C-48.1, r. 26 - Regulation respecting the public accountancy permit of the Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec

Full text
chapter C-48.1, r. 26
Regulation respecting the public accountancy permit of the Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec
CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS — PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY PERMIT
Chartered Professional Accountants Act
(chapter C-48.1, s. 2).
C-48.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 187.10.2).
C-26
June 4 2014
Replaced, O.C. 476-2014, 2014 G.O. 2, 1157; eff. 2014-06-04; see chapter C-48.1, r. 26.1.
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-26, r. 61.
DIVISION I
STANDARDS FOR ISSUE OF THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY PERMIT
§ 1.  — General provisions
1. The board of directors of the Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec shall issue a public accountancy permit to a member who:
(1)  has met the requirements concerning the public accountancy training period in accordance with subdivision 2 of the present division or has successfully completed a training fulfilling the requirements contemplated in sections 2 and 3 and in the second paragraph of section 4 of subdivision 2 of the present division and recognized by the committee set up by the board of directors.
(2)  is not subject to a decision of the Order decreeing the revocation of his public accountancy permit for non-compliance with his continuing education duty, unless the Order has lifted such penalty;
(3)  has successfully completed the auditing and taxation courses of the professional training program established by the Order or has successfully completed courses provided that the content of such courses shall correspond to the content of the professional training program established by the Order and recognized by the committee set up by the board of directors.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 1.
§ 2.  — Training period
2. The training period shall enable the member to assimilate, in a concrete occupational environment, the overall knowledge acquired, in particular in public accountancy, and to develop the skills required for the application of that knowledge in a decision-making setting.
This training period shall facilitate the attainment of the following objectives:
(1)  the application and development of theoretical knowledge and professional training;
(2)  the practice and development of decision-making, leadership and administrative skills;
(3)  the development of integrity and independent thinking;
(4)  the development of the ability to identify and respond to the client’s needs and to deal with critical situations;
(5)  the improvement of interpersonal and professional skills.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 2.
3. The training period required to obtain a public accountancy permit shall be of a duration of 24 months and shall consist of not less than 2,500 hours of professional services rendered to the public. Of those 2,500 hours, 100 hours shall be rendered in taxation and not less than 1,250 hours shall involve certification. Of those 1,250 hours, not less than 625 hours shall pertain to auditing.
For the application of the first and second paragraphs, the following hours of professional services rendered to the public shall be taken into consideration:
(1)  the hours completed by the member during his training period for the issue of his certified general accountant’s permit which meet the conditions of the training period for obtaining a public accountancy permit;
(2)  the hours completed by the member as part of a review or audit engagement in the practice of his profession as a certified general accountant.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 3.
4. The training period shall be authorized by the board of directors. The member shall make an application to the board of directors on the form provided by the latter.
Where the training period meets the requirements provided for in section 3, the board of directors, on the recommendation of the committee set up by the board of directors to study authorization applications, shall authorize by a written notice the member’s training period and shall appoint a training supervisor responsible for supervising the member and having at least 5 years of experience in public accountancy. The training supervisor shall not be subject to any disciplinary action by the disciplinary council of the Order or by the Professions Tribunal.
The training period authorization decision shall be forwarded to the member.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 4; O.C. 547-2010.
5. The member shall notify the secretary and his training supervisor of any changes affecting the training period initially authorized by the board of directors. The secretary shall submit to the authorization process provided for in section 4 any changes having an impact on the requirements set out in section 3.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 5.
6. An authorized training period shall be deemed to have begun on the date when the formal application procedure is completed, in compliance with section 4.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 6.
7. At the end of each year of the training period, an evaluation questionnaire, provided by the board of directors, shall be completed by the member and submitted to his training supervisor within 30 days.
The training supervisor shall ensure that the evaluation questionnaire has been correctly completed and shall draw up a report containing his recommendations. This report shall contain a section with respect to the evaluation of the candidate, which shall specifically relate to the following:
(1)  professional conscientiousness and integrity;
(2)  competence;
(3)  human relations and communication skills;
(4)  personality;
(5)  self-discipline.
The training supervisor shall, as soon as possible, forward the completed evaluation questionnaire and his report to the secretary of the Order and to the member. He shall notify the secretary when the training period ends.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 7.
8. Once the training period has been completed, the secretary shall forward the evaluation questionnaires completed by the member and the reports from the training supervisor to the committee set up by the board of directors, the members of which shall not be members of the board of directors. The committee shall examine these documents and make its recommendations to the board of directors.
At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the recommendation of this committee, the board of directors shall decide whether or not a member has met the requirements of the training period. Where a member has not met the training requirements, the board of directors shall specify the items to be completed and the process by which they may be met, in order to satisfy the requirements of the training period. The secretary shall notify the member in writing of this decision within the 15 days following the date upon which such decision was rendered.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 8.
