C-48, r. 1 - Regulation respecting the business of the board of directors, the executive committee and general meetings of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec

Full text
chapter C-48, r. 1
Regulation respecting the business of the board of directors, the executive committee and general meetings of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec
CHARTERED ACCOUNTANTS — BUSINESS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Chartered Accountants Act
(chapter C-48, s. 3).
C-48
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, ss. 93, pars. a and e and 94, pars. a and b).
C-26
September 1 2012
Implicitly revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 31.
DIVISION I
BOARD OF DIRECTORS
1. If the president is elected by a general vote of the members of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec, the board of directors shall consist of 29 directors including the president.
If the president is elected by a vote of the elected directors, the board of directors shall consist of 28 directors including the president.
The president and all the directors must be Canadian citizens and domiciled in Québec.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 1.
2. The president shall determine the date, the place and the time of ordinary meetings of the board of directors.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 2.
3. The president shall determine the procedure and the place where special meetings of the board of directors are held.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 3.
4. Any notice of a meeting of the board of directors must indicate the date, the place and the time of the meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 4.
5. An ordinary meeting of the board of directors shall be called by the secretary by sending a notice in writing with the agenda to each member of the board of directors at least 5 clear days before the date of the meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 5.
6. A special meeting of the board of directors shall be called by the secretary either by sending a notice in writing by mail, telegram, cablegram, fax or messenger, or by verbal notice given at least 48 hours before the meeting in a case of emergency. The notice shall indicate the matters for which the meeting was called.
Only the matters mentioned in the notice may be discussed at a special meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 6.
7. Notwithstanding sections 5 and 6, a meeting of the board of directors shall be considered to be regularly held if all the members are present and waive the notice of meeting or if, where they are not present or not physically in attendance at the place where the meeting of the board of directors is held, all the members participate in a conference telephone call and waive the notice of meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 7.
8. The vice-president shall chair the meeting of the board of directors where the president wishes to participate in the discussion. The board of directors shall designate one of its members to chair the meeting where the president and vice-president are absent or where the vice-president chairs the meeting and wishes to participate in the discussion.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 8.
9. Each time the president adjourns the meeting of the board of directors for lack of a quorum, the secretary shall record in the minutes the time of adjournment and the names of the members of the board of directors in attendance.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 9.
10. The board of directors shall sit in private. It may, where the majority of the members of the board of directors so wish, permit certain persons to attend the meeting or to take part in it.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 10.
11. The members of the board of directors shall vote by secret ballot where at least 2 of them so request. The president shall thereupon appoint 2 scrutineers for the purpose of taking the vote.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 11.
12. The immediate past president is entitled, for the duration of the term of his successor, to attend all meetings of the board of directors in an advisory capacity.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 12.
13. In addition to the duties devolved upon him by section 80 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), the president shall be a member of all the committees of the Order, except for the disciplinary council and the professional inspection committee.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 13.
14. The president shall be the sole person authorized to speak for the Order on matters relating to its business or concerning the practice of the profession.
He may designate another person to act as a spokesperson authorized by the Order on matters relating to the practice of the profession.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 14.
15. The vice-president of the Order shall assist the president in the execution of his duties and, in his absence or where he is unable to act, he shall exercise the duties and powers of the president.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 15.
16. At the first meeting of the board of directors immediately following the taking of office of the president or of a director, the first matter on the agenda must be the swearing-in of the new member of the board of directors. The taking of the oath of discretion shall be done in the form shown in Schedule II to the Code.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 16.
17. Any member of the board of directors may express his personal opinion in public on matters relating to the business of the Order or to the practice of the profession, if he forewarns his audience that the ideas he is expressing are his own and are not necessarily shared by the board of directors.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 17.
18. A member of the board of directors who is in a conflict of interest over an issue must reveal it. The president shall decide, forthwith, whether this section applies to that member and whether he must refrain from voting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 18.
DIVISION II
EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
19. The elected members of the board of directors shall elect each year 1 vice-president and 2 advisors from among their number; a third advisor shall be appointed by an annual vote of the members of the board of directors among the members appointed by the Office des professions du Québec. Those persons, including the president of the Order, form the executive committee.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 19.
