C-48, r. 3 - Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec

Full text
chapter C-48, r. 3
Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec
CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS — CESSATION OF PRACTICE
Chartered Accountants Act
(chapter C-48, s. 3).
C-48
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
September 1 2012
Implicitly revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 31.
DIVISION I
SCOPE
1. This Regulation applies to the disposal of the records, books and registers held personally by a member of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec who ceases to practise.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, this Regulation does not apply to a member who is employed by a natural person, a legal person, a partnership of members or a government, or to an associate member in respect of the files of the partnership of which he is an associate. However, the Regulation applies where all the partners in a partnership of members cease to practise.
O.C. 351-93, s. 1.
DIVISION II
PERMANENT CESSATION OF PRACTICE
2. A member who decides to permanently cease to practise or who agrees to perform a duty which prevents him from completing the files on which he has been working shall, 15 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the registrar of the Order by registered mail of the date of cessation and of the name, address and telephone number of the member who has agreed to be the transferee of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the transfer agreement to the registrar, along with a list of the records transferred.
Where a member has not been able to arrange for a transfer, he shall advise the registrar by registered mail that he will hand over to the registrar the items referred to in section 1 on the date on which the cessation is to take effect.
O.C. 351-93, s. 2.
3. Where a member dies or is permanently struck off the roll, or where a member’s permit is revoked, the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 90 days following the death or within 30 days following the striking off or revocation, unless a transfer has been arranged, a copy of which shall be sent to the registrar, along with the information prescribed in section 2 and a list of the records transferred.
O.C. 351-93, s. 3.
4. Where a transfer had been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 351-93, s. 4.
5. Where a member permanently ceases to practise, as specified by sections 2 and 3, the transferee or the registrar, as the case may be, shall, within 30 days following the date on which the transferee or registrar takes possession of the items referred to in section 1:
(1)  have a notice published twice, at a 10-day interval, in a newspaper serving the region in which the member practised; the notice shall state
(a)  the date of taking of possession and the reasons therefor;
(b)  the time that clients have to accept the transfer, to take back the items from the records that belong to them or to request that the items be transferred to another professional; and
(c)  the address and telephone number of the transferee or the registrar and the office hours during which that person can be reached; or
(2)  send a notice in writing to each client of the member who has ceased to practise, stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1.
Where the notice has been published, a notice in writing stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1 shall also be sent to any client whose interests so warrant.
Where the notice is given or published by the transferee, a copy shall likewise be sent to the registrar.
O.C. 351-93, s. 5.
6. Where a transferee or the registrar is in possession of the items referred to in section 1, that person shall take the necessary measures to safeguard the interests of the member who has ceased to practise and those of the member’s clients and, if applicable, shall advise the clients of any information relative to the status of their records.
O.C. 351-93, s. 6.
7. A transferee or the registrar, as the case may be, shall respect a person’s right to consult and obtain copies of documents concerning the person and contained in a record made in the person’s regard. The cost of obtaining any copy shall be assumed by the person requesting them.
O.C. 351-93, s. 7.
8. Where a transferee or the registrar takes possession of items referred to in section 1, that person shall keep the items for a period of not less than 10 years, beginning from the date on which the cessation takes effect.
During that period, the registrar may transfer the items referred to in section 1 to a transferee, in which case the transferee is bound by the requirements of section 5.
O.C. 351-93, s. 8.
DIVISION III
TEMPORARY CESSATION OF PRACTICE
9. A member who decides to temporarily cease to practise for a period longer than 3 months or who agrees to temporarily perform a duty which prevents him, during the same time period, from completing the files on which he has been working shall, 15 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the registrar by registered mail of the date of cessation and of the name, address and telephone number of the member who has agreed to be the provisional custodian of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the provisional custodianship agreement to the registrar, along with a list of the records transferred.
Where a member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship, he shall so inform the registrar by registered mail; the registrar shall then notify the member of the date on which the registrar or the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the board of directors will take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 351-93, s. 9.
10. Where a member is temporarily struck off the roll or is under permit suspension for more than 3 months, the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 30 days of the event, unless the member had arranged for provisional custodianship, in which case the member shall send a copy of the agreement to the registrar within the same time period, along with the information prescribed by section 9 and a list of the records transferred.
Where a member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship, he shall so inform the registrar by registered mail; the registrar shall then notify the member of the date on which the registrar or the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the board of directors will take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 351-93, s. 10.