9. A member who is notified of the decision that he has not met the training requirements may apply for a review to the committee set up by the board of directors, the members of which shall not be members of the board of directors or of the committee referred to in section 8. He shall apply to the secretary in writing within 30 days following the date upon which the decision is received. He may add written representations to his application to the attention of the committee.
The committee shall have 60 days following the date of receipt of the application for review to hand down its decision.
The decision shall be final and shall be forwarded to the member within 30 days following the date upon which it was handed down.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 9; O.C. 547-2010.
DIVISION II
STANDARDS FOR HOLDING THE PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY PERMIT
§ 1.  — Monitoring program
10. A member holding a public accountancy permit in respect of whom part of the hours required for the training period in public accountancy were completed, in whole or in part, more than 5 years prior to the date of application for the public accountancy permit shall successfully complete the monitoring program established by the Order.
This program consists of carrying out public accountancy activities assessed by the training supervisor. It may include the successful completion of public accountancy courses and directed readings with or without assessments.
However, in the event more than half of the hours required for the training period have been completed more than 5 years prior to the date of application for the public accountancy permit, the Order requires the successful completion of public accountancy courses and directed readings with or without assessment, or both of these measures.
This program is aimed at enabling the incorporation and updating of the professional standards and responsibilities in order to confirm the achievement of the objectives set out in section 2.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 10.
11. The Order shall establish the duration of the monitoring program that the member is required to follow, which shall not exceed 24 months. For the purpose of establishing the duration and the content of the monitoring program, the Order shall take into account the professional experience of the member in public accountancy.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 11.
12. The program shall be organized by the Order and the member shall be supervised by a training supervisor, who shall have at least 5 years of experience in public accountancy and never have been subject to any disciplinary action by the disciplinary committee of the Order or by the Professions Tribunal.
The program shall consist of periodic meetings with the training supervisor during which the latter shall inform the member of his achieved progress and the requisite improvements to be made, as the case may be.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 12.
13. The training supervisor shall report on the ability of the member to practise public accountancy, referring to provisions of in section 7, and, within 30 days following the end of the program, he shall provide an opinion to the committee set up for this purpose by the board of directors, the members of which shall not be members of the board of directors.
The committee shall make its recommendation to the board of directors within 90 days following receipt of the opinion from the training supervisor.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 13.
14. Following receipt of the recommendation from the committee, the board of directors shall decide whether or not a member has met the requirements of the monitoring program. It shall notify the member in writing within 15 days following the date of its decision.
Where the member has not met the requirements of the monitoring program, the board of directors shall notify the member thereof and inform him of the items to be completed, such as additional training courses and meetings, and the process by which they may be met in order to satisfy these requirements, in accordance with this Regulation.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 14.
15. A member who is notified of the decision that he has not met the requirements of the monitoring program may apply for a review to the committee set up by the board of directors, the members of which shall not be members of the board of directors or of the committee referred to in section 13. He shall apply to the secretary within 30 days following the date on which the decision is received. He may add written observations to his application to the attention of the committee.
The committee shall have 60 days following the date of receipt of the application to hand down its decision.
The decision shall be final and shall be forwarded to the member within 30 days following the date upon which it was handed down.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 15; O.C. 547-2010.
§ 2.  — Professional liability insurance
16. A member holding a public accountancy permit shall provide the Order, not later than 1 April of each year, evidence that he has taken out insurance against any liability which he may incur as a result of any fault or negligence which he may perpetrate in the practice of public accountancy.
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 16.
DIVISION III
FINAL PROVISION
17. (Omitted).
O.C. 1199-2009, s. 17.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1199-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 3912
O.C. 547-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 1896

C-48.1, r. 26 - Règlement sur le permis de comptabilité publique de l’Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-48.1, r. 26
Règlement sur le permis de comptabilité publique de l’Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec
COMPTABLES PROFESSIONNELS AGRÉÉS — PERMIS DE COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
Loi sur les comptables professionnels agréés
(chapitre C-48.1, a. 2).
C-48.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 187.10.2).
C-26
4 juin 2014
Remplacé, D. 476-2014, 2014 G.O. 2, 1961; eff. 2014-06-04; voir chapitre C-48.1, r. 26.1.
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-26, r. 61.