20. Any notice of meeting for a sitting of the executive committee must indicate the date, the place and the time of the sitting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 20.
21. An ordinary sitting of the executive committee shall be called by the secretary by means of a notice in writing transmitted to each member of the committee at least 3 days before the date of the sitting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 21.
22. The president or, on his request, the secretary may convene all the members of the executive committee to a special sitting, either by telephone, telegram, fax or messenger, at least 24 hours before the time of the sitting. That notice must indicate the matters for which the sitting was called.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 22.
23. Notwithstanding sections 21 and 22, a sitting of the executive committee shall be considered to be regularly held if all the members are present or if, where they are not present or not physically in attendance at the place where the sitting is held, all the members participate in a conference telephone call and waive the notice of meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 23.
24. In the case of a tie-vote, the chair shall have a second vote.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 24.
DIVISION III
GENERAL MEETINGS
25. Any general meeting of the members of the Order shall be held at the date, the place and the time determined by the executive committee.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 25.
26. Any notice of a general meeting must indicate the date, the place, the time and the proposed agenda of the meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 26.
27. The proposed agenda of a general meeting shall be drawn up by the executive committee.
In the case of a special general meeting called on the request in writing of the members of the Order in accordance with section 106 of the Code, the proposed agenda must contain the matters written in that request.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 27.
28. The secretary shall call a general meeting by sending a notice of meeting by mail to each member of the Order at least 30 days before the date of such a meeting.
The secretary shall also send the notice of meeting and any other document addressed to the members of the Order for that meeting to each director appointed in accordance with section 78 of the Code, within that same period.
In the case of a special general meeting, the period mentioned in the first paragraph shall be at least 5 days.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 28.
29. Besides the manner of calling the meetings prescribed in the first paragraph of section 28, the secretary may call the annual general meeting by means of a notice of meeting published or inserted in a publication that the Order sends to each member of the Order at least 30 days before the date of the meeting; that notice must be at least 100 cm2 and presented under the title «NOTICE OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING».
In such case, the secretary shall send to each director appointed in accordance with section 78 of the Code, at least 30 days before the date of the meeting, a copy of the publication in which that notice was published or inserted, and any other document sent to the members of the Order for that meeting.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 29.
30. In a special general meeting, only matters mentioned in the proposed agenda shall be discussed.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 30.
31. At all general meetings of the members of the Order, 75 members shall form a quorum.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 31.
32. If the general meeting cannot begin for lack of a quorum within 90 minutes following the time mentioned in the notice of meeting, the secretary shall record that fact in the minutes and another general meeting shall be called.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 32.
33. The members of the Order present shall vote by secret ballot where at least 25 of them so request. The chair of the meeting shall thereupon appoint 2 scrutineers for the purpose of taking the vote.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 33.
34. All decisions shall be taken by a majority of the members present. In the case of a tie-vote, the chair of the meeting shall have a second vote which is a casting vote.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 34.
35. A general meeting may be adjourned by resolution of a majority of the members present, in which case only matters on the agenda of that meeting may be discussed when the meeting resumes.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 35.
DIVISION IV
MISCELLANEOUS
36. Any cheque issued by the Order must be signed either by 2 elected members of the board of directors, or by 2 persons appointed by the board of directors for that purpose.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 36.
37. The head office of the Order shall be situated in the territory of the Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 37.
38. Where none of the rules of procedure set forth in the Code or in this Regulation provides a solution to a particular situation, the rules set forth in Procédure des assemblées délibérantes, Victor Morin, 1972, 4e édition, shall apply, with the necessary modifications.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 38.
39. The seal of the Order shall be that of the imprint appearing in the copy of this Regulation kept by the secretary.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 39.
40. Any member of the board of directors or of the executive committee shall be entitled to the reimbursement of all expenses incurred in the performance of his duties, upon production of vouchers.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 40.
41. Any notice to a member of the Order shall be mailed prepaid through the post at Montréal, addressed to the member at his address appearing on the roll of the Order, or, if his address does not appear therein, to his last address known to the secretary.
