C-26, r. 58 - Regulation respecting continuing education for certified general accountants holding a public accountancy permit

Full text
chapter C-26, r. 58
Regulation respecting continuing education for certified general accountants holding a public accountancy permit
CERTIFIED GENERAL ACCOUNTANTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — TRAINING
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 187.10.2).
C-26
September 1 2012
Implicitly revoked, 2012, chapter 11, s. 25, par. 1.
DIVISION I
CONTINUING EDUCATION
1. A member of the Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec holding a public accountancy permit shall, unless exempt pursuant to Division IV, accumulate at least 60 hours of continuing education activities per 3-year reference period, with a minimum of 20 hours in each reference year. The 60 hours shall relate to the audit engagement, the review engagement and other activities related to public accountancy.
The member shall choose the continuing education activities that are best suited to his needs. He shall choose continuing education activities among those provided for in the program developed by the Order in accordance with section 4.
Continuing education activities shall include:
(1)  continuing education courses organized or offered either by the Order or by a person or organization recognized by the board of directors;
(2)  courses offered by educational institutions or by other professional orders;
(3)  symposiums, seminars or conferences of a technical or educational nature;
(4)  participation in courses or structured training activities offered in the workplace;
(5)  participation in various structured training sessions, particularly seminars or case studies;
(6)  participation in distance learning activities;
(7)  acting as a lecturer, instructor or preparer for activities contemplated in subparagraphs 1 to 6;
(8)  participation in research projects;
(9)  authorship of specialized published articles.
However, as part of the 60 hours to be accumulated in a given reference period, the board of directors may impose on a member holding a public accountancy permit a specific continuing education activity listed among the activities provided for in the program contemplated in section 4.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 1.
2. A member to whom the Order issues a public accountancy permit more than 4 months after the start of a year in the reference period shall, unless exempt pursuant to Division IV, accumulate a minimum of 1.5 continuing education hours for each full calendar month by the end of the current reference year. Such person shall also accumulate at least 20 hours per full reference year.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 2.
DIVISION II
CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES PROGRAM
3. A continuing education activity must allow members to maintain and develop skills and professional, legal or ethical knowledge relating to the practice of public accountancy.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 3.
4. The Order shall establish the program of continuing education activities to be followed by the member holding a public accountancy permit. The Order shall:
(1)  set the start and end date of the reference period contemplated in the first paragraph of section 1;
(2)  determine which continuing education activities shall be provided as part of the program in the sectors referred to in the first paragraph of section 1 and the persons, organizations or educational institutions that may organize or offer them;
(3)  determine, as appropriate, the activities it will impose under the fourth paragraph of section 1;
(4)  establish, where appropriate, criteria for calculating the eligible duration of these activities for the computation of the number of hours required under section 1, where that number differs from the actual duration of the activity.
When determining the activities that are included in the program and, where appropriate, establishing the criteria for calculating the eligible duration of an activity, the Order shall take into consideration the following criteria:
(1)  the relevance of the training activity;
(2)  the competence and qualifications of the instructor in relation to the subject matter;
(3)  the fact that the training activity meets a need;
(4)  compliance with the continuing education objectives set out in section 3;
(5)  the fact that the training activity objectives are verifiable and set out in a clear and concise manner;
(6)  the framework within which the training activities are provided;
(7)  if applicable, the quality of the materials provided;
(8)  the existence of a certificate of attendance or of an evaluation;
(9)  the fact that the continuing education activity has been developed, supervised or provided by the Order, an instructor or a team of competent instructors recognized by the board of directors.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 4.
DIVISION III
VERIFICATION
5. Members shall submit to the Order, not later than 60 days after the end of each reference year within a reference period, a duly completed and signed training activity report using the form provided by the Order. They shall indicate therein the training activities engaged in during the reference year, the name of the person, body or educational institution organizing or offering the activity, the marks obtained, the number of hours completed, as well as the activities in respect of which they have obtained an exemption in accordance with Division IV.
