conservation Act, the main activities prohibited in an area designated as an ecological reserve are:
— hunting, trapping, fishing, earthwork or construction activities, agricultural, industrial or commercial activities, and generally, any activity likely to alter the state or nature of ecosystems;
— forest development activities within the meaning of section 4 of the Sustainable Forest Development Act (chapter A-18.1);
— mining, and gas or petroleum development;
— mining, gas or petroleum exploration, brine and underground reservoir exploration, prospecting, and digging or boring; and
— the development of hydraulic resources and any production of energy on a commercial or industrial basis.
In addition, no person may be in an ecological reserve, except for an inspection or for the carrying on of an activity authorized under law. The Minister may, however, authorize, in writing and on the conditions the Minister determines, any activity consistent with the purposes of an ecological reserve or with the management thereof.
(3.2) Supervision of activities
The Minister of the Environment is responsible for the application of the Natural Heritage Conservation Act, and is also responsible for the ecological reserves established under that Act. The Minister will supervise and monitor the measures contained in the Act with regard to permitted activities in protected areas.
In addition, the Minister has authority over that land, which forms part of the domain of the State.
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE (LOCALISATION ET PLAN)
O.C. 516-2003, Sch.
REFERENCES
O.C. 516-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 1477 and 1527

C-61.01, r. 62 - Décret concernant la constitution de la réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine et l’approbation du plan de conservation

Texte complet
chapitre C-61.01, r. 62
Décret concernant la constitution de la réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine et l’approbation du plan de conservation
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE
Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel
(chapitre C-61.01, a. 43).
C-61.01
1er septembre 2012
1. Est conféré, au territoire dont le plan et la description technique apparaissent en annexe, le statut permanent de réserve écologique sous le nom de Réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine.
D. 516-2003, a. 1.
2. Est approuvé le plan de conservation proposé pour cette aire et dont le texte est joint en annexe.
D. 516-2003, a. 2.
3. (Omis).
D. 516-2003, a. 3.
QUÉBEC
CIRCONSCRIPTION FONCIÈRE DE THETFORD
DESCRIPTION TECHNIQUE
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE
Un territoire de figure irrégulière se trouvant sur celui de la Municipalité régionale de comté de L’Amiante, dans la région administrative de Chaudière-Appalaches, et comprenant ce qui suit en référence au cadastre du canton de Coleraine, circonscription foncière de Thetford:
— Le lot A-3 en entier du bloc A, ledit lot A-3 étant formé de deux parties séparées par le lot 238;
— Le lot A-4 du bloc A;
— Le lot B-2 du bloc B;
— Le lot B-3-1 en entier du bloc B, ledit lot B-3-1 étant formé de deux parties séparées par le lot 238;
— Une partie du lot 238;
— Deux parties du lot A-1 du bloc A;
— Quatre parties du lot B-1 du bloc B.
