C-27, r. 6 - Regulation respecting the remuneration of arbitrators

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-27, r. 6
Regulation respecting the remuneration of arbitrators
LABOUR CODE — REMUNERATION — ARBITRATORS
Labour Code
(chapter C-27, s. 103).
C-27
September 1 2012
1. This Regulation applies to arbitrators of grievances and disputes.
It does not apply to the arbitration of a grievance involving an association of employees within the meaning of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) and the Government or a department, a government agency the personnel of which is appointed or remunerated under the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1), a college or school board referred to in the Act respecting the process of negotiation of the collective agreements in the public and parapublic sectors (chapter R-8.2).
O.C. 851-2002, s. 1.
2. An arbitrator is entitled to fees of $140 for each hour of arbitration hearing, for each hour of deliberation with the assessors and, subject to section 4, for each hour of deliberation and drafting of an award.
An arbitrator is entitled, for each day of hearing, to a minimum remuneration equivalent to 3 hours of fees at the rate set by the first paragraph.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 2; O.C. 367-2009, s. 1.
3. A grievances arbitrator is also entitled to fees at the rate set by section 2 for each hour of a pre-hearing conference.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 3.
4. For deliberation and the drafting of awards, a grievances arbitrator is entitled to fees at the rate set by section 2 up to a maximum of 14 hours per day of hearing, 22 hours for 2 days of hearing and, where there are 3 days of hearing or more, 22 hours for the first 2 days and 5 hours for each subsequent day.
A disputes arbitrator is entitled to fees at the rate set by section 2 up to a maximum of 14 hours per day of hearing, 22 hours for 2 days of hearing, 27 hours for 3 days of hearing and, where there are 4 days of hearing or more, 27 hours for the first 3 days and 3 hours for each subsequent day.
An arbitrator is entitled to fees at the rate set by section 2 up to a maximum of 14 hours if no arbitration hearing is held.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 4.
5. For all expenses related to arbitration, namely fees for opening files, telephone calls, correspondence and the drafting and filing of duplicates or copies of the arbitration award, an arbitrator is also entitled to 1 hour of fees at the rate set by section 2.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 5.
6. An arbitrator’s transportation costs and meal and accommodation expenses shall be reimbursed in accordance with the Directive sur les frais remboursables lors d’un déplacement et autres frais inhérents (C.T. 194603, 2000-03-30).
O.C. 851-2002, s. 6.
7. An arbitrator is entitled to a travel allowance when performing duties outside an 80-kilometre radius from the office.
The amount of the allowance corresponds to the amount obtained by multiplying the rate of $90 by the number of hours required for a round trip using the fastest means of transportation.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 7; O.C. 367-2009, s. 2.
8. When a case is discontinued or fully settled more than 30 days before the hearing date, an arbitrator is entitled to 1 hour of fees at the rate set by section 2 as indemnity.
When a case is discontinued, fully settled or postponed at the request of a party 30 days or less before the date of the hearing, an arbitrator is entitled to 3 hours of fees at the rate set by section 2 but is not entitled to the expenses related to arbitration provided for in section 5.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 8.
9. An arbitrator is entitled to reimbursement of the actual costs incurred in renting a room for a hearing.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 9.
10. Except as provided for in sections 11, 15, 16 and 17, an arbitrator may not claim any fees, expenses, allowances or indemnities other than those set by sections 2 to 9.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 10.
11. An arbitrator chosen and remunerated by the parties or by any one of them may claim a remuneration that differs from that set by sections 2 to 8. For deliberation and drafting of an award, an arbitrator may not claim remuneration for a number of hours greater than that provided for in section 4.
To that end, an arbitrator must declare to the Minister of Labour a tariff of remuneration that includes the hourly rate that the arbitrator will claim under sections 2 to 5, the amount of the expenses, allowances and indemnities referred to in sections 6 to 8 and the conditions for the application of that hourly rate and of those amounts.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 11; O.C. 1303-2002, s. 1.
12. The tariff of remuneration must be declared using the form proposed by the Ministère du Travail from 15 April to 15 May of each year.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 12.
13. The remuneration provided for in the tariff may be claimed only in respect of a grievance or dispute submitted to an arbitrator on or after 1 September following the period referred to in section 12.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 13; O.C. 505-2004, s. 1.
14. The tariff of remuneration remains in effect as long as it is not modified in accordance with section 12. Section 13 applies to the modified tariff of remuneration.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 14.
15. An arbitrator whose name is entered on the list of arbitrators referred to in section 77 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) after the period referred to in section 12 may nonetheless declare the tariff of remuneration within 30 days following the date of that entry.