The non-receipt of a notice by any member shall not invalidate the actions or proceedings of any general meeting of the members of the Order.
O.C. 1050-91, s. 41.
42. (Omitted).
O.C. 1050-91, s. 42.
43. (Omitted).
O.C. 1050-91, s. 43.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1050-91, 1991 G.O. 2, 3219
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, ss. 212 and 213

C-48, r. 1 - Règlement sur les affaires du Conseil d’administration, le comité exécutif et les assemblées générales de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre C-48, r. 1
Règlement sur les affaires du Conseil d’administration, le comité exécutif et les assemblées générales de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS — AFFAIRES DU CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
Loi sur les comptables agréés
(chapitre C-48, a. 3).
C-48
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. a et e et a. 94, par. a et b).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Abrogé implicitement, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 31.
SECTION I
CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION
1. Si le président est élu au suffrage universel des membres de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec, le Conseil d’administration est formé de 29 administrateurs dont le président.
Si le président est élu au suffrage des administrateurs élus, le Conseil d’administration est formé de 28 administrateurs dont le président.
Le président et tous les administrateurs doivent être citoyens canadiens et domiciliés au Québec.
D. 1050-91, a. 1.
2. Le président fixe la date, le lieu et l’heure des réunions ordinaires du Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 2.
3. Le président fixe les modalités et l’endroit où se tiennent les réunions extraordinaires du Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 3.
4. Tout avis de convocation à une réunion du Conseil d’administration doit indiquer la date, le lieu et l’heure de cette réunion.
D. 1050-91, a. 4.
5. Une réunion ordinaire du Conseil d’administration est convoquée par le secrétaire au moyen d’un avis écrit accompagné de l’ordre du jour transmis à chaque membre du Conseil d’administration au moins 5 jours francs avant la date de la réunion.
D. 1050-91, a. 5.
6. Une réunion extraordinaire du Conseil d’administration est convoquée par le secrétaire soit par avis écrit transmis par la poste, télégramme, câblogramme, télécopieur ou messager, soit par avis verbal donné au moins 48 heures avant la réunion s’il y a urgence. Cet avis indique les sujets pour lesquels elle a été convoquée.
Une réunion extraordinaire ne porte que sur les sujets mentionnés dans l’avis de convocation.
D. 1050-91, a. 6.
7. Malgré les articles 5 et 6, une réunion du Conseil d’administration est considérée comme régulièrement tenue si tous ses membres sont présents et renoncent à l’avis de convocation ou si, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas présents ou n’assistent pas physiquement à l’endroit où se tient la réunion du Conseil d’administration, tous ses membres s’expriment lors d’une conférence téléphonique et renoncent à l’avis de convocation.
D. 1050-91, a. 7.
8. Le vice-président préside la réunion du Conseil d’administration lorsque le président désire prendre part au débat. Le Conseil d’administration désigne l’un de ses membres pour présider la réunion lorsque le président et le vice-président sont absents ou lorsque le vice-président préside la réunion et désire prendre part au débat.
D. 1050-91, a. 8.
9. Chaque fois que le président ajourne une réunion du Conseil d’administration faute de quorum, le secrétaire inscrit au procès-verbal l’heure d’ajournement et les noms des membres présents du Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 9.
10. Le Conseil d’administration siège à huis clos. Toutefois, il peut, lorsque la majorité des membres du Conseil d’administration le désire, autoriser certaines personnes à assister ou à participer à la réunion.
D. 1050-91, a. 10.
11. Les membres du Conseil d’administration votent par scrutin secret lorsqu’au moins 2 d’entre eux le demandent. Le président désigne alors 2 scrutateurs pour prendre le vote.
D. 1050-91, a. 11.
12. Le président sortant a droit, pendant la durée du mandat de son successeur, d’assister à titre consultatif à toutes les réunions du Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 12.
13. Outre les fonctions qui lui sont dévolues à l’article 80 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), le président est membre de tous les comités de l’Ordre, à l’exception du conseil de discipline et du comité d’inspection professionnelle.