Le périmètre de ce territoire peut être décrit comme suit, à savoir:
Partant du point «A» situé à l’intersection de la ligne de division des lots B-3-1 et B-3-2 du bloc B avec la ligne de division du cadastre du canton de Coleraine et du cadastre du canton d’Ireland;
De là, vers le nord-est, en suivant la ligne de division du cadastre du canton de Coleraine et du cadastre du canton d’Ireland, soit successivement la ligne nord-ouest du lot B-3-1 du bloc B, la ligne nord-ouest du lot A-3 du bloc A, puis sur une distance de 1 220,00 m la ligne nord-ouest d’une partie du lot A-1 du bloc A, soit le point «B»;
De là, vers le sud-est, en suivant dans le lot A-1 du bloc A et à travers le lot 238 une ligne droite parallèle à la ligne nord-est des lots A-3 et A-4 du bloc A sur une distance totale de 2 455,86 m, soit le point «C»;
De là, vers le sud-ouest, en suivant dans le lot A-1 du bloc A une ligne droite sur une distance approximative de 1 220 m jusqu’au coin est du lot A-4 du bloc A, soit le point «D»;
De là, vers le sud-ouest, en suivant la ligne sud-est du lot A-4 du bloc A, puis la ligne sud-est du lot B-2 du bloc B et son prolongement à travers le lot B-1 du bloc B et le lot 237 (chemin de fer) jusqu’à la ligne de division du lot B-1 du bloc B et du rang 8, soit le point «E»;
De là, vers le nord-ouest, en suivant la ligne de division du lot B-1 du bloc B et du rang 8 jusqu’à son intersection avec la ligne sud-ouest du lot 237 (chemin de fer), soit le point «F»;
De là, vers le nord-ouest, en suivant la ligne sud-ouest du lot 237 (chemin de fer) jusqu’à son intersection avec la ligne de division du lot B-1 du bloc B et du rang 8, soit le point «G»;
De là, vers le nord-ouest, en suivant la ligne de division du lot B-1 du bloc B et du rang 8, traversant le chemin de Vimy (chemin Benet), sur une distance totale de 613,33 m, soit le point «H», ce point étant ainsi situé à une distance de 145,63 m mesurée selon la ligne de division du lot B-1 du bloc B et du rang 8 à partir de la limite sud-ouest de l’emprise du chemin de Vimy;
De là, vers le nord-est, en suivant une ligne droite dans le lot B-1 du bloc B, traversant le chemin de Vimy (chemin Benet) et le lot 237 (chemin de fer) jusqu’au point «I» situé sur la ligne sud-ouest du lot B-1-1 du bloc «B », à une distance de 473,93 m du coin sud dudit lot B-1-1;
De là, vers le sud-est, en suivant la ligne sud-ouest du lot B-1-1 du bloc B sur une distance de 473,93 m jusqu’au coin sud dudit lot, soit le point «J»;
De là, vers le nord-est, en suivant la ligne sud-est du lot B-1-1 du bloc B, puis la ligne sud-est du lot B-3-2 du bloc B jusqu’à la ligne de division des lots B-3-2 et B-3-1 du bloc B, soit le point «K»;
De là, vers le nord-ouest, en suivant la ligne de division des lots B-3-1 et B-3-2 du bloc B, son prolongement à travers le lot 238 et de nouveau la ligne de division desdits lots B-3-1 et B-3-2 jusqu’à son intersection avec la ligne de division du cadastre du canton de Coleraine et du cadastre du canton d’Ireland, soit le point de départ «A».
SAUF ET À DISTRAIRE du territoire dont le périmètre est décrit ci-dessus les parcelles suivantes:
— Le tronçon du chemin de Vimy (chemin Benet) étant une partie du lot B-1 du bloc B, ayant une emprise de 15,24 m de largeur et s’étendant en longueur depuis son intersection avec la ligne «G-H» au sud-ouest jusqu’à son intersection avec la ligne «H-I» au nord-ouest. Plus particulièrement, ce tronçon du chemin de Vimy mesure 17,66 m dans sa ligne nord-ouest, 201,90 m dans sa ligne nord-est, 28,66 m et 168,70 m dans ses lignes sud-ouest et contient 2 824 m2 en superficie.
— Le tronçon du chemin de fer, étant une partie du lot 237, mesurant 30,48 m de largeur et 1 330,19 m de longueur, s’étendant depuis son intersection avec la ligne «D-E» au sud-est jusqu’à son intersection avec la ligne «H-I» au nord-ouest et contenant 4 ha en superficie.
Le territoire de la réserve écologique contient dans son ensemble 396,55 ha en superficie et il est montré sur un plan à l’échelle de 1:10 000, préparé par le soussigné et portant le même numéro de minute que la présente description technique qu’il accompagne.
NOTES:
— Le plan accompagnant la présente description technique a été dressé en référence à celui préparé par Gérald Marois, arpenteur-géomètre, le 30 novembre 1999, sous le numéro 4711 de ses minutes.
— Les mesures sont exprimées en unités du système international (SI).
— L’arpentage des limites de ce territoire précisera le périmètre de la réserve écologique.
Préparée à Québec, le 3 juillet 2002, sous le numéro 506 de mes minutes.