Notwithstanding section 13, the remuneration provided for in the tariff declared under the first paragraph may be claimed only in respect of a grievance or dispute submitted to an arbitrator from the date on which the Minister notifies the arbitrator that the declared tariff was entered on the list referred to in section 18.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 15.
16. Where an arbitrator belongs to a group of arbitrators, the arbitrator remunerated by the parties or by one of them may, to the extent provided for in this section, claim as remuneration, the lump sum provided for in the group tariff in respect of the grievance or dispute that was submitted to the arbitrator by the group.
The group of arbitrators must be constituted according to a juridical form prescribed by law and governed by an expedited arbitration process that prescribes in particular a common tariff of remuneration for all members.
The tariff must specify, among the remunerated acts and expenses referred to in sections 2 to 8, the acts and expenses included in the lump sum provided and the conditions for the application of the amount.
The tariff of remuneration must be declared to the Minister of Labour by the group of arbitrators and sections 12 to 14 apply, with the necessary modifications.
The group of arbitrators must also send a copy of its act of constitution, the list of its members and of its expedited arbitration process.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 16.
17. A grievances arbitrator acting as a member of the Tribunal d’arbitrage procédure allégée (TAPA) shall be remunerated in accordance with the tariff established by the provisions of the expedited arbitration of grievances process administered by that court.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 17.
18. The Minister of Labour shall draw up a list of tariffs of remuneration declared under sections 11, 15 and 16, send a copy thereof to the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre established under section 12.1 of the Act respecting the Ministère du Travail (chapter M-32.2) and ensure periodically the updating and distribution thereof in particular with the most representative associations of arbitrators, employees and employers.
The Minister shall put a copy of that list at the disposal of the public by any means considered appropriate.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 18; S.Q. 2011, c. 16, s. 91.
19. Unless otherwise provided for in the collective agreement, the parties shall assume jointly and equally payment of the fees, expenses, allowances and indemnities of a grievances arbitrator.
The parties shall assume jointly and equally payment of the fees, expenses, allowances and indemnities of an arbitrator in the case of a dispute referred under section 75 of the Labour Code (chapter C-27) or where the collective agreement prescribes that the dispute be referred to arbitration.
The Minister of Labour shall assume payment of the fees, expenses, allowances and indemnities of the arbitrator of a dispute referred under section 93.3 of the Labour Code.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 19; S.Q. 2016, c. 24, s. 53.
20. An arbitrator shall submit a detailed account of fees, making it possible to verify the validity of the fees, expenses, allowances and indemnities claimed per day.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 20.
21. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the remuneration of arbitrators (O.C. 1486-96, 96-11-27).
O.C. 851-2002, s. 21.
22. The provisions of the Regulation respecting the remuneration of arbitrators as they read before being replaced by this Regulation continue to apply in respect of the grievances and disputes submitted to arbitration before 1 December 2002.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 22.
23. For grievances and disputes submitted as of 1 December 2002, the arbitrator referred to in section 11 and the arbitrator belonging to a group of arbitrators referred to in section 16 may claim a remuneration that differs from the remuneration set by sections 2 to 8 insofar as the arbitrator referred to in section 11 and the group of arbitrators transmit to the Minister of Labour, between 1 September and 30 September 2002, their tariff of remuneration which includes the elements referred to in the second paragraph of section 11 and in the first paragraph of section 16.
O.C. 851-2002, s. 23.
24. (Omitted).
O.C. 851-2002, s. 24.
REFERENCES
O.C. 851-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 3809
O.C. 1303-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 5849
O.C. 505-2004, 2004 G.O. 2, 1728
O.C. 367-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1275
S.Q. 2011, c. 16, s. 91
S.Q. 2016, c. 24, s. 53

C-27, r. 6 - Règlement sur la rémunération des arbitres

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-27, r. 6
Règlement sur la rémunération des arbitres
CODE DU TRAVAIL — RÉMUNÉRATION — ARBITRES
Code du travail
(chapitre C-27, a. 103).
C-27
1er septembre 2012
1. Le présent règlement s’applique aux arbitres de grief et de différend.
Il ne s’applique pas à l’arbitrage d’un grief impliquant une association de salariés au sens du Code du travail (chapitre C-27) et le gouvernement ou un ministère, un organisme du gouvernement dont le personnel est nommé suivant la Loi sur la Fonction publique (chapitre F-3.1.1), un collège ou une commission scolaire visés dans la Loi sur le régime de négociation des conventions collectives dans les secteurs public et parapublic (chapitre R-8.2).
D. 851-2002, a. 1.
2. L’arbitre a droit à des honoraires de 140 $ pour chaque heure d’une séance d’arbitrage, pour chaque heure de délibéré avec les assesseurs et, sous réserve de l’article 4, pour chaque heure de délibéré et de rédaction de la sentence.
