C-48, r. 14 - Regulation respecting mandatory continuing education for Québec chartered accountants who practice public accountancy

Full text
chapter C-48, r. 14
Regulation respecting mandatory continuing education for Québec chartered accountants who practice public accountancy
CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS — MANDATORY CONTINUING — PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY
Chartered Accountants Act
(chapter C-48, s. 3).
C-48
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 187.10.2).
C-26
September 1 2012
Implicitly revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 31.
DIVISION I
CONTINUING EDUCATION
1. Members of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec who practice public accountancy shall, unless exempt pursuant to Division IV, devote at least 60 hours per 3-year reference period to continuing education activities in financial reporting and updates of generally accepted audit and review standards, with a minimum of 15 hours in each reference year.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 1.
2. A person who registers on the Order’s membership roll after 1 September of a given year shall, unless exempt pursuant to Division IV, accumulate a minimum of 2 hours of continuing education activities per month in the areas referred to in section 1, whether the month is a full month or not, by the end of the current reference year. Such person shall accumulate at least 15 hours in these areas per full reference year.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 2.
3. Members shall choose continuing education activities that are best suited to their needs from among those included in the program prepared by the Order in accordance with section 5.
Continuing education activities shall include:
(1)  courses offered or organized by the Order, the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, other professional orders, or similar organizations;
(2)  courses offered by educational or specialized institutions recognized by the Order;
(3)  formal courses or continuing education activities offered in the workplace;
(4)  symposiums, seminars or conferences with a prevalence of technical or educational content;
(5)  various formal training sessions, particularly case studies within technical study groups;
(6)  distance learning activities;
(7)  participation in discussion groups and on technical committees;
(8)  acting as a lecturer, instructor or preparer for activities contemplated in subparagraphs 1 to 7;
(9)  authorship of published professional articles;
(10)  participation in research projects.
However, as part of the 60 hours to be accumulated in a given reference period, the board of directors may impose on members who practice public accountancy a specific activity listed in the program of continuing education activities contemplated in section 5.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 3.
DIVISION II
CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES PROGRAM
4. A continuing education activity must allow members to maintain, update, improve or enhance their skills or professional, technological or ethical knowledge related to the practice of the profession of public accountancy.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 4.
5. The Order shall establish the program of continuing education activities to be followed by the membership as a whole or a class of members. In particular, the Order shall:
(1)  set the start and end date of the reference period contemplated in section 1 for the membership as a whole or each class of members;
(2)  determine which continuing education activities in the areas described in section 1 will be included in the program and, where applicable, the persons, organizations and educational or specialized institutions that may organize or offer them;
(3)  determine, as appropriate, the activities it will impose under subparagraph 4 of section 3;
(4)  establish, where appropriate, criteria for calculating the number of required hours under section 1, where that number differs from the actual duration of the activity.
When determining the activities to be included in the program and, where appropriate, establishing the criteria for calculating the number of qualifying hours for an activity, the Order shall take into consideration:
(1)  the relationship between the activity and the practice of public accountancy;
(2)  the competence and qualifications of the instructor in relation to the subject matter;
(3)  the relevance of the instruction content;
(4)  the relationship between instruction content and the requirements set out in section 3;
(5)  compliance with the continuing education objectives set out in section 4;
(6)  the fact that the instruction objectives are measurable and verifiable.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 5.
DIVISION III
VERIFICATION
6. Members shall submit to the Order, not later than 30 days after the end of each reference year within a reference period, a duly completed continuing education activity report using the form provided by the Order, together with any attestations prescribed by regulation. The report shall indicate the continuing education activities engaged in during the reference year, their appropriateness in relation to the conditions provided for under section 1 and the objectives set out in sections 3 and 4, the number of hours completed or whether the member has been exempted pursuant to Division IV.
To determine whether a member has met the requirements of this Regulation, the Order may require relevant and reliable supporting documents in addition to the continuing education activity report, including receipts identifying the activities engaged in, their duration and content, the organization or person offering the activity and, if applicable, a certificate of participation or an attestation of results obtained.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 6.
7. Successful completion of the continuing education activity or, if there is no evaluation, the member’s attendance, are the criteria by which the Order recognizes that members have engaged in a continuing education activity for purposes of meeting the requirements of this Regulation.
However, where the activity is not evaluated and attendance is not required, the Order shall recognize that members have engaged in a continuing education activity if the members attest to having acquired sufficient knowledge of the activity’s content to adequately carry on their professional activities.
Where the Order has identified continuing education activities that members are required to attend, their attendance may be verified by any means established by the Order, including an attendance sheet signed by the member.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 7.