D. 1050-91, a. 13.
14. Le président est la seule personne autorisée à s’exprimer au nom de l’Ordre sur des sujets relatifs aux affaires de celui-ci ou concernant l’exercice de la profession.
Toutefois, il peut désigner une autre personne pour agir comme porte-parole autorisé de l’Ordre sur des sujets relatifs à l’exercice de la profession.
D. 1050-91, a. 14.
15. Le vice-président de l’Ordre assiste le président dans l’exercice de ses fonctions et, en l’absence ou au cas empêchement d’agir de ce dernier, il exerce les fonctions et pouvoirs du président.
D. 1050-91, a. 15.
16. À la première réunion du Conseil d’administration qui suit immédiatement l’entrée en fonction du président ou d’un administrateur, le premier sujet à l’ordre du jour doit être l’assermentation de ce nouveau membre du Conseil d’administration. La prestation du serment de discrétion se fait selon la formule apparaissant à l’annexe II du Code.
D. 1050-91, a. 16.
17. Tout membre du Conseil d’administration peut exprimer en public son opinion personnelle sur des sujets relatifs aux affaires de l’Ordre ou à l’exercice de la profession, à condition qu’il mette le public en garde que les idées qu’il exprime lui sont personnelles et ne sont pas nécessairement partagées par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 17.
18. Le membre du Conseil d’administration qui est dans une situation de conflit d’intérêts sur une question doit le révéler. Le président décide, séance tenante, si ce membre tombe sous le coup du présent article et s’il doit s’abstenir de voter.
D. 1050-91, a. 18.
SECTION II
COMITÉ EXÉCUTIF
19. Les membres élus du Conseil d’administration élisent annuellement parmi eux 1 vice-président et 2 conseillers; un troisième conseiller est désigné par vote annuel des membres du Conseil d’administration parmi les membres nommés par l’Office des professions du Québec. Ces personnes, avec le président de l’Ordre, forment le comité exécutif.
D. 1050-91, a. 19.
20. Tout avis de convocation à une séance du comité exécutif doit indiquer la date, le lieu et l’heure de cette séance.
D. 1050-91, a. 20.
21. Une séance ordinaire du comité exécutif est convoquée par le secrétaire au moyen d’un avis écrit transmis à chaque membre de ce comité, au moins 3 jours avant la date de la séance.
D. 1050-91, a. 21.
22. Le président ou, à sa demande, le secrétaire peut convoquer tous les membres du comité exécutif à une séance extraordinaire, soit par téléphone, télégramme, télécopieur ou messager, au moins 4 heures avant la date de la tenue de la séance. Cet avis doit indiquer les sujets pour lesquels elle a été convoquée.
D. 1050-91, a. 22.
23. Malgré les articles 21 et 22, une séance du comité exécutif est considérée comme régulièrement tenue si tous ses membres sont présents et renoncent à l’avis de convocation ou si, lorsqu’ils ne sont pas présents ou n’assistent pas physiquement à l’endroit où se tient cette séance, tous ses membres s’expriment lors d’une conférence téléphonique et renoncent à l’avis de convocation.
D. 1050-91, a. 23.
24. En cas d’égalité des voix, le président donne un second vote.
D. 1050-91, a. 24.
SECTION III
ASSEMBLÉES GÉNÉRALES
25. Toute assemblée générale des membres de l’Ordre se tient à la date, au lieu et à l’heure que le comité exécutif détermine.
D. 1050-91, a. 25.
26. Tout avis de convocation à une assemblée générale doit indiquer la date, le lieu, l’heure et le projet d’ordre du jour de l’assemblée.
D. 1050-91, a. 26.
27. Le projet d’ordre du jour d’une assemblée générale est dressé par le comité exécutif.
Dans le cas d’une assemblée générale extraordinaire convoquée à la demande écrite des membres de l’Ordre conformément à l’article 106 du Code, le projet d’ordre du jour doit contenir les sujets inscrits dans cette demande.
D. 1050-91, a. 27.
28. Le secrétaire convoque une assemblée générale au moyen d’un avis de convocation adressé par courrier à chaque membre de l’Ordre au moins 30 jours avant la date de la tenue de cette assemblée.
