C-48.1, r. 3 - Regulation respecting the professional liability insurance of certified management accountants of Québec

Full text
chapter C-48.1, r. 3
Regulation respecting the professional liability insurance of certified management accountants of Québec
CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS — LIABILITY INSURANCE
Chartered Professional Accountants Act
(chapter C-48.1, s. 2).
C-48.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. d).
C-26
April 1 2013
Revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 36; eff. 2013-04-01.
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-26, r. 26.
1. A member of the Ordre professionnel des comptables en management accrédités du Québec who practises full or part time in a private practice, on the member’s own account or for the account of a partnership of members, shall contribute to an insurance contract establishing coverage against any liability the member may incur as a result of faults or negligence committed in the practice of the profession.
The insurance contract may be entered into in the name of a partnership of members, but the coverage shall extend to each of the partners or employees individually.
Where a member employs other members, the coverage shall extend to each of the employed members individually.
O.C. 166-93, s. 1.
2. The amount of the coverage shall not be less than $250,000 per claim and $500,000 for all the claims submitted against the member during the period covered.
In the case of a partnership of members, the amount of the coverage per claim and for all the claims submitted against the partnership shall not be less than $250,000 multiplied by the number of partners or employees of the partnership, up to $1,000,000 per period of coverage. The same applies to a member who employs other members.
O.C. 166-93, s. 2.
3. The insurance contract shall provide that
(1)  the insurer agrees to pay instead of the member any damages, up to the amount of the coverage, less the deductible, that the member may be legally liable to pay in respect of a claim submitted during the period of coverage and resulting from faults or negligence committed by the member in the practice of the profession or committed by the member’s employees in the performance of their duties;
(2)  the insurer agrees to take up the member’s defence, to defend the member in any action brought against the member and to pay, in addition to the sums covered by the coverage, all the costs and expenses of the member’s defence, including costs and interest resulting from a conviction;
(3)  the insurer agrees to extend the coverage to any claim submitted during the 5 years following a period of coverage during which a member dies, ceases permanently to practise or ceases to practise the profession referred to in section 1;
(4)  the insurer agrees to issue, in favour of a member who ceases to practise in a private practice during the period of coverage, an insurance contract that covers the subsequent 5-year period and, with the necessary changes, meets the requirements of this section;
(5)  the insurer agrees to issue an insurance contract whose coverage extends to faults or negligence committed by the member in the private practice of the profession prior to the coming into force of the contract, until the expiry of the period of coverage;
(6)  the insurer agrees to extend the coverage automatically, without prior notification, to any member who becomes the partner or the employee of another member or of a partnership of members during the period of coverage;
(7)  the insurer agrees to notify the Order within 30 days following any change made to the insurance contract held by a member or by a partnership of members, or following any cancellation or non-renewal of such contract;
(8)  the insurer agrees to notify the Order where the insurer pays any sum of money to fulfill obligations under an insurance contract held by a member or a partnership of members; and
(9)  the insurer agrees to issue an insurance contract containing an exclusion whereby acts committed by the member of the member’s employees under the influence of narcotics, soporifics, drugs or alcohol are void as against the claimant. However, the insurance contract may contain the exclusions generally recognized in professional liability insurance.
O.C. 166-93, s. 3.
4. Where the Order purchases, for all or some of the members referred to in section 1, a liability insurance contract that meets the requirements of section 3, a member or a partnership of members shall participate in the group insurance contract in question.
The Order shall issue a certificate of insurance to each member or partnership of members, and a copy of the contract shall be issued where a member or a partnership of members applies for such copy in writing.
O.C. 166-93, s. 4.
5. Before 1 April each year, a member or a partnership of members shall submit to the secretary of the Order proof that the member or partnership of members holds an insurance contract which is in effect for a 12-month period from that date, which meets the requirements of this Regulation and for which the premium has been paid in full.
O.C. 166-93, s. 5.
6. Where a member or a partnership of members opens a professional office, proof that the member or partnership holds an insurance contract meeting the requirements of this Regulation and in effect until 1 April of the following year shall be sent to the secretary of the Order within 30 days.
O.C. 166-93, s. 6.
7. (Omitted).
O.C. 166-93, s. 7.
REFERENCES
O.C. 166-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 837

C-48.1, r. 3 - Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des comptables en management accrédités du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-48.1, r. 3
Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle des comptables en management accrédités du Québec
COMPTABLES PROFESSIONNELS AGRÉÉS — ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
Loi sur les comptables professionnels agréés
(chapitre C-48.1, a. 2).
C-48.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. d).
C-26
1er avril 2013
Abrogé, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 36; eff. 2013-04-01.
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-26, r. 26.