Il a droit, pour chaque journée d’audience, à une rémunération minimale équivalant à 3 heures d’honoraires au taux fixé par le premier alinéa.
D. 851-2002, a. 2; D. 367-2009, a. 1.
3. L’arbitre de grief a également droit à des honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2 pour chaque heure d’une conférence préparatoire.
D. 851-2002, a. 3.
4. Pour le délibéré et la rédaction de la sentence, l’arbitre de grief a droit aux honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2 pour un maximum de 14 heures pour 1 journée d’audience, de 22 heures pour 2 journées d’audience et, lorsqu’il y a 3 journées d’audience ou plus, de 22 heures pour les 2 premières journées et de 5 heures pour chaque journée subséquente.
L’arbitre de différend a droit aux honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2 pour un maximum de 14 heures pour 1 journée d’audience, de 22 heures pour 2 journées d’audience, de 27 heures pour 3 journées d’audience et, lorsqu’il y a 4 journées d’audience ou plus, de 27 heures pour les 3 premières journées et de 3 heures pour chaque journée subséquente.
L’arbitre a droit aux honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2 pour un maximum de 14 heures s’il ne tient aucune séance d’arbitrage.
D. 851-2002, a. 4.
5. Pour tous les frais inhérents à l’arbitrage notamment les frais d’ouverture de dossier, les conversations téléphoniques, la correspondance, la rédaction et le dépôt des exemplaires ou des copies de la sentence arbitrale, l’arbitre a également droit à 1 heure d’honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2.
D. 851-2002, a. 5.
6. Les frais de transport, de repas et de logement d’un arbitre lui sont remboursés conformément à la Directive sur les frais remboursables lors d’un déplacement et d’autres frais inhérents (C.T. 194603, 2000-03-30).
D. 851-2002, a. 6.
7. L’arbitre a droit à une allocation de déplacement lorsqu’il exerce ses fonctions à l’extérieur d’un rayon de 80 km de son bureau.
Le montant de cette allocation correspond au montant obtenu en multipliant le taux de 90 $ par le nombre d’heures nécessaires pour effectuer l’aller et le retour par le moyen de transport le plus rapide.
D. 851-2002, a. 7; D. 367-2009, a. 2.
8. À titre d’indemnité en cas de désistement ou de règlement total d’un dossier plus de 30 jours avant la date de l’audience, l’arbitre a droit à 1 heure d’honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2.
En cas de désistement, de règlement total ou de remise à la demande d’une partie, 30 jours ou moins avant la date de l’audience, l’arbitre a droit à 3 heures d’honoraires au taux fixé par l’article 2 mais n’a pas droit aux frais inhérents à l’arbitrage prévus à l’article 5.
D. 851-2002, a. 8.
9. L’arbitre a droit au remboursement des frais réels de location de salle engagés pour une audience.
D. 851-2002, a. 9.
10. Sauf dans la mesure prévue aux articles 11, 15, 16 et 17, l’arbitre ne peut réclamer aucun honoraires, frais, allocation ou indemnité autres que ceux fixés par les articles 2 à 9.
D. 851-2002, a. 10.
11. L’arbitre choisi et rémunéré par les parties ou par l’une d’elles peut réclamer une rémunération différente de celle fixée par les articles 2 à 8. Il ne peut toutefois, pour le délibéré et la rédaction de la sentence, réclamer une rémunération pour un nombre d’heures supérieur à ce que prévoit l’article 4.
Il doit, à cette fin, déclarer au ministre du Travail un tarif de rémunération comprenant le taux horaire qu’il entend réclamer en vertu des articles 2 à 5, le montant des frais, allocations et indemnités visés aux articles 6 à 8 ainsi que les modalités d’application de ce taux horaire et de ces montants.
D. 851-2002, a. 11; D. 1303-2002, a. 1.
12. Le tarif de rémunération doit être déclaré au moyen du formulaire proposé par le ministère du Travail pendant la période comprise entre le 15 avril et le 15 mai de chaque année.
D. 851-2002, a. 12.
13. La rémunération prévue au tarif ne peut être réclamée qu’à l’égard du grief ou du différend soumis à l’arbitre à compter du 1er septembre qui suit la période visée à l’article 12.
D. 851-2002, a. 13; D. 505-2004, a. 1.
14. Le tarif de rémunération demeure en vigueur tant qu’il n’est pas modifié suivant les dispositions de l’article 12. L’article 13 s’applique au tarif de rémunération modifié.
D. 851-2002, a. 14.
15. L’arbitre dont le nom est inscrit sur la liste des arbitres visée à l’article 77 du Code du travail (chapitre C-27) après la période visée à l’article 12 peut néanmoins déclarer son tarif de rémunération dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de cette inscription.