8. The Order shall send a notice to the member specifying the continuing education activities it does not recognize and the reasons for refusing them not later than 180 days following the date specified for submitting the report provided for in section 6.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 8.
9. Members may request that a committee established by the board of directors review the Order’s decision by submitting a written application within 30 days of receipt of the notice provided for in section 8.
The committee shall consist of persons who did not participate in the decision for which a review is being requested.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 9.
10. Members shall keep the documents in support of their reported hours for 12 months following the end of the reference period.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 10.
DIVISION IV
EXEMPTIONS
11. Members who have attended or intend to attend a continuing education activity that is not listed in the program adopted by the Order are exempted, for a given reference period, from having to attend a continuing education activity provided for in this program as long as the content of the unlisted activity is equivalent to that of an activity listed in the program.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 11.
12. Members may be exempted pursuant to section 11 if they submit a written request for recognition of the unlisted activity to the Order at least 30 days before the scheduled date of the activity or within 60 days of having attended such activity, as the case may be.
The request shall be accompanied by an attestation of the member’s attendance or of successful completion or, if applicable, by the transcript of results. The request for recognition shall include:
(1)  a description of the continuing education activity;
(2)  the duration of the activity;
(3)  the number of hours requested for the activity;
(4)  the name and address of the person, organization or institution offering the activity;
(5)  any other information deemed relevant for recognition purposes.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 12.
13. Members may be exempted, for a given reference period, from having to attend a continuing education activity listed in the program adopted by the Order if they can demonstrate that they are unable to attend due to overwhelming circumstances.
The fact that the disciplinary council, the Professions Tribunal, or the board of directors has suspended or imposed limitations on a member’s right to engage in professional activities, or struck a member off the roll, does not constitute overwhelming circumstances.
Exemptions are not to exceed 12 months and are renewable.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 13.
14. Members may obtain an exemption pursuant to section 13 by completing the Order’s form and providing:
(1)  the reasons for the exemption request;
(2)  a doctor’s note or any other evidence attesting to the overwhelming circumstances.
As soon as the overwhelming circumstances have been resolved, the member shall advise the Order in writing and satisfy the obligations provided for in this Regulation, under the terms and conditions set by the Order.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 14.
DIVISION V
PENALTIES
15. The Order shall send a notice to members who fail to comply with the continuing education requirement setting out the unfulfilled obligations, the penalties members face and the timeframe allowed for remedial action, which cannot be less than 30 days or more than 60 days and begins with the receipt or service of the notice.
Continuing education hours completed after receiving a default notice may only be credited to the reference period during which the member was in default.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 15.
16. The Order shall send a final notice to members who fail to remedy the situation before the deadline determined by the Order, specifying that they have an additional 15 days from the date of receipt of the final notice to comply.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 16.
17. The Order shall suspend or limit the right to engage in professional activities or strike off the roll those members who have not remedied the default described in the notice before the deadline set out in section 16.
The Order shall notify members in writing of the penalty imposed.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 17.
18. The suspension or limitation of the right to engage in professional activities, or the striking off the roll of the Order shall remain in effect until the person provides evidence to the Order that the requirements listed in the default notice provided for in section 16 have been met and the penalty is waived by the Order.
O.C. 648-2009, s. 18.
DIVISION VI
FINAL PROVISION
19. (Omitted).
O.C. 648-2009, s. 19.
REFERENCES
O.C. 648-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1839 and 3673

C-48, r. 14 - Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire des comptables agréés du Québec qui exercent la comptabilité publique

Texte complet
chapitre C-48, r. 14
Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire des comptables agréés du Québec qui exercent la comptabilité publique
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS — FORMATION CONTINUE — COMPTABILITÉ PUBLIQUE
Loi sur les comptables agréés
(chapitre C-48, a. 3).
C-48
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 187.10.2).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Abrogé implicitement, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 31.
SECTION I
FORMATION CONTINUE
1. Le membre de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec qui exerce la comptabilité publique doit, à moins d’en être dispensé conformément à la section IV, accumuler au moins 60 heures de formation, par période de référence de 3 ans, dans les domaines de la présentation de l’information financière et la mise à jour des normes de vérification et d’examen généralement reconnues, dont un minimum de 15 heures par année de référence.
D. 648-2009, a. 1.
2. La personne qui s’inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre après le 1er septembre d’une année doit, à moins d’en être dispensée conformément à la section IV, accumuler à la fin de la période de référence en cours un minimum de 2 heures de formation continue dans les domaines décrits à l’article 1 pour chaque mois complet ou non. Elle doit en outre accumuler au moins 15 heures dans ces domaines par année complète de référence.