SECTION I
NORMES DE DÉLIVRANCE DU PERMIS DE COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
§ 1.  — Dispositions générales
1. Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec délivre un permis de comptabilité publique au membre qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes:
1°  avoir satisfait aux exigences du stage en comptabilité publique conformément à la sous-section 2 de la présente section ou avoir complété un stage qui satisfait aux critères prévus aux articles 2 et 3 et au deuxième alinéa de l’article 4 de la sous-section 2 de la présente section et reconnu par le comité formé par le Conseil d’administration;
2°  ne pas avoir fait l’objet d’une décision de l’Ordre lui imposant la révocation de son permis de comptabilité publique pour le non-respect de son obligation de formation continue, sauf si l’Ordre a levé cette sanction;
3°  avoir réussi les cours en vérification et en fiscalité du programme de formation professionnelle établi par l’Ordre ou avoir réussi des cours dont le contenu correspond à ceux du programme de formation professionnelle établi par l’Ordre et reconnus par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1199-2009, a. 1.
§ 2.  — Stage
2. Le stage permet au membre d’intégrer, dans un environnement professionnel concret, l’ensemble des connaissances acquises notamment en matière de comptabilité publique et de développer les habiletés nécessaires à leur application dans un contexte de prise de décisions.
Ce stage favorise l’atteinte des objectifs suivants:
1°  l’application et le renforcement des connaissances théoriques et de la formation professionnelle;
2°  l’exercice et le développement du jugement, de l’initiative et des compétences administratives;
3°  le développement de l’intégrité et de l’indépendance d’esprit;
4°  le développement de la capacité à identifier les besoins du client, à y répondre et à faire face aux situations critiques;
5°  le perfectionnement des communications interpersonnelles et des compétences professionnelles.
D. 1199-2009, a. 2.
3. Le stage requis pour l’obtention d’un permis de comptabilité publique est d’une durée de 24 mois et doit comporter au moins 2 500 heures de services professionnels offerts au public. Parmi ces 2 500 heures, 100 heures doivent être effectuées en fiscalité et au moins 1 250 heures en certification. De ces 1 250 heures, au moins 625 heures devront être effectuées en vérification.
Pour l’application des premier et deuxième alinéas, les heures de services professionnels offerts au public suivantes sont prises en compte:
1°  les heures effectuées par le membre lors de son stage pour la délivrance de son permis de comptable général accrédité qui satisfont aux conditions du stage requis pour l’obtention d’un permis de comptabilité publique;
2°  les heures effectuées par le membre dans le cadre d’une mission d’examen ou de vérification dans l’exercice de sa profession de comptable général accrédité.
D. 1199-2009, a. 3.
4. Le stage doit être autorisé par le Conseil d’administration. Le membre doit lui en faire la demande sur le formulaire fourni par le Conseil d’administration.
Lorsque le stage répond aux exigences prévues à l’article 3, le Conseil d’administration, sur recommandation du comité formé par le Conseil d’administration pour étudier la demande d’autorisation, autorise par écrit le stage du membre et lui désigne un maître de stage chargé de le superviser qui compte au moins 5 ans d’expérience en comptabilité publique. Le maître de stage ne doit pas avoir fait l’objet d’une sanction disciplinaire du conseil de discipline de l’Ordre ou du Tribunal des professions.
La décision d’autorisation du stage est transmise au membre.
D. 1199-2009, a. 4.
5. Le membre doit aviser le secrétaire et son maître de stage de toute modification au stage initialement autorisé par le Conseil d’administration. Le secrétaire soumet au processus d’autorisation prévu à l’article 4 toutes les modifications qui ont une incidence sur les exigences prévues à l’article 3.
D. 1199-2009, a. 5.
6. Le stage autorisé est réputé avoir débuté à la date où les formalités de la demande d’autorisation ont été complétées, conformément à l’article 4.
D. 1199-2009, a. 6.
7. Au terme de chaque année du stage, un questionnaire d’évaluation fourni par le Conseil d’administration doit être rempli par le membre et soumis à son maître de stage dans les 30 jours.
Le maître de stage vérifie si le questionnaire d’évaluation a été correctement rempli et formule dans un rapport ses recommandations. Ce rapport contient une section relative à l’appréciation du candidat laquelle porte notamment sur les éléments suivants:
1°  conscience professionnelle et intégrité;
2°  compétence;
3°  relations humaines et communication;
4°  personnalité;
5°  discipline personnelle.
Le maître de stage transmet, dans les meilleurs délais, le questionnaire d’évaluation rempli et son rapport au secrétaire de l’Ordre et au membre. Il informe le secrétaire de la fin du stage.
D. 1199-2009, a. 7.
8. Lorsque le stage est complété, le secrétaire transmet les questionnaires d’évaluation remplis par le membre et les rapports du maître de stage au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration dont les membres ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration. Le comité étudie ces documents et formule au Conseil d’administration ses recommandations.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de la recommandation de ce comité, le Conseil d’administration décide si un membre satisfait ou non aux exigences du stage. Dans le cas où il n’a pas satisfait aux exigences du stage, le Conseil d’administration précise les éléments à compléter et le processus à suivre pour satisfaire aux exigences du stage. Le secrétaire informe par écrit le membre de cette décision dans les 15 jours de la date à laquelle elle a été rendue.