Malgré les dispositions de l’article 13, la rémunération prévue au tarif déclaré en vertu du premier alinéa ne peut être réclamée qu’à l’égard du grief ou du différend soumis à l’arbitre à compter de la date à laquelle le ministre l’avise que le tarif déclaré a été inscrit sur la liste visée à l’article 18.
D. 851-2002, a. 15.
16. Lorsqu’il est membre d’un groupement d’arbitres, l’arbitre rémunéré par les parties ou par l’une d’elles peut, dans la mesure prévue au présent article, réclamer, à titre de rémunération, le montant forfaitaire prévu au tarif du groupement à l’égard du grief ou du différend qui lui a été soumis par ce groupement.
Le groupement d’arbitres doit être constitué suivant une forme juridique prévue par la loi et régi par une procédure d’arbitrage accéléré prévoyant notamment un tarif de rémunération commun à tous les membres.
Le tarif doit préciser, parmi les actes rémunérés et les frais visés aux articles 2 à 8, les actes et les frais compris dans le montant forfaitaire qu’il prévoit et les modalités d’application de ce montant.
Le tarif de rémunération doit être déclaré au ministre du Travail par le groupement d’arbitres et les dispositions des articles 12 à 14 s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
Le groupement d’arbitres doit de plus transmettre une copie de son acte constitutif, de la liste de ses membres et de sa procédure d’arbitrage accéléré.
D. 851-2002, a. 16.
17. L’arbitre de grief agissant à titre de membre du Tribunal d’arbitrage procédure allégée (TAPA) est rémunéré selon le tarif établi par les dispositions de la procédure allégée d’arbitrage de griefs administrée par ce tribunal.
D. 851-2002, a. 17.
18. Le ministre du Travail dresse la liste des tarifs de rémunération déclarés en vertu des articles 11, 15 et 16, en transmet une copie au Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d’oeuvre visé à l’article 12.1 de la Loi sur le ministère du Travail (chapitre M-32.2) et en assure périodiquement la mise à jour et la diffusion notamment auprès des associations d’arbitres, de salariés et d’employeurs les plus représentatives.
Il met une copie de cette liste à la disposition du public par tout moyen qu’il juge approprié.
D. 851-2002, a. 18; L.Q. 2011, c. 16, a. 91.
19. Sauf disposition contraire à la convention collective, les parties assument conjointement et à parts égales le paiement des honoraires, frais, allocations et indemnités de l’arbitre de grief.
Les parties assument conjointement et à parts égales le paiement des honoraires, frais, allocations et indemnités de l’arbitre lorsqu’il s’agit d’un différend déféré en vertu de l’article 75 du Code du travail (chapitre C-27) ou lorsque la convention collective prescrit que le différend est déféré à l’arbitrage.
Le ministre du Travail assume le paiement des honoraires, frais, allocations et indemnités de l’arbitre d’un différend déféré en vertu de l’article 93.3 de ce code.
D. 851-2002, a. 19; L.Q. 2016, c. 24, a. 53.
20. L’arbitre doit présenter un compte d’honoraires ventilé permettant d’en vérifier le bien-fondé pour chaque jour où des honoraires, frais, allocations ou des indemnités sont réclamés.
D. 851-2002, a. 20.
21. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur la rémunération des arbitres (D. 1486-96, 96-11-27).
D. 851-2002, a. 21.
22. Les dispositions du Règlement sur la rémunération des arbitres (D. 1486-96, 96-11-27) telles qu’elles se lisaient avant d’être remplacées par le présent règlement continuent de s’appliquer à l’égard des griefs et des différends soumis à l’arbitrage avant le 1er décembre 2002.
D. 851-2002, a. 22.
23. Pour les griefs et différends soumis à compter du 1er décembre 2002, l’arbitre visé à l’article 11 et l’arbitre membre d’un groupement d’arbitres visé à l’article 16 peuvent réclamer une rémunération différente de celle fixée par les articles 2 à 8 dans la mesure où l’arbitre visé à l’article 11 et le groupement d’arbitres transmettent au ministre du Travail, pendant la période du 1er septembre au 30 septembre 2002, leur tarif de rémunération comprenant les éléments mentionnés au deuxième alinéa de l’article 11 et au premier alinéa de l’article 16.
D. 851-2002, a. 23.
24. (Omis).
D. 851-2002, a. 24.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 851-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 4860
D. 1303-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 7735
D. 505-2004, 2004 G.O. 2, 2567
D. 367-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 1712
L.Q. 2011, c. 16, a. 91
L.Q. 2016, c. 24, a. 53