D. 648-2009, a. 2.
3. Le membre choisit les activités de formation parmi celles prévues au programme élaboré par l’Ordre conformément à l’article 5. Il choisit celles qui répondent le mieux à ses besoins.
Les activités de formation doivent être les suivantes:
1°  la participation à des cours offerts ou organisés par l’Ordre, l’Institut Canadien des Comptables Agréés ou par d’autres ordres professionnels ou des organismes similaires;
2°  la participation à des cours offerts par des établissements d’enseignement ou des institutions spécialisées reconnues par l’Ordre;
3°  la participation à des cours ou à des formations structurés offerts en milieu de travail;
4°  la participation à des colloques, séminaires ou conférences dont le contenu est principalement de nature technique ou éducative;
5°  la participation à des sessions structurées de formation diverses, notamment des études de cas au sein de groupes d’études techniques;
6°  la participation à des formations à distance;
7°  la participation à des groupes de discussion et à des comités techniques;
8°  le fait d’agir à titre de conférencier, de formateur ou de préparateur pour les activités visées aux paragraphes 1 à 7;
9°  la rédaction d’articles spécialisés publiés;
10°  la participation à des projets de recherche.
Toutefois, le Conseil d’administration peut imposer aux membres qui exercent la comptabilité publique, dans les 60 heures à accumuler pour une période de référence donnée, une activité de formation particulière parmi les activités prévues au programme visé à l’article 5.
D. 648-2009, a. 3.
SECTION II
PROGRAMME D’ACTIVITÉS DE FORMATION CONTINUE
4. Une activité de formation continue doit permettre le maintien, la mise à jour, l’amélioration ou l’approfondissement des habiletés ou des connaissances professionnelles, technologiques ou déontologiques liées à l’exercice de la comptabilité publique.
D. 648-2009, a. 4.
5. L’Ordre adopte le programme d’activités de formation que doit suivre l’ensemble des membres ou une classe d’entre eux. L’Ordre:
1°  fixe pour l’ensemble ou pour chacune des classes de membres, la date du début et de la fin de la période de référence visée à l’article 1;
2°  détermine les activités de formation dans les domaines décrits à l’article 1 prévues au programme ainsi que, le cas échéant, les personnes, les organismes, les établissements d’enseignement ou les institutions spécialisées qui les organisent ou les offrent;
3°  détermine, s’il y a lieu, les activités qu’il impose en application du quatrième alinéa de l’article 3;
4°  attribue aux activités, s’il y a lieu, une norme de calcul de leur durée admissible pour la computation des heures exigées en application de l’article 1 qui diffère de la durée réelle de l’activité.
Aux fins de la détermination des activités prévues au programme et, s’il y a lieu, de la norme de calcul de leur durée admissible d’une activité, l’Ordre considère les critères suivants:
1°  le lien entre l’activité et l’exercice de la comptabilité publique;
2°  la compétence et les qualifications du formateur en rapport avec le sujet traité;
3°  la pertinence de la formation;
4°  le lien entre le contenu de la formation et les exigences visées à l’article 3;
5°  le respect des objectifs de formation continue visés à l’article 4;
6°  le fait que les objectifs poursuivis par l’activité de formation sont mesurables et vérifiables.
D. 648-2009, a. 5.
SECTION III
MODES DE CONTRÔLE
6. Le membre transmet à l’Ordre, au plus tard 30 jours après la fin de chacune des années d’une période de référence, un rapport de formation dûment rempli sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre ainsi que les attestations prévues au règlement. Le rapport de formation doit indiquer les activités de formation suivies au cours de l’année de référence, leur adéquation avec les conditions prévues à l’article 1 et les objectifs visés aux articles 3 et 4, le nombre d’heures accumulées ou le fait que le membre a obtenu une dispense conformément à la section IV.
Pour déterminer si le membre a satisfait aux exigences du présent règlement, l’Ordre peut exiger tout document pertinent et fiable en plus du rapport de formation, notamment les pièces justificatives permettant d’identifier les activités suivies, leur durée, leur contenu, par qui elles ont été offertes ainsi que, le cas échéant, l’attestation de la présence du membre ou le résultat qu’il a obtenu.
D. 648-2009, a. 6.
7. La réussite de l’activité de formation ou, à défaut d’évaluation, la présence à cette activité constituent les critères par lesquels l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie aux fins de satisfaire aux exigences du présent règlement.
Toutefois, lorsque l’activité ne fait pas l’objet d’une évaluation et que la présence d’un membre n’est pas requise, l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie si le membre atteste avoir acquis une connaissance suffisante de son contenu pour exercer adéquatement ses activités professionnelles.
Lorsque l’Ordre détermine des activités de formation continue où la présence d’un membre est obligatoire, celle-ci peut être contrôlée par tout moyen que l’Ordre établit, notamment une feuille de présence signée par le membre.