To determine whether the member has met the requirements of this Regulation, the Order may require relevant and reliable supporting documents in addition to the training activity report, including receipts identifying the activities engaged in, their duration and content, the organization or person offering the activity and, if applicable, a certificate of attendance or attestation of results obtained.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 5.
6. Successful completion of the training activity or, if there is no evaluation, the member’s attendance, are the criteria by which the Order recognizes that members have engaged in a training activity for the purposes of meeting the requirements of this Regulation.
However, where the activity is not evaluated and attendance is not required, the Order shall recognize that members have engaged in a training activity if the members attest to having acquired sufficient knowledge of the activity’s content to adequately carry out their professional activities.
Where the Order has identified training activities that members are required to attend, their attendance may be verified by any means established by the Order, in particular an attendance sheet signed by the member.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 6.
7. Not later than 180 days following the ultimate deadline for filing of the training activity report, the Order shall send a notice to the member specifying the hours which it recognizes and does not recognize as well as a statement listing the cumulative number of training activity hours for the previous year and for the given reference year.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 7.
8. Members may request a review of the Order’s decision by submitting a written application to the committee set up by the board of directors within 30 days of receipt of the notice provided for in section 7.
This committee shall be made up of persons who have not taken part in the decision in respect of which a review is requested.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 8.
9. Members shall keep the documents in support of their reported hours, including the attendance sheet and proof of registration, for 24 months following the end of the reference period in question.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
EXEMPTIONS FROM CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES
10. Members who have attended or intend to attend a training activity that is not listed in the program of activities adopted by the Order are exempted, for a given reference period, from having to attend a training activity provided for in the program as long as the content of the unlisted activity is equivalent to that of an activity listed in the program.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 10.
11. Members may be exempted pursuant to section 10 if they submit a written request for recognition of the activity to the secretary of the Order, at least 30 days before the scheduled date of the activity or within 60 days of having attended such activity, as the case may be.
In the latter case, a certification of the attendance of the activity by the member or of his successful completion thereof or, if need be, of the transcript indicating the grade received shall be sent along with the request.
The request shall include the following information:
(1)  a description of the training activity in question;
(2)  the duration of the activity;
(3)  the number of continuing education hours requested for this activity;
(4)  if the request is made prior to the training activity taking place, the name and address of the person, organization or institution responsible for the activity;
(5)  any other information considered relevant for the purposes of recognition of the training activity.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 11.
12. Members shall be exempted, for a given reference period, from having to attend training activities provided for in the program of activities adopted by the Order if they are able to demonstrate that they are unable to attend.
The fact that the disciplinary council or the Professions Tribunal has suspended or struck a member off the roll, or that the board of directors has suspended or imposed limitations on a member’s right to engage in professional activities, does not constitute an inability to attend.
Exemptions are not to exceed a maximum period of 1 year and are renewable.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 12.
13. Members may obtain an exemption pursuant to section 12 if they notify the secretary of the Order in writing specifying the reasons for the exemption request and providing, as the case may be, a doctor’s note or any other evidence attesting to the fact that they are unable to attend.
As soon as the inability to attend shall have ceased, the member shall notify forthwith the secretary of the Order in writing and satisfy the obligations provided for in this Regulation, according to the terms and conditions set by the executive committee.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 13.
14. Where the executive committee grants an exemption to a member, it shall determine the number of hours which the latter is not required to complete during a given reference period.
The executive committee shall provide the member with its written decision setting out its reasons within 60 days following receipt of the application for exemption.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 14.
DIVISION V
PENALTIES
15. The Order shall send a notice to those members who fail to comply with their continuing education requirements, which notice shall set out the unfulfilled obligations and the penalties members face and the timeframe allowed for remedial action, which cannot be less than 30 days or more than 60 days and begins with the receipt of the notice.
Training hours completed after receiving a default notice may only be credited to the reference period during which the member was in default.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 15.
