C-48.1, r. 4 - Regulation respecting professional liability insurance for certified general accountants

Full text
chapter C-48.1, r. 4
Regulation respecting professional liability insurance for certified general accountants
CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS — LIABILITY INSURANCE
Chartered Professional Accountants Act
(chapter C-48.1, s. 2).
C-48.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. d).
C-26
April 1 2013
Revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 36; eff. 2013-04-01.
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-26, r. 46.
DIVISION I
APPLICATION OF THE LIABILITY INSURANCE PLAN
1. The secretary of the Ordre professionnel des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec shall verify whether each member on the roll of the Order complies with the obligation prescribed in section 3 and shall inform the board of directors thereof.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 1.
2. The secretary of the Order shall make such recommendations as he considers appropriate to the board of directors and shall submit an annual report of his activities.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 2.
3. A member in private practice, practising alone or practising for the account of another member, a partnership of members or a separate organization, on a full-time or part-time basis, shall enroll in the group professional liability insurance contract subscribed to by the Order, referred to herein as the “insurance plan”.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 3.
4. A member who ceases private practice or who permanently ceases to practise his profession shall, before the date on which he ceases to practise, obtain the insurance coverage described in paragraph 4 of section 7 for a period of at least 3 years except where, for the last 3 years preceding the permanent cessation of practice, he was not required to enroll in the insurance plan or would not have been required to had this Regulation been in force.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 4.
DIVISION II
INSURANCE PLAN
5. The Order shall take out an insurance plan with an insurer. The insurer shall issue a certificate of insurance to each member enrolled in the insurance plan contracted by the Order. A copy of the insurance policy shall be furnished to the member upon request in writing.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 5.
6. The insurance plan shall be approved by resolution of the board of directors and shall come into force on the date determined by the board of directors.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 6.
7. The insurance plan subscribed to by the Order shall contain the following minimum provisions applicable to each certificate:
(1)  the minimum amount of the guarantee must be $1,000,000 per claim and $3,000,000 for the aggregate of claims for the period covered by the guarantee;
(2)  an agreement by the insurer to pay, in place of the insured person, within the limits of the guarantee, any amount, excluding a deductible not exceeding $2,500, that the insured person may legally be required to pay to a third party as damages for any claim resulting from professional services and made during the period covered by the guarantee;
(3)  an agreement by the insurer to have the conduct of the legal proceeding of the insured person and to take up his defence in any action taken against him and to bear the costs and expenses of proceedings taken against him, including those of his defence and interest on convictions, in addition to the amounts covered by the guarantee;
(4)  an agreement by the insurer to issue, for a period of at least 3 years, to a member subject to section 4, an insurance policy for previous acts identical to the policy in force at the time, for a premium equal to the amount of the last annual premium paid;
(5)  the insurer may not deny coverage without giving notice in writing to both the insured person and the secretary at the same time;
(6)  the insurance plan must also offer, for an additional premium and on an optional basis, terms of coverage that are more advantageous;
(7)  an agreement by the insurer to notify the Order within 30 days following a modification, cancellation or non-renewal of the insurance plan;
(8)  an agreement by the insurer to notify the Order in the event it pays a sum of money owing in the performance of obligations under the insurance plan.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 7.
8. The exclusions generally included in professional liability insurance may be provided for in the insurance contract. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no exclusion respecting acts committed under the influence of narcotics, soporifics, drugs, alcohol or any other similar substance may be set up against a third party referred to in paragraph 2 of section 7 to whom the insured person is legally required to pay damages.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 8.
9. The insurance agreement shall cover professional services rendered or the failure to render professional services, before the insurance plan comes into force and up until the expiry of the period covered by the guarantee.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 9.
10. The Order shall collect the premiums and may make an agreement whereby the broker or the insurer collects the premiums on behalf of the Order.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 10.
DIVISION III
TRANSITORY AND FINAL
11. A member must enroll in the insurance plan not later than 30 days after the insurance plan comes into force. A member who, at the time the insurance plan comes into force, already has insurance coverage for a guarantee that is at least equal to the limits provided herein, excluding deductibles, shall comply with this Regulation by keeping the insurance coverage in force until its expiry date, for a maximum duration of 1 year.
O.C. 1645-92, s. 11.
12. This Regulation replaces the Regulation of the Corporation professionnelle généraux licenciés du Québec respecting professional liability insurance (Decision 83-05-18).
O.C. 1645-92, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 1645-92, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1645-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 5046
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212
S.Q. 2009, c. 35, s. 76

C-48.1, r. 4 - Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des comptables généraux accrédités