1. Le membre de l’Ordre professionnel des comptables en management accrédités du Québec qui exerce sa profession en pratique privée, à son propre compte ou pour le compte d’une société de membres, à temps plein ou à temps partiel, doit souscrire un contrat d’assurance établissant une garantie contre la responsabilité qu’il peut encourir en raison de fautes ou négligences commises dans l’exercice de sa profession.
Dans le cas d’une société de membres, le contrat d’assurance peut être conclu au nom de la société, mais cette garantie doit s’étendre à chacun des membres associés ou employés, personnellement.
Dans le cas d’un membre qui exploite d’autres membres, la garantie doit s’étendre à chacun de ceux-ci, personnellement.
D. 166-93, a. 1.
2. Le montant de la garantie doit être d’au moins 250 000 $ par réclamation et de 500 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre le membre au cours de la période de garantie.
Dans le cas d’une société de membres, le montant de la garantie par réclamation et pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées doit être d’au moins 250 000 $ multiplié par le nombre de membres associés ou employés de la société jusqu’à concurrence de 1 000 000 $ par période de garantie. Il en va de même pour le membre qui emploie d’autres membres.
D. 166-93, a. 2.
3. Le contrat d’assurance doit prévoir que:
1°  l’assureur s’engage à payer aux lieux et place du membre, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, déduction faite de la franchise, tous dommages-intérêts que le membre peut être légalement tenu de payer concernant une réclamation présentée au cours de la période de garantie et résultant d’une faute ou négligence commise par ce membre dans l’exercice de sa profession ou par ses préposés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions;
2°  l’assureur s’engage à prendre fait et cause au nom du membre, d’assumer sa défense dans toute action intentée contre lui et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et dépenses relatifs à sa défense, y compris les dépens et les intérêts sur toute condamnation;
3°  l’assureur s’engage à étendre la garantie à toute réclamation présentée pendant les 5 années qui suivent la période de garantie au cours de laquelle un membre décède, cesse définitivement l’exercice de sa profession ou cesse l’exercice de la profession visée à l’article 1;
4°  l’assureur s’engage à émettre, pour la période des 5 années subséquentes, en faveur du membre qui cesse d’exercer sa profession en pratique privée au cours de la période de garantie, un contrat d’assurance conforme, en faisant les adaptations nécessaires, aux exigences du présent article;
5°  l’assureur s’engage à émettre un contrat d’assurance dont la garantie s’étend aux fautes ou négligences commises par le membre dans l’exercice de sa profession en pratique privée avant l’entrée en vigueur de ce contrat, jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de garantie;
6°  l’assureur s’engage à étendre de plein droit, sans avis préalable, la garantie à tout membre qui se joint, à titre d’associé ou de préposé, à un autre membre ou à une société de membres au cours de la période de garantie;
7°  l’assureur s’engage à aviser l’Ordre dans les 30 jours de toute modification, réalisation ou non-renouvellement du contrat d’assurance détenu par le membre ou par la société de membres;
8°  l’assureur s’engage à aviser l’Ordre qu’il verse une somme d’argent afin d’exécuter ses obligations en vertu d’un contrat d’assurance détenu par un membre ou une société de membres;
9°  l’assureur s’engage à émettre un contrat d’assurance qui contient une exclusion rendant inopposable au réclamant les actes commis par le membre ou ses préposés sous l’influence de narcotiques, de soporifiques, de drogues ou d’alcool. Toutefois, le contrat d’assurance peut contenir les exclusions généralement admises en matière d’assurance responsabilité professionnelle.
D. 166-93, a. 3.
4. Dans le cas où l’Ordre a contracté, pour l’ensemble ou une partie des membres visés à l’article 1, un contrat d’assurance responsabilité conforme à l’article 3, le membre ou la société de membres doit adhérer à ce contrat d’assurance collective.
Un certificat d’assurance doit être délivré, par l’Ordre, à chaque membre ou à chaque société de membres et une copie de ce contrat doit leur être remise sur demande écrite.
D. 166-93, a. 4.
5. Le membre ou la société de membres doit fournir au secrétaire de l’Ordre, avant le 1er avril de chaque année, la preuve de la détention d’un contrat d’assurance en vigueur pour une période de 12 mois, à compter de cette date, conforme au présent règlement et dont la prime a été entièrement acquittée.
D. 166-93, a. 5.
6. La preuve de la détention d’un contrat d’assurance, conforme au présent règlement et en vigueur jusqu’au 1er avril suivant, doit être transmise au secrétaire de l’Ordre, dans les 30 jours du début de l’exercice en cabinet, par un membre ou une société de membres.
D. 166-93, a. 6.
7. (Omis).
D. 166-93, a. 7.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 166-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 1115