16. The Order shall send a final notice to members who fail to cure their default before the deadline determined by the Order, specifying that they have an additional 15 days from the date of receipt of the final notice to comply.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 16.
17. The Order shall suspend or revoke the public accountancy permit of those members who have not cured the default described in the notice provided for in section 16 before the deadline set out therein.
The Order shall notify members in writing of the penalty imposed.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 17.
18. The suspension or revocation of the public accountancy permit shall remain in effect until the member provides evidence to the Order that he has met the requirements listed in the default notice provided for in section 16, and the penalty is lifted by the Order.
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 18.
DIVISION VI
FINAL PROVISION
19. (Omitted).
O.C. 1198-2009, s. 19.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1198-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 3909

C-26, r. 58 - Règlement sur la formation continue des comptables généraux accrédités titulaires d’un permis de comptabilité publique

Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 58
Règlement sur la formation continue des comptables généraux accrédités titulaires d’un permis de comptabilité publique
COMPTABLES GÉNÉRAUX ACCRÉDITÉS — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — FORMATION CONTINUE
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 187.10.2).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Abrogé implicitement, 2012, chapitre 11, a. 25, par. 1.
SECTION I
FORMATION CONTINUE
1. Le membre de l’Ordre des comptables généraux accrédités du Québec titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique doit, à moins d’en être dispensé conformément à la section IV, accumuler au moins 60 heures de formation continue par période de référence de 3 ans, dont un minimum de 20 heures par année de référence. Les 60 heures doivent porter sur la mission de vérification, la mission d’examen et les autres activités liées à la comptabilité publique.
Le membre choisit les activités de formation qui répondent le mieux à ses besoins. Il doit choisir des activités de formation parmi celles prévues dans le programme élaboré par l’Ordre conformément à l’article 4.
Les activités de formation doivent être les suivantes:
1°  des cours de formation continue organisés ou offerts soit par l’Ordre, soit par une personne ou un organisme reconnu par le Conseil d’administration;
2°  des cours offerts par un établissement d’enseignement ou par d’autres ordres professionnels;
3°  des colloques ou des congrès de nature technique ou éducative;
4°  la participation à des cours ou à des formations structurées offerts en milieu de travail;
5°  la participation à des sessions structurées de formation diverses, notamment des séminaires ou des discussions de cas;
6°  la participation à des formations à distance;
7°  le fait d’agir à titre de conférencier, de formateur ou de préparateur pour les activités visées aux paragraphes 1 à 6;
8°  la participation à des projets de recherche;
9°  la rédaction d’articles spécialisés publiés.
Toutefois, le Conseil d’administration peut imposer au membre titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique dans les 60 heures à accumuler pour une période de référence donnée, une activité de formation particulière parmi les activités prévues au programme visé à l’article 4.
D. 1198-2009, a. 1.
2. Le membre à qui l’Ordre délivre un permis de comptabilité publique plus de 4 mois après le début d’une année de la période de référence doit, à moins d’en être dispensé conformément à la section IV, accumuler à la fin de la période de référence en cours un minimum de 1,5 heures de formation continue pour chaque mois complet de calendrier. Il doit en outre accumuler au moins 20 heures par année complète de référence.
D. 1198-2009, a. 2.
SECTION II
PROGRAMME D’ACTIVITÉS DE FORMATION CONTINUE
3. Une activité de formation continue doit permettre le maintien et le développement des habiletés et des connaissances professionnelles, légales et déontologiques liées à l’exercice de la comptabilité publique.
D. 1198-2009, a. 3.
4. L’Ordre adopte le programme d’activités de formation continue que doit suivre le membre titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique. L’Ordre:
1°  fixe la date du début de la période de référence visée au premier alinéa de l’article 1;
2°  détermine les activités de formation continue prévues au programme dans les domaines visés au premier alinéa de l’article 1 ainsi que les personnes, les organismes ou les établissements d’enseignement qui les organisent ou les offrent;
3°  détermine, s’il y a lieu, les activités qu’il impose en application du quatrième alinéa de l’article 1;
4°  attribue à ces activités, s’il y a lieu, une norme de calcul de leur durée admissible pour la computation des heures exigées en application de l’article 1 qui diffère de la durée réelle de l’activité.