Par: __________________________
DENIS FISET,
Arpenteur-géomètre
Ministère de l’Environnement du Québec
Numéro de dossier au Service de la gestion du domaine hydrique de l’État:
4116-03-01-12 (3.07)
Numéro de dossier à la Direction du patrimoine écologique et du développement durable:
5141-03-12 (3.07)
PLAN DE CONSERVATION DE LA RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE, MARCH 2003
1. Plan et description
1.1. Situation géographique, limites et dimensions
Le plan de la réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine et sa localisation apparaissent sur les cartes produites en annexe.
La réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine se situe dans la Municipalité de Saint-Joseph-de-Coleraine, à l’intérieur des limites de la Municipalité régionale de comté de l’Amiante. Elle se localise immédiatement au sud-ouest de la Ville de Thetford-Mines. Elle couvre une superficie d’environ 397 ha.
1.2. Portrait écologique
La réserve écologique figure dans la province naturelle des Appalaches. Elle assure la protection de plusieurs espèces menacées ou vulnérables associées à la présence à cet endroit d’une roche appelée «serpentine». Cette réserve écologique vise également à protéger des groupements forestiers d’intérêt, rares dans cette partie du Québec.
1.2.1. Éléments représentatifs
Climat et bioclimat: Cette réserve écologique bénéficie d’un climat modéré et fait partie du domaine bioclimatique de l’érablière à bouleau jaune.
Géologie et géomorphologie: Le territoire de la réserve écologique comprend deux monts, la colline Kerr et le Mont Oak, ainsi qu’une vallée située entre ceux-ci. Il comprend également une portion du versant sud-est du Mont Caribou, caractérisée par ses talus d’éboulis.
L’assise rocheuse, à laquelle est associé un cortège floristique très particulier, est principalement formée de péridotite accompagnée de dunite et, sur les flancs sud du Mont Oak, de pyroxénite. Le terme de serpentine est fréquemment utilisé pour décrire ce type de roche, même si ce terme n’est pas techniquement exact. Toutes ces roches appartiennent au grand groupe des roches ultrabasiques riches en magnésium.
Les dépôts dominants mis en place lors de la dernière glaciation, sont des tills généralement minces (moins de 1 m d’épaisseur). Dans les pentes fortes, ces dépôts laissent la place à du placage de till et des affleurements rocheux en particulier sur les hauts de pente du Mont Oak. On peut noter également la présence de dépôts colluvionnaires.
Couvert végétal: Les érablières à érable rouge, les peupleraies de même que les bétulaies blanches colonisent principalement les stations situées au pied du Mont Oak et à la base du versant ouest et sud de la colline de Kerr. Les peuplements forestiers sont généralement dominés par l’érable rouge, le bouleau à papier, l’épinette rouge, le sapin baumier accompagné de pin blanc. Les pinèdes avec feuillus occupent les bas de pente à l’ouest de la colline de Kerr. Elles persistent lorsqu’on s’élève sur les pentes de cette même colline alors que sur les flancs du Mont Oak, les érablières à bouleau blanc, les pinèdes rouges ainsi que des érablières à tilleul figurent parmi les principaux groupements forestiers. La chênaie à érable à sucre sur till mince occupe également une partie des flancs sud-ouest du Mont Oak. Le sommet du Mont Oak se caractérise en partie par des pinèdes à pin rouge et des érablières à tilleul.
La réserve écologique abrite plusieurs groupements forestiers présentant un grand intérêt de conservation. Parmi ceux-ci, on peut citer la chênaie à érable à sucre, reconnue comme écosystème forestier exceptionnel. Une pinède mixte de pin rouge et de pin blanc, considérée comme rare dans la région et également classifiée comme écosystème forestier exceptionnel, colonise le flanc est de ce même mont.