D. 1199-2009, a. 8.
9. Le membre qui est informé de la décision qu’il n’a pas satisfait aux exigences du stage peut en obtenir la révision par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration dont les membres ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration ni du comité visé à l’article 8. Il doit en faire la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de la décision. Il peut joindre à sa demande des observations écrites à l’intention du comité.
Le comité dispose d’un délai de 60 jours à compter de la date de la réception de la demande de révision pour prendre sa décision.
La décision est définitive et doit être transmise au membre dans les 30 jours de la date à laquelle elle a été rendue.
D. 1199-2009, a. 9.
SECTION II
NORMES DE DÉTENTION DU PERMIS DE COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
§ 1.  — Programme d’encadrement
10. Le membre titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique dont les heures exigées pour le stage en comptabilité publique ont été effectuées, en tout ou en partie, plus de 5 ans avant la date de la demande du permis de comptabilité publique doit compléter avec succès le programme d’encadrement déterminé par l’Ordre.
Ce programme consiste à réaliser des activités de comptabilité publique évaluées par un maître de stage. Il peut inclure la réussite de cours en comptabilité publique et des lectures dirigées avec ou sans évaluation.
Cependant, lorsque plus de la moitié des heures exigées pour le stage en comptabilité publique ont été effectuées plus de 5 ans avant la demande du permis de comptabilité publique, le programme inclut la réussite de cours en comptabilité publique, des lectures dirigées avec ou sans évaluation, ou l’une et l’autre de ces mesures.
Ce programme vise à permettre l’intégration et la mise à jour des normes et des responsabilités professionnelles dans le but de confirmer l’atteinte des objectifs prévus à l’article 2.
D. 1199-2009, a. 10.
11. L’Ordre détermine la durée du programme d’encadrement imposé au membre, laquelle ne doit pas excéder 24 mois. Aux fins de la détermination de la durée et du contenu du programme d’encadrement, l’Ordre tient compte de l’expérience professionnelle du membre en comptabilité publique.
D. 1199-2009, a. 11.
12. Le programme est organisé par l’Ordre et le membre est supervisé par un maître de stage, lequel doit compter au moins 5 ans d’expérience en comptabilité publique et doit n’avoir jamais fait l’objet d’une sanction disciplinaire du conseil de discipline de l’Ordre ou du Tribunal des professions.
Le programme est constitué de rencontres périodiques avec le maître de stage au cours desquelles celui-ci informe le membre de ses progrès et des améliorations à apporter, le cas échéant.
D. 1199-2009, a. 12.
13. Le maître de stage dresse le bilan de l’aptitude du membre à exercer la comptabilité publique en se référant aux dispositions de l’article 7 et il formule, dans les 30 jours suivant la fin du programme, un avis au comité formé à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration dont les membres ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration.
Le comité formule sa recommandation au Conseil d’administration dans les 90 jours suivant la réception de l’avis du maître de stage.
D. 1199-2009, a. 13.
14. Après la réception de la recommandation du comité, le Conseil d’administration décide si le membre a satisfait ou non aux exigences du programme d’encadrement. Il en informe par écrit le membre dans les 15 jours qui suivent la date de sa décision.
Dans le cas où il n’a pas satisfait aux exigences du programme d’encadrement, le Conseil d’administration en informe le membre et l’avise des éléments à compléter, tels que des cours de formation et des rencontres supplémentaires, ainsi que du processus à suivre pour satisfaire à ces exigences, conformément au présent règlement.
D. 1199-2009, a. 14.
15. Le membre qui est informé de la décision qu’il n’a pas satisfait aux exigences du programme d’encadrement peut en obtenir la révision par un comité formé par le Conseil d’administration dont les membres ne sont pas membres du Conseil d’administration ni du comité visé à l’article 13. Il doit en faire la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la réception de la décision. Il peut joindre à sa demande des observations écrites à l’intention du comité.
Le comité dispose d’un délai de 60 jours à compter de la date de la réception de la demande de révision pour rendre sa décision.
La décision est définitive et doit être transmise au membre dans les 30 jours de la date à laquelle elle a été rendue.
D. 1199-2009, a. 15.
§ 2.  — Assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle
16. Le membre titulaire du permis de comptabilité publique doit fournir à l’Ordre, au plus tard le 1er avril de chaque année, une preuve qu’il détient une garantie contre la responsabilité qu’il peut encourir en raison des fautes ou négligences commises dans l’exercice de la comptabilité publique.
D. 1199-2009, a. 16.
SECTION III
DISPOSITION FINALE
17. (Omis).
D. 1199-2009, a. 17.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1199-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 5684
D. 547-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 2848