Aux fins de la détermination des activités prévues au programme et, s’il y a lieu, de la norme de calcul de la durée admissible d’une activité, l’Ordre considère les critères suivants:
1°  la pertinence de la formation;
2°  la compétence et les qualifications du formateur en lien avec le sujet traité;
3°  le fait que la formation répond à un besoin;
4°  le respect des objectifs de formation continue visés à l’article 3;
5°  le fait que les objectifs poursuivis par l’activité de formation sont vérifiables et sont énoncés de façon claire et concise;
6°  le cadre dans lequel la formation est donnée;
7°  s’il y a lieu, la qualité du matériel fourni;
8°  l’existence d’une attestation de participation ou d’une évaluation;
9°  le fait que l’activité de formation soit conçue, encadrée ou dispensée par l’Ordre, un formateur ou une équipe de formateurs compétents reconnus par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1198-2009, a. 4.
SECTION III
MODES DE CONTRÔLE
5. Le membre transmet à l’Ordre, au plus tard 60 jours après la fin de chacune des années de référence d’une période de référence, un rapport de formation, complété et signé sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre. Il doit y indiquer les activités de formation suivies au cours de l’année de référence, le nom de la personne, de l’organisme ou de l’établissement d’enseignement qui a organisé ou offert la formation, le résultat obtenu, le nombre d’heures accumulées, ainsi que les activités pour lesquelles il a obtenu une dispense conformément à la section IV.
Pour déterminer si le membre a satisfait aux exigences du présent règlement, l’Ordre peut exiger tout document pertinent et fiable en plus du rapport de formation, notamment les pièces justificatives permettant d’identifier les activités suivies, leur durée, leur contenu, par qui elles ont été offertes ainsi que, le cas échéant, l’attestation de la présence du membre ou le résultat qu’il a obtenu.
D. 1198-2009, a. 5.
6. La réussite de l’activité de formation ou, à défaut d’évaluation, la présence à cette activité constituent les critères par lesquels l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie aux fins de satisfaire aux exigences du présent règlement.
Toutefois, lorsque l’activité ne fait pas l’objet d’une évaluation et que la présence d’un membre n’est pas requise, l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie si le membre atteste avoir acquis une connaissance suffisante de son contenu pour exercer adéquatement ses activités professionnelles.
Lorsque l’Ordre détermine des activités de formation continue où la présence d’un membre est obligatoire, celle-ci peut être contrôlée par tout moyen que l’Ordre établit, notamment une feuille de présence signée par le membre.
D. 1198-2009, a. 6.
7. L’Ordre transmet au membre, au plus tard 180 jours suivant la date maximale fixée pour la production du rapport de formation, un avis écrit précisant les heures acceptées et refusées ainsi qu’un relevé sur lequel apparaît le cumulatif des heures de formation pour la dernière année et pour la période de référence donnée.
D. 1198-2009, a. 7.
8. Le membre peut demander au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration la révision de la décision de l’Ordre en transmettant une demande écrite dans les 30 jours suivant la date de la réception de l’avis visé à l’article 7.
Ce comité est formé de personnes qui n’ont pas participé à la décision dont la révision est demandée.
D. 1198-2009, a. 8.
9. Le membre doit conserver, jusqu’à l’expiration des 24 mois suivant la fin de la période de référence donnée, les documents à l’appui des heures déclarées, dont les attestations de présences et les preuves d’inscription.
D. 1198-2009, a. 9.
SECTION IV
DISPENSES DE FORMATION CONTINUE
10. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre, le membre qui a participé ou qui entend participer à une activité de formation qui n’apparaît pas à ce programme dans la mesure où l’activité a un contenu équivalent à celle prévue à ce programme.