11. Where provisional custodianship has been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 351-93, s. 11.
12. Where a temporary cessation of practice, a temporary striking off the roll or a practice suspension lasts more than 3 months, the provisional custodian or the registrar is bound by the requirements of section 5.
O.C. 351-93, s. 12.
13. Sections 6, 7 and 8 apply to a provisional custodian or to the registrar where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 351-93, s. 13.
14. Immediately following the expiry of a temporary cessation of practice, a striking off the roll or a permit suspension, the registrar or the provisional custodian, as the case may be, shall deliver to the member the items referred to in section 1 of which the registrar or the provisional custodian had taken possession pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 351-93, s. 14.
DIVISION IV
RESTRICTION OF THE RIGHT TO PRACTISE
15. Where the disciplinary council or the board of directors makes a decision restricting the member’s right to practise and determining the professional acts that the member is not authorized to perform, the member shall find a provisional custodian within 30 days of the date on which the restriction is to take effect for the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
Where a member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship, the provisional custodian appointed by the board of directors or the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
O.C. 351-93, s. 15.
16. Where provisional custodianship has been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the registrar shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
The registrar may transfer the items referred to in section 1 to a provisional custodian, in which case the transferee is bound by the requirements of section 5 where the period of restriction is more than 3 months.
O.C. 351-93, s. 16.
17. Sections 6 and 7 apply to a povisional custodian or to the registrar, where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 351-93, s. 17.
18. Nothing in this Regulation shall be interpreted as excluding the use of data processing or any other technique for the keeping of records, provided that the confidentiality of these records is assured.
O.C. 351-93, s. 18.
19. (Omitted).
O.C. 351-93, s. 19.
20. (Omitted).
O.C. 351-93, s. 20.
REFERENCES
O.C. 351-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 1958
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

C-48, r. 3 - Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-48, r. 3
Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS — CESSATION D’EXERCICE
Loi sur les comptables agréés
(chapitre C-48, a. 3).
C-48
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Abrogé implicitement, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 31.
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à la disposition des dossiers, livres et registres détenus personnellement par un membre de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec qui cesse d’exercer sa profession.
Toutefois, le présent règlement ne s’applique pas à un membre qui cesse d’exercer sa profession alors qu’il est employé d’une personne physique ou morale, d’une société de membres ou d’un gouvernement ou à un membre associé à l’égard des dossiers de la société dont il est un associé. Toutefois, le règlement s’applique lorsque tous les associés d’une société de membres cessent d’exercer.
D. 351-93, a. 1.
SECTION II
CESSATION DÉFINITIVE D’EXERCICE
2. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser définitivement d’exercer sa profession ou accepte une fonction qui l’empêche de terminer ses mandats, il doit, 15 jours avant la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le registraire de l’Ordre, par courrier recommandé, de la date de la cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du membre qui a accepté d’être le cessionnaire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au registraire copie de la convention de cession ainsi que la liste des dossiers transmis.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une cession, il doit aviser le registraire, par courrier recommandé, qu’il le mettra en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 à la date fixée par la cessation d’exercice.
D. 351-93, a. 2.
3. Lorsqu’un membre décède, est radié de façon permanente ou que son permis est révoqué, le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 90 jours du décès ou dans les 30 jours de la radiation ou de la révocation, sauf si une cession est convenue dont une copie doit être transmise au registraire accompagnée des informations prescrites à l’article 2 ainsi que la liste des dossiers transmis.
D. 351-93, a. 3.
4. Dans les cas où une cession avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 351-93, a. 4.
5. Dans les cas prévus aux articles 2 et 3, le cessionnaire ou le registraire, selon le cas, doit, dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date où il prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, donner l’un ou l’autre des avis suivants:
1°  un avis publié 2 fois, à 10 jours d’intervalle, dans un journal desservant la région où exerçait le membre et qui donne les informations suivantes:
a)  la date et le motif de la prise de possession;
b)  le délai que les clients ont pour accepter la cession, reprendre les éléments du dossier qui leur appartiennent, ou en demander le transfert à un autre professionnel;
c)  les adresse, numéro de téléphone et heures de bureau où le cessionnaire ou le registraire peut être rejoint;
2°  un avis écrit qui donne à chaque client du membre qui a cessé d’exercer les informations prévues au paragraphe 1.