D. 648-2009, a. 7.
8. L’Ordre transmet au membre, au plus tard 180 jours après la date fixée pour la production du rapport visé à l’article 6, un avis précisant les activités de formation qu’il ne reconnaît pas et les motifs qui justifient ce refus.
D. 648-2009, a. 8.
9. Le membre peut demander au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration la révision de la décision de l’Ordre en transmettant une demande écrite dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la réception de l’avis visé à l’article 8.
Ce comité est formé de personnes qui n’ont pas participé à la décision dont la révision est demandée.
D. 648-2009, a. 9.
10. Le membre doit conserver, jusqu’à l’expiration des 12 mois suivant la fin de la période de référence, les documents à l’appui des heures déclarées.
D. 648-2009, a. 10.
SECTION IV
DISPENSES DE FORMATION CONTINUE
11. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre, le membre qui a participé ou qui entend participer à une activité de formation qui n’apparaît pas à ce programme dans la mesure où l’activité a un contenu équivalent à celle prévue à ce programme.
D. 648-2009, a. 11.
12. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 11 s’il transmet par écrit à l’Ordre une demande de reconnaissance de cette activité, selon le cas, au moins 30 jours avant la date prévue de l’activité ou dans les 60 jours qui suivent la participation à cette activité.
La demande doit être accompagnée d’une attestation de la présence du membre à l’activité ou de la réussite de celle-ci ou, s’il y a lieu, du relevé de notes. Cette demande doit contenir les renseignements suivants:
1°  une description de l’activité de formation visée;
2°  la durée de l’activité;
3°  le nombre d’heures de formation demandées pour cette activité;
4°  le nom et l’adresse de la personne, de l’organisme ou de l’établissement responsable de l’activité;
5°  tout autre renseignement jugé pertinent à la reconnaissance de l’activité de formation.
D. 648-2009, a. 12.
13. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre le membre qui démontre qu’il est dans l’impossibilité de la suivre.
Ne constitue pas un cas d’impossibilité le fait qu’un membre ait fait l’objet d’une radiation, d’une suspension ou d’une limitation du droit d’exercer des activités professionnelles par le conseil de discipline, le Tribunal des professions ou le Conseil d’administration.
La durée de la dispense ne peut excéder 12 mois et peut être renouvelée.
D. 648-2009, a. 13.
14. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 13 s’il en fait la demande à l’Ordre en remplissant le formulaire de l’Ordre prévu à cet effet et s’il fournit:
1°  les motifs justifiant sa dispense;
2°  un billet médical ou toute autre preuve attestant qu’il se trouve dans une situation d’impossibilité.
Dès que l’impossibilité cesse, le membre doit en aviser immédiatement l’Ordre par écrit et remplir les obligations prévues par le présent règlement aux conditions déterminées par l’Ordre.
D. 648-2009, a. 14.
SECTION V
SANCTIONS
15. L’Ordre transmet au membre qui n’a pas respectéson obligation de formation continue un avis dans lequel il énonce les obligations non remplies, les sanctions auxquelles il s’expose, ainsi que le délai qu’il lui accorde pour remédier à son défaut. Ce délai ne peut être inférieur à 30 jours ni excéder 60 jours et court à compter de la réception de cet avis.
Les heures de formation accumulées à la suite de ce défaut ne peuvent être accordées que pour la période de référence visée par le défaut.
D. 648-2009, a. 15.
16. L’Ordre transmet au membre qui n’a pas remédié à son défaut dans le délai fixé par l’Ordre un avis final qui l’informe qu’il dispose d’un délai additionnel de 15 jours à compter de la réception de ce nouvel avis pour s’y conformer.
D. 648-2009, a. 16.
17. Lorsque le membre n’a pas remédié à la situation décrite dans l’avis et dans le délai prévus à l’article 16, l’Ordre suspend ou limite son droit d’exercer des activités professionnelles, ou le radie du tableau de l’Ordre.
L’Ordre avise le membre par écrit de la sanction qu’il lui a imposée.
D. 648-2009, a. 17.
18. La suspension, la limitation du droit d’exercer des activités professionnelles ou la radiation du tableau de l’Ordre demeure en vigueur jusqu’à ce que la personne qui en fait l’objet fournisse à l’Ordre la preuve qu’elle a satisfait aux exigences contenues dans l’avis de défaut prévu à l’article 16 et jusqu’à ce que cette sanction ait été levée par l’Ordre.
D. 648-2009, a. 18.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITION FINALE
19. (Omis).
D. 648-2009, a. 19.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 648-2009, 2009 G. O. 2, 2679 et 5369