D. 1198-2009, a. 10.
11. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 10 s’il transmet par écrit au secrétaire de l’Ordre une demande de reconnaissance de cette activité, selon le cas, au moins 30 jours avant la date prévue de l’activité ou dans les 60 jours qui suivent la participation à cette activité.
Dans ce dernier cas, la demande doit être accompagnée d’une attestation de la présence du membre à l’activité ou de la réussite de celle-ci ou, s’il y a lieu, du relevé de notes.
Cette demande doit contenir les renseignements suivants:
1°  une description de l’activité de formation visée;
2°  la durée de l’activité;
3°  le nombre d’heures de formation demandées pour cette activité;
4°  si la demande est présentée avant la tenue de l’activité de formation, le nom et l’adresse de la personne, de l’organisme ou de l’établissement responsable de l’activité;
5°  tout autre renseignement jugé pertinent à la reconnaissance de l’activité de formation.
D. 1198-2009, a. 11.
12. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre, le membre qui démontre qu’il est dans l’impossibilité de la suivre.
Ne constitue pas un cas d’impossibilité le fait qu’un membre ait été suspendu ou radié par le conseil de discipline ou par le Tribunal des professions, ou dont le droit d’exercer des activités professionnelles a été limité ou suspendu par le Conseil d’administration.
La dispense accordée est valable pour une période maximale d’un an et peut être renouvelée.
D. 1198-2009, a. 12.
13. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 12 s’il en avise par écrit le secrétaire de l’Ordre en lui indiquant le motif justifiant sa dispense et en joignant, s’il y a lieu, un billet médical ou toute autre preuve attestant qu’il se trouve dans cette impossibilité.
Dès que l’impossibilité cesse, le membre doit en aviser immédiatement par écrit le secrétaire de l’Ordre et remplir les obligations prévues par le présent règlement aux conditions déterminées par le comité exécutif.
D. 1198-2009, a. 13.
14. Lorsque le comité exécutif accorde une dispense au membre, il détermine le nombre d’heures qu’il est dispensé de cumuler au cours d’une période de référence donnée.
Le comité exécutif transmet au membre sa décision écrite et motivée dans les 60 jours suivant la réception de la demande.
D. 1198-2009, a. 14.
SECTION V
SANCTION
15. L’Ordre transmet au membre qui n’a pas respecté son obligation de formation continue un avis dans lequel il énonce les obligations non remplies et les sanctions auxquelles il s’expose, ainsi que le délai qu’il lui accorde pour remédier à son défaut. Ce délai ne peut être inférieur à 30 jours ni excéder 60 jours et court à compter de la réception de cet avis.
Les heures de formation accumulées à la suite de ce défaut ne peuvent être accordées que pour la période de référence visée par le défaut.
D. 1198-2009, a. 15.
16. L’Ordre transmet un avis final au membre qui n’a pas remédié à son défaut dans le délai fixé par l’Ordre. Cet avis précise que le membre dispose d’un délai additionnel de 15 jours à compter de la réception de ce nouvel avis pour s’y conformer.
D. 1198-2009, a. 16.
17. Lorsque le membre n’a pas remédié à la situation décrite dans l’avis et le délai prévus à l’article 16, l’Ordre suspend ou révoque le permis de comptabilité publique de ce membre.
L’Ordre avise le membre par écrit de la sanction qu’il lui a imposée.
D. 1198-2009, a. 17.
18. La suspension ou la révocation du permis de comptabilité publique demeure en vigueur jusqu’à ce que le membre qui en fait l’objet fournisse à l’Ordre la preuve qu’il a satisfait aux exigences contenues dans l’avis de défaut prévu à l’article 16, et jusqu’à ce que cette sanction ait été levée par l’Ordre.
D. 1198-2009, a. 18.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITION FINALE
19. (Omis).
D. 1198-2009, a. 19.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1198-2009, 2009 G.O. 2, 5681