1.2.2. Éléments remarquables
Le cortège floristique exceptionnel que l’on retrouve au sein de ce territoire est intimement lié à la présence de la serpentine. Pas moins de cinq plantes menacées ou vulnérables, susceptibles d’être ainsi désignées, dont quatre sont considérées comme serpentinicoles, se retrouvent à l’intérieur des limites de la réserve écologique. Il s’agit plus précisément de la verge d’or simple variété de Rand (Solidago simplex subsp. randii var. monticola), l’adiante des Aléoutiennes (Adiantum aleuticum), l’adiante des Montagnes Vertes (Adiantum viridimontanum), et de l’aspidote touffue (Aspidotis densa). Parmi ces espèces, l’adiante des Montagnes Vertes ne se trouve nulle part ailleurs au monde qu’au sud-ouest du Québec et au nord de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, tandis que l’aspidote touffue ne compte que six occurrences en Amérique du Nord, toutes situées au Québec. La doradille ébène (Asplenium platyneuron), une plante calcicole, est également présente.
1.3. Occupation et usages du territoire
Le territoire est de propriété publique. Le statut de réserve écologique projetée fut accordé à ce territoire lors de la parution d’un avis à la Gazette officielle du Québec le 14 juin 2000.
Des sentiers de randonnée ont, au cours des années, été aménagés sur ce territoire avec l’accord du ministère de l’Environnement. Ces sentiers serviront dans le cadre de la mise en place d’un programme éducatif qui sera dispensé dans la réserve écologique conformément aux fins prévues à l’article 2 de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel (chapitre C-61.01).
2. Statut de protection
La réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine rencontre les fins pour lesquelles elle est constituée sur ce territoire, soit:
1° conserver dans leur état naturel, le plus intégralement possible et de manière permanente, des éléments constitutifs de la diversité biologique, notamment par la protection des écosystèmes et des éléments ou processus qui en assurent la dynamique;
2° réserver des terres à des fins d’étude scientifique ou d’éducation;
3° sauvegarder les habitats d’espèces fauniques et floristiques menacées ou vulnérables.
3. Régime des activités
Les activités exercées à l’intérieur de la réserve écologique de la Serpentine-de-Coleraine sont régies par les dispositions de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel (chapitre C-61.01, a. 48).
Le présent plan de conservation ne prévoit pas d’interdiction additionnelle aux activités déjà interdites pour les réserves écologiques en vertu de cette loi.
3.1. Activités interdites
— Interdictions générales découlant de la loi
Pour fins de commodité, rappelons qu’en vertu de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel, les principales activités interdites dans un territoire bénéficiant d’un statut de réserve écologique sont les suivantes:
— la chasse, le piégeage, la pêche, les travaux de terrassement ou de construction, les activités agricoles, industrielles ou commerciales ainsi que généralement toute activité de nature à modifier l’état ou l’aspect des écosystèmes;
— les activités d’aménagement forestier au sens de l’article 4 de la Loi sur l’aménagement durable du territoire forestier (chapitre A-18.1);
— l’exploitation minière, gazière ou pétrolière;
— les activités d’exploration minière, gazière ou pétrolière, de recherche de saumure ou de réservoir souterrain, de prospection, de fouille ou de sondage;
— l’exploitation des forces hydrauliques et toute production commerciale ou industrielle d’énergie.
De plus, sauf pour une inspection ou pour l’exercice d’une activité autorisée en vertu de la loi, il est également interdit de se trouver dans une réserve écologique. Le ministre peut cependant autoriser, par écrit et aux conditions qu’il détermine, toute activité liée à la poursuite des fins d’une réserve écologique ou à la gestion de celle-ci.
3.2. Contrôle des activités
Le ministre de l’Environnement est responsable de l’application de la Loi sur la conservation du patrimoine naturel; il est ainsi responsable des réserves écologiques constituées en vertu de cette loi. Il assure donc le contrôle et le suivi des mesures prévues par cette loi quant au régime des activités permises dans ces aires protégées.
De plus, le ministre détient l’autorité sur ces terres qui font partie du domaine de l’État
RÉSERVE ÉCOLOGIQUE DE LA SERPENTINE-DE-COLERAINE (LOCALISATION ET PLAN)
D. 516-2003, Ann.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 516-2003, 2003 G.O. 2, 2227 et 2312