Lorsque l’avis a été publié et que l’intérêt d’un client le requiert, un avis écrit contenant les informations prévues au paragraphe 1 doit en outre lui être adressé.
Lorsque l’avis est donné ou publié par le cessionnaire, il doit en transmettre copie au registraire.
D. 351-93, a. 5.
6. Lorsqu’il est en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, le cessionnaire ou le registraire doit prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires afin de sauvegarder les intérêts du membre qui a cessé d’exercer et ceux de ses clients et, s’il y a lieu, communiquer à ces derniers les renseignements relatifs à l’état de leurs dossiers.
D. 351-93, a. 6.
7. Le cessionnaire ou le registraire, selon le cas, doit respecter le droit d’une personne de prendre connaissance des documents qui la concernent dans tout dossier constitué à son sujet et d’obtenir copie de ces documents. Les frais de l’obtention des copies sont à la charge du demandeur.
D. 351-93, a. 7.
8. Le cessionnaire ou le registraire qui prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 doit les conserver pendant une période d’au moins 10 ans à compter de la date de la cessation.
Le registraire peut, durant cette période, céder les éléments visés à l’article 1 à un cessionnaire mais ce dernier est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 5.
D. 351-93, a. 8.
SECTION III
CESSATION TEMPORAIRE D’EXERCICE
9. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser temporairement d’exercer sa profession pour plus de 3 mois ou qu’il accepte temporairement pour ce même délai une fonction qui l’empêche de terminer ses mandats, il doit, 15 jours avant la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le registraire, par courrier recommandé, de la date de cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du membre qui a accepté d’être le gardien provisoire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au registraire une copie de la convention de garde provisoire ainsi que la liste des dossiers transmis.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire, il en avise le registraire, par courrier recommandé, qui l’avisera de la date à laquelle lui ou le gardien provisoire nommé par le Conseil d’administration prendra possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 351-93, a. 9.
10. Lorsqu’un membre est radié de façon temporaire ou que son permis est suspendu pour plus de 3 mois, le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 30 jours de la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités sauf si ce membre convient d’une garde provisoire dont il doit transmettre dans le même délai une copie au registraire accompagnée des informations prescrites à l’article 9 ainsi que la liste des dossiers transmis.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire, il en avise le registraire, par courrier recommandé, qui l’avisera de la date à laquelle lui ou un gardien provisoire nommé par le Conseil d’administration prendra possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 351-93, a. 10.
11. Dans les cas où une garde provisoire avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 351-93, a. 11.
12. Dans le cas où la cessation temporaire, la radiation temporaire ou la suspension du droit d’exercice est de plus de 3 mois, le gardien provisoire ou le registraire est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 5.
D. 351-93, a. 12.
13. Les articles 6, 7 et 8 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au registraire qui prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 351-93, a. 13.
14. Le registraire ou le gardien provisoire, selon le cas, doit remettre au membre les éléments visés à l’article 1 dont il a pris possession en vertu de la présente section, immédiatement à l’expiration de la période de cessation temporaire d’exercice, de la radiation temporaire ou de la suspension.
D. 351-93, a. 14.
SECTION IV
LIMITATION DU DROIT D’EXERCICE
15. Lorsqu’une décision a été rendue par le conseil de discipline ou le Conseil d’administration contre un membre limitant son droit d’exercice et déterminant les actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser, celui-ci doit trouver un membre pour agir comme gardien provisoire dans les 30 jours de prise d’effet de cette limitation pour les éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire, le gardien provisoire nommé par le Conseil d’administration ou le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels que le membre n’est pas autorisé à poser.
D. 351-93, a. 15.
16. Dans les cas où une garde provisoire avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le registraire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
Le registraire peut céder les éléments visés à l’article 1 à un gardien provisoire mais ce dernier est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 5 dans le cas d’une limitation de plus de 3 mois.
D. 351-93, a. 16.
17. Les articles 6 et 7 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au registraire qui prend possession d’éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 351-93, a. 17.
18. Rien dans le présent règlement ne doit être interprété comme excluant l’utilisation de l’informatique ou de toute autre technique pour la conservation des dossiers, pourvu que leur confidentialité soit respectée.
D. 351-93, a. 18.
19. (Omis).
D. 351-93, a. 19.
20. (Omis).
D. 351-93, a. 20.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 351-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 2448
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212