Le secrétaire adresse aussi à chaque administrateur nommé conformément à l’article 78 du Code, dans le même délai, l’avis de convocation de même que tout autre document adressé aux membres de l’Ordre pour cette assemblée.
Dans le cas d’une assemblée générale extraordinaire, le délai mentionné au premier alinéa est d’au moins 5 jours.
D. 1050-91, a. 28.
29. Outre le mode de convocation prévu au premier alinéa de l’article 28, le secrétaire peut convoquer l’assemblée générale annuelle au moyen d’un avis de convocation publié ou inséré dans une publication que l’Ordre adresse à chaque membre de l’Ordre au moins 30 jours avant la date de la tenue de cette assemblée; cet avis doit être d’au moins 100 cm2 et présenté sous le titre de «AVIS DE CONVOCATION À L’ASSEMBLÉE GÉNÉRALE ANNUELLE».
Dans ce cas, le secrétaire adresse à chaque administrateur nommé conformément à l’article 78 du Code, au moins 30 jours avant la date de la tenue de cette assemblée, un exemplaire de la publication dans laquelle cet avis a été publié ou inséré, de même que tout autre document adressé aux membres de l’Ordre pour cette assemblée.
D. 1050-91, a. 29.
30. Lors d’une assemblée générale extraordinaire, seuls les sujets mentionnés au projet d’ordre du jour sont discutés.
D. 1050-91, a. 30.
31. Le quorum d’une assemblée générale des membres de l’Ordre est fixé à 75 membres.
D. 1050-91, a. 31.
32. Si l’assemblée ne peut commencer faute de quorum dans les 90 minutes qui suivent l’heure mentionnée dans l’avis de convocation, le secrétaire dresse un procès-verbal à cet effet et une autre assemblée générale est convoquée.
D. 1050-91, a. 32.
33. Les membres présents de l’Ordre votent par scrutin secret lorsqu’au moins 25 d’entre eux le demandent. Le président de l’assemblée désigne alors 2 scrutateurs pour prendre le vote.
D. 1050-91, a. 33.
34. Les décisions sont prises à la majorité des membres présents. En cas d’égalité des voix, le président de l’assemblée donne un second vote qui est prépondérant.
D. 1050-91, a. 34.
35. Une assemblée générale peut être ajournée par une résolution de la majorité des membres présents, auquel cas il ne peut être discuté, lors de la reprise de l’assemblée, que des questions à l’ordre du jour de cette assemblée.
D. 1050-91, a. 35.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
36. Les chèques émis par l’Ordre doivent porter la signature, soit de 2 membres élus du Conseil d’administration, soit de 2 personnes désignées par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1050-91, a. 36.
37. Le siège de l’Ordre est établi dans le territoire de la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal.
D. 1050-91, a. 37.
38. Si aucune des règles de procédure prévues au Code ou au présent règlement ne permet d’apporter une solution à un cas particulier, les règles prévues dans «Procédure des assemblées délibérantes» de Victor Morin, 1972, 4e édition, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
D. 1050-91, a. 38.
39. Le sceau de l’Ordre est celui dont l’empreinte apparaît à l’exemplaire du présent règlement détenu par le secrétaire.
D. 1050-91, a. 39.
40. Les membres du Conseil d’administration ou du comité exécutif ont droit, sur production de pièces justificatives, au remboursement des dépenses engagées dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
D. 1050-91, a. 40.
41. Tout avis destiné à un membre de l’Ordre est mis à la poste de Montréal, port payé, et expédié à ce membre à son adresse inscrite aux registres de l’Ordre ou, si son adresse n’y paraît pas, à sa dernière adresse connue du secrétaire.
Le défaut de réception d’un avis par un membre n’invalide pas les actes posés ni les délibérations engagées lors d’une assemblée générale des membres de l’Ordre.
D. 1050-91, a. 41.
42. (Omis).
D. 1050-91, a. 42.
43. (Omis).
D. 1050-91, a. 43.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1050-91, 1991 G.O. 2, 4601
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212