Texte complet
chapitre C-48.1, r. 4
Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des comptables généraux accrédités
COMPTABLES PROFESSIONNELS AGRÉÉS — ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
Loi sur les comptables professionnels agréés
(chapitre C-48.1, a. 2).
C-48.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. d).
C-26
1er avril 2013
Abrogé, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 36; eff. 2013-04-01.
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-26, r. 46.
SECTION I
APPLICATION DU PROGRAMME D’ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre professionnel des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec vérifie si chaque membre inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre se conforme à l’obligation prévue à l’article 3 et il en fait rapport au Conseil d’administration.
D. 1645-92, a. 1.
2. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre formule au Conseil d’administration les recommandations qu’il juge appropriées et lui soumet un rapport annuel de ses activités.
D. 1645-92, a. 2.
3. Le membre qui exerce sa profession en pratique privée, pour son propre compte ou pour le compte d’un autre membre, d’une société de membres ou d’une organisation distincte, à temps plein ou à temps partiel, doit adhérer au contrat collectif d’assurance responsabilité professionnelle, souscrit par l’Ordre, ci-après appelé «Programme d’assurance».
D. 1645-92, a. 3.
4. Le membre qui cesse d’exercer sa profession en pratique privée ou qui cesse définitivement l’exercice de sa profession doit, avant la date de la cessation d’exercice, obtenir pour une période d’au moins 3 ans, la protection d’assurance mentionnée au paragraphe 4 de l’article 7, sauf si pour la période des 3 dernières années précédant la cessation définitive d’exercice, il n’était pas tenu d’adhérer au programme d’assurance ou il ne l’aurait pas été si ce règlement avait été en vigueur.
D. 1645-92, a. 4.
SECTION II
PROGRAMME D’ASSURANCE
5. L’Ordre souscrit un programme d’assurance auprès d’un assureur. L’assureur délivre à chaque membre adhérant au programme d’assurance contracté par l’Ordre un certificat d’assurance. Une copie de cette police d’assurance doit lui être remise sur demande écrite.
D. 1645-92, a. 5.
6. Le programme d’assurance doit être approuvé par une résolution du Conseil d’administration et entre en vigueur à la date établie par celui-ci.
D. 1645-92, a. 6.
7. Le programme d’assurance souscrit par l’Ordre doit comporter les conditions minimales suivantes applicables à chaque certificat:
1°  le montant de la garantie doit être d’un minimum de 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et de 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations relatives à la période de garantie;
2°  l’engagement, de la part de l’assureur, de payer aux lieu et place de l’assuré, dans le cadre des limites de la garantie, tout montant, à l’exception d’une franchise n’excédant pas 2 500 $, que l’assuré peut légalement être tenu de payer à un tiers à titre de dommages-intérêts pour toute réclamation présentée pendant la période de garantie résultant de services professionnels;
3°  l’engagement, de la part de l’assureur, de prendre fait et cause de l’assuré et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action intentée contre lui, de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, les frais et dépenses des poursuites contre l’assuré, y compris ceux de la défense et les intérêts sur toute condamnation;
4°  l’engagement, de la part de l’assureur, d’émettre, pour une période d’au moins 3 années, en faveur du membre assujetti à l’article 4, une police dite d’assurance d’actes antérieurs alors en usage moyennant une prime égale au montant de la dernière prime annuelle payée;
5°  l’assureur ne peut nier couverture sans donner un avis écrit simultanément à l’assuré et au secrétaire;
6°  le programme d’assurance doit en outre, moyennant surprime, prévoir, sur une base facultative, des conditions de protection plus avantageuses;
7°  l’engagement, de la part de l’assureur, de donner un avis à l’Ordre dans les 30 jours suivant la modification, la résiliation ou le non-renouvellement du programme d’assurance;
8°  l’engagement, de la part de l’assureur, d’aviser l’Ordre lorsqu’il verse une somme d’argent en exécution des obligations lui résultant en vertu du programme d’assurance.
D. 1645-92, a. 7.
8. Les exclusions généralement admises en assurance responsabilité professionnelle peuvent être prévues au contrat d’assurance. Toutefois, une exclusion concernant les actes commis sous l’influence de narcotiques, de soporifiques, de drogues, d’alcool ou de tout autre produit similaire ne peut être opposable à un tiers visé au paragraphe 2 de l’article 7, à qui l’assuré est légalement tenu de payer des dommages-intérêts.
D. 1645-92, a. 8.
9. La convention d’assurance doit s’étendre aux services professionnels rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services professionnels, avant l’entrée en vigueur du programme d’assurance et jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de garantie.
D. 1645-92, a. 9.
10. L’Ordre perçoit les primes; toutefois, celui-ci peut conclure toute entente suivant laquelle le courtier ou l’assureur perçoit la prime au nom de l’Ordre.
D. 1645-92, a. 10.
SECTION III
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
11. Le membre doit, au plus tard dans les 30 jours de l’entrée en vigueur du programme d’assurance, adhérer à celui-ci. Toutefois, le membre qui, lors de l’entrée en vigueur du programme d’assurance, détient déjà une protection d’assurance pour une garantie au moins égale aux limites prévues aux présentes, sans égard aux franchises, satisfait au présent règlement en maintenant la protection d’assurance en vigueur jusqu’à sa date d’échéance pour une durée maximale d’une année.
D. 1645-92, a. 11.
12. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur l’assurance-responsabilité professionnelle de la Corporation professionnelle des comptables généraux licenciés du Québec (Décision 83-05-18).
D. 1645-92, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 1645-92, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1645-92, 1992 G.O. 2, 6926
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
L.Q. 2009, c. 35, a. 76